Proton X50 fuel consumption figures revealed – FC is 6.4L/100 km for 1.5 TGDi, 6.5L/100 km for 1.5T

Here’s some additional info on the Proton X50. The carmaker has released fuel consumption figures for the soon-to-be-launched model, which will be available here with two engines – a 1.5 litre turbocharged and direct-injected three-cylinder engine (1.5 TGDi) and a port-injected version of the turbo three-pot (1.5T).

Shown on a slide at the City Preview event of the X50 for invited guests, the Proton X50’s claimed fuel consumption figures are 6.4 litres per 100 km (15.6 km/l) for 1.5 TGDi Flagship and 6.5 litres per 100 km (15.4 km/l) for the non-direct-injection 1.5T engine that powers the three other variants – Standard, Executive and Premium.

No mention of the cycle used for the claimed FC, but it should be a combined cycle similar to the X70’s Malaysia Automotive, Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) EEV-rated figure of 7.6 litres per 100 km (13.2 km/l). The larger and heavier CKD X70 is powered by a 1.8 litre TGDi engine, so it makes sense that the X50 is more fuel efficient.

The event also saw Proton confirm the power and torque figures we published last week, which is 150 PS/226 Nm for the port-injected 1.5T and 177 PS/255 Nm for the direct-injection 1.5 TGDi Flagship. Both engines send drive to the front wheels through a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission also seen in the CKD X70.

We’ve already covered the X50 extensively from the media preview that happened last week, and you can check it out here. Below are the spec-by-spec differences that we know so far. Bear in mind though that the images you see here are of the top Flagship variant – Proton has yet to reveal the other variants in the metal.

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Standard
Gets as standard:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder MPI engine
  • Around 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque
  • Seven-speed (wet) dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode (no paddle shifters)
  • Four airbags (front and side)
  • LED headlamps and DRLs
  • 17-inch alloy wheels
  • Quad exhaust pipes
  • Full carbon fibre-print bodykit
  • Fabric seats
  • Rear air con vents
  • Digital instrument cluster
  • Eight-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • Reverse camera
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Executive
Adds on:

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Automatic headlamps
  • Front fog lamps
  • Leatherette seats

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Premium
Adds on:

• Tyre pressure monitoring system
  • 18-inch alloy wheels with red brake callipers
  • Powered driver’s seat
  • 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • 360-degree camera

2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship
Adds on:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged direct injection three-cylinder engine
  • 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque
  • Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)
  • Dual-tone exterior (black roof and pillars)
  • Panoramic sunroof

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 colour options

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kekekeke on Sep 22, 2020 at 12:10 pm

15.6km/l in test, so expect in real life is 8-9km/l.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Truckers on Sep 22, 2020 at 5:22 pm

Not bad considering Bezza 20km/L in real life would be 10km/L so X50 with sweet turbo engine is merely 1 km/L less than lethargic Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Christy Wong on Sep 23, 2020 at 7:48 am

I rather buy the Rocky. At least VVTI Toyota engine is sold in over 200 countries globally. China engine is 98% sold only in China and a few 3rd world countries like Pakistan, Bangladesh and Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Lolwhut? on Sep 23, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Sure Kunta. Im sure your Toyota engines are sold on the Moon too since you included it into your “over 200 countries” description.

• Kassim B Khairul on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:30 pm

Mee Hailam on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:26 pm
          And yet, Hyundai sells 8 million cars globally ‘in over 200 countries’.

Dato JH Ramli bin Hj Thanby Chik on Sep 04, 2020 at 3:00 pm
          Malaysians know one thing, Japanese cars are sold ‘in over 200 countries’.

Michael Chong on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:57 pm
          There is a reason why Toyota VVTI technology is sold ‘in over 200 countries’.

YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:39 am
          This car uses a Toyota/Daihatsu engine that is recognised and won awards ‘in over 200 countries worldwide’.

Last-last we know who is the real troll here.

• Macau Hijau on Sep 23, 2020 at 10:21 am

P2 cars achieved low fuel consumption via utilization of thin sheet of metal and lotsa plastics. Yet no expertises on the knowledge of making car with low drag coefficient design.

• Agreed! All Proton models are now going thru and using Wind tunnel testing parameters to achieve lowest drag coefficient

• Datuk on Sep 22, 2020 at 6:05 pm

this is so true,
      If its NA, expect 25% less
      If its Turbo, expect 50% less

Unless u can drive slower than auntie driving
      My wife C200 only get 12.2l/100km

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 22, 2020 at 6:18 pm

Standard better than direct injection. Less maintenance in the long run

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • That p2 style, on paper 21km/,later goy 14km/l
      p1 gip real figure

• Brian on Sep 22, 2020 at 12:20 pm

@Danny. Any reason given by Proton why have 2 versions of 1.5T engines? If it were one with 1.5L NA I can understand but both are turboed and performance isn’t that far from each other. It would be easier for them to manage if they chose only either engine for use.

• figura on Sep 22, 2020 at 7:48 pm

Easy, lesser one is like civic turbo, the higher one ady smokes w204 c200. go figure
      Buuuurrrrnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

• Christy Wong on Sep 23, 2020 at 7:49 am

China engines are never reviewed in any foreign car magazines. Any idea why?

• Ol Skool on Sep 22, 2020 at 11:30 pm

Marketing maa. It cost pennies to downgrade to port injection, or maybe even save a few bucks. The cost wouldn’t be far different, but they can increase more profit margin for the flagship TGDI compared to other variants.

For those who has money to burn, surely go for flagship, and that slight bump power figure. After all the fuel consumption difference is negligible, got full safety features. A win for Proton

• Helmy Kadir on Sep 23, 2020 at 7:44 am

As usual Proton likes to confuse customers with so many engines. Then, the whole line collapses. What a waste of money that will be

• Optimus on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:06 pm

How many ‘as usual’? Proton only had 2 engine choice previously 1.3L and 1.6L with 1.6T for the certain cars. You cannot handle choices more than 2 isit?

• Is volvo engine sungguh jimat minyak, terbaik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • 3 pedals Croosover on Sep 22, 2020 at 8:12 pm

Who knows, in the near future 2021-2022 mc, updates or facelifts version, another series of newer displacement 1.0 or 1.4 or hybrid PHEV will be pair to X50. Probably a special supersport variant supercharge and turbocharge as volvo T8 version too. Maybe manual Gearbox on the picture as well

• Juga, Volvo engine reliability yang terbaik!

• newme on Sep 22, 2020 at 12:24 pm

Is this figure from production unit or testing-only variant?

• Truckers on Sep 22, 2020 at 5:25 pm

Is Bezza 20km/L FC from production unit or testing-only variant? So far none I know achieved that.

• newme on Sep 23, 2020 at 9:14 am

So far no other company have the history of sending non-production variant car for testing to get better result. So can’t blame one having this thought lah.

• Safety First on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:09 pm

Perodua did. They sent for NCAP testing, an unknown G-spec Aruz (which you cannot buy from showroom). So they are world first in doing things.

• newme on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:52 pm

How much different is the test result? Got like Saga from 1 star jump to 3 star?

• Safety First on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:34 pm

Big difference! Between an illegal testing car that scored 5 Stars vs actual production car that might be 1 Star in actual crash tests. 5 Stars down to 1 Star could mean you either live or die. Do you prefer to risk your life that way?

• newme on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:48 pm

There you go, that’s exactly happened to 3 star saga when production variant only have 1 star.

• Safety First on Sep 25, 2020 at 12:01 am

Big difference! That Saga only needed to fit child seat locks to retain their 3 star rating. An illegally tested Aruz have to change the whole car and retested again. In testing there is 2nd chance, risking your life you don’t get a 2nd chance. Safety First.

• Fill & Go on Sep 22, 2020 at 7:59 pm

MARI will decides on EEV incentive. Malaysia defines EEVs as “vehicles that meet a defined specifications in terms of carbon emission level (g/km) and fuel consumption (l/100 km) – EEV includes fuel efficient vehicles, hybrids, EVs and alternatively-fuelled vehicles, e.g. CNG, LPG, Biodiesel, Ethanol, Hydrogen and Fuel Cell.”

• autodriver (Member) on Sep 22, 2020 at 12:47 pm

There were many users in China already reviewed the Binyue (X50 twin) fuel consumption and in real world it turns out 8-9L/100km mix driving. This figure is considered good as the power deliver is better than 2.5L NA while fuel consumption is much lower.

• That’s why Proton Geely Technology is more advanced and powerful than Honda Technology

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • WONG Sek Lum on Sep 22, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Best of its class & super perfection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • romance on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:02 pm

(Like) X50 and Kona
    (Dislike) HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
  • Sure... on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:02 pm

15.6 – 15.4 km/l combined cycle. In real world, please expect around 12 – 13 km/l figure, especially when you drive in the city more often. Still quite decent though.

• Datuk on Sep 22, 2020 at 6:03 pm

Depends how u drive lor, very boring to control a turbo driving for fuel economy
      My wife C200 driving at 12.2l/100km not 12km/l

• 50714N on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:30 pm

Price?

• EverSoft on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:39 pm

At least X50 is more faster than Honda City iMMD. Even X50 is longer run than Honda City iMMD and Honda Gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • AEB first on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:40 pm

1.5TMPI less power but same fuel consumption
    Better pay more for power, AEB

Got dual tone, from far ppl know you driving it

• Depends on your budget how much you can stretch, but either one is still good for the road.

• 25yrsOld on Sep 23, 2020 at 11:14 am

No AEB no good, 2021 is coming,
        2020 is the past soon

• Safety First on Sep 23, 2020 at 12:48 pm

Not all AEB systems are equal, take P2 ASA which only works up to 50kmph, at that speeds I can brake myself. At the least X70’s AEB can cruise up to 80kmph which is more useful in real life situations. Safety First.

• Merchant on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:41 pm

Sayonara to Civic, HRV, CRV, City, BRV, Jazz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Chow Wei Zhen on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Anyways, keep it up Proton for bringing such beauty design with excellent equipments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • We are so exciting to see this. It is fun

• LIKE: X50, Almera, Vios Facelift, Persona
    DISLIKE: HRV, City, Jazz, BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • M & B on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:45 pm

But this is one of the powerful b segment car. WOW

• Tipulah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Venza on Sep 22, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Impressive

• practical car lover. on Sep 22, 2020 at 2:36 pm

Cant fathom why would they sell 2 engine types here, the cost difference cant be that big. Should have just stick with the direct injection version. Would make it easier for their service team to maintain and stock for spare parts too.

• Ol Skool on Sep 22, 2020 at 11:10 pm

The term you’re looking for is “Marketing”.
      Cost might not be far different, but the profit margin would decently be sized up.

For those who can afford, surely will go for flagship. Exact same engine inside Volvo XC40 (not on sale in MY). Can smoke honda civic and a few conti’s maa…

Otherwise, the other variant also is using the same engine, except been detuned using only port injection. Still decent power figure though.

• I’m more inclined towards reliability & vibration. Maybe from Proton test, they find something not so good in long run for TGDI.

• Despite fuel consumption is bit high, this looks very premium and fast

• Syerin on Sep 22, 2020 at 2:43 pm

Ambik kau.

• If I want proton SUV & price less than RM80k, I pick standard variant as just very enough..for my liking…or wait another few month for Perodua SUV, compare both for final decision.

• Proton Edar on Sep 22, 2020 at 6:06 pm

Rm80k only a SUV kosong bro,
      Buy the better safety features one

• Yeah buy those milo tin car p2 d55l rocky you got milo tin, even thinner than myvi

• Reality Check on Sep 22, 2020 at 10:47 pm

Buy according to your wallet capacity. Waiting for Perodua SUV seems better for you. Those two cars aren’t exactly comparable. Why would anyone do that tho.

X50 base variant
      1.5T – 150ps, 226nm (decently powerful)
      Size similar to HR-V
      Fuel Consumption about 15km/L (not bad)
      Premium interior
      Good safety features
      Price I believe will be little bit lower than direct competitors like HR-V, Kona, Seltos

Perodua D55L (base on Rocky/Raize)
      1.0T – 98ps, 140nm (just enough)
      Size similar to Myvi
      Fuel consumption about 17km/L (very good)
      Standard basic interior
      Good safety features
      Price I believe will be below Aruz, but higher than Myvi.

If money isn’t a problem, X50 is the better choice. No brainer.

• If money is not a problem….if …. if…. like that then i buy bmw or rover evoque much better than proton or p2 or toyota…. to many out there, PRICE is the first thing to consider and compare!!!!! Who can buy without seeing the price tag? If got such person will not buy proton ok? Am i clear?

• Reality Check on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:14 pm

Ohh sure…. as written above, buy according to your wallet. You want a highly spec powerful car, pay for it. Just don’t expect it to be dirt cheap.

• HappyFeet on Sep 25, 2020 at 1:35 am

I’m more concerned about spare parts and reliability of X50.

• simon on Sep 22, 2020 at 4:11 pm

overhyped.

still waiting for price.

• Google voice assistant on Sep 22, 2020 at 7:45 pm

Both 2020 Honda City and 2020 Nissan Almera too are facing a similar situation. Like Proton, Honda and Nissan dealers openly are also collecting the booking orders with no open price mentioned. Askla abang2 at different Goverment approval and audit entities. Calculating the rebates on Excise duty and EEV applications

• overlord on Sep 22, 2020 at 6:16 pm

ye lah tu the real world figure will be way higher.. but dont worry malaysians dont care as long as fuel price is below rm2.00.. small price to pay for getting all the shiny stuff

• 7 Proton Car Owner on Sep 22, 2020 at 7:10 pm

I have had like 7 Protons, from Saga, Iswara, Wira, Waja, Perdana and so on, I can tell you one thing, don’t bilip all these FC nonsense.

Any Proton, after 5 years, will drink petrol more than a V12 Jaguar.

Any Proton owner can vouch for this.

My current Waja, I fill up every 3 days and can hardly give me 360KM on a full tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • X70 Buyer on Sep 22, 2020 at 11:11 pm

I am one such owner and I vouched I never experienced or heard such nonsense from my X70 community.

• Here's another comment on Sep 23, 2020 at 12:30 am

Yeahh… see who’s talking, he had 7 proton cars. He still bought another Proton despite the known problem to only him. If it were me, I would straight upgrade to a V12 Jaguar long time ago.

• Looks to me like the same guy who told us “he has” every iteration of Proton car models while whacking Proton at every opportunity.

• Diam lah Kunta. Kami sudah bosan dgn fake news anda. Tolong berambus

• Helmy Kadir on Sep 23, 2020 at 7:35 am

What you say is so true. Both my Protons faced the same problems. I sold them cause I could not afford it

• Silthice on Sep 22, 2020 at 7:46 pm

Almost similar with myvi fuel ⛽ consumption but with power and Torque. Good job

• Enjin X50 xde kaitan langsung dgn volvo

• https://paultan.org/2018/11/08/geely-bin-yue-launched-in-china/
      “The 1.5 litre engine is a Geely and Volvo co-developed unit with 174 hp and 255 Nm of torque,…”
      Ambik kau.

• Reality Check on Sep 23, 2020 at 12:38 am

Knowledge won’t magically come to those who refuse to read.

The Geely 1.5L TGDI engine inside X50 were co-developed with Volvo. It’s currently being used inside Volvo XC40(Not on sale in Malaysia). Go figure.

• Reality Check on Sep 23, 2020 at 8:39 am

And source say only 10% passed volvo standards,
        90% passed geely standards

Go figure, dont selectively judge

• Syerin on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:09 pm

What does your info bring to the topic? You’re being stereotypical to geely just because they’re from China.

• Reality Check on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:40 pm

Yeahh… clearly you can’t comprehend my words.

READ again, to make it clear I highlight it for you: GEELY I.5L TGDI ENGINE (not a Volvo engine), CO-DEVELOPED WITH VOLVO (yeah, its the same engine blueprint that’s inside Volvo XC40 T3, but with different internal parts.

You see, the engine was co developed with Volvo and that’s a fact. It is being offered inside the XC40 T3 for their base variant(of course with different internal spec) . The original comment stated “xde kaitan langsung” despite 10% pass up to Volvo standard.

Other than you using my “name”, did I miss anything?

• i think the real world figure for malaysian driving condition should be 7km/1L like that.

• So much of talking but no official price is being announced, how?

• roger foo on Sep 23, 2020 at 10:49 am

XD50 for me,. Happy with X70 currently owned. Continental feel and with all the safety features in. A safe car to drive.

• Mike Ong on Sep 27, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Relax everybody. We already have the Geely Coolray in the Philippines for a few months now with the 1.5 177hp engine. In real world 7.5 km per liter not good just average. But for a 3 cylinder car I expected higher.