Thai Toyota Hilux Revo Rocco now available as a 2.4L

The Toyota Hilux Revo Rocco, which is the Hilux range topper in Thailand, is now also available as a 2.4 litre turbodiesel. Earlier this year, the Rocco was introduced with the 177 hp/450 Nm 2.8 litre turbodiesel engine.

The 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV turbodiesel makes 150 hp at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 1,600 and 2,000 rpm. It is paired with a six-speed manual or six-speed automatic transmission. Rocco 2.4L prices start from 838,000 baht (RM105,978) for the Smart Cab, rising to 949,000 (RM120,016) for the Double Cab. Add 50,000 baht (RM6,323) to those prices for automatic transmission.

If the Rocco name hints at ruggedness, that’s the theme Toyota is going for. It sports a grey and gloss black grille, a grey rear bumper, black wheel arch trims, black 18-inch wheels with all-terrain tyres with white lettering, a sports bar, bed lining, special Rocco graphics and a black interior with black metallic trim.

All that is in addition to the recent facelift, which centres on the a big hexagonal grille inspired by the US-market Toyota Tacoma truck. The big nose joins a redesigned bumper with an upturned centre air intake and new fog light surrounds.

The Hilux Revo Rocco is Toyota’s answer to macho-looking (or sporty) local rivals such the Ford Ranger Wildtrak, Isuzu D-Max V-Cross, Mitsubishi Triton Athlete, Chevrolet Colorado High Country and the Nissan Navara NP300 Sportech.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Steven Kwong on Sep 06, 2018 at 5:35 pm

Such a beauty, this car come to Malaysia, it will make Toyota sales again jump to 11,000 like in May.

Sour people will talk bad about Toyota but sales are still higher than Proton despite Proton getting so much of Government orders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Toyota – 6,182
      Honda – 12,808

Hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 49
      • Avatar on Sep 06, 2018 at 8:19 pm

Quantity but compromised quality. No point having quantity. Need workable safety features whenever we need it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Problem with Toyota is, they no longer have quantity nor quality! Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
          • Broadband on Sep 07, 2018 at 9:30 pm

Dear John aka Honda Salesman, please check out these compromised quality issues since we got Honda car owners.. Should have fix those compromised quality and service cost feedbacks instead of concentrate on sales target goal..When talking sales, only in Boleh land for non national, Honda is leading.. And please help me to get globally carmakers sales for better understanding..

• choha on Sep 07, 2018 at 7:42 am

Overrated hilux. In thailand, isuzu dmax rules

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • TZR250 on Oct 19, 2019 at 11:45 pm

Doesn’t matter..in Borneo hilux is the king..dmax just out

• halloha560-john SDN BHD on Sep 06, 2018 at 9:15 pm

Proton and Toyota – 18000
        Honda – 12400

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Mario and Bros on Sep 06, 2018 at 9:44 pm

John you as my friend as I still support for Proton and also supporting to Toyota too in which is because they are doing something in order to improve service quality, assembly quality as well other qualities but not for Honda Malaysia, just look at Honda Service quality is so terrible as well as Honda assembly quality is very terrible too. Look seriously, I am telling you the truth and I am not very satisfied with Honda Malaysia which I have been cheated by Honda Malaysia and which I have already wasted time and money for servicing my Civic as I went to so many different location Honda Malaysia service center. You shouldnt support for Honda Malaysia. Just look at Toyota Malaysia first, service quality is actually much better than Honda Malaysia. Not only that, Toyota Malaysia assembly quality is actually much better than Honda Malaysia assembly quality. Also for Proton Malaysia, it will be surely Proton Malaysia service quality is much better than Honda Malaysia as well as Proton Malaysia assembly quality is also actually much better than Honda Malaysia. Especially for other carmakers in Malaysia like Mazda, Kia, BMW Mercedes, Volvo. Trust me as the information is the truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Bernard on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:02 pm

TOYOTA lousy too. Ask change seat belt, say no spare part. How like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • halloha560-john SDN BHD on Sep 07, 2018 at 1:31 pm

Honda salesman/cybertrooper detected

• Eternalgl0ry on Sep 06, 2018 at 7:35 pm

Correction for the answer ford ranger wildtrak. I am not a ford fan but obviously rocco is just cosmetics edition

Compare to ford ranger wildtrak. There are 10 things in technology and features missing from adaptive cruise control to sensors and lots more copy here

• Sabah 4WD veteran on Sep 07, 2018 at 11:56 am

This model is just a bumper facelift, no performance added.
    So please paultan.org, do not equate this model to be a rival to the ranger wildtrak.
    To a ranger xlt yes, not a wildtrak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Chianeng Thao on Jan 17, 2019 at 9:30 am

I interested the Toyota Revo truck. I live in USA, but I not sure the transition. do you used to sell and delivery to US before and what is the total price for everything?
    let me know by email.
    Thanks,