B8 Volkswagen Passat facelift – 2.0 TSI Elegance variant for Malaysia, registration of interest opens

Earlier this week, the facelifted B8 Volkswagen Passat was sighted on a transporter, and now, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has teased the car on its website, identifying that it will be known as an 2.0 TSI Elegance variant when it arrives. The presence of a registration of interest tab means that customers can sign up for first dibs on more info or bookings when the order books open.

The D-segment sedan gets some subtle exterior revisions in the update. At the front, there’s a new bumper with angular fog lamp sections, a reworked grille and slimmer headlamps. As shown by the recent spyshot set, the Malaysian-spec Passat will come equipped with IQ.Light LED matrix headlights and 18-inch “Liverpool” alloy wheels, wrapped with 235/45 series tyres.

At the back, changes include a new light signature for the LED tail lights, a revised bumper with faux trapezoidal-shaped exhausts and a new location for the model script, now located in the lower middle section of the boot lid, like on the Arteon .

The Passat will go on sale as a 2.0 TSI Elegance model – the 2.0 litre TSI should be the new lower-tuned version offering 190 PS and 320 Nm, and likely paired with a seven-speed wet-clutch DSG transmission. This takes over from the 220 PS and 350 Nm 2.0 TSI and six-speed wet DSG on the pre-facelift, and should effectively also replace the 1.8 litre TSI and its dry-clutch seven-speed DSG in the local line-up.

No photos of the interior as yet, but the changes inside are minimal – key new bits include a revised 11.7-inch Active Info Display with clearer graphics and adjusted functionality as well as a third-generation Modular Infotainment Matrix (MIB3) system. The only question is to which the local spec car will get, because there are three options available for the Passat, ranging from a 6.5-inch Composition Media with no navigation to a 9.2-inch Discover Pro system with full navigation.

GALLERY: B8 Volkswagen Passat 2.0 TSI Elegance spyshots

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Stevensonn on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Kereta conti mampu milik, power senyap selesa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Mario and Honda on Dec 27, 2019 at 3:07 pm

dragonball AKA Mario, please vent out your frustations at Honda customer service, this game changing Paultan blog is not the right place for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
      • Kunta = tikus = ASB and others on Dec 28, 2019 at 8:37 am

Enough of lies and fake news. Let us keep PT clean for once.

2020, we all play fair. No more dupes yea Kunta?

• much agreed. Honda a long way from VW level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Abdul Sahih Rahman on Dec 28, 2019 at 10:25 am

Good car overseas but here assembled by our abang abangs in DRB, so that is why nama busuk and quality down the drain

• Jeremy on Dec 30, 2019 at 2:42 pm

But VW bosses have admitted DRB Pekan locals are more hardworking and more efficient than German workers. Then the problem is not DRB Pekan workers but VW itself.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 27, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Finally 1.8T Passat gets wet clutch. No more dry-clutch okay ke?

• Same power as Proton

• Vento owner on Dec 29, 2019 at 10:27 am

Maintenance cost is too high, warranty is limited. Better ask carefully and seek clarification when buying VW. Ride quality is any time better than Volvo

• Golfer on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:26 pm

Much improved aftersales. no wait VW CC parts,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Hahaha! Better than Honda Malaysia. Too long waiting for Jazz parts! Dump quality honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • autodriver (Member) on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:57 pm

It is surprise the FL Passat HL is down turned to 190ps and 320nm which is quite huge drop from current Passat 220ps and 350nm. But I guess this movement is to prepare for new Arteon as it quite confirm apply 190ps and 320nm figure.

Btw the new 7 speed wet clutch is applied this time and hope this bring better response, smoothness and better fuel consumption. Hope VW will add in ACC, AEB, blind spot and 360 camera which will make it more competitive in D segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Dry dual clutch are better in term on fuel efficiency but the main problem is durability, wet dual clutch are more tougher & robust

• luckily i jz snagged a current Passat 220ps and 350nm @DRB autofest for 107k only. phewww

• Because it’s phasing out the 1.8Tsi 7DSG which no one buys.. and the previous 2.0Tsi 6DSG was too expensive.. so now they just have 1 variant in the middle..
      Oh wait, because business is bad and they streamline to 1 variant to save cost, that’s why..
      So what’s next? Only 1 Tiguan, 1 Polo and phase out the rest? (No Jetta, No Golf, No Tourag, No Touran, No Sharan, No Beetle)

• romance on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:58 pm

(Like) Volkswagen Passat 2020
    (Dislike) Honda Accord 2020

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 9
  • John Lee on Dec 27, 2019 at 1:31 pm

Going for same price?

• dragonball on Dec 27, 2019 at 1:33 pm

Before you all start to complain about volkswagen . Look at honda first, why honda m’sia is getting bad to worst.

I bought my honda accord 2.4 in 2017. But just one year later. It becoming more problem. Always stop at the roadside halfway either on the highway or on the road because of drive shaft and gearbox spoiled. Somemore, got rattling noises and daytime running lights fused very fast.

So bring in to the workshop, only one of the daytime running lights already replaced but others have to wait for 2 months to get back my car. But two months later, still haven’t arrived the parts in honda m’sia. Very disappointed.

So think about it to all of you. Which has higher failure rate of breakdown? volkswagen or honda? At least volkswagen is not as worst as honda m’sia. If you look out of the road, there will be honda cars breakdown.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 16
    • Yeap, everytime i saw Accord on the road, one out two DRL’s mesti not functioning. Idk why this problem hits the Accord only. City & Civic’s DRLs look fine though.

• Vincent on Dec 27, 2019 at 3:01 pm

I am not surprise with what you had experience with the Honda. I do believe that whatever you face in Proton back in 2000 will be DNA migrated to Honda as it has been under the same problematic company. That also explain that Proton car is now much improved and more reliable! Why? Why? Why? The answer is simple!

• VW… I visited the workshop with my Polo for the 7th time this year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
    • If H sold 1000 units, 10 spoilt and If V sold 100 units , 5 spoilt . Which is worst?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Pak Toh on Dec 28, 2019 at 9:09 am

just dont buy the uncle’s choice.
        Honda and VW looks uncle by today standard.

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 30, 2019 at 8:58 am

I am not sure how you make this assumption that H 10 spoilt out of 1000 where V brand 5 spoilt out of 100.

VW major problem is their DQ200 7 speed dry clutch and EA888 2nd generation is commonly known as burning lubricant and 1.4 TSI dual chargers durability issue. But now VW had eliminated the dual chargers and redesign the 7 speed dry clutch where nowadays very few problem with the dual clutch issue.

For Honda, do you know the current Civic 1.5T and 1.8NA has a major issue with steeering rack where they haven’t settle. The only thing the owner can do is claim new rack from Honda. One of my friend claim 3rd rack from Honda since he bought the new car in 2017. Do you know many Honda owner facing drive shaft broken after use of 5 years. You may defend drive shaft is wear and tear but most of the car didn’t have this problem in 7 years time.

I agree Japanese car is good quality but it only apply to Toyota, Mitsubishi and Mazda. Nissan has a questionable quality control too.

• Nothing new, just the old Passat with some pairs of Volvo XC90’s rims

• Imran Naim on Dec 27, 2019 at 2:53 pm

Still waiting for the “all-new” 2017 VW Polo & 2019 Jetta though. Look at Arteon, it’s been years since its debut and VW just decided to bring it in next year lol

• dogee on Dec 27, 2019 at 3:09 pm

Really hoping that this new passat comes with all the driver assistance features such as acc and emergency assist…

• Dino1984 on Dec 29, 2019 at 12:37 am

Hope 3 variant….1.8 business , 2.0 business elegance & 2.0 business elegance r-line….