Minister calls gov’t to make child car seat usage compulsory before its proposed 2019 implementation

Child car seats paultan.org 009

Another push to make the use of child car seats compulsory before its proposed implementation in 2019 has been made, The Sun reports.

The call to push for an earlier implementation was made by women, family and community development minister Datuk Seri Rohani Abdul Karim, following the tragic death of a two-year-old boy who was killed in Ulu Tiram, Johor, on Saturday. The boy, who was unsecured, fell out of his father’s car and was run over by another vehicle.

She said she will be meeting representatives from the Transport Ministry and relevant stakeholders on the matter in a bid to push for an earlier start. “Prior to implementing anything new, we at the ministry will always give the public a certain period of time to get used to it so that they would not be caught off guard. However, issues like child car seats and rear seat belts should not be delayed as it concerns safety,” she told reporters.

Last year, it was reported that the government will only make the use of child safety seats – or child restraint systems – compulsory by 2019. Initially, there was talk that the mandatory use of such devices was supposed to come into effect in 2017, but the government decided on a four-year timeline for its deployment, citing cost, economy and public awareness issues.

Child car seats paultan.org 010

The relatively high prices of child seats was said to have contributed to the government’s decision into the matter, as it wanted to avoid socio-economic repercussions, especially among low-income earners and the “less fortunate.”

In September, the transport ministry said it was asking the government to exempt child car seats from being taxed with import duties and GST as part of its Budget 2017 wishlist. No exemptions came about.

Currently, child car seats are categorised as a car accessory and imposed with an import tax duty of up to 30% as well as GST. However, if a child car seat is sourced from China, there will be no import tax duty on it because of the ASEAN–China Free Trade Area (ACFTA) agreement. Nonetheless, proper ECE R44-certified child seats can be had for as low as RM400.

We have stressed before on the paramount importance of using child seats in cars, what with fatalities occuring when childen are not secured properly in vehicles. If you love your kids, don’t just hold them, but seat or buckle them up.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Don Ozil on Nov 22, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Wait till accident happened, baru ada action. Our boleh land safety standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • To bad for ur boleh land, but us in MY here its a pity that Gov needs to force parents to take care of their kids. Whats next? Fine parents for letting them run around like rabid monkeys high on caffeine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 23, 2016 at 10:55 am

Saya pandu Perodua Alza. Kerja di KL. Tinggal di Rawang. Kampung di Johor Bahru. Isteri kampung di Kota Bharu. Anak 5 orang semua di bawah umur 5 tahun. Seorang pegawai kerajaan gred 44 bergaji RM5 ribu. Isteri suri rumah tetapi kerja separuh masa ambil upah menjahit. Pinjaman kereta berbaki 7 tahun. Tiap kali saya pandu kereta membawa seluruh keluarga, saya terpaksa melanggar undang-undang negara sehingga saya mampu memiliki sebuah Toyota Alphard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 23, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Even if compulsory also have no meaning. Cause enforcement is not there.

Clean up PDRM and JPJ first. Cause, when they tahan a car with no baby seat, the pdrm or jpj officer will sure ask for dedak. So, the offender will get away with it.

9 out of 10 officers ask for dedak. Until this stops, we cannot implement something we cannot enforce.

• If u need Gov to force u to be a gud parent, then u dun deserve to be a parent at all.

• Actually you don’t need gov to make sure you to follow safety rules and make sure you child safety in car. Like what john said – fine parents for letting them run around like rabid monkeys high on caffeine? – if you know what its mean.

• No car seat can save u if the car hv poor ncap rating n no ESC. How bout putting tht as mandatory first?

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 22, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Go go go better do it before another kid flies out of the window or door of a vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Rear seatbelts have been compulsory since 2009. That barely made a difference. What makes you think people are going to go out and buy child seats? Everyday I see infants in the front seat, children in the back standing and looking out the back windows on MPVs. Not just in city traffic but at highway speeds. Some even going over 130kmh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • This is true. People still lack of awareness to use rear seat belt even though the car is equiped with rear seat belt.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 23, 2016 at 11:33 am

Worst still, parents with child seats in the FRONT seat with an Airbag equipped car (these cars don’t have the airbag disable switch).

I recall a time walking past a car with a young mother and her child in the car seat at the front getting an earful from an old aunty about not to put the kids up front.

I was quite surprised the old aunty was so well informed.

• Bah. If you are destined to die in an accident, then no matter what you do you will still die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
    • musclemuseum on Nov 23, 2016 at 7:01 am

it’s call prevention. if u just believe in destiny with no effort to prevent anything bad from happens, might as well ride ur kapchai with no helmet at the opposite side / wrong lane of the highway. let us grab a popcorn and see how long u were destined to live!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • If you said like this, no need to makan nasi la.. Why makan and spend so much on food if eventually you will die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Lack of enforcement because enforcement officer themselves break the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • So how those low income ppl gonna afford this? baby seat is not cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • If you can afford a car you can afford a child seat, simple fact

• Not all car sit cost a fortune. If you are able to pay monthly payment for car, it will be no problem for car sit. Samsung S7 iPhone7 people also can buy without complaint.

• Normal on Nov 22, 2016 at 11:25 pm

what so surprise for kid not wearing seatbelts? i saw the driver holding their kid while driving

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 23, 2016 at 10:59 am

That is called kasih sayang abah sampai ke syurga.

• orang biasa on Nov 23, 2016 at 12:38 am

I don’t understand why need to wait until 2019 to implement the compulsory child car seat??! Cannot make it as next quarter? Why? It is because the car seat price is expensive then parents unable to buy? Well this is depending on parents how their kid life worth. Some parent unable to buy new phone or big car but don’t have money to invest car seat!?!? What i said now is the parent with able to get high income compare to others that really low income. To who is low income, i hope government able to help them like br1m benefit. Or make this car seat item as able to deduct income tax like breast pump for 2016. Or the better way is exemption tax and gst. Everything can make it happen in short period, just the matter our menteri want or don’t want do only!!!!!

• Why do u need to wait for minister force u to safeguard ur kid? So if its not compulsory to hold onto ur kid, u will just let them go running around and get hit by a passing vehicle lah? Great parenting there.

• orang biasa on Nov 23, 2016 at 1:48 pm

If not enforcement, then no saman apply, so ppl will not buy seat for their kids. You also right, when no law for child seat then parents also need awareness for their kid safety but you can see everyday and everywhere that kid running playing around inside car while car is moving. It also need enforcement / law to help to awareness the parents of kids safety.

• This is not just about following road rules. Its basic natural instincts as a parent to be a gud parent to their kids. Even animals have the instincts to keep their kid from harm. Any yet u think Gov shud force parents on how to BE a parent.

Might as well take them to the zoo, the animals there can teach them how to be parent! Cuz if they need to rely on Gov, then they truly fail as a parent.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 23, 2016 at 11:37 am

Price of car seats are not expensive. It doesn’t have to be the top of the line fancy pancy imported ones to work.

You can often get usable car seats (or even pre-loved) for less than you can spend than a budget smartphone. And people have no problem affording that do they?

• orang biasa on Nov 23, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Well, this depend on the parent what thing is worth for them. You right, child seat have lower price (local made) until highest price (imported). But importance is the seat must passed at least ECE R44 certified. Some seller sell budget seat BUT don’t know where it made/brand without any certified, then some parent don’t know about the seat spec or certified spec, so end up threaten their kid life if purchased from them. For those low income but more than 2 kids, then government need to help them like br1m.

• Dont worry lor. Malaysians breed like rabbits. One baby died three more babies come out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Hot dog on Nov 23, 2016 at 8:05 am

I m a father for 2, i hope parents always put thier baby on child seat .

• Pierre on Nov 23, 2016 at 8:06 am

It’s not just about law. It’s about education and awareness.

• ben yap on Nov 23, 2016 at 9:51 am

this ruling is long time overdue. what takes the government so long?

important issues also delay…. don’t play politics only… do some work to benefit the citizens la.

• Mikey on Nov 23, 2016 at 9:53 am

A simple task of asking the government to exempt child car seats from being taxed with import duties & GST as part of its Budget 2017 wishlist also can’t be done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Yeah, pipu complain about GST when they dun gip 2 hoots to change ipong every single iteration.
      #ParentingPriorityPhail

• frossonice on Nov 23, 2016 at 10:11 am

Time for car seller to do the good deeds. Instead of giving people discounts, free tinted window or what ever, give free child seat instead. Paste your own car brand on the seat.

• 100% agree. Better then give the useless body-kits and sticker.

• passion on Nov 23, 2016 at 10:18 am

car seats a damn bloody expensive. no wonder implement in 2019 or just talk only as usual. parents its your child your responsibility. the ball is your court!

• pengayuhbasikal on Nov 23, 2016 at 10:40 am

its not just about child seat.. it also about passenger capacity when you fit child seat in your car…average Malaysia with 3 kid still drive mid size sedan…second hand…they can only afford that..

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 23, 2016 at 11:05 am

You know why we can’t afford decent 7 seaters right? To protect Proton yes you are right.

• Exora is an affordable decent & PROPER 7 seater. Not like alza kerandas.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 23, 2016 at 11:47 am

Unless you are having triplets I don’t see why this is an issue?

While it is recommended for children to be in car seats as old as they can, by 7 or 8, they can switch to booster seats which take up less room.

Anyway, comes up to the same question, if you can’t afford to take care of the kids properly, why have so many….. (yes, I’m alluding to the breeding like rabbits post above).

Parents also seem to forget that kids if started young with child seats are actually more comfortable. Both my kids will happily fall asleep in their seats on any long road trip. They never complain about being in the seat. My younger boy, 4, straps himself in each time. The older sister, 8 is already on a booster seat….but says she likes her old seat more because she can sleep while resting her head on the large side bolsters…..

• Hot dog on Nov 23, 2016 at 11:49 am

Educated…educated….and educated
    Anythings can educate from early age.
    If we can start from now , i believe 20 years later we automatically do it.
    Jabatam pelajaran or any related …must hv plan to action.
    We talk abt SG again.. they started to educate in school 15 years ago. Besides they will giving first chance to parents for no child seat , second time kena lagi… saman gao gao terus !

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Nov 23, 2016 at 2:50 pm

We dont have money to buy car seat for our child safety. We have more important things to buy such as new rims, new stereo, some bodykits, and also dont forget carbon fiber sticker. We also needs money to buy more rokok.

• And dun forget the shiny new ipong that comes out every year. Thats most important.