2016 Toyota Fortuner launched in Malaysia – two variants, 2.4L diesel and 2.7L petrol, RM187-200k

Toyota_Hilux_Fortuner_Launch-3

The launch of the eighth-generation Toyota Hilux today also saw the official introduction of the new Toyota Fortuner. The second-generation Hilux-based SUV, which makes its local debut 10 months after its unveiling in Thailand, has been totally redesigned and features a sleek new exterior, a more premium-looking interior and updated engines.

As reported yesterday, two variants of the seven-seater will be available locally, and these are a 2.7 SRZ AT 4×4 petrol and 2.4 VRZ AT 4×4 turbodiesel, both equipped with automatic transmissions.

The pricing was also revealed, and both are more expensive than their predecessors – the 2.4 VRZ oil burner goes for RM186,900 (RM7,726 more than the outgoing 2.5G), while the range-topping 2.7 SRZ is priced at RM199,900 (RM12,817 more than the previous-gen 2.7G). Both prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

The petrol version, which weighs in at 2,090 kg, features an updated 2TR-FE 2.7 litre engine, which now comes with Dual VVT-i tech. Mechanical revisions to the mill have brought about improved combustion, less friction and a bit more in the way of output, with figures being 166 PS at 5,200 rpm and 245 Nm at 4,000 rpm, six PS and four Nm more than before.

As for the 2,010 kg diesel variant, it’s powered by a 2.4 litre GD turbodiesel, which replaces the 2.5 litre unit found in the outgoing SUV. The 2GD-FTV, which puts out 150 PS at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,600 to 2,000 rpm, features common-rail direct-injection and variable nozzle turbocharging. Both variants get a six-speed automatic transmission (petrol adds paddle shifters), which sends power to all four wheels.

Under the skin, the Fortuner features larger cross sections for its ladder frame, and sits on double wishbone front suspension and five-link rear suspension with coil springs. The rear differential lock also has its componentry placed within the differential housing for improved off-road protection.

Specification-wise, the petrol 2.7 SRZ is clearly the more upmarket variant, as its kit suggests. It gets bi-LED projector headlamps, LED daytime running lights, chrome door belt mouldings and 18-inch wheels with 265/60 profile highway terrain rubbers, while the 2.4 VRZ settles for halogen projectors (also with auto function) and 17-inch alloys fitted with 265/65 all-terrain tyres.

Much the same when you get inside. The new interior, which is decidedly more sophisticated-looking and plusher than that of the outgoing car, features a leather-wrapped four-spoke steering wheel (with wood and silver trim) and gear knob, a Camry-style Optitron instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch colour TFT LCD multi-info display and automatic climate control (front and rear).

There’s also a DVD-AVN head unit with an eight-inch touchscreen, door courtesy lamps, a cooler function for the glove box storage, an eight-way powered driver’s seat (fourand dark brown combination leather upholstery.

That’s on the petrol. The diesel makes do with an urethane steering wheel and gear knob, back light instrument display and manual air-conditioning (front and rear). Other items include a CD player audio system (the DVD-AVN is available as as option), manual adjustment for the driver’s seat and fabric upholstery, also in dark brown.

Standard equipment across the two-model range are keyless entry, Bluetooth connectivity, selectable drive modes (Normal, Eco and Power), an electronic 4WD Transfer Dial and Toyota’s Premium Security and Solar Film.

The second row seats (with Isofix) have a 60:40 split-fold with one-touch tumble, while the last row has a 50:50 split with a “One-touch Easy Space Up” function – the seats flip up onto the bodyside, instead of folding flat into the floor like on most rivals.

As for safety kit, the Fortuner 2.7 SRZ is equipped with seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver knee), ABS, brake assist, VSC, Active Traction Control (A-TRC), Hill-Start Assist Control (HAC), Emergency Stop Signal (ESS) and Trailer Sway Control (TSC). Out of this long list, the diesel 2.4VRZ only gets three airbags (front and driver knee) and ABS.

View the complete specifications of the new Toyota Fortuner at Carbase.my.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Fortuner 2.7 SRZ
GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Fortuner 2.4 VRZ
GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Fortuner official images

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• flipper2uman (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Among the two variants, the diesel variant is a newer and more efficient engine. This 4×4 has obtain quite good reviews overseas. HOWEVER, UMW YOUR GOT TO BE KIDDIND!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • George Abdul on May 05, 2016 at 1:52 pm

MAI and MITI not doing any good to help Rakyat to stop AP system cronies to increase price… Dare to show transparency on “actual car cost and taxes involved”??? Rakyat when will you wake up ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 05, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Finally my department (JKR Klang Cawangan Kerja Mengecat Dinding Sekolah Rendah) can change our ride. The current Fortuner we are using now has been auctioned to Sam Loo.

• Malaysians real complain cork. This car s super cheap. I will buy one with cash, no loan. Orang malas DAP only buat bising pasal harga kereta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 64
      • Muniandy Periasamy on May 05, 2016 at 2:50 pm

VSC is so important, it is like selling a car without safety belts. Read PT’s take on VSC. Once you read this article, you will never touch a car without VSC.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Muniandy Periasamy on May 05, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Doube whammy. Sell so expensive to Malaysians but strip all the safety equipment in this car. VSC pun tak ada.

Najib promised us 3 years ago that car prices will come down by 30%. Next election is 2018.

The problem in Malaysia is that, most car companies are indirectly owned by the Government of Malaysia. Go and see each car company, it is the Government or a GLC which is the majority shareholder. This UMW is classic example. Majority owned by Government.

So, the Government got no incentive to reduce car prices at all to ease the burden of the rakyat. The Ministers have a wonderful life. Each Minister swims in tens of millions of ringgit, if not billions. Although their official gaji is RM10k to RM25k, somehow, the Ministers have tens and even hundreds of million of ringgit.

They don’t know how the average Malaysian suffer. Lately every household is complaining that their TNB bills are RM500 to RM1000. Food is so pricey. Petrol is so high for an oil producing country. Even our Internet is one of the most expensive in the world.

Our Ministers don’t know how we suffer. They tell us to tanam jagung and tanam kangkung. Then even our PM has told us, don’t worry, can buy whole chicken for RM1. Infact, he said RM1 for whole chicken is sold everywhere in Malaysia and Najib himself buys this RM1 whole chicken to eat.

I have travelled all over Malaysia looking for this RM1 whole chicken. Can anyone here help me find this RM1 whole chicken please?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
        • Cars are cheap in Malaysia. Stop complain always. RM180k is only RM2k per month. You mean you cannot afford RM2k per month? You must be a lazy bum! Typical Party Hard, lazy and ungrateful and complain a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 87
          • Muniandy Periasamy on May 05, 2016 at 5:19 pm

ha ha ha. john kena bamboo for his first comment, then he comes here and pretends he was framed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • Welcome back Albert dupe! And yeah, Forrester from Rm211k to Rm145k. 31% price down. Janji ditepati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • karam singh on May 05, 2016 at 2:41 pm

This is just brilliant. I like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Muniandy Periasamy on May 05, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Rm200k for a Hilux with a carryboy body attached? Does UMW think RM200k is small money? Rm200k is a lot of money to most Malaysians. But don’t worry, UMW can even price this car at RM300k also, it will sell very well.

Why? Like the last Fortuner, it was 99% ordered by Government departments such as JPJ, Kastam, UTK and so on. This is how crony system work. UMW can price it even at RM500k but they will still get thousands of orders per annum from the Government.

Who loses? It is you and me. The money used to buy this overpriced junk cannot be used for good purposes like building more hospitals, kliniks and schools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
      • Unfortunately since UMW toyota become DAP crony, Gov is changing to other brands. JPJ changing to x-trail, kastam changing to everest, UTK changing to chev colorado (can see during DSA), and so on. Ur god kompeni toyota is effectively dead and now become walking dead. Ur rice bowl is next.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
    • Albar on May 05, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Anything but Toyota.

• flipper2uman (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 12:18 pm

The diesel engine variant is the better of the two as this is a new engine and has obtain good reviews overseas. HOWEVER, what is VERY DISAPPOINTING is UMW stance on over charging and under spec the diesel variant in Malaysia. SERIOUSLY!!! some one in HQ needs to be fired!!! What a shame

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • Gargantia on May 05, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Continue support BN and AP system owners, so normal Rakyat can afford high car price forever. Seem 20% increase more then MAI promise 30% reduce by 2018 !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • The promise is fulfilled 2 years early. Now can get Forrester with 31% price down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 47
      • Muniandy Periasamy on May 05, 2016 at 2:49 pm

A silly comment by a lazy person who gets everything free in his life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • After kena spanking for friendly fire, u r back. Well the more trolls the merrier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Smart Buyer on May 05, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Either Ford Everest or Mitsubishi Pajero Sport.
    Both auto diesel with fully loaded specs.

Worst still, Fortuner still using manual handbrake but Everest & Pajero Sport got Electric Handbrake. Booo UMW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • RavenAii (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 4:09 pm

You drive auto and have electric handbrake? Not to support Toyota but OMG what kind of slouch are you?

In my honest opinion when buying a car make sure buy it: 1. Manual and 2. With a real handbrake lever.

Autos and e-brake really not that good but hey it’s really hard to find real workhorse that offers manual for all of the brands top offering. Quite a shame really…

• Vito Aditya on May 05, 2016 at 12:29 pm

No LED light cabins at 200k? Even the Fortuner SRZ with LED Cabin light in Indonesia, price is only IDR509,100,00 (or RM152,712). What was UMWT thinking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Get Forrester better. From Rm211k to Rm145k. 31% price down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
  • Meng meng on May 05, 2016 at 12:38 pm

SPAN AND JPJ new car

• with the price tag nearly RM200k, better buy hyundai Santa Fe diesel version .. more PS and definitely torque compared to this crap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on May 05, 2016 at 12:44 pm

>RM 187k car
    >No VSC

At this rate, maybe upcoming Godcar facelift won’t have VSC too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Lembu Jinni on May 05, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Engine bay is such a big mess!

• Zamorano on May 05, 2016 at 12:46 pm

3 airbags je? Kedekut betul UMW ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • cendol (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 12:47 pm

Fortuner is glorified Hilux with top cover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • shawal ali on May 05, 2016 at 12:49 pm

no full spec diesel?
    What a shame….
    pricing is ridiculous….

If u want a full spec japanese petrol suv, might as well get a forester 2.0xt turbo

d diesel is what ppl want with full list of kit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on May 05, 2016 at 12:50 pm

maybe. 2.8 diesel trd sportivo with full kit and more is on d cards…but dunno how much that will cost…

• I'm Mr.nobody on May 05, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Giler “Murah!!”.

• wankj on May 05, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Wah….orang gomen tentu suka….
    Bawak keta macam keta tu bapak dia punye….
    Tinted gelap2…..boleh tido dalam fortuner….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Gargantia on May 05, 2016 at 1:39 pm

You like it anot, AP system cronies continue to monopoly Malaysia industry thanks to BN that supports them !!! Rakyat continue pay heavy taxes OR multiple taxes !!!

• siamensis on May 05, 2016 at 1:08 pm

I got this last week after 4 months waiting.
    Can you show picture of rear wheels.
    As in Thailand if you want rear disc brake, you have to go for TRD version.
    Meaning you have to 150,000 THB additional.
    TMT does not offer 2.4 4×4, so I think Malaysian got good deal on 2.4 diesel version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Fuyoo on May 05, 2016 at 1:22 pm

JPJ & Kastam dapat company car baru.

• haha… I can’t resist after seeing the price.
    A SUV body on a pickup truck.
    and a 2 tonne vehicle running on a 2.7 litle. You better pray hard on the fuel price.

• I rather go for the Recond X5. It doesn’t look like 187k car.

• Should try to enter Malaysia book of records in category of “most expensive vehicle without VSC”
    Then add this in promo brochure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 2:21 pm

UMW is still high on drugs. The top spec should be 187k instead. At 200k I better top up to get any of the recond German trio SUVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Again with the wood trim, you would think Toyota has learnt. Maybe 30 years ago, that wood trim would make sense. But we’re in 2016 last I checked.

• Ben Yap on May 05, 2016 at 3:23 pm

toyota fortuner will cost you a fortune.

it doesn’t bring you fortune but sucks your fortune away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • PDW7275 on May 05, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Theft and worst, car jacking magnet!

• Suren on May 05, 2016 at 4:13 pm

The trailer sway assist and Hill Descent feature being omitted for the diesel variant which would be the one more likely to be used for towing and off roading is frankly ridiculous. The fact that both variants don’t get the same suite of safety features is even more disappointing.

• DPCraft on May 05, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Lol that 2.7l engine produce such less power, Even Honda’s 2.4l Earth Dream(DI) has 185hp and 245nm. 245nm for this heavy car is not enough.

• Wow, that interior for a 200k car. That kind 80’s of aircond knob control ?

• mohdfaiz88 on May 05, 2016 at 5:36 pm

where is cruise control?

• Joe jambol on May 05, 2016 at 8:58 pm

200k for a 2.7cc Toyota fortuner..wow. Built with hilux platform but such a huge price different. Not gonna sell much of these fortuners. Yeah with 7airbags, vsc still doesn’t
    justify the price. VSC is not a premium features. Very sad, I hope umw will revise back the prices..both diesel n petrol. A CBU mitsu pajero can be priced at rm167k..y umw so greedy

• WowUMW on May 05, 2016 at 9:06 pm

200k with “handbrake”

• Suv fan on May 05, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Buy la hyundai santa fe diesel…harga lebih kurang sama.. more power, 197PS 436NM

• The 2.4 diesel spec is way too low! Wake up UMW, you may ask for additional RM10k, but please give people a luxury suv to drive. Please take a look the Hyundai Santa Fe, Ford Everest, Pajero Sport. Someone from the UWM need to fire for sure!

• 187k and no VSC?????? Some manufacturer can give you everything (6 airbags, BA, VSC, etc) under 100k, some even give you under 65k!!

• LOLIPOP on May 06, 2016 at 1:24 pm

ugly car that does not justify the rm187k price tag. i wonder who will buy this junk.

• siamensis on May 06, 2016 at 5:10 pm

looking at the picture again. The car is 193 cm height. The model in the right, less her high heel, she got to be 180++ cm.

• Syangyong Musso…

• Lee Poh Kian on May 15, 2016 at 11:40 pm

With all the goodies in 2.7 Petrol as compared to 2.4 Diesel, the price difference is only around RM13k???? I think what Toyota is telling the potential 2.4 Diesel purchasers – If you want to buy, then buy. If not, you can go for other brands.

• autodriver (Member) on Jul 03, 2016 at 8:03 pm

At this price I wouldn’t expect to have a “hand brake” instead it should be at least foot parking brake or electronic parking brake. Compare the price and spec I will rather pick the Kia Sorento over this, the powertrain of diesel engine is much higher than Fortuner.

• Elchino on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Can’t understand why they won’t bring in d 2.8 ltr Diesel engine model?