New 2016 Toyota Vios launched in Malaysia – EEV, Dual VVT-i, CVT, VSC standard, RM76,500 – RM96,400

toyota_vios_gx_ext-3

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has officially launched the 2016 Toyota Vios at its headquarters in Shah Alam. Revealed online last week and already available in showrooms, the latest Vios looks rather familiar, but packs plenty of changes under the skin, which we’ll go through here.

There’s an all-new powertrain under the hood of the B-segment sedan, which is now classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV). The familiar 1NZ-FE engine and four-speed automatic combo has been replaced by a new 2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i unit, with variable valve timing on both intake and exhaust valves. It’s a member of the NR engine family, which also powers the Toyota Avanza facelift and Perodua Bezza 1.3L, among other cars.

The all-aluminium engine with Iridium spark plugs is paired to a CVT automatic gearbox with a seven-speed Sport Sequential Shiftmatic manual mode. The five-speed manual gearbox option has been retained on the base 1.5J. Outputs are actually down compared to before – at 107 PS at 6,000 rpm (-2 PS) and 140 Nm (-1 Nm) at 4,200 rpm – but drivability and fuel efficiency should see gains.

toyota_vios_gx_ext-26

Toyota’s own testing revealed that the new powertrain delivers 18% better fuel economy than the previous combo. It was pointed out that if an owner travelled 25,000 km a year, it would translate to savings of 302 litres, or RM544 based on the current RON95 petrol price of RM1.80 a litre. There’s a new Eco Indicator, a small green light to assist your right foot in efficient driving.

Kit count remains largely identical, with halogen reflector headlights, LED daytime running lights, door visors, 15-inch alloy wheels and rear fog lights coming as standard on the outside. Inside, the base model gets keyless entry, push button start, a 2-DIN head unit with Bluetooth connectivity, four-speakers and front footwell illumination.

The E variant adds front fog lights, power-folding wing mirrors with integrated indicators, a 60:40 split-folding rear seat and a rear armrest with cupholders. A DVD-AVX infotainment system with a 6.8-inch touchscreen and a reverse camera is new for 2016.

toyota_vios_gx_int-19

Moving up, the G variant piles on projector headlights, an acoustic windscreen, chrome-plated grille and rear number plate garnish, black leather upholstery, a multi-info display, a multifunction leather-wrapped steering wheel and six speakers. Added for 2016 is a Toyota Premium Security and Solar Film tint, which used to be cost option on all but the top TRD Sportivo.

There’s a new variant to make it six in total. As shown here by the red car, the new GX gets smoked projector headlights, a dark chrome grille, two-tone wheels and black-and-tan combination leather seats. Finally, the TRD Sportivo now receives a new bodykit and wheels – distinct from the ones offered on the GX – as well as black exterior trim. Black leather seats with red stitching also feature inside, along with sportier instrument cluster graphics.

Safety-wise, the airbag count stays at two, but the big news is the inclusion of Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and traction control as standard on all variants, in addition to ABS with EBD, Brake Assist and Isofix rear child seat anchors.

Prices are actually lower than before, from RM1,480 to RM3,680. The base 1.5J retails at RM76,500 for the manual and RM79,800 for the automatic. From here, it’s auto only, with the E priced at RM83,900, the G at RM89,800 and the new GX at RM92,800. The range-topping TRD Sportivo is yours for RM96,400. Prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year, unlimited-mileage transferable warranty. UMWT is throwing in five years of free service for those who buy before December 31.

As usual, the Vios comes with a host of options, including the DVD-AVX system with reverse camera on the J variants (RM3,169), the DVD-AVN navigation system with a seven-inch capacitive touchscreen (RM2,109) and an upgrade to the DVD-AVN system for models with DVD-AVX (RM2,014).

Also offered is the GX’s aerokit (RM2,332) and a choice of either Toyota Essential Solar Film (RM1,166) or Premium Security and Solar Film (RM2,109) tints on the J and E variants. A Digital Video Recorder (dashcam) costs an additional RM636.

Lastly, the colour options have been expanded to include Crimson Spark Red Metallic, Super White II and White Pearl CS (the latter only for the TRD Sportivo), joining the existing Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metalic and Attitude Black Mica. For a detailed comparison of the variants, check out the 2016 Toyota Vios at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Toyota Vios 1.5 GX

GALLERY: Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• “NEW” Vios is here … Lets start bashing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 12
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:25 pm

The word new is misleading. Their sales were ZERO. Cause for 20 years, they were cheating rakyat selling dangerous cars without VSC and only 2 airbags.

With the online pressure, their sales actually became NIL. Nobody touched the Vios. So, don’t think they are doing a favour and love the rakyat so much that now they are giving VSC.

They have no choice but to give VSC in order to get some sales!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 21
      • Same LOO on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:21 pm

I am getting my 5th Lexus. Sales is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 63
        • Your answer to owning a ” MILO TIN ” car.

Start working hard to buy this “MILO TIN ” car even passed history of unintended acceleration and air bags incidents had claimed number life in USA.

Thinking when RV is more important than safety and value in life meaning lower middle or middle income groups life do not have much value at all ( dirt in the making) if they purchase this MILO tin junk.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:36 pm

We should buy Toyota cause milik KWSP. Kalau KWSP Untung, kami semua untung!

Think about it braders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 65
        • Ms Check Pick on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Are u deaf and blind eh? The more EPF make money the more our money forked out to save 1MDB fiasco! Fyi billions from EPF already channeled out to cover up these mess! Don’t just see news from TV3-suku brader

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
          • JB_KIA on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Danny. I was OK with the prices but only until I read this word, EEV!

• Operation Manager on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:49 pm

After decades cheap in safety, now is turn to cheat on EEV tax duty exemption… [You drive Toyota, my pocket come first] Jetta 1.4 Turbo under EEV already down from 135k to 100k … Honda is the next LIAR, 2016 Civic 1.8 NA milo tin kosong from 114k, 1.5T from 128k to 136k, next Accord FL oso increased 10k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Koh Pek on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Already booked a premium persona and frankly not regret my decision.Similar all round but more safety and save my 20k.Furthermore i want to buy a decent car not a tax!?! 45k just for tax? And the tax will be charged by bank’s flat interest rate some more? Hahahahahaha.. Hell no!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 11
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Let us not talk about EEV Pricing. Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%. By right, if Vios is sold for RM76k, less 30%, that will be RM22k less. So, the price should be RM54k.

Already 4 years we have been waiting. Each of us Malaysians are overpaying for our cars for people to buy RM800k each Birkin handbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 8
      • Ex VGM staff on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:14 pm

If vios sells at 54k, proton persona will die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 14
        • Bash Basher on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Who cares?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • Bash Basher on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:29 pm

I mean, if theres a vios selling at 54k, you think the rakyat will have any concern whether Persona exist or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
          • dicky on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Of course concern, if Vios 54k, persona is 35k, saga 25k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
          • Bash Basher on Oct 05, 2016 at 8:14 am

Wow that will be great for everybody. But I don’t P1 can survive for long with such pricing looking at the current management team.

• inb4 cave troll never heard of almari

• why bash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Kerja kuat on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Work hard or drive Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
      • vivaowner on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:08 pm

No la, ride kapchai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Work smarter or drive keli

• Abg jib on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:39 pm

alo kerja kuat , in Malaysian u drive expensive car because of tax , not for quality , hahahahaha kerja kuat kuat untuk bayar cukai

• VWfan on Oct 07, 2016 at 5:06 pm

work smarter, buy vios…later involved in accident, die on the spot…your wife will inherit everything you have and get new, better, improved husband.

• leona on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Noisy roof OK jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • dpillai on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Honda City ROFL reading this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:40 pm

What ever basher said, the fact is, Toyota Vios is the best RV in Malaysia! Every one have a dream to drive a Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 71
    • timbuktu on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:58 pm

What a laggard. Clear example of a company that only change when it has no more choice. Stupid UMW stupid Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • “NEW” giant Milo tin is here …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • lolol on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:01 am

Indeed a worthy competitor to the Persona! Looks so similar spec to spec and interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 45
  • Same L0rr on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:02 am

Best in class. New DVVT, CVT, DVD, VSC dan super RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 85
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:47 pm

the biggest question now is this…..how to buy from a company that even before the sale already has cheated the buyer of RM20k (EEV discount)?

You are buying from such a dishonest and insincere company. If a company can sapu the EEV discount the Government has given them to give to YOU, you can see what a dishonest company you are dealing with.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 2
    • Ms Check Pick on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Still ugly back lights.Still max 2 airbags.Less power means travel thru Karak Highway,uphill roads will make the engine scream louder than ever! But if u just satisfy to tailgating behind timber lorry or balik kampung buses,up to u.Eat dust just for pondans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Akulaini on Oct 04, 2016 at 7:28 pm

If free you want ah ;-)

• VWfan on Oct 07, 2016 at 5:09 pm

if i get it for free, i will sell it due to so call high RV and invest the money in ASB or buy gold and keep it.

• Garfield on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:14 am

I’m sorry, but where’s the supposed to be substantial reduction due to EEV classification? The price hardly drops, considering October is the start of stock clearance time, and discounts shall be offered anyway. Kill 2 birds with one stone eh UMW?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 0
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:56 am

this is the biggest conjob by UMW. They got EEV classification. By right, prices should be about RM50k. But they sapu all the profits. Then they bull to the rakyat that they are giving higher spec kononnya.

This is typical GLC and Government attitude. Rip and cheat the rakyat. If BMW and Mercedes can offer so much savings on their cars due to the EEV status (for example BMW X5 got even RM200k less), this shows UMW is cheating the rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 6
      • Merc MY GLC what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
      • RM50k?
        Oh you guys are just adorable

• Ms Check Pick on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Higher specs shouldn’t be at 96k! Coz all the accessories is local contents and ASEAN FTA regulated items! Plus EEV should lower the price in significant amount at least 15k! This is the method for UMW to avoid depreciation of their RV? They rather losing sales and conning people than being generous and honest to our consumerism! Than u face our boycott against UMW for years to come!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
          • Local content fiasco on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Ms,

Do you know that local content with our business scale doesnt give us advantage at all. We are just feeding malaysian with extra jobs but it doenst mean that we can get better values. Things are expensive here in malaysia.

• rtraaz on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:58 pm

on what facts are the rm50k based on? Ud probably be embarrassed in a board meeting with such pluck from the sky attitude.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 05, 2016 at 5:36 am

Even in Thailand u can’t get those price.

• Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Where is the pondan organization MAI? They should give a clear definition of EEV. Now, everybody also claim EEV. Even Bezza also claim EEV. What is the guideline?

Everybody now also seems to hantam the word EEV. Anyway, let us assume this Vios is EEV, where is price reduction? Last time, Madani from MAI said car manufacturers are encouraged to sell CKD EEV cars in Malaysia to benefit EEV tax free pricing.

Now MAI stay quiet. All waiting for further datukships. MAI should prosecute UMW and Toyota for selling their Vios at the OLD prices despite getting EEV.

Infact, prices have gone up!. Now Vios is RM96k.

MAI is like a pondan organization. They are too scared to touch another Government body like UMW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 2
      • Ollie on Oct 05, 2016 at 2:01 pm

The guidelines are available, and its utter rubbish. 8l/100km qualifies a sedan as EEV. I get that on my 6 year old 2.0 sedan. Utter numskull came up with that.

• karam singh on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Hooray!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
    • Orchestra on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Honda City is EEV also.
      Why City EEV with VSC is so expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
    • Ada Vios ada Amoi on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Vios is social & status symbol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 64
      • Jimmy on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Amoi biasa, maybe la.

Amoi cantiq 20 years younger than you? Not even so, if you just have a Camry and a CR-V.

• Nuujib on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:31 pm

10 years ago Britney Spears was the Vios ambassador hahaha

• So gullible on Oct 05, 2016 at 12:48 am

If an woman only look at you because of the car you are driving, what guarantee you have she won’t dump you for the guy driving a BMW or Merc? Grow up la, gullible kid.

• Papa G on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:51 pm

using thinner oil like Axia?

• Matchy on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Honda City with EEV selling at 90k no one bats an eye,
      Toyota Vios with EEV selling at 90k everyone loses their minds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • Only Gullible Buy When Just Launched on Oct 05, 2016 at 12:40 am

The EEV rebate will later be used to cover for promotional rebates and accessories. After all these years, you still don’t know how UMW think and operate? Fat profit margins always come first for UMW. The talk about ‘better value being passed to customers’ is just a gimmick for the gullible.

Early adopters are UMW’s favorite prey because they will buy Toyotas when just launched and don’t care much about discount as long as can brag about being the first to drive a ‘NEW’ Toyota. A month or two later when UMW starts giving discounts (from the hidden EEV rebate), early adopters sure feel like idiots.

• Belakang mcm Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Mahal on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:16 am

What makes Vios more costly than Almera and City?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
    • Comes from TRD logo, sticker and bodykits that can gip you 100hp+. Don’t play2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • policeman on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Compared to City, it has a reliable CVT. It feels more like a conventional automatic. City has leaking CVT issues.

Vios engine is buttery smooth and refined. City’s is coarse.

Vios interior panels are better fitted with no rattles/creaks unlike the City.

Vios is a man’s B segment sedan. City is a woman’s/daffodil’s B segment sedan.

No need to compare with Almera. Almera is just like Saga – bare basics for the destitute.

Oh don’t forget, City has killed many innocent drivers with its killer airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 57
      • Never herd Toyota MY call for airbags replacement. They use Takata is it?

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Yeah2. For men with peanut sized dongle. Lol.

• Its Gangster status symbol car and TRD branding.

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:17 am

In short, its a new Dual VVTi engine with a CVT gear box & is slightly cheaper.

The big news is the inclusion of Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and traction control as standard on all variants, in addition to ABS with EBD, Brake Assist & Isofix rear child seat anchors.

Essentially, it also tell us that the Bezza 1.3 uses the older NR engine family of Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Why no new design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • DengDengDeng on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:26 am

WOW, so expensive, who want to buy, somemore old technology, and mo suprised design, old man car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • DonkeyKong on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:32 am

So basically it’s roughly on-par with the high-spec Saga (not even the Persona), but at more than twice the price. I wonder which suckers will continue going for a Vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 12
    • Sammy, Albert & his dupes each (oh wai… he cannot afford for 50+ cars)

• See the power of boycott! Drop in price and bump in specs. Let’s wait one more year for 6 airbags across the range!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:41 am

Rm96k for a small B segment junk vios? Do you know now, with discounts, you can get a huge Nissan Teana, a proper D segment car for RM113k?

If you can pay RM96k, obviously you can buy RM113k.

This shows how Government owned and run company, a full GLC like UMW is ripping the rakyat left right and center.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Many bodohs, obviously.

Look beyond toyotired. There are other good choices.

Let say for a low-middle class who takes 7 years 80% loan, you pay rm1152 for Vios TRD, and it is only rm 1452 for Teana. RM300 per month.

Car loan is at best 3 years maximum.
      Even better if its price is your 3-month salary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Where to get Teana for 113k. I asked around and lowest quoted also 128k?

• palehotak on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:48 am

eev but price eex-pensive

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:14 pm

I went to Honda, they are willing to give Rm110k for their Civic. The Civic is world acclaimed. Even in US and Europe, it is world famous.

The Vios, not even heard in US or Europe, a palat car only for Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia, is sold for RM96k.

I hope people realise, the name Vios and the car DOES not exist in US or Europe.

Even in Africa, the Vios is not sold.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 9
      • 4G63T DSM on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Its called the Yaris Sedan (the last model) in North America.

But yes, they have side airbags. So don’t let Toyota fool you that you can only have 2.

And Yes, they already changed to the newer model (that looks like the Mazda 2 sedan), while UMW still gives us the old car and yes, the new one comes with 9 airbags, while we are still stuck at 2.

BTW, where is the EEV discount???????????????

Scared RV jatuh ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • normal_user on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Saw Vios on Saudi roads some time ago (they are badged as Belta). Super basic car, that factory/cleaning workers can afford to own one. Its a popular bluebird budget cab for the Indonesians. Heck, the Thai cook of a budget warung that I patronize frequently, drove a Thai-plate Vios complete with usual blings2.

Here in Malaysia, a completely different story that might be funny for Arabs/Thais to hear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Hohohoho on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:58 am

But Persona better. Cheaper and safer huhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
    • Built quality Proton suck, Iriz owner here and crying with the car, sound everywhere

• applegreen on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:01 pm

exterior okay tapi interior OMG buruk gila! At least UMW should try to design for female-friendly ride not ahbeng car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • ben yap on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:07 pm

new engine should have higher output instead of lower.

also why still using 15″ rims? it should be 16″.

toyota – moving backwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Phroney08 on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Honda have done this 2 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • omegle on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:14 pm

EEV? price still almost the same, equipment and kits count didn’t increase also….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Still ugly and pricey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Masalafish on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:25 pm

All the people commenting here tak mampu beli la.. all bash only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
  • Sad times ahead for customers who bought the earlier Vios models with the old engine and gearbox:(
    Right now, this Vios has a better and newer engine compared to its main rival the City with the old SOHC engine from 2009.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • sohhai on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:13 pm

The engine from Honda City may not be new but it was upgraded with several improvements (i.e. EGR, etc). The engine for this facelifted Vios may be new but something tells me it’s real capabilities has been held back by Toyota. Just look at the compression ratio…only 10:1 compared to 10.5:1 in the old engine. Toyota is probably doing this so that they make these ‘improvements’ to justify using the same engine for another 2-3 generations

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • chowhai on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Sales must be damn bad at UMW Toyota that they have to launch the facelift event at their HQ. Even Honda can launch the facelift Accord at KLCC convention centre.

And those hideous LED whiskers…why are they still there???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Haritu naik harga sebab currency exchange. Sekarang diskaun lagi sebab EEV. Nampak tak permainan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Silthice on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:11 pm

I thought the EEV incentive should be translated to slightly lower ☟ price for EEV qualified car .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • horrayooi on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:36 pm

There is no temperature gauge. Only 2 temperature icon idiot lights. Save RM50/= bucks for Toyota. Brilliant Toyota cost cutting engineers.

• Michael Lee on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Still no digital aircond button even for the highest spec??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • The current Honda City and Jazz Top Spec Grade V Models also Do Not have temperature gauges.
      Stupid and lazy engineers from Japan.

• gaviny on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:49 pm

this is defacto car for fresh grads to signal to the world they are no more fresh grads and on the way to major major wealth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • salgoodguy on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:56 pm

came on toyota, same old strategy..this happened to altis before…

• Ollie on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:24 pm

I’m looking for power front seats, seat heating and cooling, lane departure warning. multizone climate control, led rears, led headlights, front parking sensor, 6-8speed auto, engine shutoff at traffic lights, things I don’t already have on my 6 year old sedan.

But all i see is window tinting and plastic bodykit

• Vincent on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:26 pm

96k+ for a Vios? Just top up another 10k and get a Mazda 3 better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • By comparing this car to the competitor such as Honda City and Proton Persona, i wonder why the writer didn’t highlight about ASEAN NCAP rating for this car. Both city and persona rated 5 star, how about vios? Seems like a good car, but when it comes to safety, how can we know?

• Hafiz on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:40 pm

EEV yet almost 100k. 4k premium over GX is pure profit. Damn!!

• I don’t know. I have been inside a Vios (immediate past model) in Uber rides a few times. They feel comfortable, ride is good and NVH is as expected for the class. Design-wise, I like the interior and the exterior (save for the racing add ons). Beauty is a personal thing but I like it.
    Safety specifications? I am alright with the basics offered and I’d venture to guess many other people are too. I drive rather sedately and within speed limits.
    In the end, the value goes beyond the spec sheet. I disagree with the RV argument because as I have said before, I also place value on ownership experience. But to those that put RV high on their list, a Toyota affords them that assurance I guess.
    Many Vios can be seen on the road, on of the reasons is the reliability. For the man who needs a commute from point A to B, economy and value, I suppose they would choose the Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Ollie on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:10 pm

This is called being satisfied with mediocrity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • SimpleMinded on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Mediocre person live happier than flamboyant creatures… even they are happier to eat plain bread everyday, without much complaining.

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:59 pm

It can be also argued as having simple taste.

Let’s look at cars as a basic need to get from A to B. Why would one spend so much on a basic need? Yes, if you have plenty of cash and want better comforts and better tech in the car, you can. I had a Mondeo which had all the bells and whistles such as voice command for aircond temp and blower speed and ICE systems, but in the end I only used it to impress my kids, which lasted of all 5 times. Other than that all I did was adjust temperature and speed via knobs and buttons, and moved from CD to FM via the same.

Yes, you could argue too that at that price, you can get a Mazda or a Ford or a Mitsubishi. But then sometimes a car is attractive to someone for other reasons. Its an emotional buy.

• Ollie on Oct 05, 2016 at 2:03 pm

I don’t disagree. But you should get value for your money, right? Spend 90k on this glorified taxi, when you can get a 5-yr old Audi A4 for that price. WHen you ignore other options, that’s called being satisfied with mediocrity and reflects your attitude to work, life, studies and your success in life.

• No more Japs on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:55 pm

I will wait for new preve with TGDI engine. Wor worth than this vios. Coming soon in middle 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • No more Japs on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Older Preve got 6 airbags and Esc. Shame on you toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:10 pm

In Malaysia these Vios owner syok sendiri pay RM90k think their car God car, go to Indonesia, it is just like Proton Saga, people use it as a light blue taxi car. That is very sad lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Yes, just as Beamers and Mercs and Audis are cabs in mainland Europe. They’re crap cars going by your flawed argument.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 04, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Haha typical Vios owner, no need to be so banggala with your car

• normal_user on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:23 pm

The persona is a better buy (6 airbags), unless you really worship Toyota so much (add some TRD kits/stickers and u can drift like an AE86 trueno yada yada).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • modesto.h on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:38 pm

UMW insaf liao

• frankC on Oct 04, 2016 at 10:15 pm

consumer pressure finally prevails… that is good… VSC finally becomes standard features…

• Hotday on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Those LED is ugly.

• chin peng on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:34 pm

What a syok sendiri car ‘upgraded’ by UMW Toyota. Who is their target user??Apek from car accessories?

• KreePE on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:03 pm

i find it amusing how Malaysians bash just for the sake of bashing..Not one facts seen in all those bashing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Amad 2012 on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Despite the bashing, i honestly feel the Vios feels alot more comfortable and premium compared to the City of the same grade. Even the steering itself feels alot more solid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Yelahiwan on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:24 pm

“Partially New” Vios, with completely improved safety and fuel efficiency. Toyota CVT is well-known as stable drive train. Dual VVT-i engine significant smoother and more quite. Sportier bumper design compared to older model.Nice wheels by the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Ali Karim on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Wow!They made it just as ugly as the previous. Amazing, I how did they do that…

• jUICCCEE on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Upgrade salah tak upgrade pun salah
    mahal salah, murah sikit pon salah

• Akulaini on Oct 04, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Ha ha ha..tak mampu beli… bashlah untuk senangkan hati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • sgt hassan on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:50 pm

jUICCCEE , why so sad my dear friend , u already buy this dugong ka

• Which VIOS has more RV…the new one with VSC or the old one without. Sam loo please enlighten me!

• old horse on Oct 04, 2016 at 10:47 pm

the car sales already show Toyota going down hill, Nissan have the potential to over take..

UMW Toyota sayonara as their oil and gas business going to be the next hammer to the group!

• ghost on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:39 pm

have u all ever thought of price control by our govn? i think Toyota or Honda cannot simply reduce the price of Vios or City. Otherwise, locally produced cars might kaput. It happened b4. The car co wanted to price at a lower selling price but our govn said no.

• GTi Guy on Oct 05, 2016 at 8:44 am

Good package..certainly a good update considering this is what the public wants.. VSC standard at last on all variants. Hope this sets a precedence for other makes to follow suit. UMW never known to be the first, and to apply VSC to all variants among non national makes says something

• James on Oct 05, 2016 at 11:35 am

This thing sell at 12 k at oversea, is like second hand kancil

Wonder why malaysian take it as premium car

• Golfer on Oct 05, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Same old ugly car with minor spec upgrade. VSC as standard finally but I still wouldn’t buy this model.

• Vios with VSC???price reduction lagi..bye bye City..definitely worth the money

• Mr DDL on Oct 05, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Saw the Red unit passing by near their plant in Shah Alam. Looks not bad at all seriously

• Copy paste on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:31 pm

alaaaaaa 2 airbag je? memang hina lah bila keta vios ahbeng ni duduk sebelah persona 5ncap. Mungkin vios tak terasa malulah dgn saga 37k sbb airbag 2 je kan? huhuhu kesian vios, dah la sombong harga 76k tpi airbag 2 je..Persona lebih kepada kereta yg rendah diri, diam2(harga murah) tapi berisi(6 airbag)..sedangkan vios lebih kpd ahbeng, sombong,takbur dan suka showoff(500hp trd sticker)..Paultan, mana NCAP utk vios? tak bagitau pun? jangan bias ye paultan..kalau proton, 4 star atau 5 star kau akan mention kan? knp vios tak dpt 5 star kau tak mention erk? tak nak kecewakan toyota fans ke?

• Saje resend balik on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:32 pm

alaaaaaa 2 airbag je? memang hina lah bila keta vios ahbeng ni duduk sebelah persona 5ncap. Mungkin vios tak terasa malulah dgn saga 37k sbb airbag 2 je kan? huhuhu kesian vios, dah la sombong harga 76k tpi airbag 2 je..Persona lebih kepada kereta yg rendah diri, diam2(harga murah) tapi berisi(6 airbag)..sedangkan vios lebih kpd ahbeng, sombong,takbur dan suka showoff(500hp trd sticker)..Paultan, mana NCAP utk vios? tak bagitau pun? jangan bias ye paultan..kalau proton, 4 star atau 5 star kau akan mention kan? knp vios tak dpt 5 star kau tak mention erk? tak nak kecewakan toyota fans ke??

• I’m sure many iPhone user will buy this Vios. Same outside from previous year with minor improvement here and there. But improvement is only inside.

• City or Vios on Oct 30, 2016 at 8:42 pm

I’m looking to get a B-segment car and considering between City 1.5E vs the Vios 1.5E. With discounts, both are very similar in prices (76k vs 80k) and Vios comes with more accessories compared to Honda (reverse camera, dvd etc). While these are not extremely important, was just wondering in terms of performance, which is better.