Toyota Vios, Altis, Innova and Alphard get extra kit

004 Corolla Altis

UMW Toyota has just announced that from September 1 onwards, three more of its models will be offered with additional accessories at no extra charge. These are the Toyota Corolla Altis, Innova and Alphard, joining the Vios and Hilux that received similar extras last June.

For a start, the Toyota Corolla Altis now comes standard with the aerokit package (as pictured above), as well as a 7.0-inch DVD-AVN touchscreen infotainment system. This applies to all three variants of the latest Altis. Previous, the aerokit was priced at RM2,438 for all variants, while the DVD-AVN went for RM3,121.70 for the 1.8E, and RM1,860.30 for the 1.8G and 2.0G.

The Toyota Innova 2.0G, meanwhile, gets the same DVD-AVN infotainment system, along with a ceiling-mounted 8.0-inch monitor for rear passengers at no extra cost. Before, the package adds on RM4,626.90 to the range-topping model’s price. A Toyota Premium & Security Film package and a portable tyre pump are also added to the 2.0G model (priced at RM1,992.80 and RM206.70 before).

Lastly, the Toyota Alphard gets a free TRD aerokit, complete with daytime running lights and door visors too. A 10.2-inch ceiling-mounted rear monitor is offered at no extra charge. Both these items are new additions to the local Alphard range.

Also announced is yet another round of spec update for the Toyota Vios. The DVD-AVN infotainment system, previously made standard on the 1.5 G and TRD Sportivo, is now added to the 1.5E variant as well. It’s a RM3,121.70 option on the base 1.5J models, which now get the navi-less 6.1-inch DVD-AVX system as standard (previously a RM1,982.20 extra).

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• skrued on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:19 pm

baru collect my new Altis last Fri
    and now UMW offer :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Losing sales to Honda on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:28 pm

After losing sales to Honda, now only give all these accessories where it should already be offered in the first place at this ridiculous price. However, all these doesn’t increase the safety of the car. Toyota is still overpriced in every segment when compared to Honda. Look at the amount of City compared to Vios, HR-V compared to Rush, Civic compared to Altis and Accord compared to Camry on the road. I’m afraid is a bit too late for Toyota to catch up now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Basher will bash whatever they like.

Just got a few calls asking on the extra kit.

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 65
        • there you said it.
          ‘A few’
          if it sells, you will get ‘A lot’
          get what i mean?

boo sama toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:38 pm

The news is posted in 2:14pm, till 3:11pm i already have a few calls. It is less than an hour!

YOu think your talkok is funny? I give you HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
          • Lololol on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:08 pm

You call yourself issit?

• Lololol on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:02 pm

So true. You cannot go wrong with sushi cars…. except for the ones who do not know what customer wants… this is whats called stinky sushi worse than kimchi.

• So obvious UMW Toyota is da best on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Same L0rrrr is totally right!
          Many agree with him including those at UMW, hence the need for this “promotion”.

“You won’t go wrong with Toyota” – that’s the mantra Vios, Altis & Camry owners and their families should repeat when their overpriced cars skids off the road (no VSC) and bang their heads (no side airbags).

But at least Toyota cars have RV, right? Not like those other brands or cars that have had accidents before….oh, wait

• Transformers on Sep 01, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Ya, after the driver and passengers all dead in accident, the family can still sell in higher RV, won’t that sound cool!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • Autobots on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:19 pm

So removing ABS in Saga will increase its RV?

• nosushi on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:30 am

Eh cheap old car will be EOL. What do you expect?

Vios Altis are old car meh?

• samwise on Sep 01, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Sam L0rrr u r a funny troll, a special kind

• Areyousure on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Wow! That’s gonna make the car runs faster!

• Untung Manyak Wang on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Still got RM 9000* after this?

:p

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 01, 2015 at 9:16 pm

I feel for you, i bought the camry 2.0G almost 3years ago, and then they upgrade to 2.0 GX…and now direct injection..SKREW UMW!

• camtakpro on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:59 am

Didn’t you listen to the whole universe to avoid new gen Camry with old gen engine, 4spd auto and 2 bags?

Don’t get me wrong, even the new 2.0G won’t cut it – that price with just 2 balloons?! Blasphemy!

• dugongx on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:19 pm

That is why you must avoid toyota else you will have buyer’s remorse aka hailat feeling.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Sales must be pretty bad for the fags @ UMW to offer FOC stuff but they should have bumped the safety spec instead of these optionals…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • kazanixm on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:18 pm

couldn`t agree more on this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Airbags and ESC are factory fitted while accesories can be done by the dealer or dealer appointed fitter.

Which means only one thing. Quite a number of cars sitting idle at the storage lots. Band aid solution.

The other “solution” is to offer a big discount. Say 10+K, but that would kill RV… hahahahahahah.

• dugongx on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:12 am

They are already offering 10k discount on altortoise. Go mudah and see. Still can’t sell those rusted junks

• IrizX on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:30 am

Yes, they can sell more of the Shit Plus junks

• byesushi on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:27 am

Wah nowadays even Saga compared to Altis Innova and Alphard.

Toyota lost its glory. RIP.

• vecko on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:31 am

Hahahahahahaha hahahahah hahahahahahha
            Butthurt Toyota moving coffin supporter! Go and buy your junk Vios, noone wants.

• camtakpro on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:52 am

Too bad UMW don’t have the expertise to suddenly put in 6 baloons.

Only those you can do in accessory shops, UMW can do it for you – add push start button, reverse camera, DVD player and beng body kit.

• toyotasux on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:20 pm

HAHAHAHA, seems like someone is desperate for sales. Toyota can you wake up? At least offer ESP instead of those dumb gadgets and bodykit. We consumers got plenty of other better alternatives to choose from

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • bashersux on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Stock clearance like Saga Plus lah. Bash apa?

• kakaka on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:34 am

Saga is going to be end of line like Saga RM29,9999 last time. Meanwhile these moving coffins still have years to come. Tak laku lettew!

Kakakakakakakakakakakaka

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:22 pm

What the hell is this…? Why add useless stuff when UMW can add something as simple but crucial as ESC/ESP…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Lololol on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Cos all the budget spend on the lip service safety advertisements….

• toyolta on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Lets speak their language lah…Its your VSC Toyota, thats what we are looking for!

• Why take out ABS in the Plus car?

• shawal on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:22 pm

the safety pack should also be standard on the altis…

but too bad, everyone is buying an HR-V…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • LOLOL on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:24 pm

They still dont get it…. Buyers want safety, they give ICE….. Bodoh la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Better than Saga removing ABS for bodykit… Lagi bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • camtakpro on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:01 am

UMW is not Toyota ok. UMW just only know how to fit in accessories like those normal accessory shops – DVD, push start button, tint, body kit, reverse camera.

You ask them add more airbags, add VSC, change 6spd auto, change engine, they have to make appointment from Japanese Toyota engineers to make the changes.

• Losing sales to Honda on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:25 pm

After losing sales to Honda, now only give all these accessories where it should already be offered in the first place at this ridiculous price. However, all these doesn’t increase the safety of the car. Toyota is still overpriced in every segment when compared to Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Lololol on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Problem is, Toyota giving stuff which can retrofit easily….. and the items they give is not that good also… can easily find better….

Buuutttttt the stuff customers asking for is something which cannot retrofit easily like airbag and vsc. Maybe UMW is trying to get out of the Toyota market and focus somewhere else. If that is the case, they are doing well!

• laughing stock on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:35 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Remove all the kits pls it wont make the car any faster

Pls make more airbag!!!!!
    ITS AIRBAG DO U HEAR ME!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Who is laughing? on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:33 pm

You mean like Proton? Proton got more airbags than Toyota?

• pakajijeep on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:37 pm

HAHAHA.. Only now they could offer all those kits.. Do it earlier lah… Only upgrade those gadgets, but safety kits they dont want to do so… Haiyooo…

• Bodykit is cheaper than VSC, UMW really know how to kira. Die die also no give VSC or more airbags even your car is overpriced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota is learning from Proton. But unlike Proton, Toyota don’t remove ABS

• DonkeyKong on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:59 pm

They make it look like they’re giving RM5.5k worth of free stuff when actually the bodykit’s cost price from the manufacturer is less than RM300 and the ICE unit is from a China factory with a cost price of RM500.

UMW is run by a bunch of idiots but it’s okay, it’s still being worshiped by dumb Malaysian buyers

• As I always said, P2 and Toyota both are brothers, one offer gear up and another this. Do they forgot that they are selling/distributing cars? Now they do ah beng modification business also.

• Yes, and Proton learning from them, offering Saga Plus

• xiper (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:17 am

because they tried the other way round by offering good safety on Iriz but in the end the sales is bad. Myvi is still the preferred choice even the lowest spec without ABS.

Many Malaysian didn’t even know what is ESC and how important it is.

• lazyf on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Ooooooo…uols (Toyota) tiru strategi pemasaran Proton Saga FLX Plus eh?
    (additional bodykit without extra charges)

Kui kui kui kui kui!!!

• start a fight on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:20 pm

last chances to clear stock, before end of year then kena give kaw-kaw discount to clear stock..

the cycle is there. should you want to buy a car, wait till near end of year… you will loose some, but hey! you win some too..

• toyotafan on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:21 pm

UMW cannot address the safety issue without incurring more CAPEX.

They cannot put more airbags because the wire-harness is only meant for 2 airbags. The interior panel have to be changed too.

They cannot put EBD and VSC without changing the whole brake system.

All these require CAPEX for the entire plant.

Maybe for new models coming in the future, they will do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • xiper (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:18 pm

What future are you taking about? We are already at 2015, VSC should be standard!

Camry facelift launched just few months back and they are changing the entire engine and gearbox. With such a big change on the drivetrain is still not enough to add VSC into E spec and more airbags across the range? The Camry is 10k premium over the competitors which have the ESP as standard (Accord, Teana).

UMW needs Wawasan 2020 also?

• DumbLohh on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:21 pm

How many more years to wait? Im still counting.

• John Smith on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:23 pm

The fact that the higher end versions of the Altis have VSC means there is no CAPEX involved in making it standard.

Plus, EBD and VSC does not require a wholesale change in braking system, just some additional equipment.

Do your research first before writing. And go ahead and buy a car with inferior safety systems for your family to ride in.

• start a fight on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:37 pm

not much about engineering, but to install bodykit or ice stuff, kedai abang oso can help. plus those unbranded put Toyota logo.. people already satisfied, DVD AVN for RM3k.. u can get much more powerful one.. buy at 500 sell at 3k.. ok laa.. everyone happy.. buyer happy, seller happy, agent of coz happy, bank much more happy

it is not like the free ICE is harman, JBL or meridian to start with.

• For Altis Alphard can lor, they just too stingy to give safety upgrade.

• Lololol on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:08 pm

If the cars dont sell and the the plant keeps producing.. no matter what PEX you talking about is useless. Cos current spec is a big fat X on the buyers list!

• DPCraft on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:41 pm

“Toyota Altis facelift coming in 2016, Toyota Alphalt- New model should reach malaysia soon, Innova- new model coming, Toyota Vios – Probably a facelift coming soon? + losing to Honda City.” UMW Toyota Stock clearance ??

• Toyota’s own moving is becoming its own coffin. RIP.

• NO ESP,VSC, TCS on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:25 pm

No meaning to add those accessories.
    ESP, More bags are more important! Stupid UMW!
    Gen9 Altis is safer than this new altis!!!

• Power Rangers on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:45 pm

RIP UMW…Toyota Malaysia will be coming next..

• John Thomas on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:01 pm

You can get oem DVD plus navi less than 1k. Don’t worry. And its a very good one

• Ootai on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:13 pm

The principal in Japan is giving nothing new to umw. Pricing used to be in ¥ but now in $usd. The means, more pricey for nothing. The japs are fed-up of jibby’s policy. Might as well sell more to the thais & indons. The japs have newer models but they are exporting to bolehland.

• Please keep your trashy politics in fmt, mkini. This is a car blog. And FYI, Japan still does business in yen. Their economy is worse than us and they really need the foreign exchange. So if you wanna talk out of your ass, please F-off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Yes, this is a car blog for car discussion, not a bashing thread for you to run your mouth or bash others

• VSC/ESP on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:29 pm

vsc..vsc…vsc

• Teksi Kangkung on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:51 pm

As usual…. UMW are selling cars with syoik-sendiri body kits…Gimmick body kits, gimmick stickers, gimmick names, etc. yawnnnnn…
    Even kedai-Abang can do these easily la….

Looks only fast, but NOTHING about performance underneath the outdated cars, low tech, low safety features…

• Think twice on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:52 pm

It’s obvious this move indicates that these “stock” models have still ample and are sitting idle in the warehouse, too bad that what we consumers ask for features like safety airbags (in Altis case, 7, where it should have been offered in the first place instead of an upgrade) and VSC are not as easily assembled as fitting aero kits or wiring in DVN. A bit late already, that’s why they’re clearing unprefered accessories where usually nobody would opt to “upgrade” when a spend within budget is on mind. Now here I hope UMW Toyota change their future strategy on what selling point is more crucial than offering “accessories”.

• Jennifer on Sep 01, 2015 at 9:23 pm

My friend just collected his Toyota Vios 1.5G.

is my turn to get the New Toyota Corrola Altis V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • dugongx on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:23 am

omg…why oh why? No everyone in your office will be secretly laughing at you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Don’t they better pile up with more safety features that actually boost their sales? What a dumb strategy… As ones said, stupidity has limitless…

• xiper (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:22 am

they are looking for LOYAL people, doesn’t matter if they are stupid. LOYAL fans will still buy..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Consider a 12 month old Elantra instead.

Price wise, minus the left most digit of a brand new Corolla

• dugongx on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:27 am

Been looking for the whole year already. went to more than 100 used car dealers. Non are selling at your daydreaming price. Cheapest also 60k for 3 yr old. You must be confused with 10 year old elantra.

• I love how people are justifying not having VSC by comparing Toyota with Proton.

Just because the Saga Plus (a quarter of the price of an Altis) doesn’t have ABS, doesn’t make it forgivable for UMW to keep being cheap with safety.

If Proton wants to build a junk car, let them. They’ll just become more and more irrelevant, forever playing catch-up.

But the fact that people are diverting attention away from UMW Toyota cheapness by bashing Proton (that had NOTHING to do with this) shows how pathetic the once-respected Japanese carmaker has become.