Pre-Sept 1 AES summonses worth RM605mil erased

The government has cancelled 4.03 million outstanding Automated Enforce­ment System (AES) summonses worth RM605 million. The summonses were issued from 2012 to August 31 this year, said transport minister Anthony Loke, reported by Bernama.

He announced in August that all existing AES summonses will be wiped out, letting all offending drivers off the hook. Now, the cancelled summonses are no longer in the JPJ’s Digital Technology Division data centre in Cyberjaya. Yup, “this means AES summonses issued before September 1 are no longer in the data,” Loke told reporters after visiting the centre yesterday.

“This is a one-off. After September 1, the JPJ will fully take over the operations of AES and any summons issued then has to be paid. There will not be any more such offers or discounts,” Loke said then, adding that those who did pay will not be getting any refunds. “The money paid went to the concessionaires appointed by the (previous) government. We are in no position to refund because the government did not benefit.”

Of course, this does not mean that AES is no more – it’s now being managed by JPJ. From September 1 to November 8, a total of 60,444 AES summonses were issued for breaking the speed limit, but only 1,711 had been settled by motorists. In that period, 4,575 summonses were issued for running the red lights but only 167 were paid. The government will step up action to ensure compliance.

“To date, 1,190 cases have been brought to courts in Kedah, Perak and Penang but only three offenders turned up,” Loke said. He added that the department would take stern action against those who failed to pay the summonses within 60 days by taking them to court, failing which warrants of arrest would be issued.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jayson on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:14 am

Omg…what about those i just paid…

• pengomel on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:08 pm

don’t worry bro..you can try to claim with beta tegap or ates because summon you paid go to them, 1 cent pun tak masuk jpj..kalau bolehlah..

• Prebet Asam on Nov 15, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Omg… wth so dumb allow public revenue go to private..

• Gabriel on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:19 am

Before winning GE14, they made a promise to abolish AES. When in power, decided to break their promise and maintain AES instead.
    Another janji dicapati…sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
    • Shaun on Nov 15, 2018 at 12:45 pm

How about simply obeying the law and keeping to the posted speed limit?

I’m all for AES as long as the revenue from collected from fines goes toward keeping our roads in good condition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Ex IGP on Nov 15, 2018 at 2:23 pm

Fully agreed. maintain AES good for safety of our traffic police who now hide under flyover & in longkang.

• Sick & Tired on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:47 pm

This Government is lawless, so why should rakyat follow the law?

• pengomel on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:13 pm

because after won the election, they thought the cost can be provided for uninstalled aes camera only..but turn out to be they have to compensate beta tegap & ates..bukan sikit2 bro. dah la kena compensate juta2 kt kroni company, lagi terkejut rupa-rupanya saman kita bayar selama ni masuk poket kroni..1 sen pun tak masuk jpj/gov bro..sigh

• So whut happen to AES concession – Beta Tegap and ATES,

• Good, come PRU15 just vote for another gov. I don’t even care if it is PAS or a splinter party of Pakatan if they break up as long as AES summons are written off again.

Reward the offenders, punish those good upholding citizens yay. morale of the story, don’t acah baik and pay early

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • lilytan on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:40 am

605 mil forfeited just like that. Yet they wanted us to make sacrifices cuz the coffer is empty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Aliya on Nov 15, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Exactly. Lucky them emptied the coffer & kautim AES contract earlier 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:58 am

Loke has no choice but to do this. This is becaus ethe lopsisded contract signed by the previous corrupted Government ensure all saman money goes 100% to the two Sdn Bhds ie kroni companies.

Kerajaan does not get a single sen.

So, might as well cancel all the saman and make sure a new contract is done up so that kerajaan gets at least some of the money.

Wow, these 2 Sdn Bhd, if you do the maths, they can earn tens of billions ringgit per year. Beating most Bursa saham listed companies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 40
    • Capati on Nov 15, 2018 at 11:25 am

Yeah just promise everything and if cant full fill just play the blame game. Jolly good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • lilytan on Nov 15, 2018 at 12:12 pm

Even if the money went to the companies, its no lost to the gov. Kerajaan didnt spend a single cent for the AES. It funded by the companies. The companies eventually pay tax to the gov.

And whose crony exactly if i may ask? Or is it just another empty accusation as usual.

Whats worst is by forfeiting the summonses it sent wrong signal to the public. People who paid is at loss, while who didnt got off scot free. Is that rule of law?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • YB Albert on Nov 15, 2018 at 1:32 pm

In Bolehland,people delay for years .
        Traffic police summons
        PTPTN loans ( mogok lagi,those uni dudes)
        AES summons
        why?
        Cos the rule of law is seldom enforced.
        Remember the bus driver who has a dozen unpaid traffic summons sending tourists to the ravine at genting highlands not too long ago?
        Tun said let there be rule of law..but the enforcement is only done when a vvip dies or a big accident involves a dozen cars with multiple deaths.
        come Jan 1…no smoking at all kopitiams…who is going to enforce? Captain america ? MENTERI KESIHATAN? ENFORCEMENT ,YAB Anthony Loke…is just a myth.

• skazeez on Nov 15, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Blacklist all with outstanding Traffic police summons, PTPTN loans, AES summons @ JPJ, Imigresen, KWSP, LHDN, Insolvensi, JPN & CCRIS.

• pengomel on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:05 pm

wow how ignorant. do you know all aes cameras installed using our tax payer’s money? how could you say gov didn’t spend a single cent? see, you don’t even know who the cronies are. both are mca cronies. kita marah bukan sebab aes, kita marah sebab duit saman aes masuk poket kroni, faham? how could you say gov not at lost? wei, 605 juta tu kalau masuk gov macam2 boleh buat. masuk poket kroni jadi apa? and do you know if we want to uninstalled all aes camera also have cost? ingat cabut balik kamera tu free ke? kos lagii. for me, gov can mansuh after kos beli dan pasang kamera dah boleh cover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Spin Too Much on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:46 pm

The original AES deal, Government din need to pay a single sen. But when Oppo then make noise and demo, then it forced Government to spend taxpayer money to buyout the contract, basically meant PH helped to enrich the cronies. Now thanks to PH, we paid for the system, waived all samans collected, and need to fulfill promise to remove AES. For me, PH Government can mansuh.

• enrich Boustead + LTAT. who behind Beta Tegap + ATES

• pengomel on Nov 15, 2018 at 5:27 pm

wow how shallow minded. how could you still believe that oppo is the one who need to be blamed for enriched the cronies? see how easily previous gov made you believe it. at the first place, why the previous gov gave the aes tender to cronies companies? suspiciously, why the previous gov gave 100% to cronies companies to collect all the profit from summons? it’s not about aes, it’s about how they did the biz itself, get “duit atas angin” in legal way. and jpj/gov get what? zero. i mean, the jpj/gov is the one and only should be benefited from the summon profit, not the cronies. faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Please use brain PH dude. If past gomen, didn’t have to spend a single sen, what does it matter if it went to crony companies? If they mismanaged and failed, the gomen had a clause to repossess the AES for free. Where in the world got such a good deal? And yet Pkatan spoiled it by forcing the past gomen to buyover the AES, thereby having to pay unnecessary compensation. Can u see how stupid Pkatan operates?

• Somemore if what Kron said is true then Boustead & LTAT are not cronies but GLCs. So which Pktan story is true? The AES are belonged to GLCs or MCA cronies?

• Devil in Justice on Nov 15, 2018 at 12:19 pm

Yes, it’s their fault for the promise to abolish AES. But why many people blame that? Do you guys really think that it’s a good thing to let go people that break the law? You guys sxcks for breaking the law and endangered others life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Teh Tarik Ooney on Nov 15, 2018 at 2:09 pm

This is genius. In a single move, they managed to create love for the current govt and create resentment for the previous one. Politicians never fail to impress me!

While moves like this are sweet, I refrain from saying it’s a good thing because for me, it does not reflect performance.

What we need now is a better management of the roadside parking problem around KL. Hope this DBKL under PH will fix this problem.

And then we can judge in terms of actual performance.

• A lot of joker here hope for free lunch and free law.

You guys has been enjoying the free summon till sept 2018 and wanted it to be abolished.

You pay if you break the rule. In general, the AES is good for everyone to have a safe journey.

if you scare of summon, dont speed or ride bicycle.

• What is the drama here guys? What is your reason here to abolish AES? I don’t see anything wrong doing here, we’re here just to make the cronies getting richer…now what Loke does is to stop this cronies that running our rakyat run dries. No matter who we paid it does not benefit us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Refund those who paid!

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:24 pm

I never scared of AES. I never paid AES saman. Becoz I follow the law.

I speed sometimes, but never get caught becoz I pandai ma….

However, those sour grape ppl, got caught speeding and they knew very well about the enforcement of AES. You sped, you need to pay.

• saravana on Nov 19, 2018 at 5:35 pm

Why is it my summons are still listed in the MYEG site then? all the speeding tickets are under polis summons. any ideA?