Third national car plan won’t add to traffic woes – MITI

Another day, another report about the third national car project championed by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. This time, the government says that the proposed new car brand does not contravene the government’s policy to reduce traffic congestion in the country, reports Bernama.

“I am confident that through the formulation of new policies and the implementation of efficient public transportation system, the people will choose to use public transport,” said international trade and industry minister Ignatius Darell Leiking, who added that the government will continue with its plan to provide a more efficient public transportation system.

Leiking was replying to a supplementary question in the Dewan Rakyat from Datuk Rozman Isli (BN-Labuan), on whether the plan to launch a third national car would add to traffic woes in major urban areas.

Replying another question from Rozman on the launch date of the third national car project, Leiking said it was still at the proposal stage. Should it materialise, various (tax) incentives would be given out to operators involved in accordance with the National Automotive Policy 2018, which will be announced by the government in the near future.

It was previously reported that the NAP review is set to be completed by year-end. Entrepreneur development minister Mohd Redzuan Yusof was previously quoted as saying that the new national car project may get underway by 2020.

The new national car topic was first raised by Mahathir at the Nikkei Conference in Tokyo in June, after the PM felt that his beloved Proton is no longer a national car. Despite the idea not being very well received by the majority of Malaysians, including politicians, Mahathir has pressed on.

In another trip to Japan earlier this month, the 93-year old leader revealed that Malaysia will be seeking assistance from Japanese carmakers including Nissan, Toyota and Daihatsu. This is despite the fact that Daihatsu already has operations in Malaysia via Perodua, and Toyota is of course the parent company of Daihatsu.

Earlier this week, finance minister Lim Guan Eng reiterated that the third national car project will be funded by the private sector, as opposed to public funds.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Just address the elephant in the room. Will it distort local car market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • We won’t care, just simple as that rakyat don’t want it or need it.. Ppl. won’t get screwed for the second times for all this nonsense… Had you guys ever know or care as a normal rakyat to buy a car so easy ka?..Is o.k if the car price only cost us 10k or 20k..we rakyat already been paying lot of money to own a car, so pls. no more third national car project..

• Sohai on Aug 16, 2018 at 1:28 pm

When Excise Duty will be reduce??? When when when?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Because nobody would buy them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • hater2Follower on Aug 16, 2018 at 4:00 pm

Since Geely holding largest shareholder power in Daimler, possible to rebadge Mercedes here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • GaryGan on Aug 16, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Geely is largest minority shareholder in Daimler. No voting power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • PLEDGE on Aug 16, 2018 at 1:34 pm

TO ALL THE PH GOVERNMENT CABINET AND THE NEW PRIME MINISTER:

PLEASE STOP THE ASEAN CAR NONESENSE! STOP BLAMING! DO YOU WORK NOW! FIX THE ECONOMY! REDUCE COST OF LIVING! THAT’S ALL WHAT MALAYSIAN WANT!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
    • YB Albert on Aug 16, 2018 at 3:36 pm

Tun said he needs 5 years to fix our national problems.Very well, please add another 2 more years if you still want to launch Protiga.
      Call it MAHAWANLIM…PM,DPM,and LGE.
      At first,no gomen involvment.
      Then,the request for R and D grants and very soon…another Rm5to 10 Billion of taxRinggit gone.
      You dont need to live twice to understand this MEGA PROJECT,which is not needed.
      PH….we voted for regime change…not PROTIGA…a clear and present danger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • U voted for the whole package knowing they will bring Protiga, dun act like u blur about it. https://paultan.org/2017/08/25/tun-m-wants-to-start-another-proton-if-pakatan-wins/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • no matter how well or how good you guys say, just NO..NO..NO…NO…even for 100 times, our answer are always “NO” only…
      You guys cannot lie on us for twice…If the third national car project will be funded by the private sector, then why you still need the ppl to support or saying so much on it or to run the project??? is just like if you got the money to run a business, will you ask the people to support you business and the gov. keep help you to promoting it?..

• tabogen on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:02 pm

so to make public transport more efficient so that there is less traffic. so less people buying cars, less car production to do, less income to who ever brave enough to invest in the project. i don’t see the significant in his statement. does this new government think before opening their mouth. or as always promise first later said the investor had made wrong plan. just blame it to others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • DonkeyKong on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:10 pm

Dear members of the Cult of M… who got sold on the Oscar-winning “short film”… “Atuk dah tak lama dah”.. tears.. sobbing.. those trembling lips.. and voted Atuk back in power..

Feeling dumb and cheated yet?

Now do you understand why many PKR and DAP old-timers either left their parties or abstained from coming out to vote back in GE14?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:18 pm

Yes we are!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Malaysian Driver on Aug 16, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Yes we are dumb and cheated!

Oh GST, where you went?? tears.. sobbing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • DonkeyKong on Aug 17, 2018 at 12:15 am

Only developed countries use GST/VAT.

An incompetent kakistocracy uses antiquated SST and add on Soda Tax and who knows what other stupid retarded tax.

Not to mention more taxes and duties for cars in order to protect another self-gratifying loss-making automotive project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Where did it went? To “save” the Gov finance from collapse thanks to their irresponsible decision to stop tax collection for 3 months. But dun worry, they gonna get back that and more when 10% SST kicks in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Same bollocks, just diff person

• Rightwinger on Aug 16, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Support for M cult is dogmatic in nature coz he’s presence brought victory. Must shield him, nothing old fart do will be wrong, will never be criticized and those who do will be labelled ‘klepto lover’s to shut them up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • P. Alyanna on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:29 pm

Another day, another minister telling us nice stories that we have nothing to be afraid of yet another Mahathir’s mega project. Maybe most of your voters might be fooled, but not all of us!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • Sembang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • john is otak batu on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Dear Politikus DonkeyKong, This is a car blog, Bring your politics to other place! your Donkey comment is not relevant to this blog!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 63
    • Yet u so easily copy paste irrelevant comments on A DAILY BASIS, even kena kantoied just yesterday. U lack the moral high ground to tell others what to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 16, 2018 at 3:02 pm

im ok if made in malaysia car. but enough with the national nonsense. last time my kids were made to feel bad in pendidikan moral cos their parents didnt drive national car, not patriotic etc.

• applegreen on Aug 16, 2018 at 3:47 pm

it wont add traffic woes because 3rd national car is just a remote control car

• Will it be same quality as TNH with lower price?

• It will be lower than TNH because they will increase tax for those TNH and similar car. Quality and spec wise wise probably the same asTNH circa 10 years ago

• Technology can buy, if local brand invoved japanese specialist and quality also same as TNH. Will you want to purchase TNH?

• If the car price is lower than the current TNH price, why should i spend on TNH.
          Question is, can the price still be lower than the CURRENT TNH price and not future INFLATED TNH price!

• U just want abolish national car even the car same quality as TNH with lower price, understood

• Haloo geng, you all must buy this 3rd national car meh because its called patriotism. Keleta losak tengah jalan pun takpe maa, Patriotism. Itu window cannot turun one air hujan masuk pun takpe maaa, Patriotism.!

• MORE AND MORE TRAFFIC JAM COMING SOON WITH PEROTIGA

THIS PEROTIGA PROJECT MAKE ME WANT TO PUKE,,!!

• If u think rakyat will use public transport, then go spend more time to improve it instead of starting off some dejavu project which proven failed at the past

• Logic of this clown.

Company: Let’s build a product. Don’t worry about the quality because most people won’t buy it.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Aug 17, 2018 at 1:59 pm

I’m a skeptic, perhaps…

It’s clear, at least to me that this project is intended to drive P1 and P2 up. Given the reality of things, what we know for certain is;
    1) We don’t have the talents here capable of producing an original product that could even remotely, the slightest way entice foreign buyers. In other words, the cars will most certainly be dated Kei cars focused along the RM30~50k price range. By this logic, P2 shall be RM50k~80k and P1 would then be RM80~RM180k. Whereby P2 shall be Diahatsu rebadges, P1 will be Geely rebadges.
    2) The beneficiaries to this projects are the stakeholders, employees of the company, P1, P2 and the B40 crowd. With RM50k and below being dated Kei cars aimed at the B40 crowd (repeating P2 formula of success), this inevitably means P2 need to be priced higher and depart from Kei to ‘accommodate’ the ‘P3’. Thankfully Toyota owns Daihatsu, and Thankfully P2 is really good at repackaging.

The real question is how will that affect other brands? My guess is, a pinch of increase in prices to make things more favorable for P1. And that will certainly be at the guise of persuading us to use public transportation.

• Joezz on Aug 19, 2018 at 12:27 am

Flying car – no traffic jams….

• ..malaysia need a solid public transport network..cars are already out there..