Costly child car seats a financial burden to M’sians?

paultan.org_free_child_seat_rental_ 005

The relatively steep prices of child car seats (child restraint systems) on sale today are seen as the main obstacle to its proposed mandatory implementation, Bernama finds. Director-general of the Road Safety Department (JKJR), Abdul Ghafar Yusof, commented that the body had received a number of complaints from car owners over the enforcement of specialised child seats.

“The government recently made the use of special seats for babies and children compulsory from 2019 for safety reasons which would reduce the rate of injury or death from road accidents,” said Yusof. In response, Malaysians have written in to express their woes over the cost of purchasing child seats. Yusof, however, clarified that the enforcement should be seen as “an added safety measure for babies and children.”

With that said, he was quick to note that although cheaper alternatives existed, said seats did not comply with ECE R44 Child Safety Standards. “To date, there is no proposal to provide a subsidy for special seats and the government could perhaps consider a tax exemption because most of them are imported,” he added.

BMW Child Seats pictured.

According to a similar report by theSun, Yusof received feedback on how child car seats that cost between RM500 to RM4,000 would be a financial burden to some families – however, it should be known that we managed to locate ECE R44-certified child car seats on sale in Malaysia from as low as RM400.

In light of the complaints issued, Yusof has criticised the behaviour and mentality of some Malaysians as he stated that some car owners were willing to splurge money on modifying one’s vehicle but not on the safety of their own children. “This is the sikap (attitude) of some Malaysians,” he said.

Dear readers, we cannot stress enough on the importance of employing certified child car seats as opposed to the cheaper, non-certified option. If you think that settling for any child restraint system will yield the same results in an accident, it’s time you check out this video demonstration…

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Nazee on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:29 pm

My brethren, why lah are you all such complainers…tak ada duit menyara anak, then don’t give birth to one on the first place lah! why why…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Stop smoking for 6 months then you can buy it!

Which one more important, your cigarette or your kid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Better to buy this than go wear yellow t shirts and protest. All those Bersih 4 are all idiots. Use your energy to make money and buy car seats la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 63
    • Orang Kampung on Sep 09, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Nasib baik bapak kau tidak berfikiran macam kau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Why not car dealer make the child-car-seat as an accessories which incld in final car price which then will be under hire purchase loan!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • frossonice on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Yes to this. I’ve been saying the same thing before here.

Better still, car company here could offer child seat as one of their option (even better if they included it as part of the vehicle). Let them put their brand on the child seat if they want to. A sure win for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • camtakpro on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:02 am

So a RM400 child seat will be RM2000 added into the car price. Good margin.

Before even mentioning is there any one organization that periodically sample and enforces those child seats comply to safety standards. Otherwise P1 or P2 can just add in RM2000 to the car price for a child seat that disintegrate upon impact on 5kg load.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Well, the father can afford to buy an ihone 6 plus.. Bt somehow the child seat is litle expensive… Messed up priorities…. Nowadays u can buy anything with a 12mnth installment on your credit card…
    Maybe it should be offered as an option when u buy a new car.. The cost will be aded to your loan which only adds few ringgit to your monthly installment….
    I think public lack education when it comes to safety.. Maybe thy should add some horrific accident pics n their victimes torn apart maybe only thn ppl can gasp the idea…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • zafroonaldo on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:54 pm

All about priority. Parents can use smartphones that cost 1-2k and above, but for their own child car seats suddenly no money to fork out rm300-400? I hope the government don’t come up with stupid subsidy for rakyat to buy car seats. Parents should know the importance right from when their child is born!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • SAM VHL Loo on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Thanks for highlighting the articles regarding car seat issues. However i doubt it works for most Malaysian motorists as they are more interested to spend their money towards their stupid bodykits, skirting and sport rims came from jamban ‘Total Retard Dumbass’ version rather than a good quality child seat that cost RM500 (to spend money for child car seat, bising sana bising sini while for stupid bodykits that costs thousands, just keep silent).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
  • Rafiq on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Affordability maybe an issue to those with motorcycles as their only mean of transportation.

If you own a car, sure you can afford one. To service a car already you need a minimum of 300.

Car seat is around that price and goes up from there, depending on brands like Maxi Cosy etc.

• powershot (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:14 pm

actually, during promotion, you can get the certified child seat for as low as RM250.

if those idiots with kids could afford to get stoked on cigarettes, modding their cars, etc. why can’t you afford in getting a decent child seat?

• Got money buy imported Pajeros. Dun wan buy child seat. Komplen Gov is cruel becos its too expensive for them. Sez they will only comply when the Gov makes it mandatory by law.

This is the Malaysian mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • A Shot in my foot on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Very true! I speak for myself. If I can think of buying accessories for my car, might as well I spend it on safety for my kids as they cannot be repaired after an accident. The scar is for life….

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Ask the government to except import duties. Last checked was CIF + 30%

Don’t understand how they can say it is expensive. You can find a good seat for less than some people’s monthly cigarette budget.

• tokmoh. on Sep 09, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Beli helmet rempit RM47k, berduit.

Beli vape RM17k, berduit.

Nak beli car seat RM200,300? Hampeh.

I saw at Aeon before, even <RM300 can have the ECE R44.

Kalau takde duit, minta la dear leader Kim Jong Jib, kata BR1M cukup menanggung sara hidup setahun, heil dear leader! I <3 PM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Can oso mintak from Bersih since they collect 2.4 Mil. 200-300 small money for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 30
    • tokmoh. on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:47 am

Shoot, I just realised the way I typed made it seem I said a car seat costs two hundred thousand and three hundred ringgit.

If any paultan.org’s admin can edit to “Nak beli car seat RM200-RM300?”, it would be appreciated. Tq

• toyotafan on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Good biz opportunity for car companies. offer baby/child seats as a gift. target cumtomer, young family/couple, with children or as option to choose.

• Tune their cars for RM7000 they have money, buy child seats they don’t have? If only Malaysians stop spending money to make their cars look like junk ‘Retard x3’ version…

http://paultan.org/2015/08/06/gallery-proton-iriz-suprima-s-sd-aerodynamics/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • ben yap on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:17 pm

already save money on condom to have a child and still want to save on child car seat?

• why lah malaysia got this brainless people commenting. you guys should think the whole majority of people. not just minority. u think all smoking? all got iphone? stupid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • George Abdul on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:13 pm

True even so Rakyat suffer, Cronies with his ministers will keep sucking all your money… wondering why kampung people’s still supporting them.

• tokmoh. on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:50 am

Maslan say we all can eat KFC, mana ada tertekan? Jelaslah GST memang kurangkan beban rakyat, cukuuuur

• isuzuki on Sep 09, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Needless to say

• Stefan Pertz on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:11 am

Out of the las 10 kids / infants I saw in cars, NONE was in a child seat or buckeled up. This is totally irresponsible!

If you can afford a car and 18 years of raising a child, then you can afford a child seat. Maybe you don’t need an I-Phone 6?

Meanwhile, people flee their countries with their children, because they would do ANYTHING, trying to ensure their children will not be harmed…

• What’s wrong with these people?
    No money for your child’s safety?
    Strip out your stereo from the car and sell it.
    Sell your strut bars.
    Sell your HID projector headlights.

Being a parent is doing what is necessary to protect them. If you don’t understand this, don’t get a car or a child.

• azrai on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:37 am

They can change their iphone/smartphone annually at the cost of RM2k, while their child safety at the fraction of the price for the carseat a burden to them? pity Malaysians.