Proton Iriz R3 MTC debut-04

It was a dream debut for the Proton Iriz R3 race car and Proton Motorsports. The new race machine won the Malaysia Touring Car (MTC) category at Round 4 of the Malaysia Championship Series (MCS) at Sepang over the weekend.

Piloted by R3 head and Malaysia’s “Drift King” Tengku Djan Ley Tengku Mahaleel, the Iriz R3 – which started from pole after Djan clocked 2 minutes 35.172 seconds in qualifying on Saturday – finished ahead of championship leaders and Proton teammates James Veerapen and Fariqe Hairuman. Indonesian Fitra Eri was third.

Djan completed 22 laps in one hour, two minutes and 57.675 seconds, and was the only MTC runner to finish 22 laps in the combined endurance race with the higher-powered Touring Production cars.

Proton Iriz R3 MTC debut-05

James and Fariqe, driving the Proton Suprima S, may have been beaten by the Iriz, but their podium finish enabled them to extend the championship lead over closest rival Syafiq Ali, who failed to score points this round. Preve driver Shafiq, the overall champion in 2012 and 2013, retired after 13 laps. He has 55 points against James and Fariqe’s 84.

Fitra Eri, who won the MTC title with Mark Darwin last year, collected 10 championship points to move ahead of Syafiq on 56 points.

In the premier Touring Production class, Darwin – now driving a Honda Civic FD2R for Sakura Tedco Racing Team – continued his superb form to score a fourth consecutive win. He now leads the standings with 60 points over Alan Wong and Chris Tan of Pentagon Racing with 48.

The Iriz R3 race car is powered by a 1.6 litre engine based on the Campro CFE, but without the turbocharger for natural aspiration. It pushes around 190 hp, sent out through a five-speed race-spec manual transmission with dog engagement. Watch the videos below to hear how it sounds.