Toyota Sienta MPV launched in Malaysia, fr RM93k

Sienta Launch Main

It doesn’t seem so but the Toyota Sienta has not been officially launched in Malaysia, until this morning.

Here’s the timeline. We gave you a first look at Sienta in April, from Indonesia where the funky-looking MPV made its local and ASEAN debut. A month later, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) previewed the seven-seater locally, and since then, we’ve had periodic waves of info including a showroom appearance, the release of official pricing and product videos.

The Sienta’s origins as a JDM model is clear from its unconventional styling, a big departure from ASEAN-oriented Toyota MPVs such as the Innova, Avanza and the new Calya. Sienta chief engineer Hiroshi Kayukawa says that Toyota had, from start, plans to sell the second-gen Sienta outside of Japan. The CE, who is in town for the launch, had driven in Indonesia, Thailand and Malaysia (including a drive up to Genting Highlands) as part of his research.

2016 Toyota Sienta 2

At 4,235 mm long, 1,695 mm wide and 1,695 mm tall, the Sienta is around the size of the Perodua Alza, being 35 mm shorter and 75 mm taller (same width). The wheelbase is 2,750 mm long, matching the Alza. The ASEAN-market Sienta – made in Indonesia for the region – has a 25 mm higher ground clearance than its Japanese-market equivalent, at 170 mm.

The Sienta is powered by a 1.5 litre four-cylinder engine making 107 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm, mated to a CVT with seven virtual ratios. The 2NR-FE Dual VVT-i engine is from the same modern NR family as the 1.3L unit in the Avanza and Perodua Bezza. Drive goes to the front wheels.

Two trim levels are available, the 1.5G and the top 1.5V. The V model comes with all the bells and whistles, including bi-LED headlights with LED positioning lights, 16-inch machine-finish alloy wheels and light guides for the tail lights. The base 1.5G makes do with halogen headlamps, 15-inch rims and plain LED tail lights (no LED signatures). Both models get LED daytime running lights.

2016 Toyota Sienta 20

The Sienta’s dashboard design is as wacky as the exterior, with a dual-tier dash sporting a Peugeot 208-style high-mounted instrument cluster. The centre console with unique air-con controls, floor-mounted gearlever and added storage space is different from the JDM model, as is a rear air-con blower – but the novel way in which the third-row seats “dive in” under the one-touch tumble second-row seats has been retained.

A note on the floor vs column-mounted shifter. According to Kayukawa, the ASEAN Sienta’s floor shifter location is to accommodate a manual transmission (available in Indonesia), while the JDM Sienta is CVT-only. Also, our CVT model comes with manual mode, which is not present in the domestic model. Ease of use and fuel efficiency is the main priority for minivan customers in Japan.

The V spec car comes with goodies such as an acoustic windscreen, keyless entry, push-button start, Optitron instruments, a Camry-style colour multi-info display, automatic air-con, a 6.8-inch touchscreen infotainment system with voice control and a reverse camera. Also included is brown fabric upholstery, a leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel, twin electric sliding doors, premium security and solar tinting and a locally-fitted digital video recorder (dash cam).

The G spec Sienta gets none of the above, and is instead equipped with a 2-DIN Bluetooth-enabled head unit, black upholstery and a single electric sliding door on the passenger (left) side.

Safety equipment is identical on both models, which is good. All Sienta buyers get three airbags (dual front plus driver’s knee), ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Hill-start Assist Control (HAC) and Isofix child seat anchors on the outer second-row seats. The Sienta has not been crash tested by ASEAN NCAP yet, but Toyota expects a five-star rating.

Options include a RM2,109 DVD-AVX touchscreen infotainment system with reverse camera for the 1.5G, a RM3,169 DVD-AVN navigation system and a RM2,014 upgrade to the DVD-AVN system for 1.5V buyers. Buyers of the G and opt for either the RM1,166 “Toyota Essential Solar Film” or the RM2,109 “Toyota Premium Security & Solar Film”. The latter is standard on the V.

The CBU imported from Indonesia Sienta 1.5G starts at RM92,900, while the 1.5V retails for RM99,900, both on-the-road with insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. Seeing that the difference between trims is just RM7,000, the V’s much longer spec sheet appears to be the better deal. What do you think of this funky new entry?

GALLERY: Toyota Sienta 1.5V

GALLERY: Toyota Sienta 1.5G

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:32 am

So overpriced. UMW should concentrate on their existing cars and give Malaysians VSC and more airbags. Bread and butter Vios and Altis until today got no VSC.

So malu. Rm139k car got only 2 airbags and no VSC

Camry RM160k car also got no VSC and 2 airbags.

Why even bother launching new cars when your existing cars are not safe?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 8
    • OMG….better get a recon T.Wish 2011 1.8L / 2.0L …Features better than this little siantan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 18
      • Exora turbo can smoke Wish anytime
        But wait, not for racing but for the similar power you dun have to push pedal as hard as Wish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
        • Wish? Old recon 2011, and no rear aircon and warranty? Only dummy will buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
          • Gaban on Aug 18, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Toyota Sienta is simply a glorified P2 Alza…

40K lebih mahal beb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
          • George Abdul on Aug 18, 2016 at 7:01 pm

UMWT with this price, sienta can sit on garage until stock clearance !!! UMW management greed over the mind again !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • Raja Gopal on Aug 19, 2016 at 3:20 am

well toyota still not doing recall as Honda on the airbags issues.
            Recon cars not eligible for recall for airbags except Honda.
            Still wanna go for recon cars ?

• Same L00 on Aug 22, 2016 at 11:52 pm

This car good or not, sales figure will tell. Even it is almost RM99k, I already have 9 bookings till today. Everyone knows they won’t go wrong with sushi cars, especially Toyota.

• Ada Danny, ada awek ;-P~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • Same L00 on Aug 18, 2016 at 4:27 pm

When the Proton boys can’t afford a model, they say it is overpriced. But back to the origin, it is their beloved Proton to cause Malaysian cars so expensive. These Proton budak only support Proton with empty talk and saliva, none of they put it into action (buy da junk), that’s why Proton has to beg RM1.5bil pocket money.
          My Sienta good or not, sales figure will tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 37
          • Lanloo on Dec 17, 2016 at 12:34 am

not can’t afford, people now are smart, buy car with better specs and more safe not being dupe, high price two airbag, add traction control hike the price, what you keep the car for your grandchildren or what, you think car are asset or what, nobody bothered you drive honda city or Toyota vios unless Toyota FLA, for you 660 kancil is enough then braggggg..

• Handjob on Aug 18, 2016 at 4:36 pm

What happened to those overpriced Honda Freed MPV btw?? ;))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • You already said. It is overpriced. So it was discontinued. However this Sienta is made in Indonesia. The Freed was made in Japan. Big difference in assembly quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • OMG…exora engine sound like lorry…fuel consumption super high, good luck if u own it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
          • Lol your toyotaik engine 2.0l drinks fuel like water, no power summore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Albert on Aug 18, 2016 at 3:37 pm

This is a glorified Avanza.Just modernising a little here and there.
      Wah liao…how I wish I could spend rm 100 k ,by getting a pre owned Benze as another spare car,instead of a compact mpv. or a pre owned Accord or….plenty of choices,including HRV etc.
      Folks rm 100K,cause an ARM OR LEG for some ardent Toyota fanboys…..taking 7-10 year bondage loans.
      THINK…THINK…THINK.
      Good times may take 3-5 years to be back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
      • Paul Tan on Aug 18, 2016 at 3:48 pm

This platform is unibody, tranverse engine, front wheel drive. Completely unrelated to Avanza which is longitundinal engine, rear wheel drive. The only car close to Avanza would be the Rush.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 7
        • Can we have a video review on this car?

• Bashers just dun use brain when commenting. Thanks for straightening this one.

• Albert on Aug 18, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Thanks , Paul for highlighting the difference between avanza and Sienta.
          However,I was overly concerned about the VERY PREMIUM pricing adopted by UMW.
          Cant they make it more affordable?
          Just like Tan Chong …where the renault prices have been slashed rm 20-40K ? I am not saying they shouln’t make profits.
          Somemore,I have experienced a very mediocre level of service from UMW when my Toyota gave some teething problems.
          Toyota is a GLOBAL money spinner,but for some here,it cost an arm or leg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Seriously, about pricing issue maybe you can write an complaint letter and send to UMW, or form an army to overturn the government. You won’t make any change by whining here. (and 99.99% they will just ignore your email anyhow)

Alternatively, buy local cars or other foreign brand other than Toyota. (which most likely there will be pricing issue for you too if you feel their pricing should set closer to P1 or P2)

• micheal Tan on Dec 17, 2016 at 12:38 am

imported maa, made in Indonesia, Alza facelift

• Same L0rr on Aug 18, 2016 at 4:31 pm

I will buy two this Sienta!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • ahlong on Aug 18, 2016 at 4:57 pm

it make me to think of the failed honda freed

• Operation Manager on Aug 18, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Oh sohai… only buy overpriced small tiny Alza

• leman on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:18 pm

If talk about bigger space go to hiace..
      People always complaint but in the end a lot people buy…
      Up to you la… Duit u.. U punya suka la…

• Overpriced Alza. Altho I cannot say anything bad about my jepunis overlord mother kompeni junks, I can still promo that my P2 Alza is still better than this cuz u wun have Sammy trying to hardsell his moving junks. But if u wan better car than Alza, then get my Biza instead, now with limited special offer Road to Nirvana package! What ur waiting for! PM now with confidence!

#Biza>Alza>SienAh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 38
    • karam singh on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:50 pm

BR-V launch just around the corner, wider , longer , bigger than Sienta. priced less than 95k.
      just wait for it…
      more practical & more power yet economical.
      Paultan, get ready to review both Sienta & BR-V. ;)

bright seats not a good things for kids, well they tend to mess things up. cream interior worst like the Livina.

which one more practical ? more affordable ?
      let the battle begins. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • No need compete. Alredi decided Biza>Alza>SienAh>BRV.
        Jangan persoal P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • tok adi on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:20 pm

numerous of enquiry made to honda malaysia but none of the answer confirm about the brv arrival.

• karam singh on Aug 19, 2016 at 3:13 am

trust me , the BR-V will launch soon ;)
          Honda Brio also coming soon

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:36 am

I hope the bodoh john does not come here and still say I work for Toyota. Hello, use your brains a bit. If I always bash Toyota and UMW, do you think I work for them?

This alone shows how dumb you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • U better dun come and harass my P2 showroom today! I will call secu and bar u coming here forever. Just cuz ur toyota junks not selling, doesnt gip u reason to come kacau my bisness to sell untested Biza. Bertaubatlah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • john is otak batu on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Wow! U r learning fast from “jangan persoal” fast!… another dictator

• Albert on Aug 18, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Kunta
      Ya lor.I called him Insaf John lately,but I think I better call him Bodowi John.
      I challenged him to visit my PJ showroom where I was top in sales,selling Rolls Royce.
      But he never turned up.He chickened out,but talks rubbish most of the time.
      At Toyota,they yell out “Nak fikir lagi ? Tak payah,beli je “.Discount rm10 ribu.
      At Rolls Royce,we say ,”Datuk/Datin…we are very honoured to have Datuk/Datin visiting us today.May I show Datuk/Datin our latest top specs Royce….”
      Kunta,I close 3 deals last month.To match that Bodowi john has to close 20 P2 deals.
      But yours truly remain humble like fellow school mate Paul Tan.
      In life,successful people are humble.Look at Robert Kuok….have u seen him yelling rubbish?

• So much free time to reply ur dupe. Go back and sell more toyota junks lah! We at P2 dun need one trick salesman.

• jinggo on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:42 am

Only 2 airbags? Degil betul UMW ni.. tggu la bila new Freed masuk, komfem kojol la Sientak ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • policeman on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Sohai spotted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Sammy Vellu on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Do you even read?

• KIAsJunk on Aug 18, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Best seller of Honda City is E Specs with 2 airbags, meaning even there is 6 airbags option people will still choose 2 airbags out of slight cheaper price.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:43 am

3 airbag? boikot la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Jonn Dol on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:48 am

1.5 N.A powered MPV at RM 92,000+?? You gotta be kidding..Is it because of that wacky styling??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • normal_user on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:50 am

Since Bezza launch, Paultan always associate Toyota’s NR engine with Bezza’s due to its family-sibling relations. UMW keeps on selling Toyota with ‘FE’ designated engine while Perodua was given the ‘VE’ engine. The ‘VE’-spec engine is indeed a lower cost version of the ‘FE’, just like what offered in Indonesia low MPV (Calya, Xenia, Avanza).

This Sienta should be the successor for Alza (RM50-60K). Malaysians had being spare-changed all this while. To get ‘better’ engines (or what the Japs or Europeans are enjoying the ‘FE’ equipped models at much cheaper prices), we are forced to pay more.

• It doesn’t scream 93k worth of value for sure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Siesta...zzzz... on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:58 am

This MPV reminds me of the quirky Honda Freed, which was a runaway seller in Indonesia but fared poorly in Malaysia. However, after sitting in (and poking around) in a show unit in IOI Resort City Mall recently, I’d have to say the Sienta has potential to attract existing Avanza owners as well as those looking to buy a bigger vehicle. The quality seems good and space is abundant. I’d even wager that this is a suitable Uber/Grab vehicle…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • domotomo on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:15 pm

yup. contemplating on it at the moment. 5 year warranty with unlimited mileage huhu

• spongewai on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:59 am

i can guarantee this Toyota Sienta will not selling very well due to poor demand just like Honda Freed previously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Fuh! fugly car with underpowered engine.

• toyoto land on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:06 pm

1.5L…car looks heavy.

• My next car is Toyota on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Like it! believed most ppl will go for V (7k more ja)… accessories is attractive…

• sabahan on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:22 pm

93k?!

another Freed…. another failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Being a family MPV, safety should be a priority. Should have offered front, side and curtain airbags, at least for the top spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • This is what I told their sales represent active at Setia City Mall and they said they will feedback this to management. But knowing it is UMW, nothing will change until government itself imposing minimum safety requirements for cars in Malaysia. Heck, even a 3 star Asean NCAP cars are allowed to be used as taxi in latest SPAD’s so called transformation plan.

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:41 pm

What’s with the side decals? Really looks out of place. The extensive black plastic trims is already wacky enough – IMO which kinda grows on you.
    Freed is not the competition, but Grand Livina.

• wawasan2020 on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:43 pm

This is an advance version of avanza?so dated and ugly..

• Henry on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Has our currency dropped to such pitiful level that we have to pay 93k for this product? Very sad.

• Nope. Just greedy toyota, thats all.

• No la. When currency down they up the price, when currency up they up futher maa.. untung lebey.. since when umw drop price?

• Knight E on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:57 pm

UMW like to earn more money because they given spec too low and cheap…this sienta sure can sell well even overprice no people blame the spec just trust the brand…

• Bcoz MY pipu mentality is they rather proudly die in their celup jepunis moving deathtraps than shamefully survive in a P1

• During my time in Japan, the Sienta was a common sight, buzzing around the narrow streets of Kyoto and Tokyo silently(they don’t turn on noisy air conditioner during my time in Japan)!It’s not something everyone will agree as a looker, but for me amongst the wacky Kei-cars and JDM vehicles, it looked part of the scenery, on Malaysian streets however, filled with gray scaled cars and kamikaze kapchais it would drfinitely be an interesting sight and the quirky looks really strikes my fancy.

Trying out the Sienta at the nearby roadshows last weekend I actually like the interior the most. No is not European Advantgarde, But it’s quirky and identifiably Japanese as Gundam, Manga and *cough JAV. Orange seats and slope up quirky interior. The room inside is no Alphard, but it does the family business pretty well and there’s a certain element of ‘fun’ that I find lacking in modern cars today, they seem to matured and dull inside.

pricing is typical UMW, I don’t understand the existence of the low spec car considering the disparity between it and the V, but the V ticks almost every box for specs and I can even argue to an extend safety as well, given VSC is standard and I’m pretty sure there will be some simpleton already commented the untrue absence of it. . All in all I’m not sure weather will it be a hit, the looks and design is controversial, I absolutely love it as it brings some colours and creativity to the market, I’m just not sure weather the masses agrees with me. Perhaps suited to those just starting their family, who have fondness of their childhood growing up with Dragon Ball, The Ghibli movies and Evangelion. Because shockingly, this is a Toyota that manage to be opposite of the stereotype dull and similar Toyota b

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • EVIL RYU on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:13 pm

As long as it’s T or H brand, people will buy them. They trust the brand will continue to support them. Good aftermarket service, high RV, and reliability are all they only consider, even if it’s overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • EVIL RYU on Aug 18, 2016 at 3:25 pm

As long as it is T or H brand, people will buy them. They trust those brands and they will continue to support them. Good aftermarket service, high RV, and reliability are all they only consider, even if they’re overpriced.

• No Name on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Hmm…not interested on this sienta model…just interested on that model (girl)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Halimah on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Why pay almost double when you get similar Japanese quality Alza? Same length, width etc etc. Waiting for the New Alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Bernard on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Another expensive option for small families ……

• Obsolete on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Out dated engine & spec yet overpriced, will obsolete very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • james on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:59 pm

ugly like hell… this make me remember proton juara…terrible ugly!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • China Bing Bing on Aug 18, 2016 at 2:31 pm

The pricing is actually reasonable per se being sold in Malaysia (for the decent safety features + accessories, unlike previous keranda-keranda beroda by UMWT). The price tag ranges from ¥ 1.69 – ¥ 2.33 million in Japan (RM 67,488.00 – RM 93,071.00). But only get the top spec though in my personal opinion if any of you are willing to buy this car from UMWT.

• U lying. How can be so expensive in jepunis overlord land. Bashers says it shud be Rm30,000 (~¥750,000) otherwise ini mesti semua salah NajibBNGovP1

• Leonardo on Aug 18, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Well at least this is a ‘real Toyota’, unlike the rebadged Toyolta Rush, a rebadged Daihatsu Terios, made in Indonesia. And in the same price range, both with 7 seaters.
    Still, in Japan this car costs less than RM80k and with all the duties plus lots of profit margin, the OTR price here becomes RM92K -100K .
    If this model comes in CKD form, the price will drop significantly.

• waaa… dah lah we have to pandang another 20k bohzzia tonggek in front us in this year. now..we have to pandang another eyesoring design on the road more..help me..

• waaa… dah lah we have to pandang another 20k bohzzia tonggek in front us in this year. now..we have to pandang another eyesoring design on the road more..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Sometimes some Malaysians can’t do their math correctly but depending on emotion instead..hence buying because of its car cum shoes design rather then looking at their long term budget (most declared bankrupts are those involve hire purchase)…yeah yeah work hard some Joe rich says pls look at the spec vs price..is it reasonable?..for RM99k i’ll go for 1.8 livina..UMW damn Tamak..

• nabill (Member) on Aug 18, 2016 at 4:07 pm

i actually like it…if u have a small family is brilliantly practical , i know the price might seem a tad high , bt the Freed was more than 100k…..
    its sting very different to whats available….very visually striking , those who are comparing to Alza really have no clue…and im not even gonna explain why…

• Sam Seng on Aug 18, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Pointless launch due to the high price. Ismet Suki shd consider stepping down already..

• iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 18, 2016 at 7:23 pm

Saw quite a number of Sientas in Osaka/Kyoto during Sakura season this year, despite recently launched there at that time.

• Ong Chee Boon on Aug 18, 2016 at 8:41 pm

That exterior and interior… let’s just say it is not to my liking.

Price is overpriced. Wait for Honda BRV and compare then.

This MPV is for 7 people, and UMW got the nerve to provide only THREE airbags? UMW your math failed….

VSC should have been included like at least 3 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • brian on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:00 pm

Don’t forget also joining this year is the new Toyota Innova which is a major departure from current generation. Doubt it will be priced below RM100k…..

• Yet another ugly car from Toyota , not to mention overpriced piece of crap design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • seman on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:17 pm

rear of sienta slowly reminds me on my dad’s previous perodua rusa…so nostalgic

• Sofa King Good on Aug 19, 2016 at 9:45 am

all the comments are just classic Toyota haters for no solid reasons or facts. LOL

• thomas on Aug 19, 2016 at 1:40 pm

More overpriced from Indonesia. Cuma orang berduit saja yang mampu membelinya

• Herman T on Dec 17, 2016 at 1:35 am

not fo the price alone, be rational so buyers will not be dupe by car makers, when buying car make a comprehensive research

• john lee on Aug 19, 2016 at 3:02 pm

This sienta in Indonesia selling at price Rm90K.In malaysia, selling at Rm99K.Different around 9K only.Price cheaper than malaysia bcos this is CBU from indonesia.How can you expect cheap than Indonesia?Besides, the spec from sienta was very good.Although only 3 air bags but safety feature like VSC,TRC,HAC,ABS,EBD are good enough.Even Altis also full spec Rm138K only have VSC and TRC.So with 99k, you get all this good feature is consider very good.This car design for 1500cc due to car is small and fuel saving.It is very suitable and convenience for old folk and children at 2nd row.Please go showroom and test drive before comments.This sienta have better legroom at 3rd row compare to ALza and Livina.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Deagonite on Sep 05, 2016 at 11:02 pm

This is really true. Tested them, and turns out that Sienta is the most practical car compared to Nissan Livina, P2 Alza, and especially, the over-priced Recon Toyota Wish (2011)

• idealtech on Aug 20, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Nissan NV200 anyone? oh wait this is an MPV! Sorry my bad.

• Melvin on Aug 21, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Had the chance to drive into a Toyota showroom in Gombak today and the usual “bad service” of toyota salesmen..
    1. 5 of them behind counter and had no initiative to greet me and my wife, all 5 just looked at us blank.

2. After i requested to preview the Sienta parked infront of the showroom, did a sales guy walk out andd say “sure..help yourself to preview”.

3. He walked out 2mins later and gave us the suspicious look, “as if we were gonna steal the car”. And he didn’t bring the brochure or price list and din’t bother to introduce himself or the car. I had to do all the asking… which at half way through asking, my wife was pissed and had no more interest, as the sales guy didn’t seem keen to do a sale.

4. To Toyota.. shame on the trainings given and congrats for continuous loosing of sales and traction in the car market, thanks to poor attitude of salesmen.

The Sienta;
    Exterior looks cute and fun. Especially love the sliding doors.

Interior, the seats, OMG are so poorly assembled and so thin and no contour to shape, it feels like a Nissan Vanette C22 seat. Go check it out and you will say, OMG !

Honestly, for RM 99k (the high spec), definately NOT worth to buy. No perks,nor comfort in the Sienta.

For RM 99k, you could opt for a Mazda 2 (interior is fully loaded and leather seats.) or maybe grab an Avanza which you would have lots of savings in the bank.

• Masyitah on Oct 05, 2016 at 12:21 am

Go to Toyota SC n have a look on how they greed u. Poor service….

• Herman T on Dec 17, 2016 at 1:38 am

me too will look blank when someone drive into a showroom

• oklar on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Hm.

I better get unregistered Toyota Wish 1.8 Recond at the same price.
    Better spec, full airbag, everything.

• toyota owner on Sep 14, 2016 at 8:52 am

Already test-drive the car, good handling and quiet interior compare to my wife’s Avanza. Considering to switch from Avanza to this car. The practicality is much better than Avanza, especially with five kids on board, and my wife loves it.

And i drive a 3.0 Hilux. We’re Toyota Tribe. Peace.

• rahim on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:09 pm

i need the sliding door mpv, people nowdays parking like a bullshit, not easy to get out from tight space

• saito on Dec 17, 2016 at 1:39 am

both of you drive are harsh, avanza lol