SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Saga shows tail light design

20160412_095139

Our readers have caught the 2016 Proton Saga again – this time Rachel Ow and Christopher Lim have sent in photos of both the upcoming budget sedan and its bigger sibling, the 2016 Proton Perdana, near the national carmaker’s Centre of Excellence (COE) in Shah Alam.

The images of the Saga hold particular interest as they include a close up shot of the tail lights. It shows a larger, more three-dimensional trapezoidal shape of the lamps compared to the wraparound triangular items on the current Saga. Unlike the FLX, however, this mule looks to have conventional bulbs compared to the former’s LEDs, so it does look to be a slight downgrade from the outgoing model.

Elsewhere, we can see the faster rear windscreen rake that contrasts against the upright look of the current car, along with a C-pillar kink. This sleeker appearance has been accentuated by a shoulder line that slopes upwards towards the rear, as well as the new Iriz-style door handles that are now in line with the aforementioned line.

Technical details remain scarce right now, but the Saga could launch with the Iriz’s 1.3 litre VVT engine and a choice of a five-speed manual or a CVT. Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines may also make an appearance further down the line – these mills are slated to begin production by the end of 2017 – while a turbocharged version of the 1.0 litre engine could also feature.

As for the new Perdana, not much can be gleaned that’s new in our eyes, particularly as we have already seen the finished article in the metal. However, this sighting of what looks like a production-ready model once again confirms that the flagship D-segment sedan is nearing its launch – the order books have already been opened for the car, after all.

In his explanation for his resignation, former Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said that the Perdana will be launched later this month. As for the Saga, no launch window has been announced just yet, but it is claimed that it will be unveiled before the end of this year, after the B-segment Persona sedan.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• shawal on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:21 am

final push for proton after this soft loan…
    All the best then….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
    • Same L00 on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:06 pm

People buy Saga because it is cheap, not because it is good. Everyone knows how good its quality is. I don’t have habits buying junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
      • Syukurlah ada BN, rakyat can continue to buy Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • celoop on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:58 pm

77 percent plumetting of Toyota sales tells everything

• Sam VHL Loo on Apr 12, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Ya, even few Toyota salesperson going to Proton showroom to buy Proton (sales so bad already, their sales commission not enough to buy at least Vios even with staff purchase rebate).

• TheSAGA on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Looks big…

• Same L0rrr on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Still camporn engine? CVT bising gearbox? Buy Toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
      • yes we know you buy viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • Same Old Loo on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:27 pm

But Toyota? Your underpower vios? Really? Same Loor,just drop your loo far away

• Same Old Loo on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Toyota? Bumpy ride.Yes,vios drink more fuel.Old engine.New dual vvti engine also less power.How? No wonder still selling 2015 stock.Haiyo.Give discount also no use,like u said price drop before buy.No rv loh!

• Azalina on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:29 am

P1 Saga 1.5 I-Vtec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • jinggo on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:33 am

Launch la cepat, ape tunggu lagi? Lembab betul la proton wat kije.. terhegeh hegeh.. kang honda kuar civic terlepas pulak potential buyer.. vangang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 34
    • My tax RM on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:48 am

Proton has the longest teaser in history, they are a teaser company… they taese a lot, but 70% of the time, disappointing results… hmmm… mark my word… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 24
      • policeman on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Teasing apa? Dia tengah testing. Kau yang sibuk skodeng dia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 13
      • mana ada proton nak teaser pun, u orang pergi snap gambar dan kemudian publish buat apa? lepas tu kata proton sengaja lama lama. Mereka buat testing, tidak pernah kata pun mahu launch pada tarikh sekian dan sekian. adehhhhhhh, ada juga orang macam ini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
    • My tax RM on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:57 am

Civic and proton buyer are from different income group, but you are right jinggo, once honda come out with new civic, the proton hype will be over, civic and perdana should be in the same price bracket but different size, (c & d) and looking at it, buyer will definately go for civic, not to downgrade proton but they should know where they stand and plan their marketing strategy, timing againts competitor etc… sometimes i just don’t know what the hell the marketing team at proton are thinking (even if they have one) ..hhmmmm… mark my word :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Not only different income group la, different intelligent too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Hi…kalau u pernah drive civic then u know ‘kebisingan’ dalam kereta (laju baru 80 dah bising) bising dari Waja..drive civic dkt highway..baru 130 dah mula rasa goyang…very disappointed dgn quality honda civic…indah khabar dari rupa

• Kau bawak civic ape do? Civic mayat ek? Mmg bising laaa… My personal experience driving fd2s and waja are contra to what u said…

• kzm (Member) on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Then later complaint this not working la, that not function la…

• OMG…got issue kah, until now still teaser,this will be another ugly car with crap engine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • xxxxxxx on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:34 am

late already la. other brands start selling 2017 models already, what months already now. close shop la. seems like the loan is for nothing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
  • Pintaras on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:35 am

Wanna ask new Persona will launch by when? I interested to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • seman on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:37 am

why most of automakers tend to use cvt instead of normal auto gearbox? is it cheap to produce but expensive to maintain? in the end, good for company, good for their service centre and bad for user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • drazri on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:39 am

I hope proton listened to previous customers and reviewers regarding the CVT feel in iriz and improve it in the upcoming saga. The perdana, persona and saga will need to reach consumer’s expectations. Failure will unfortunately spell the end for proton.

• Spell end? Proton apa takut? Change management and soft spongy loan will come in. This proven works time to time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Superman on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:42 am

nothing special. ugly and will not sell. if MyVi Sedan is launched same time it will be like what happened to Iriz which was killed off by Axia. I am not a fan of P2 but it is obvious what will happen. with our without Bail out Proton is dead. dead until a pro can come and take over and revive it, nit DRB Mismanagers who think they can use the loan to pay their own suppliers and projects rather than proton. Gov knows and this time they cant play play.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:48 am

Former Tun M is the test driver of this new SAGA. since he resign and jobless now…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Saga is still a saga no need to act special and cover it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • kerol on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:55 am

Buhsan ahh.. yawnnnn**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • in b4 bash. Yeah right. Why do we even take bashers seriously? Like really?

• My tax RM on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:06 pm

It should be roughly the same size as mazda 2 right?

• john is otak batu on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Not even close….the same size is only the tyre

• dingle on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Yes. same size and same category. From the looks of it, it is going to sit in the A+ segment and maybe the Persona will be in the B segment

• SkullJuJu on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Face it. All that bashing and criticism, but deep down inside, we all still have that little sense of patriotism to hope for proton to succeed one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Kim Jong Un on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Only you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • john is otak batu on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:33 am

Patriotism isn’t only hoping anything from Potong but helping M;’sia get rid of cronism without wasting billions & loyal to YDP Agung is the truly patriotism!!!

• common sensor on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:15 pm

The strategy of showing off prototypes on the road is to excite the market. But in the case of Proton, the excitement is no longer exist because the public knows that the launching date is never honored in addition to poor built-up quality of the initial production units. The specification and features may be superior to any other models of its class but turned off by its built-up quality.

• Diesel Power!!! on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Again..again…again…and again..why paultan keep on showing the spyshots??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:23 pm

This set of spyshots do show a new element of the upcoming car, its tailamps, which is of interest to a lot of people.
      Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • ProtonGSC on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Spyshot here, spyshot there, spyshot everywhere. Proton become famous to spyshot in Malaysia history… Proton must be proud of spyshot BUT when will it LAUNCH??? Date please !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Poor dude on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:40 pm

So many spy shots of Proton in malaysia? Maybe because Proton is ……made in Malaysia, no?

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:35 pm

This is part of Proton’s product planners that I don’t seem to get.

Previously we had the B segment Saga and the C segment Persona, Gen2, Inspira and Preve and Perdana (yes I know its classed as a D but small enough to qualify for a C in size)

Now we have a the A segment (sure looks bigger than an A) Saga, B segment Iriz and Persona. Leaving the Aging Preve to soldier solo in the C segment….with the new Perdana going upsized to D+

Why does proton seem to like making a whole bunch of cars in the same segment?

And this does not even include the smaller Suzuki rebadged cars that we may see in the near future.

Perodua makes 3 hatchback only models of milo tin cars and outsells Proton 2:1.

Someone at Proton management isn’t thinking straight. Or are they? More models means more money for vendors.

Proton would have done itself much good if they had stuck to this;

A+ segment Sedan and Estate (like the 207 SW/ Honda Airwave)
    C segment Sedan and 5 + 2 Estate

Both A+ and C segment cars can come from the same modular platform. The Accord can sit on its own Honda chassis.

1.3NA, 1.3 Turbo and 1.6 Turbo engines shared across the model range.

• tokmoh. on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:25 am

My sentiment too.

Proton’s line up is super messy, and coupled with their poor cost control, no wonder they’re screwed.

They need to define themselves properly, the way other makes did with Corolla, Civic, 3-series, C-class, etc, gen after gen, for decades. This consistency is needed, so people can have familiarity, and can identify the products better.

IMHO, Proton should’ve gone with this :

1. Saga – sedan and hatchback. The Iriz should’ve been called Saga hatchback.

2. Persona – sedan and hatch. The Preve should’ve been called Persona, Suprima is effectively Persona hatchback.

I’d prefer powertrain choice of 1.6 NA, 1.3 Turbo, and 1.6 Turbo, with Jatco CVT or 6-speed Getrag manual.

Perdana should never have been conceived, it’s Dead On Arrival. D-segment market is too low volume for Proton to play, and it is, impossible to be profitable. Perodua Nautica failed for the same reason, there aren’t many people who’d pay RM90k for Perodua, not many will pay >RM100k for a Proton. They can afford a Toyota/Honda, they’d get that. Even if it’s a segment smaller, so what? People make choices with budget first, not segment.

• camtakpro on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:08 am

Spot on. “there aren’t many people who’d pay RM90k for Perodua, not many will pay >RM100k for a Proton.”

There aren’t many people who’d pay >RM70k for Proton, not to say Perodua.

• Enough laa…just adopt P2’s business model…find a suitable partner, rebadge and do some minor tinkering here and there…honestly, there is no shame in doing so…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • p2macai on Apr 12, 2016 at 8:05 pm

If p1 does rebadging, everybody bash, if p2 does rebadging everybody praise

Topkek

• B-Unggul on Apr 16, 2016 at 11:28 am

Reminds me of the Accordana debacle, while everybody conveniently left Mawi out of the conversation.

• So Nab-eh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:08 pm

If it doesnt rattle after a while, thn its a winner …

• Epic failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • This is another failure in disguise

• Jobless on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:09 pm

The existing Saga door opening mechanism uses the “matchstick” type where u pull up or press down the thin stick to open/close.i was shocked tis type of junk still used…tat alone was the dealbreaker…and the Saga and Iriz in the same segment wat a waste of resources..pls sack the entire clueless management and hire me instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • So many jeles cant wait to be in line to buy new Saga. Sammy is crying even before launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • I dont see the point of using decoy decals when ppl can obviously make out the lines of the car.

• dingle on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:09 pm

This same deco decals is used by all other manufacturers. You can still make out the lines at a close distance but not perfectly.

• badtrafficeconomiccomuterboxesftw on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Will p1 involve motoring journalist to test the car, take advice from there and start bringing this model out soon so they can focus on bringing us a rebadged Wagon R?

• gundam mama on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Another tin-milo to- be-launched……
    Soon, this cheap crap will be flooding the road.

• all i can say is… all the best Proton!

• palon on Apr 13, 2016 at 12:15 pm

all new model proton car purposed for spyshot only.

• hilmy ashburn on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:58 pm

same car just make a difference make up…dari led ke bulb…yg untung vendor2 kroni la..boleh buat part low quality berlambak2..lepas tu penguna salahkan proton..hahaha

• Lepat Pisang on Apr 14, 2016 at 2:12 am

I thought Saga is a B-segment car. And I thought Persona should be a C-segment car. 25 years in the business, Proton proved that they have no clear idea of the industry they involve in. Old Saga/Iswara, Wira, Persona, Waja, in my opinion are all in the same segment.

Then the next gen of Proton came to this world, Gen.2. When Gen.2 was launched I said ‘WTF??’. Proton looked stupid. They launched the hatcjback first. They usually have sedan version first, then hatchback. But now a hatchback first. When people wanted a sedan version of Gen.2 they said they need to buy Waja if they wanted a sedan.

Looking at the history of the new gen Saga which derived from Savvy, Saga should be a B-segment car. Same goes to Persona, it used to be a Lancer, then derived from Gen.2, it should be a C-segment car. But Proton is so dumb, that they’ve produced a new car in the same segment and gave it a new name Preve which has its hatchback sibling SuprimaS.

Kesimpulannya, Proton ni xde visi, misi and xde goals. Proton x paham apa dia buat. Proto. Juz produce new cars without understanding the local and international market. Now, I’m not sure whether they’ve realized their clumsiness or not, I hope this time around they produce a car in each segment i.e. A+ segment now is Saga, B-segment is persona, C-segment is Preve, D-segment is Perdana. No more 2-3 models of the same segment being offered at the same time.

I love Proton, I’m ashame of Proton and proud of Proton at the same time, and I hope Proton will be here to stay.

• B-Unggul on Apr 16, 2016 at 11:43 am

Although it’s categorised as a “hatchback”, it’s positioned for the sedan-looking customers (hence the “WRM” moniker). That’s why they have a Neo.

Btw, I do agree that they’ve messed up with their lineup in the past. It’s confusing to choose either Inspira, Persona, Preve, Gen.2, as they’re practically of the same segment. But I do see that Proton already learnt, and ended lots of lineup years ago. But of course the excess stock won’t do them good until some years later.

So now you know why it’s perceived as such although Proton already mulled its earlier perspective. They have a new goal, but their old stock kept haunting them.