VEP system will be ready in time for implementation

johor causeway jam bernama pix

According to the Road Transport Department (JPJ), the development process of the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) system is progressing well and is almost completed.

JPJ public relations office Mohamad Sazali Baharudin told The Sun that the system would be ready in time for its implementation. An official announcement on the VEP system is not expected to be made until July or August this year.

“Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, or his deputy, will make the official announcement when it is truly ready,” said Baharudin. Earlier reports indicated that the system would become operational in June, according to the Johor state government.

The VEP system will be rolled out in three phases. The first involves vehicles entering from Singapore, which will be implemented in a few months time. Phase two involves vehicles entering Malaysia from Thailand. Finally, phase three will be for vehicles from Brunei and Indonesia entering Sabah and Sarawak.

singapore traffic 1-WM

With its implementation, foreign vehicles will be required to register under the Road Charges (RC) with the JPJ for a fee of RM10, with a five-year validity. They will be issued a radio frequency identification (RFID) card that will record details of vehicle owners (entrance in and out of the country).

The system will also allow the authorities to monitor overstaying foreigners and curb cloning of vehicles. Additionally, foreign vehicles that are compounded within Malaysia will be barred from returning to their home countries until the summons are settled.

Deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi said the system would see a RM20 charge per entry for each foreign vehicle.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 06, 2016 at 9:58 am

Bodoh government. Singapore charge Malaysians so high VEP but we charge Singapore cars so low VEP.

Somemore, their currency is 3x Ringgit. The VEP to them is kacang puteh.

Our government is so bodoh, they don’t even know how to make more money from a simle business plan. Even if you charge RM100 VEP to Singapore cars, they will still come to JB to fill up petrol and do their shopping every week without fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • hahaha on May 06, 2016 at 11:58 am

don’t worry… our govt not organised enough to even collect money. look at all the fine owing… beg people pay with dishing out discount also our govt given the finger

• stupid DAPig on May 06, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Aiyooooo..lu very stupid maaaa…Malaysia people for work at Singapore..must win2 stuation. The people Singapore come to Malaysia to shopping and holiday

• Andas on May 06, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Ever wonder how SG goment will react if we charge high VEP to their people? They will charge the same charges to Msian.. So, later u will still say our goment stupik..

• Muniandy Keyboard Warrior on May 07, 2016 at 1:12 am

You think by bashing the government here make any sense? You think those Ministers come and read all comments here? Be realistic la.. Only talk cock here be like a keyboard warrior is useless. There must be a reason why the government implement such amount of money. What makes you think government has to londehkan all the information to public? When minister ask you to leave the country, you will be mad. It same concept if your kids doesnt like the way you handle things, you will definitely ask him to leave and move on with his/her own life. Dont be bangang tak bertempat.

• Nasi Lemak Management! on May 06, 2016 at 9:59 am

Apesal mau cepat sngt nak deploy? Makan la nasi lemak dulu.. Tido, bangun lagi makan nasi lemak… Jgn la susah kan diri kamu tu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Muniandy Periasamy on May 06, 2016 at 10:02 am

Pity JB folks. Because Singaporeans are coming in by the drones, cost of living in JB is the highest in Malaysia.

But our Government is so bodoh. Charge RM20 per car coming in. That is SG$6 for a Singaporean. Just enough to buy Fanta Grape in a restaurant.

Our bodoh government should charge more to the rich Singaporean and use the money to help the poor people in JB with housing.

Already JB Iskandar sell themselves completely to Singapore, JB residents cannot afford any housing.

Greedy government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Pity u dun see the effects of chasing us SG pipu away from JB. I feel sorry our “benevolent” eternally dictatorial PAP punya anak luar nikah DAP has such supporters like u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • Jemput Tidur on May 06, 2016 at 11:04 am

Buat apa bangun John? Balik tidur bang, jangan bimbang. Boleh rilak dan tidur sepanjang hari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • Bangun pagi, gosok gigi,
          Buka PT, pakai PC,
          baca comment bodo, kerana bashers bodo,
          Gelak ketawa, hentam semua,
          Hari saya, gembira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Jeffrey Chew on May 06, 2016 at 10:55 am

Lets see, I am still seeing wires hanging at each of the counters..

• Frustrated on May 06, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Again, they will get it up and running, then announce “VEP effective next week”. Singaporean cars have no time to get chip in order, havoc ensured. Johorians suffer from lack of Singaporean customers, everyone complain, implementation delayed and put on hold.

• nabill (Member) on May 06, 2016 at 3:03 pm

id rather see another bridge build first , sometimes the jam looks very uncivilized

• Chris on May 08, 2016 at 2:02 pm

This is a step in the right direction. Malaysia has talked about VEP for a long time but have not actually done anything. Singapore introduced VEP more than 40 years ago.