2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C-Class pictures leaked

So this is it, folks – the 2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C-Class before we’re supposed to see it. These images, posted on The Automobilist Facebook page, give us the clearest view yet of the all-new C-Class inside and out, ahead of the planned official reveal event on February 23.

There’s nothing surprising here, of course, with plenty of revealing spyshots and teaser images already available. This particular unit looks to wear the Avantgarde trim, different to the AMG Line in the official teaser images. The front grille here goes without the rather garish three-pointed star chrome pins on the sportier model.

As is tradition at this point, the W206 C-Class apes the latest W223 S-Class in looks. From the slim headlamps to the sharp taillights, the C-Class carries the same mini S-Class styling but on a more compact, sportier package. It’s a strategy that has worked for a few successive generations now, so I guess there’s no reason to change it.

It’s the same story inside, with the W206 having a largely similar layout as the flagship limo. The air-con vents, however, are more rounded rather than rectangular here – a nice continuation of the excellent W205 cabin design. Personally, I’m not quite convinced by the large centre touchscreen in terms of its general ease of use, but I’ve also been proven wrong many times before.

2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C-Class pictures leaked2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C-Class pictures leaked

Overall, I do think that the W206 looks a little underwhelming so far. It doesn’t quite have the same wow effect as the groundbreaking W205 back in 2013 for me, and no, I’m not just saying it just because I’ve owned both a W205 and a C205 Coupe. Seriously, there’s not even a hint of jealousy here. None whatsoever!

We’ll see and know more in two days, so do check back here soon. For now, what do you think of these leaked images – does the W206 look like a G20 BMW 3 Series-killer? Do comment below, as I head down to my (now old) C-Class and cry.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• (Like) W206 Merc C-Class.
    (Dislike) G20 BMW 3Series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 67
  • No one bother to drive compact executive anymore..
    BMW G20 3series merely exist on the road despite BMW had launch all 4 variants 320i 330i 330e and 340i
    Mostly prefer Premium SUVs GLA GLC GLE X1 X3 X5 and plenty of recond RX these days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 53
    • Shutupp on Feb 21, 2021 at 6:00 pm

Hey kid. Just shut up if you cant afford. Your ignorant is a shame to yourself. Luxury cars are mean to be low volume seller because it is after all, luxury and expensive and things to be desired. Not a need. Is a want. You kid who barely meet your need dont deserve to comment on others want. Casio and smart watch is everywhere, so do you say a Rolex is of nobody want because so few own it and it is stoll analog and mechanical? And please la dude, BMW just released statement of their sales and 3 series sold 2500 units in 2020 while the sum of whole X family just touch 3000. Imagine, X1, X2, X3, X4, X5, X7 sum up at 3000 while just 3 at 2500 and 3 5 series sum up more than 4000. Go back to school kid. SUV for old man. Add on, all lengluis like to be fetch or drive in handsome sedan and coupe. Only soccer mom and old aunty like SUV or coffin minivan and dont adjust seating height while driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
      • Hey “shutupp” small kid, I live in an area where Luxury SUV out numbered luxury sedans. Those sedans mostly are the older F30s and W205.
        While new luxury SUVs GLE GLC X1 to X5 are everywhere around my neighborhood.. even younger adults drive X1 and GLA.
        I think you seriously don’t know what you are talking about as you don’t mix around with those who own luxury cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • Piyan on Feb 21, 2021 at 7:18 pm

Wahlauweh, you had too much ketum lah brader. In 2019 BMW Malaysia sold 2514 units 3-series vs 1354 units X3. In 2020 its best seller is still the 3-series. These info are available in public domain, so don’t simply temberang lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Looks younger now no longer the uncle

• Jonn Dol on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:39 pm

This Benz design as good as exchange the badge to KIA or Opel.

• hazri on Feb 21, 2021 at 4:01 pm

Just wait awhile, can get used 2year old BMW G20 3series & Mesidis C class for rm150k only … with 3yrs warranty left

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:33 pm

150k C200? Sure if you are willing to buy a 2014/15 used model.

• reezar on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:48 pm

Time PKP nie. Quite many unit 2018 Mercedes Benz C180 AMG 1.6T CKD too from RM 141,800.

• Mei Hwa on Feb 21, 2021 at 4:10 pm

I can guarantee that the entry level W206 (C180, C200) for our country WILL NOT HAVE the active safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:39 pm

All Mercedes cars sold in Malaysia have AEB as standard and the W205 C200 also has blind spot assist too. By the time W206 arrives here I reckon MBM will throw in more kit considering the base spec BMW 218i GC has lane departure,l alert, AEB, blind spot assist, rear cross traffic alert and parking assist as standard. If they don’t at least match what BMW is giving then you can pretty much guess which brand I’m gonna get lol.

• Muerekekek on Feb 22, 2021 at 6:31 am

That’s true, Mei Hwa. We can only dream features like Distronic PLUS with Steering Assist to be in the C180, C200. Malu woo, our Corolla, Civic, Ioniq, X70, X50 have the same feature.
      seancorr, Mercedes Malaysia only benchmark with BMW Malaysia, they are blind to their rivals from Japan, Korea, China. Early 2000s, they were proud to introduce ESC/traction control in their cars in Malaysia, but now they are super slow in introducing active safety in their lowest variants.
      For me, in terms of active safety features, Volvo Malaysia is better than Merc/BMW Malaysia. Cheapest Volvo, XC40 have all of them.

• Is it me or does the back look like the old BM Mazda 3?

• When inside a car I just want to drive, I don’t want to be distracted by the giant iPad in the middle. The air vents look like they are trying to hypnotize you. Overall I find the dash a bit too funky for my taste.

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:43 pm

Possibility that Mazda3 copied MB anyway more interested in engine especially EV.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:44 pm

Looks like a mini S class which is good. I hope they addressed the crap suspension that the W205 had which did not do a good job sucking up bumps on the road like what a core Benz model should do. MBM has been stingy lately with standard kit on their models. I hope this changes in 2021 when they announced their massive CKD plans for their compact segment.

• perodua on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:52 pm

i will boycott buying cars that offer less advanced driver assitance system than the soon to be launched perodua ativa

• Buy it on Feb 21, 2021 at 6:02 pm

Ok I ll give my current 330i to my wife and buy a C300 CKD ver when available. Ya know, not a loyal customer, just like newer things. Lol..loyal fight is just for ordinary fans.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 6:07 pm

Externally, it’s more evolutionary change from the W205. It still looks 90% like the current model. Only front and rear is different. And it lost the downward sloping lines on the side. Interior is a huge departure from the W205. But overall, it looks too much like an S Class. At least the W205’s interior was very different to the S Class.

• Bobby Chin on Feb 21, 2021 at 7:01 pm

Did I see a car with Ipad stuck to the dash? Or was it an afterthought?

• Old is gold on Feb 21, 2021 at 7:37 pm

The w205 cabin looks way more elegant. This w206 is copying tesla and the g20 is just drab. Better start buying the final batch of prereg 2020 c200 2.0amg before they are snapped up.

• stick on Feb 21, 2021 at 10:10 pm

i really can’t differentiate between C, E and S class anymore

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 10:42 pm

looks like a korean car.

• still for cottonheads

• Jangan Pattern on Feb 21, 2021 at 11:42 pm

Guarantee 95% those who commented just cant afford.. Those young entrepreneur & mlm bosses just buy buy buy ..

The Mercedes Benz logo says more than a thousand word!

• Hafriz, its nice to see a new C, no need to cry. haha

• Chris Lau on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:27 am

I was surprised by that fresh design lolx

• Looks less garang compare to the older Merc, because now they try to appeal to younger driver, so they adopt the design from A class, even new S-Class now also take design cues from A class which is a bit weird direction. 100% prefer new 3-Series compare to this…

• S-class Engineer on Feb 23, 2021 at 4:49 pm

The W206 (C-class) car architecture is based on W223 (S-class). Even some of the upcoming new models will be based on W223 car architecture (hint: EV). Do expect some features are not available on W206 but available on W223 due to premium pricing and model. The practice to reuse existing tech will save significant R&D cost on the company.