Honda Malaysia celebrates first City Hybrid delivery, launches T3ST DRIV3 R3WARDS campaign for Aug

To collect the keys to your brand new car is a pretty special experience, but to be the first customer in the whole of Southeast Asia to do so, well that’s a whole new level. That is exactly what happened to Wilson Wong, who became the first customer in the region to receive the new Honda City Hybrid.

The City Hybrid made its debut in July, and shares the same hybrid powertrain as that found in the Jazz Hybrid. The Sport Hybrid i-DCD system combines a 1.5 litre engine, a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox with an integrated electric motor, a lithium-ion hybrid battery and an electric driven compressor.

“The new City and new City Hybrid have been well received by Malaysians alongside other Honda models. We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to our customers who have supported and placed their confidence in the Honda brand,” said Akkbar Danial, vice president of Honda Malaysia (HM).

The hybrid variant of the City is priced at RM89,200 on-the-road without insurance, placing it firmly between the mid-spec E (RM82,030) and top-spec V (RM89,240) variants. The only other variant in the City line-up is the base-spec S, which goes for RM75,930.

According to HM, the E variant is the most popular among customers, accounting for over 40% of more than 11,000 units sales since its introduction four months ago. This is followed by the V variant at 39% and S variant at 21%. Customers also preferred Modern Steel Metallic as their colour of choice (31%), whereas 28% of buyers opted for White Orchid Pearl.

“I have been searching for a car that is family-friendly yet still offers sporty driving performance. I was very excited when I heard that Honda Malaysia is introducing the New City Hybrid as this model fits my requirements of a spacious model with good safety features, and is fuel efficient and suitable for daily use,” said Wong.

“After taking it for a test drive, I was even more impressed by the advanced technology in this model and the fact that it is able to provide a powerful and sporty driving performance as well. I am very happy with my new car and the services provided by the dealer,” he continued.

As a gesture of appreciation, Wong was presented with tickets to the 2017 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix as well as a Modulo accessories package worth a total of RM5,070.

HM will also be organising a T3ST DRIV3 R3WARDS campaign, to celebrate the deliveries of the City Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid, along with the launch of the latest CR-V.

The campaign, which begins from today until the end of August 2017, will see 300 lucky draw winners walk away with cash vouchers worth RM300 each. To stand a chance to win, all you need to do is test drive either the CR-V 1.5L Turbo Premium, Jazz Hybrid or City Hybrid at any of the 91 Honda dealers nationwide.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hyrul on Aug 18, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Accord hybrid akan datang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Dug Ong on Aug 19, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Honda, please don’t syiok sendiri like perodua.. quality death trap sampans

• Espec is just right between affordability and features, especially safety.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 22
    • heyheyman123 on Aug 19, 2017 at 9:04 am

At least Honda has more safety features than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
    • Hmm… Do u mind sharing any substance on top of that personal attack? Like something intelligent to say, for instance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • karam singh on Aug 18, 2017 at 10:54 pm

Firmly between E spec and V spec? Come on.. The difference in price with V spec is only RM40. Honda Malaysia is full of BS.

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 19, 2017 at 8:51 am

I think this is the best under RM100k car in the market now. 1.5 DOHC iVTEC + electric motor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Below 100k is too general and theres diff segments within that price. Probably best overall package as a car, but not really outstanding in any criteria, bar engine HP.

• Dug Ong on Aug 19, 2017 at 4:30 pm

Good job Honda Malaysia, but where did the hybrid incentives go? You can sell this car cheaper and make both p1 & p2 gulung tikar what..

• jclark on Aug 19, 2017 at 10:58 am

dont see much previous gen civic hybrid, jazz hybrid or crz hybrid on the road these days….meh…

• YB Albert on Aug 19, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Why is Honda Malaysia doing extremely well in this soft market?
    It is due to a complete package Honda offers..quality product,newer and latest product range,reasonable after sales service ,competitive pricing,good network of dealers.
    However,UMW is capable of matching only 50 % of Honda sales ,taking commercial vehicles into account. It is a shame for Toyota.UMw is supposed to roll out 4 new models.After sienta,all is too quiet.
    Congrats…Honda..the power of dreams.

• John Gan on Aug 19, 2017 at 6:55 pm

Honda city & jazz already go for hybrid, is HM decide to go for more wide range of model using this eco system? Such as HRV model.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 19, 2017 at 11:55 pm

feel like they are just laughing at the dungu who paid a lot more for what is a lower spec city with no future resale value

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 21, 2017 at 8:35 am

The dungu will save money once fuel prices go up, and will laugh while you curse when you have to fill up more often.

In any case, while I feel they could have included the curtain airbag & get rid of other frivolous items like the paddle shifter, I think the Hybrid buyer won’t be shortchanged as much – so what if they don’t have front foglamps or LED headlights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • no spare tyre for hybrid model.

• Therocksays on Aug 20, 2017 at 6:37 am

Umw toyota has been sleeping for Way too long. Hail
    Honda malaysia

• Thats cuz their SA here only has 1 sales method, which is to badmouth other brands 24/7.

• Jamari on Aug 20, 2017 at 7:25 pm

Don’t forget to buy spare tyre aaa…..

• Ching on Aug 20, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Hi there Paul Tan, I was informed that both Honda City Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid does not come with a warranty for its i-DCD.. any way to confirm this?

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 21, 2017 at 8:30 am

You were misinformed. The battery alone has an 8 year warranty – and the entire car has a 5 year, unlimited mileage warranty.

• Ching on Aug 22, 2017 at 12:43 am

Was i misinformed? I went to test drive the Jazz Hybrid and the SA informed me that the i-DCD (or DCT) is not covered. The SA is at loss as well, HM without sense?

After that I wrote in to HM and the reply was beating around the bush without a clear answer. I’m still waiting for their subsequent reply btw.

Furthermore, several people I’ve checked with told me the same.

I couldn’t get an clear cut answer with HM.. hence I’m asking here.. so.. can I ask.. are you 100% sure that “the entire car has a 5 year, unlimited mileage warranty.”

I’m not bashing.. I’m just trying very hard to get an answer man..

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 21, 2017 at 10:59 am

Really too bad the Hybrid isn’t offered with the full airbag count and more safety gear.

Was viewing both the Jazz and City as viable candidates if they had all the airbags intact.