New Mazda 3 facelift revealed in Japanese brochure

2016 Mazda 3 facelift brochure 3

The 2016 Mazda 3 facelift has been revealed in its entirety, thanks to these leaked Japanese brochure images from CarDrive. The refreshed C-segment Mazda model, which is available as both a sedan hatchback, was previously spotted out in the open in Japan recently.

The nip and tuck job introduces subtle exterior changes that include a reshaped grille with a repositioned Mazda logo. The chrome surround on the grille also appear to be thicker and extends less into the redesigned LED headlamps as well. The front fascia also sports a larger lower grille and a new pair of fog lamps as well.

Along the sides, the door mirrors now incorporate new LED turn indicator strips, replacing the previous lighting units located at the corner of the mirrors. Meanwhile at the rear, the 3 hatchback receives subtle changes that include reshaped fog lamp and reflector elements. The rear of the 3 sedan appears to be unchanged here.

Eight exterior colour choices will be available here – Soul Red Premium Metallic, Machine Gray Premium Metallic, Eternal Blue Mica, Sonic Silver Metallic, Titanium Flash Mica, Deep Crystal Blue Mica, Jet Black Mica and Snow Flake Pearl.

2016 Mazda 3 facelift brochure 6

Inside, the 3 retains its familiar layout featuring the carmaker’s MZD Connect infotainment touchscreen unit and instrument cluster setup. The Japanese-spec 3 also continues employing a dual-zone climate control that mirrors that of the larger 6 sedan, which differs from our model’s single-zone automatic air-con system.

Changes that come with the facelift include a new steering wheel design and more importantly, the introduction of an electronic parking brake, which is also used in the facelifted CX-5 and 6. As you can see, the e-parking brake sees a redesign of the centre console, which now features a sliding cover over what should be the cupholders.

As for powertrain options, the Japanese-spec 3 will be offered with two SkyActiv-D diesel engines in 1.5 litre and 2.2 litre capacities. Petrol options include a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G engine and a SkyActiv-Hybrid powertrain, where the latter consist of a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine and hybrid tech from the Toyota Prius.

Depending on the car’s powertrain, transmission choices include a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic or SkyActiv-MT manual, with Mazda’s i-Activ all-wheel drive available as an option. Other drive-related technology include Mazda’s regenerative braking system (i-ELOOP), idling stop (i-Stop), driver support system (i-DM) and drive selection (Sport mode).

2016 Mazda 3 facelift brochure 10

The refreshed 3 also features Mazda’s new G-Vectoring Control, a new technology which Mazda claims reduces the steering angle at turn-in, as well as the rate at which one turns the wheel. This is achieved by reducing engine torque by modifying the car’s ignition timing, corresponding to steering input. The system is part of something Mazda calls SkyActiv-Vehicle Dynamics.

As for safety, the 3 comes with Mazda’s i-Activsense suite – Adaptive LED Headlamps (ALH), Smart City Brake Support/Reverse (SCBS/R), Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), Lane Keep Assist System (LAS), Driver Attention Alert (DAA), Traffic Sign Recognition (TSR), Blind Spot Monitor (BSM) and Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA).

What do you think of the new Mazda 3? Are its new looks an improvement from before or do you prefer the pre-facelift model currently offered here? Let us know in the comments section below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• albert on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:37 pm

I got no complaints on any Mazda car except the LEGROOM SPACE.
    If you have long legs like the legendary Rudy Hartono,
    you might need surgery to shorten your legs a little.Other than this SPACE PROBLEM,THUMBS UP for Mazda.
    Rising from atomic bombing,the Japanese have shown tremendous courage and resilience and gave the world Mazda from their city of Hiroshima.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • Vin Poh on Jul 12, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Why not choose for CX-5? Legroom space is enuf for u.

• mazdasuck on Jul 12, 2016 at 8:19 pm

2.0l underpower, 2.5l overpriced

• Operation Manager on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Not only the length, more serious is the width for driver seat is cramping the balls, where centre console side wall too thick & straight down limit the knee expantion. Others auto design with bowling into inner side created extra knee leg room space. Not to name all older models, just spend some time in 2016 Civic driver seat to explore the so call [man-machine integration]

• Heskey on Jul 12, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Who is rudy hartono?

• Indonesian Badminton Player from the 70s-80s

• Operation Manager on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Dunno wth this rudy, but for sure semi-value pitching the balls as improved version facelift mazda3 skyactive is so much better & cheaper than the old one…

• Look almost the same. Wish we could have the white leather though

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:59 pm

prefer the old headlamps…and the old handbrake because its simply safer to use…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Dreamer on Jul 12, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Dear PT team,
    Can u represent our voices in suggesting bermaz to bring in full spec model plus all safety features on this FL M3?
    Love to have all Mazda’s i-Activsense suite.
    Cheers.
    I wonder it possible.. hmmm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Vin Poh on Jul 12, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Ya, We Need i-ActivSense suite at M3!!!!!

• They might bring it in, but u might not like the price.

• John is otak batu on Jul 12, 2016 at 7:07 pm

The competitors might not like full spec cars are reasonable price.

• Spec for spec, Mazda 3 alredi more expensive than Civic 10. Go figure.

• hatchback on Jul 12, 2016 at 7:16 pm

and full specs for hatchback too!!! i don’t mind to pay additional rm5k-8k for that, do u hear me bermaz?

• Zoom Zoom Al Kazoom on Jul 13, 2016 at 1:08 pm

I like hatchback most, but endup buy 2016 M3 Sedan…because of sedan come wth fullspecs…if HB is fullspecs sure the HB sale will icrease..

• Vin Poh on Jul 12, 2016 at 3:06 pm

The facelift version sure is better than current now that with LED Headlamp and LED fog lamp, but the price will higher than now a bit (higer price with all i-ActivSense features is worth than KOSONG spec)

The G-Vectoring Control look so interesting. Good Job Mazda.

As for safety I hope Mazda Malaysia will giving us all the features especially LDWS, SCBC, BSM and RCTA but also ALH, SCBS/R, MRCC, LAS, DAA, TSR.

Malaysian People need more SAFETY FEATURES and Soul Red Premium Metallic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Mercedes-AMG Fan on Jul 12, 2016 at 3:07 pm

I dreamt last night that I went into a Ferrari owns by a big boss of Naza Group. He drove me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • bujingyun on Jul 12, 2016 at 3:33 pm

so??

• Wow, where did this ‘sesat’ comment coming from? BTW did you later dream about the boss ‘riding’ you, if you know what I mean.

• orang biasa on Jul 12, 2016 at 4:13 pm

When the new Mazda-3 facelift come to Malaysia, sure (confirm) some new features will take out! Unless consumer need pay higher price in range of “Premium Exclusive Car”.

• Ptuih! Jepunis overlord car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • neonceejay on Jul 13, 2016 at 12:08 am

tbh, It’s a big letdown on mazda interior room. I’m 182cm, not really thin, but certainly tall enough. I went to see mazda 2 cuz it’s just so dazzling on my eyes. the very first problem i encounter is I can’t squeze myself into the rear seat after the front seat is set into my driving position.

And guess what? Bermaz salesman attitude just ditch the almighty Mazda zoom zoom wet dream in my mind. I know lah I can’t afford, I went to showroom just to admire your company product. Ok lah, if you said test drive need booking, but when we request for the brouchre, guess what!

The salesman ask us go search online! WTF!?
    And this does not only happens in one showroom. I went to serdang and ipoh one. same shit happens twice.

Mazda just become a big no no for me.

• Hanna on Jul 13, 2016 at 1:57 am

NO Rear Aircond??? Malaysia is very HOT…

• Wayne Lescott on Jul 13, 2016 at 11:56 am

I know of a couple of Mazda 3 owners, who had to replace the lower arm, both front and back, 5 times in 2 years. All those technology and stuff, but they can’t even do the most basic stuff, which is to make sure the car’s weight is supportable by most important aspect of the car, the suspension and wheels.

And guess what, Mazda repair center just shrug and say, “I don’t know…ni Mazda kat Jepun buat punya…”

Tsk, tsk…Mazda