SPIED: Jaguar XE 2.0 R-Sport in Malaysia, RM360k est

2016-jaguar-xe-spyshots-malaysia- 001

With a launch date set for January 28, the new Jaguar XE has been spotted ahead of its local debut in Jaguar Land Rover’s showroom in Glenmarie, Shah Alam. These photos were sent in to us by reader Fikri (thanks buddy!), and give us an initial preview of the coming model.

Specifically, what we’re looking at here appears to be the Jaguar XE R-Sport 2.0 Petrol. The sportier version of the four-door sedan is dressed up in an athletic exterior and interior kit, and features a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged petrol engine.

Speaking of which, while Thailand has received a lower-tune 2.0 litre engine which makes just 200 PS, the Malaysian-market XE spied here does appear to have a “25 T” badge at the rear. This suggests that we could be in for the more potent 240 PS version, rather than the weaker 200 PS one Thailand gets.

2016-jaguar-xe-spyshots-malaysia- 005

At the moment, we can’t say for sure if this is the only variant of the XE that JLR Malaysia plans to launch here. In Thailand, we recall that two versions of the car were made available – one being the R-Sport variant you see here, another being the top-shelf XE Portfolio 2.0 Petrol.

The hotter 2.0 litre turbo mill is rated to have 240 PS at 5,500 rpm and 340 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm. Jaguar claims that its zero to 100 km/h sprint can be sorted in just 6.8 seconds, with top speed limited to 250 km/h. The vehicle is also paired with a ZF-sourced eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

Comparatively, this would put the Malaysian-spec Jaguar XE in competition with the 211 hp/350 Nm Mercedes-Benz C 250 (RM288k), the 252 hp/350 Nm BMW 330i (RM309k) and the 225 hp/350 Nm Audi A4 2.0 TFSI (RM312k).

2016-jaguar-xe-spyshots-malaysia- 010

In any case, while the XE does compete against the 3 Series, C-Class and A4, this is, after all, a proper Jaguar. As such, do expect a slightly higher price tag to match the acclaimed distinction – we hear that local prices are expected to start from around the RM360k mark.

In Thailand, the top-spec XE Portfolio with its lower-tuned 2.0 turbo-four is listed at 4.19 million baht (RM508k), while the XE R-Sport retails for 3.99 million baht (RM485k). We’ll have to wait till we get a little closer to the its local launch event to confirm more details.

GALLERY: Jaguar XE official photos

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Mein kam on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Good luck to buyers of Jaguar cars in Malaysia. They’re nice to look at but questionable to own.

• Nenek Kau on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:45 pm

The performance benchmark is BMW and luxury is Benz. If they price it here as per Thai’s, no one will buy.

• Pariah Service for High Class Car on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:52 pm

High class car with low class service. Only 1 place to service, Glenmarie. At the service centre, got no place to sit. You can stand and watch your car being serviced through a glass panel.

No coffee. No water also. Yes, I am not joking. Coffee machine got but rosak. Water also tak ada. Sometimes you get Hwa Tai biskut but most of the time, nothing.

This is what you call pariah company given the dealership.

One may argue it is for drivers to take their bosses cars in but come on, Jaguar owners like to be treated with some class I am sure and the bosses want to drive their car in.

Very very low class service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Jagger on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Stop being delusional. Go back to your pity MyVi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Jama Kazura on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Sometimes, on my XF, the rotary gear nob has issues coming up..British has good design and different to german, but reliability still needs to improve.

• hahaha on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:26 pm

wow 360k. all the best jlr…

• Xtype on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Was there in November and saw the grey XE R Sport. The sales rep says this particular model will be close to RM4XX. Mood soured instantaneously cos it’s way too expensive

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:41 pm

is it faster than the competitors? is it more luxurious? better to drive? honestly better spend the money on the volvo xc90

• if the price is above 300k , its immediately a non-starter. c250 amg is only rm 290k.