VEP for Malaysia to be introduced this year – Liow

singapore-coe

Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai has confirmed that the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) system will be introduced sometime this year. According to the New Straits Times, Liow said that there are still some issues with it, but claimed that it will “definitely” come this year.

“I do not want to announce an exact date for the implementation of the VEP, but it will definitely be this year. We have also been getting good support from Singapore on this issue,” Liow said.

As previously reported, the VEP system was originally planned to be introduced in August last year, but was postponed then and several times again afterwards. However, according to the Johor state government, the system may be deployed as soon as June this year.

Earlier this year, Road Transport Department (JPJ) director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad explained that the government plans to introduce the VEP system as a means to combat cloned car syndicates and the issue of unpaid summonses by drivers of foreign vehicles.

“Currently, cars from Singapore coming into Malaysia have no record, which is why Singapore-registered vehicles that commit an offence in West Malaysia are free from having to pay summons, and they can still enter the country,” he said. “When the VEP is implemented, all vehicles coming into the country from Singapore must be registered.”

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• They’ve been talking about it for the past 2 years. Kept saying “this time”, but it never happens. I’ll believe it when I see it.

• Same L00 on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Dare to bully own people not guts to impose VEP. This is your beloved government.

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 11, 2016 at 7:44 pm

1st World Country Wannabe, 3rd class implementation….No wonder kidnapping in Sabah still continues.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:46 am

should have implemented it when the dinosaur extinct, slow poke.

• Facebook on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:02 am

Can the government just implement??? Keep delaying, it’s so annoying… if you do not have the capability of implementing then just keep your mouth shut…wait till you get all the things up then only announce…it’s just embarrassing yourself…

• Here we go again.. jokers.. support from SG? Where? Any official LTA statements stating SG wants to help Msia fight clone cars and have their drivers pay Msia summons? Shiok self-talking again..

• Contradiction on Apr 11, 2016 at 3:33 pm

If implementation is for identification of summon escapes and vehicle cloning then it’s acceptable. Hopefully it won’t be an excuse for them to increase custom tolls..