SPIED: 2016 Proton Saga spotted testing yet again

2016 Proton Saga prototype 6

Another day, another sighting of the 2016 Proton Saga. This time, the photos come courtesy of paultan.org reader Jayson Lai, who spotted two test mules rolling along the ELITE Highway. So, what’s new here?

Well, there’s now a wavy, circular camouflage on one of the prototypes (seen here with a new trade plate compared to earlier prototypes). As for its design cues, a clear shot of the prototype’s front fascia reveals reshaped headlamps, a new dual-bar grille and redesigned front bumper. These exterior highlights appear to be consistent with earlier photos of the car.

At the rear, the “hypnotic” camo hides away more of the tail lamps’ design. Earlier sightings revealed a three-dimensional look to them, but that may have been altered on this example here. However, the rear fog lamp is still clearly visible.

2016 Proton Saga prototype 1

Down the sides, the Saga’s shoulder line is prominently seen, progressively rising from the front to the rear of the vehicle. Iriz-style door handles are positioned within the said line as well. The rear window is extended further back compared to the current Saga, possibly to promote more interior space.

Like before, details on what lies under the hood of the new Saga is scarce. Potential engine options could include the Iriz’s 1.3 litre VVT engine, with a choice of a five-speed manual or a CVT. Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines may also be featured in the future as these mills are slated to begin production by the end of 2017.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mozilla Chrome on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Again??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Sam L00 on Apr 26, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Time to sell my son saga, regret to buy it 2 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Boring Samy on Apr 26, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Boring samy soon will come here to share fake story. No life

• Same L00 on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:09 pm

The Saga is best selling Proton model because it is CHEAP.
          It has NO VSC, NO 6 airbags, No TRC, NO, Hill Assist. It is a typical moving coffin John like to refers.
          Plus the terrible fuel consuming, poor built quality and almost-0 RV, it is a perfect JUNK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Albert on Apr 26, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Datuk Sam loor,
        If a woman stands infront of u and keep doing this stupid striptease over and over,without….s(u know what I mean),wont u feel disgusted?
        Prootng,after gasaking rm 1.5 Billion from taxpayers,is again buying time with the stupid campour engine and going porno.
        Remember,the Iriz,socalled game changer?
        Now,a facelifted Saga….just living on borrowed time.Disgraceful and mentality pengemis.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:57 am

Proton is such a failure. Last month it only sold 5535 cars. And I can bet, 90% of them was ordered by Bomba, Spanco, PDRM, TLDM, TUDM and Government Ministries.

Year to date Proton has only sold 19225 cars. That is 3 months. So, we can assume, by end of this year, maximum Proton can sell is 76,000 units.

Last year Proton created biggest shame for the whoe of Malaysia by selling only 100,000 cars. This year, another shame, as the figure will be much lower. Malu betul.

We can assume that the RM1.5 billion will disappear like David Copperfield magic. That RM1.5 billion came from your pocket and my pocket. That same RM1.5 billion could have built at least 10 fully fledged Government schools and 10 fully fledged free Government hospitals for the rakyat.

How is Proton going to turn around? Mustapa did a big drama for the rakyat initially not wanting to give Proton the money. But we ll know, they sure give Proton the money free.

This RM1.5 billion is not a one off. Proton has been getting billions every other year from our tax payers money. Don’t forget, when Mahathir was PM and towkay in Petronas, he took billions every other year to keep his baby Proton alive.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of our money. I can presume Proton has sucked about RM100 billion since its inception of our hard earned money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • protong produce good car this time. Pls support. they want to make it reliable up to three generation. That’s why they keep testing all over malaysia few thousand times before launch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • 4G63T DSM on Apr 27, 2016 at 10:53 am

So what you are saying is that they are spending lots of time to test out the bugs from bad engineering?

• VWfan on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:30 pm

you got son meh? i thought you are a “bujang terlajak”… still got some unlucky woman interested with person like you

• Tiara on Apr 26, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Wow new Proton! So Excited

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • New car with old fashion antenna. Come on…. Wake up proton.

• As like the antenna is the only problem to the else “a perfect car”.

• mr jem on Apr 27, 2016 at 9:02 am

Hav u seen the MX5 antenna? Hahahahaha

• theanswer on Apr 27, 2016 at 11:04 am

nasib baik tak guna retractable antenna macam perdana lama..hahaha

• Wow another Saga FLXX or SVX model.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:58 am

Proton, last month, sold only 5000 cars, how to sustain their overbloated staff? How to sustain their mega huge workforce?

Proton has one of the largest workforce in the world of any car manufacturing plant. They follow the Malaysian style. Employ for fun. Like our Government.

Malaysian Government employs 1.5 million civil servants to cater to 30 million rakyat. Australia employs 250,000 civil servants to cater for the SAME 30 million Australian rakyat.

So how is Proton going to pay their super huge mega workforce? According to Proton CEO, they kononnya make only RM500 clean profit per car. So 5000 cars sold you get untung RM2.5 million

How to pay 30,000 workers with RM2.5 million when their big gun directors alone earn 6 figures per month???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rr on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:06 am

Engine? For sure Campro..
      CVT? For sure CVT bising Punch Powertrain..

Asean NCAP? For sure 1 star.. No VDC.. 2 airbag..

• OMG…Enough of spyshots on this lousy & cacat car…puihhh

• Seninbong on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Few ppl r interested so even less r excited abt this piece of news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • Low Budget on Apr 27, 2016 at 10:42 am

Many will come to the Proton show room at Shah Alam to look at the car due to curiosity, they will park haphazardly along Kesas and create traffic jam along the Proton Showroom’s stretch, after that they go home and the next day going to P2 showroom and place booking on Axia or MyVi..

• Aero, when is the Perdana going to launch? Waiting so long already la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • If you look closely, there is a car in those pictures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Every1canTalk on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Come on, few pictures of the potong car already can keep on posting again and again even empty content?
    How is the banana now, other blog and even cari did post a real car image without any cover already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • jinggo on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Booo! Boring.. lembap lembap.. boo! Dah beli kete lain dah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • Bagus la ko beli keta lain… proton baru ni nampak mcm honda… ops typo… mcm hodoh

• mr w205 on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Perdana bila nak launch……….??????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Why dont have p2 sedan testing

• thebosssedangbercakap on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Come on la paultan.org, no one cares about proton anymore. Enoughla with this spotted thingy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 30
    • Apparently u cared enuff to comment. LoL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 26, 2016 at 7:37 pm

This article bring high traffic to Paultan.. u cant blame them. Good for advertiser n publisher as more pipu come. high traffic high income. Just look other article (other than p1,p2,toyota,honda) the number of pipu comment is low eg even mitsu scandal seem has receive low comment. it mean pipu not interested so low traffic less money. If i were paultan admin i will put one p1 article per day to bring traffic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • trafficdra on Apr 26, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Only you

• Ugly Potong Turd on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Most Ugly Turd on wheels from Potong …..close shop faster !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
  • Steve Kok on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:38 pm

I got nothing against Proton cars.
    Personally I think they need to improve the quality of their car.
    Be it the new Saga or so called new Perdana which i heard is based on the old Honda Accord.

If the build quality is inferior to the old Accord. Then I don’t think the car can sell lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • policeman on Apr 26, 2016 at 6:59 pm

My eagle eyes spotted the following:

1. Tail lights extend to the boot lid. You can see the reverse lamps on it.

2. Boot key lock is located next to the number plate, no more at the rear garnish.

• Rosmalinah on Apr 26, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Shit spotted again on the road. Pls ask the garbage truck to come collect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • What the hack showing this already-dated-on-launch saga again and again.
    If got balls, just launch and lets look at the sale figure.
    Expected nothing to huhah in term of its specs and build quality.
    It is just a labour car for those really cannot afford better car ( indeed they can if they are not staying in malaysia).

• Plz Dont Post again POTONG cars again……BORING BORING BORING

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • Sudahla Cukupla Proton on Apr 26, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Seem like the test-driver is joyriding in the car….with the pretext of “testing” this new but old proton car.

Let’s just say this proton is doomed before it is launched.

ppl are already fed-up with this car even with disguise. Ppl will hate it if this car without disguise…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Batak on Apr 26, 2016 at 7:53 pm

When will they test the new engines, all these ‘design update’ are stale news, in the end it would still look ugly. Can’t be a- about it

• Huehue on Apr 26, 2016 at 11:32 pm

Front design looks good, but the wheels look very weird.

• theanswer on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:57 am

steel rim. but hopefully they can give proper sized rim. unlike those at iriz 1.3..looks too small.

• janji najix tidak ditunaikan,Penipu Rakyat on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:14 am

When can we seeing this spyshot end and no more?bored enuf. Junk metal

• FireAce on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:33 am

These spotted pictures are “staged”. Car apparently parked on road side at middle of no where for people to take “spotted pictures”. Yeah right… spoted my foot!!

• Aero (Member) on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:59 am

The quality of the photos is excellent, good job man Jayson.

Proton should take their time and make sure every single nut, bolt, panel, light bulb, plastic component, electronic module… everything, 99.9%, is tested extensively for potential quality problems before proceeding with the new Saga’s launch. The same goes for the new BH Persona.

Make sure the RM1.5 billion loan is justified. Get rid of the useless vendors, no second chances or ‘takpe lah bradder’ attitude, Proton must be firm with their vendors and aftersales. Private sector employees cannot take their jobs for granted… this kind of mentality will only breed complacency.

If you’re wondering why I’ve not shared many comments on these Proton spyshots (like I used to years ago), it’s because I’ve already said almost everything that needed saying in 2013 and 2014 with the Suprima S and Iriz. I don’t see the point of repeating the same words again and again. I have met and spoken to many Proton engineers and employees, they are a bright, brilliant, hard working and under-appreciated group of individuals who are sadly held back by political intervention and a lack of capital and manpower (Proton’s R&D team is tiny btw). Every man and woman in Proton (no not Proton Edar, Proton’s engineering divisions) has the workload of 2 or 3 men & women in some other car company. Yet, they are certainly not paid or appreciated 2 or 3 times more. It doesn’t help that half of Malaysia hates Proton, when they’re merely the scapegoat in the bigger picture. But worry not, God is always watching, and God is always fair.

Anyway, Proton knows what they have to do. It’s only a matter of execution, I trust that they will execute it well, and not repeat their past mistakes.

• Low Budget on Apr 27, 2016 at 10:48 am

When is God gonna smile at Proton and said, “Good Job!”

• want_diy on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:38 pm

If u said Proton R&D is tiny, it meas PERODUA R&D is NANOTINY then, but still….u know…

• namanama on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:43 pm

I used to be proton haters,but my bad perception is slowly vanished after 2 of my friend bought Iriz,its not a bad car…Sure theres some bugs here and there.But hey,compared to Preve this Iriz is much better is term of material and panel fitment.No complain on handling.Superb for a small car.

• thepolygonal on Apr 27, 2016 at 9:12 am

If only bigfoot is spotted these many times.