The Renault Kwid has been officially launched in India. The French brand’s compact A-segment crossover will be available in four different variants starting from INR256,968 (RM17,100) for the base model, according to Indian Autos Blog.
Sitting on Renault-Nissan’s CMF-A platform, the Kwid has a wheelbase of 2,422 mm. In full, it measures 3,679 mm long, 1,579 mm wide and 1,478 mm tall. The compact crossover has a 180 mm ground clearance.
Powering the Kwid is a 0.8 litre three-cylinder petrol unit that makes a humble 53 hp at 5,678 rpm and 72 Nm of torque at 4,386 rpm (yes, exactly at those revs). It is mated to a five-speed manual gearbox, and Renault claims that it can achieve 25.17 km/l based on India’s ARAI cycle.
The top-of-the-range RXT variant – priced at INR353,131 (RM23,500) – gets a dual-tone dashboard, digital instrument cluster with chrome accents, front power windows, an upper glove compartment, a seven-inch MediaNAV touchscreen and a roof mic. It also comes with remote key, while a driver airbag is optional – yes, singular, and it’s not even standard.
If you’re wondering, the base INR256,968 (RM17,100) model goes with black bumpers, black steel wheels and no fog lamps, air-con or radio. If that doesn’t seem basic enough, (electric) power steering and power windows have been deleted too. Even the cabin lights are not included.
Available in five colours, the Kwid is manufactured at the Renault-Nissan Alliance plant in Chennai. Renault claims that the Kwid’s maintenance cost is 19% lower than that of its closest competitors. A more powerful 77 hp 1.0 litre engine with an automated manual transmission will be introduced at a later stage.
No air con? Wth
Cant even get a used p. Viva with lowest spec at this price…kesian nya….
RM17K ?!!
Yes without radio, aircond, no standard dual airbag…
Already say Proton build better quality car even BMW at local price !!! Thanks Proton because u able to own a car if not still riding bicycle !!!
trust me bro you dont want to drive such a car with no airbags !! your life and your beloved ones life worth more than that, those car manufactures actually making business in trade-off people life … pity indians your life are so cheap when such a car permitted to be sold in your country !
At least we have no blood sucking Proton to raise the car price
proton sell a car for as low as RM 33k and if you negotiation with the sales man you can get even lesser price, and its a sedan spacious car with 2 airbags unlike your top spec kwid tin for RM 23k with an optional driver airbag ! so have you realize yet that your life little indian fellow is so cheap ??
At this pricing more people can afford it rather than a whole family on a kapchai. Thousands of lives are lost each year due to motorbike accidents; this you can thank our government for it. For as long as the greed & high taxes is never satisfied, lives will continue to be wasted.
You mean RM71K in Malaysia?
If this is based on Datsun GO, I rather pay double and get a safer car.
this blog seems like trying so hard to put pressure on our car prices by putting directly converted price. kahkah.doesnt work bro.
“a humble 53 hp at 5,678 rpm and 72 Nm of torque at 4,386 rpm (yes, exactly at those revs)”
just say it the way Jony Ive would say it and they’d sell it by the droves haha.
At a precisely engineered peak torque at 4386 rpm, the engine is able to provide amazing power with ground breaking fuel consumption. Gosh…
C’mon man,stop converting currency like that.
Its not like we’re gonna get that price anyways.
geez..
17k? please sell this car in msia.
I still need aircond n airbag
The base model goes with black bumpers, black steel wheels and no fog lamps, no air-con, no radio, no power steering and no power windows. Even the cabin lights are not included.. LMAO
Not LMAO but LEMAU, lol :p
Lol :P
even the bike has more hp and torque over it.
17k ….
I wonder what is the profit margin on this thing….10%?….20%?
For those who think wtf on the deleted features on this car, this is a real budget car. If you want to get more safety features, pay more of course. Do not condemn this car as it is for those who can barely afford a car. This is the way to reduce cost to this kind of money.
Proton should just go Renault Kwid way and introduce basic car for RM20k, then it truly helps Malaysians.
Ya ya they should bring it here and name it Renault Kwid Living, cuz if you accident in this you really kwid living.
RM17k?!
RM34K will still worth it! compare to axia saga
Thumbs up for Kwid RXT or thumbs down for Axia E
displacement at 799CC
transplant kancil engine to kembara
A continental brand for only RM17k
Better looking and better safety feature and refinement than axia
Refinement is non existent in all proton models
Perodua myvi and alza at least offer some form of refinement
Thanks to Dr M we rakyak are forced to buy junk proton products and foreign made cars selling at sky high pricing
You anti-Mahathir means you anti-Bersih means you pro-Najib
P2 myvi and alza still using old gearbox and engine. Even saga got CVT now
she’s “ROSMAH”tina what do you expect. lol..
i dont know why u say this car has better safety feature when the airbag is not even standard? Axia has standard dual airbag at least…
why only blame tun m. if things are not right then what his 2 predecessor are doin all this while. who is the pm then?
so cute
Yea…it’s reasonable if you times 300% (import tax and car duty fee) rm17k will become rm51k… fair enough for imported cars.
The top-of-the-range RXT variant – priced at INR353,131 (RM23,500)
i like this one
Those who find this car too basic should really give the good ol Maruti 800 a spin. No airbags/ power steering/ power windows/ aircon/ radio; heck, the base model comes with only ONE side mirror at the driver’s side!
And yet it does exactly what it’s suppose to do: unlock the door, start the engine, wind down the mirror and drive off – fuss free al fresco wind-in-the-hair driving without the premium price tag. Carelessly left the keys in the ignition and locked yourself out? no problemo – peel off the window lining, get a 10rupee foot long ruler and just jab around the insides of the door – pop goes the knob, open goes the door! Signal lights not working? no sweats – right arm out the window, wave for right turn, clockwise spin for left!
Lived with a Maruti 800 for 3 years, loved every moment with it…Simple driving pleasures like these are really hard to come across back in Malaysia :(
The price is better than renault twizy that available in malaysia…
Ok let’s just say you add in all the goodies you need like airbags, air conditioning, power windows, etc and it doubles the price to 34k then add in the 1.0 engine n auto box and the price goes up by another 17k to a grand total of RM51k. I still think it’s better then anything Proton or Perodua can dish out at the same price point.