Global NCAP tests five new Indian cars – all zero star!

Global NCAP India Results

This is rather shocking. Global NCAP today released the latest crash test results of five new Indian-market cars, and all have been rated as zero star. The not so fantastic five are the Renault Kwid, Maruti Suzuki Celerio, Maruti Suzuki Eeco, Mahindra Scorpio and Hyundai Eon.

“The latest SaferCarsforIndia results show how important it is for cars to have a body shell that can remain stable in a crash. This is an absolutely crucial pre-requisite for occupant safety together with fitment at least of front airbags,” said David Ward, secretary general of Global NCAP.

He singled out Renault for criticism, and the message was direct. “It is very surprising that a manufacturer like Renault introduced the Kwid initially lacking this essential feature (airbags). Global NCAP strongly believes that no manufacturer anywhere in the world should be developing new models that are so clearly sub-standard. Car makers must ensure that their new models pass the United Nations’ minimum crash test regulations, and support use of an airbag.”

From L-R: The Renault Kwid as initially tested; the updated Kwid with driver’s airbag. Both scored zero stars

Global NCAP tested the standard version of the small, budget crossover (from RM15,469) without airbags. It scored zero stars in adult occupant protection (AOP) and two stars in child occupant protection (COP). The collapse of the structure in the passenger compartment and the lack of airbags explained the poor result.

Following safety improvements, Renault proposed that Global NCAP test an updated evolution of the Kwid in production from early April 2016. The car was tested with and without an airbag. Without an airbag, it scored zero stars in AOP and two stars in COP. The structure did not collapse, however it was rated as unstable and that it could not withstand further loadings. Testers found structural reinforcements, but only on the driver side.

The version with one (driver’s) airbag had the same AOP and COP scores. Same updated structure but a high compression in the dummy chest area explains the low score. The French carmaker has confirmed that it will implement further improvements to the Kwid.

“We welcome Renault’s efforts to correct this and we look forward to testing another improved version with airbags. Renault has a strong record of achievement in safety in Europe and it should offer the same commitment to its customers in India,” Ward said.

The other four cars didn’t fare any better, and each one had bodyshell integrity that was rated as unstable, including the big Mahindra Scorpio in the video above. “The bodyshell was rated as unstable and can not withstand further loadings,” Global NCAP commented on each of the five cars. All were made in India for the domestic market.

Change is on the horizon. Speaking at the Indian Automobile Safety Conference, Ward said: “The results highlight the importance of the Indian government’s decision to mandate front and side impact crash tests from October 2017. Legislative action is needed to ensure that the minimum levels of occupant protection recommended by the UN are guaranteed for Indian consumers. But manufacturers don’t have to wait for legislation and we urge them to act to eliminate all zero star cars from production as soon as possible.”

“Global NCAP also welcomes the forthcoming launch of a Bharat New Car Assessment Programme which can help build a market for safer cars in India,” he added.

Last month, Global NCAP wrote a letter to GM CEO Mary Barra after the Chevrolet Sail failed to get any stars in the Latin NCAP crash test.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• theanswer on May 17, 2016 at 5:11 pm

for a country that belongs in top 3 asian space race.. this is absurd!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • hailthepurist on May 17, 2016 at 5:35 pm

same thing wont happen to prozuki cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • ProtonGSC on May 17, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Global NCAP is just too straight… Come test in ASEAN NCAP even “Proton scandal” can continue do business as usual !!! 3rd world country continues monopoly industry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 64
      • kzm (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Lol..Global NCAP is member and oso financial supporter of ASEAN-NCAP. Those so called scandal u say already solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 41
        • ProtonGSC on May 17, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Really? Japan/S.Korea/Germany made same as CKD assembly locally? Then why the dealers keep testing in different region… STOP read AP system news Utusan boy it blind your world knowledge !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 45
          • kzm (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Because they sold car in different region? I want to ask u what AP that u talking about. Open AP? Either im really blind or u blind. I oni stated the fact n u can read bout that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 30
          • ProtonGSC on May 17, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Meaning is that different region different standard… “Proton scandal” are not solved, it should said “self proclaim closed case”. Look at VW scandal involved multi level serious testing… Proton “will follow procedure from now” (sendiri syoik) closed case ?!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 38
          • kzm (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 10:26 pm

I don’t how to answer u..u dismiss all other info or answer that u don’t like or don’t fit ur argument. The article bout that is available here in Paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
          • Simpan sikit bodoh tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Lol! ASEANNCAP is under the direct purview of Global NCAP. So if u say ASEANNCAP is corrupted means u imply Global NCAP is corrupted as well. GGWP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
      • malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Must bash Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Nsjsjs on May 17, 2016 at 7:30 pm

Proton 5 star A pillar dint bent. Good job proton with solid ride and handling and chasis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
  • common sensor on May 17, 2016 at 5:22 pm

The market focus on affordable, thus safety is an option .. and the population is too huge that fatalities of traffic accident are appreciated ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Thats the same thinking why 1st world countries automaker in US, EU & Japan treats us Asian & ASEAN pipu like expendable underwear. We took look at brands & affordability instead of prioritising safety.

• No wonder some car dealer sell substandard car in MY but still laku. There still customer like You.

• I don’t get it. Why zero star for rebadge model like the Suzuki Maruti? Is it that the manufacturing process and welding are different with different grade of steel?

• No airbag, no abs,no esp… What else do you expect… And its coming here soon Suzuki Celario…. Perudua AXA also won’t be much different… If we go by the no of Ppl injured from myvi accidents… Even it will be max about 2-3 stars

• theanswer on May 18, 2016 at 9:11 am

check out axia crash test. btw, lots of myvi on the road off course the amount of accident is higher than other brand.

• I guess I was expecting the structural design of the car with crumpled zone and a good old seat belt at least would count for something.

So for these cars, you would not need to wear a seat belt anymore because it won’t matter. You will still die…

• Smart Action Not Mouth. on May 17, 2016 at 5:33 pm

I believe Proton is worst! No NCAP star cars.Proton bribe to get 5 star!

• Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Submit the Iriz to Global NCAP then you will see the beautiful “Proton Safer” fairy tale busted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 57
    • kzm (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 6:23 pm

They are oso member of ASEAN-NCAP. Make no different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
      • Same L00 on May 19, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Malaysia and Norway also member of United Nation. Their PM took donation no need go to jail like us? lol

If Proton junk really that secure, test it in global ncap I DARE YOU!

• malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Still need to bash P1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • DonkeyKong on May 17, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Hopefully the JV with Suzuki doesn’t diminish Proton’s emphasis on high bodyshell strength and comprehensive active + passive safety systems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • theanswer on May 18, 2016 at 9:12 am

suzuki/maruti in india is different market. here we get model like kizashi which have a very good safety rating.

• Leafable on May 17, 2016 at 5:44 pm

The best car on the list only have 1 airbag LOL

• Selena Gomez on May 17, 2016 at 5:52 pm

They want to join the space race but forgot to build indoor plumbing for the rakyat

• Wiwiwiwiw on May 17, 2016 at 6:06 pm

I bet their Ministers would say…
    Still safer than bicycles, trishaws, motorcycles

I wouldn’t want to be in the Suzuki Maruti Echo van!

• kapchai on May 17, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Some people used to complain that cars in India sells much cheaper than in Malaysia. Now we know part of the reasons why. Looks like our P1 and P2 are not doing so badly after all. The next step now would be to test some of the China made cars and compare

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • kzm (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 6:13 pm

what can u expect from those barebone car?

• 0 safe rating to ensure they won’t live after running over some cows.
    If you lived, the mobs would probably smack you to death.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • wayang on May 17, 2016 at 8:15 pm

And none comments thus far are appreciative that cars sold here are much safer
    All pandai complain and whine only

• armandd on May 17, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Bro, that’s because they have ZERO technical knowledge. All they know is complain and bash.

• Biasa la to the some of MY people, always condemn their own achievement. If Asian ANCAP P1 pass with full flag, their condemn to the max an asking for Global ANCAP, and one day if the Global ANCAP done by P1 and also pass with 5 star, their request for Galaxy ANCAP pulak.

• applegreen on May 18, 2016 at 9:26 am

no complain because we all here know indian cars are cheap. For hyundai eon, u can get around 3.2 lakh in delhi, equivalent to rm19k. In malaysia the basic perodua axia is at much higher price.

• Consumer on May 18, 2016 at 8:21 am

See, this is the opportunity! Hey Proton, it is time to cut in india market already to roll your safety feature, if nobody know you, at least they know suzuki and lotus. Make the real competitive price as your volume will be insanely bigger in india.

• theanswer on May 18, 2016 at 9:14 am

we have to understand the stars contributed by several factors. cabin rigidity is only one of them. numbers of airbags..seatbelt reminder..isofix anchorage..abs..esc..also contribute the amoun of stars. but off course bent A-Pillar is not a good sign.

• luckily driver is a standard for Malaysia car.. but cheapest versions still lack of passenger air back, ABS and VSC too.. all these all standard in US. Why US can make this as standard while we cant here? It is because we want cheaper car? I prefer safety by paying reasonable money.

• Because most of MY buyer prefer the look of the car? Myv vs Iriz as and example?

• jamal on May 18, 2016 at 3:27 pm

iris is very safe , it comes with vsc and abs as standard . proton nowdays theyre safety are topnotch

• luckily airbag driver is a standard for Malaysia car.. but cheapest versions still lack of passenger airbag, ABS and VSC too.. all these all standard in US. Why US can make this as standard while we cant here? It is because we want cheaper car? I prefer safety by paying reasonable money.

• Ben Yap on May 18, 2016 at 12:33 pm

whether the car made by chinese or indian, the ratings usually very low. they always think lives are cheap.

cars must be made by westerners, japs or koreans.

• Nissan on May 18, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Life there is cheap much cheaper than us! That is fact!

• Sammy Loo on May 19, 2016 at 12:51 am

this is where the Toyota Vios is good in it, coming with 2 airbags, ABS and EBD. Much more safer than these cars in chapati market.

• Viosdefinitelycanfly on May 19, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Woah so much appreciation for the Vios. 2 airbags, abs, ebd, and….? Owh sorry i forgot that’s all i’m truely sorry :(

• Redidiot on May 22, 2016 at 1:50 pm

I’m eager to see how fast this is rectified.