VIDEO: Tun M, new Proton Perdana in Filem Kapsul

Proton Perdana Filem Kapsul 01

Here’s Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed with an undisguised new Proton Perdana, on video. Both man and car will play a part in local movie Filem Kapsul, and these promo clips for the film show snippets of Proton’s upcoming new flagship car. Thanks to reader Eizhan Armani for pointing us to it.

There’s a scene in each video where the new Perdana is shown, one with Tun walking towards the car and another with the Proton chairman seated in the driver’s chair.

The former gives us a glimpse of the Perdana’s front end design, which sports thick chrome wings that span the length of the grille. Other differences from the donor car (previous-gen Honda Accord) spotted by my eagle-eyed colleagues include a unique bonnet with centre contour lines and new wing mirrors with rather large integrated turn signals.

Proton Perdana Filem Kapsul 02

Look through the windscreen and you’ll see that the C pillars of the Perdana differ from the Accord’s (there’s a small quarter glass), further proof that the big Proton will have some differentiation with the body, unlike today’s government-use Perdana, which is merely a rebadge of the large Honda.

The second scene reveals what looks like an unchanged Accord upper dash design, but there’s a white (or cream) steering wheel in place that matches the seats and upper cabin trim. And is that an auto-dimming rear view mirror?

While the current Proton Perdana is nothing but a previous-gen Honda Accord with Proton badges for government official use, the second phase of development involves more work on a car that you and me can buy. DRB-Hicom group MD Tan Sri Khamil Jamil told us some time back that the public-use Perdana will have a new interior and exterior that will set it apart from the donor Accord.

The second-phase Perdana is scheduled for a 2016 release, and we’re expecting it to launch with Honda powertrains. Or will a new Proton-Petronas engine be ready by then? Proton acquired all of Petronas’ engine technologies and associated patents for RM63 million in 2012, and we were told last year that direct-injection and turbo direct-injection are among the acquired tech, and that they “can be applied to all engines.”

Current government-use Proton Perdana

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 15, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Hopefully the price and exterior are truly what been promise. Totally different from the Accord.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 14
    • Tapaw on Sep 15, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Hopefully it can bring Rm1 billion profits to Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
      • Quite a stretch target to achieve. At higher up the car chain, the price diff between local and Japanese is not too significant, and this is not a volume seller, so it does not have much savings spread out. At that kinda pricing, the taukes, chinaman kompeni owners, LGEs, etc might just save up on 1 months profits and rather buy Camry/Accord.

Unless they give minimal acceptable safety (2/4 Abags, w/ ESP but no TC, no hill hold), no keyless start, no auto start/stop, halogen lights, give good soft touch dash, comfy fabric seats, std d-din radio w/o GPS or camera, manual wipers & air con w/ rear vents, w/ cruise control. And price it to compete with civic/altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Minister on Sep 15, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Buy original, use original. Say NO to pirated Accord!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 61
          • You think this your proudly made in China Landwind kah? Dun even know how to differentiate licensed copy and jack sparrow. RBA topkek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 45
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 15, 2015 at 10:12 pm

This is what I’ve been talking so much last time. The Perdana is a new car with Honda powertrain. Proton engineers are working hard to ensure their D-segment car project a good and luxurious image to Proton. So no need to worry about quality issue as this car is better than old Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 40
          • China Landwind made with their own money. Proton? Steal rakyat’s money to copy the Japanese and call it our national car.
            Red Shirt topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 39
      • Tupai on Sep 16, 2015 at 3:33 am

Hopefully Najib will donate RM 1 billion to Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Sep 15, 2015 at 3:33 pm

precise attention to detail paultan team!! brilliant. :)

just hoping that proton wont intend to sell the car at 160k like other D segment cars.

remember the formula when hyundai introduced the sonata EF some 13 years back?

they sold the cars at approx 120K – the price toyota was selling altis 1.8G and cheaper than Honda civic 2.0S (model S5A) and it was a success in its own way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • but it was 120k on Sep 15, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Just so you know…the old perdana was sold for around 120k too. and for malaysian that are used to ‘proton=should be cheap’ it did not sell well. Most of it was used as government fleet car anyway.

Although in current times, 120k for a full size D segment car sure sounds interesting.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 15, 2015 at 10:15 pm

This is a D-segment car and most of the Accord tooling already amortized so I dont think that the price is higher. I confident that Proton will able to provide C-segment price for the package of D-segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • Of course you can lah. With protection, Proton can always provide C segment price for D segment car. Am i right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Danedz on Sep 15, 2015 at 12:48 pm

White colour steering?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Percordd on Sep 15, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Cut cost lah. Running out black leather cloths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
      • Johnkok on Sep 15, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Hopefully it will have original Takata airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Sorry to say Proton almost always use Autoliv Airbags, an even more branded company can you believe it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
  • wastage on Sep 15, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 219
    • mr1031 on Sep 15, 2015 at 1:59 pm

just like someone’s negativity which has no limitation

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 12
  • LittleMin on Sep 15, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Don’t think the body is totally unique, just some unique design from C-pillar onwards i guess.

And from the same dashboard from 8th Accord, either this is still a halfway prototype, or Proton CEO was talking big but ended up the interior dint change due to budget problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
  • White Steering? Seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
  • wilson on Sep 15, 2015 at 1:12 pm

gg honda accord…………..

macam lancer liao………
    nobody wan buy liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 55
  • Cisco on Sep 15, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Thats not the new perdana. This one is not coming out for production. the actual one looks better then this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Cisco on Sep 15, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Thats not the production car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • The headlights will be of projector type, and will have a small plating with the word “Proton” on top of the projector, just like the Iriz.

It’s a shame that the turn signal on the wing mirrors is not using the LED-strip-like on the Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • pontiac on Sep 15, 2015 at 1:27 pm

xla paultan.. i meant danny tan.. this one is the same as the current gov production

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • I think it looks cool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • TheDean on Sep 15, 2015 at 2:40 pm

The coolest old man in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
  • SAM VHL Loo on Sep 15, 2015 at 2:41 pm

If this Accordana provides what customers want as well as buck up their quality and after sales seriously, i wouldn’t mind demote from Toyotaik to Proton even if i am very rich person. Furthermore, there’s lots of quality issues nowadays in Toyotaik from UMW Toyotaik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 27
    • But the reality is you are not a very rich person. So continue to use your Protaik cars. I’m sure no quality issues from DRB Protaik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • farhanatan on Sep 15, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Wira was designed based on late model lancer at its time. It was a success. Same goes to this accordana. I hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Sep 15, 2015 at 3:52 pm

during wira time, the cheapest japanese car was corolla EE111 (1.3 16v) at almost 100k. the 1.6 version with ABS was selling at 110k.

there was no vios at that time, or perodua myvi/alza or kia spectra or rio.

ppl were left with take or leave it option. many had no choice but to take it.

proton was doing well but they overlooked on many issues like power window, poor after sales service standards, no test drive cars and force options like body stickers, alloy wheels etc.

what you see proton today is the effect of its own negligence in the 80s and 90s. while on the other hand, what u see toyota today is its hard work done during the same time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • What I see of toyota today is a bunch of greedy, selfish and self-serving scums that takes their customers life for granted. They take their loyal customers as fools that will buy shit as long as you stick a T badge on it and worst thing is there got pipu like you who take this shit and call it the best thing in life.

As compared to Proton that after years of slumber, now takes care of their customers. They at least value their customers life and give a value for money product. If in an accident, I rather be in an IRIZ than an Altis. My chances of survival would be much higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 34
        • johndumbass on Sep 15, 2015 at 9:51 pm

What i see in Proton is still the arrogant, syok sendiri, and self-slapping moron that still requires your dear Leader’s protection for survival. They suck in millions from rakyat but produce junks that are subpar in qualiity. Only loyal fools like you who takes this rubbish will defend the brand and call it “Whatever of Asia”.

After 30 years of existence, Proton still treat their customers like shit. The most unsatisfactory car brand is still Proton as shown in the latest survey of JD Power. Not only do Proton provides crap service but they don’t value the customers life by ramping up productions of crap cars like Saga and Persona. None of these cars can even match the safety rating of a Myvi. Go back to drive your Persona/Gen 2 as your chances of being a fool is much higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 32
          • irizftw on Sep 16, 2015 at 12:39 am

Why not compare with Iriz?
            Iriz 20 Myvi 0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
          • Kanasai on Sep 16, 2015 at 2:01 am

JD Power only take 2000 plus ppl to do the report, only sohai like u believe that result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • You can say whatever you like, but if my IRIZ crashes head to head with your altis, lets see who comes out alive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • JD Power on Sep 16, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Don’t believe us? Go believe your dear leader lah, sohai Kanasai Proton supporter

• Absolute Rider on Sep 15, 2015 at 3:16 pm

The cream steering is not final I think. Seems like not yet wrap with leather.

I think Malaysian movies both Malay and Chinese/Cantonese movies should use more Proton cars just like how those English movies to promote particular car brands especially Korean promote their own Hyundai and Kia. In local films, I always watch Proton as police cars only. For example: Chevrolet in Transformers, Audi in Transporter. Aston Martin, BMW etc in James Bond and so many others.

It is time for Proton to totally change the interior for Preve and Suprima S. The interior is outdated and with inconsistent panel gaps. Every panel doesn’t match at all like taken from different car, these include center panel, for Suprima S front door panel with “silver” finish but rear door don’t have. talking about this “silver” finish. I personally really don’t like it as it looks cheap and mismatch the whole design including those front dash and center panel. Can use high quality real silver spray and interior door opener use chrome finishes just like the old days Perdana V6.

Please use new, good and reliable infotainment system.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • Matchy on Sep 15, 2015 at 3:27 pm

If Proton willing to sponsor the movie, sure they’ll feature them.

• Absolute Rider on Sep 15, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Leather wrap on handbrake in Suprima S also look and feel terrible. Please look and learn other car manufacturers do it.

• Alias on Sep 15, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Looks sell but what determines whether
    this will make it or break it is the drive train.
    If its a Honda then ok but if the plan is for a
    game changer Campro CPS engine then
    Its sayonara adios & #$÷habis to P1.

• Matchy on Sep 15, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Need Rendering Whiz Theophilus Chin to whip up his PS skill again!

• Lets call the new car Proton Pronda…:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Waiting for it to be replacing Perdana, which starting price used to be RM90k starting.

• Nasi Lemak 4.0 on Sep 15, 2015 at 6:42 pm

A new milotin with nasi lemak techomology. Nothing new!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Kanasai on Sep 16, 2015 at 2:06 am

I think better than taufu Toyota with new bullshit technology. Kanasai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Protaik on Sep 16, 2015 at 3:45 pm

How come taufu Toyota can get 4 stars NCAP while ‘Volvo of Asia’ quality Proton like Saga and Persona only 3 stars NCAP? I think Malaysians like you have mind full of bullshit thinking

• Better give us Petronas oomph engine.

dont need the old Honda Engine.

• DPCraft on Sep 15, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Can wait for 2016 Accord !!

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 15, 2015 at 7:41 pm

On par with Camry Hybrid brother Sam Loo.

• Potong on Sep 15, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Usd naik japanese yen naik how to be competitive. Unless potong quality loh

• Hor Shen Hau on Sep 15, 2015 at 9:14 pm

For those who say this car has a tin Milo technology,tin Milo quality.But the reality is,this car has high quality,high technology,but only Malaysian mindset is still at tin Milo standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Toyota=Coffin on Sep 16, 2015 at 2:13 am

90% of Malaysian only know complaint and blame here blame there bcos their mind full of rubbish thinking. Therefore, Malaysia wouldn’t be able success and cannot become a developed country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Malaysians still minda penjajah. All import products, import technology, import pipu, import thinking is veri gooding.
        Local things are useless and full of shit (except what that they do for work). To them even homeless Rohingyas dun even wanna use Buatan Malaysia products. Need to kick far far away.

• Proton=Cremation on Sep 16, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Of course lah. See what cars your king used? RR or Bentley. Proton? Ptuih! Leave it to the poor

Rakyat just following what the leader is doing mah

• MalaysiaBaguss on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:43 pm

if you are malaysian, my king is the same as your king..
            if you are malaysian, rakyat means you and me..
            if you malaysian, give constructive comments for malaysian product..
            and of course the above valid if only you are a malaysian lah

• jobless on Sep 15, 2015 at 9:41 pm

even if Rm90k oso me wont buy..look at Inspira’s fate…and if Rm100k-120k it is enroaching into territory of Civic Altis…they kip making the same error and same old thinking last time..

• Aero (Member) on Sep 15, 2015 at 9:53 pm

That’s one way to raise publicity for a movie. But we’ve still got 3 or 4 months to go until the car itself is launched, so a lot could still change. But so far, it sounds very promising… but I still wish Proton would hurry up with the Iriz Sedan, that should be their no.1 priority.

• ShakieShawn on Sep 16, 2015 at 12:36 am

Cool… look forward to the launching.. hopefully the interior will not be boring black or grey cheap looks.. quite sure with Tun hands on.. results will be up to date.
    By the way.. being a toyota guy all way through.. i never like Honda in and out..

• Vikram on Sep 16, 2015 at 5:18 am

Why would anyone buy a car now of all times ? Economy has been bad so far, ringgit plummeting, reserves dropping, house prices increasing, basic spending on necessities has increased significantly, why would anyone wants to spend hard earned ringgit on a car? And it’s a proton?! RM 120k for a Proton car? That’s madness!

• An Audi S5 uses a Lamborghini engine what’s the difference to what Proton is doing?

All other car manufacturers did it why very critical of what Proton wanting to join the band wagon.

Just look at F1 for crying out loud, Red Bull is not using Red Bull engine do they?

SMART car is using BMW engine.

• Lamborghini, audi, buggati, porsche, etc are all comes from the same family, thw volkswagon. Volkswagon owns them all. So its normal to see siblings borrow other siblings stuff once in a while

• For F1, as far as I know, red bull never do any RnD on engine, they purchase it from renault, for the new season, they try to purchase new engine from mercedes, but was rejected. You should consider F1 as a custom made stuff. Like u make ur own homemade go kart and use honda ex5 engine to run it.

• I thought Smart is using Mercedes stuff since it is owned by mercedes. Guess I was wrong

• JennySdk on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:14 am

Support Tun M….Support PROTON

• frostier on Sep 16, 2015 at 1:44 pm

If my info is correct, the new perdana should be a collaboration wiyh Hyundai.

• I can see unique tiger faced car…

• John Nasbitt on Sep 16, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Really looking forward to this car.

A lot of executives can’t afford (nor should they) a luxury C/D segment. This car, which should price right under the Civic/Altis, would definately give the Japs/Koreans a run for their money.

Economics have changed, and beyond exchange rates, the production methodology and resourcing of materials have evolved into something that will tip the odds into Proton’s favour.

The Perdana, if what is rumoured/reported thus far is correct, is going to be a well received model and expect it to sell well.

• Nissan on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:18 am

This segment is for the mid income, who will buy this if they can afford other brand?

• orangminyakenjin on Sep 22, 2015 at 10:16 am

What if it is the real Perdana or not the car still look cool. Wait for it. Thums up to Tun M.