FIRST DRIVE: 2020 G20 BMW 320i Sport M’sian review

The G20 BMW 3 Series is a desirable piece of kit, but with the 330i M Sport priced close to RM300k (was RM293,800, now RM286,187 after the 2020 sales tax exemption), a more accessible variant was needed. BMW Malaysia answered the call earlier this year when they introduced this car – the BMW 320i Sport.

Priced at RM241,794 (was RM248,800 before SST exemption), the new entry-level 3 Series carries much of the G20’s goodness but is cheaper by the price of a Myvi. Of course, you get less power and kit.

Under the hood is the 330i’s 2.0 litre turbo-four, but instead of 258 hp/400 Nm, the B48 is tuned down here to produce 184 hp and 300 Nm of torque from 1,350 to 4,000 rpm. Drive is sent to the rear wheels via an eight-speed ZF automatic gearbox, and 0-100 km/h is done in a respectable 7.1 seconds (5.8s for 330i). Top speed is 235 km/h.

The G20 320i comes in Sport trim, which means the exterior is less overtly sporty as the 330i M Sport. Very handsome in this Mediterranean Blue to these eyes. Sport gets gloss black window surrounds, and the wheels are also 18-inch items, although this car loses the 330i’s mixed tyres with wider rear rubber. A signature Sport cue is the sideways T fog lamp housing on the bumper, repeated at the rear, which also has dual exhaust tips.

Inside the G20’s much improved cabin, the 320i Sport comes with BMW Live Cockpit Plus (instead of Professional), which combines a set of analogue gauges with a 5.7-inch digital display. The centre touchscreen measures 8.8 inches, which is noticeably smaller than the 10.25-inch item in the 330i. The 320i also comes with Qi wireless charging, three-zone auto air con and an 11-colour ambient lighting system.

The base G20 also gets aluminium mesh effect trim, black Vernasca leather upholstery, a powered driver seat with memory, steering shift paddles and contactless boot opening, among other things.

In April, the two CKD G20 models were finally given the Driving Assistant package, which adds on Lane Departure Warning, Lane Change Warning (with speedometer visual)m Rear cross traffic warning and rear collision prevention, Front collision warning with brake intervention (AEB) and Speed limit info with manual speed limit assist.

Sounds like a very compelling package, but don’t take it from this typist on the couch. Instead, check out the G20 BMW 320i Sport with Hafriz Shah, as I will do after finishing this post. As usual, he’ll go through the car’s design and driving performance, and share some notes on how the BMW compares to the other German.

GALLERY: 2020 G20 BMW 320i Sport

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• (Like) BMW 320i Sport 184HP.
    (Dislike) Mercy Benz C200 204HP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 12
    • biasa jer
      Toyota Mazda Lexus get similar output.

Proton X70 181hp
      Toyota Camry 185hp
      Toyota Rav4 DF 204hp
      Harrier 227hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • seancorr (Member) on Jul 18, 2020 at 12:29 am

But those four you listed have much slower 0-100 acceleration times

• Get the 330i M, C300 for needed performance, Lexus ES for impeccable design and comfort, with recline-able 2nd row seat.

If want cheap car acceleration time, Volvo S60 PHEV

Abit top up you get the needed wonders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Rulered on Jul 18, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Torque will give the difference in term of acceleration. Check it out.

• Tun F on Jul 18, 2020 at 9:12 pm

Dude… Like seriously??? Proton compare to mighty BMW???

• apa lagi on Jul 18, 2020 at 7:48 am

When a Bemmer is more comfortable then Merz, where is the future for Mr Benz ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • M & B on Jul 18, 2020 at 8:34 am

Anyway, Well for me, having driving experience in beemer, still have better comfort, aside the performance.

• Jonathan Khan on Jul 17, 2020 at 7:41 pm

Finally get AEB like Myvi..

but missing Dream Radar Cruise Control (Toyota Corolla RM139k) or even ACC (Proton X70 RM123k).

G20 320i low spec fitted with Front and Rear 225 Tyre like Japanese rivals. CR-V and Camry uses 235 Tyres.

It need a better looking sport shoes.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 18, 2020 at 12:35 am

FYI the X70 is ACC is nothing to shout about. Doesn’t work during allow speeds so it won’t work during traffic jams and it picks up speed super duper slow after the front vehicle picks up in speed.

• Ummgok on Jul 17, 2020 at 9:17 pm

Face mask on!! I am so proud of us Malaysian!!!

• Ben Yap on Jul 17, 2020 at 11:17 pm

My Civic turbo is only 1 second slower in the century sprint but you save a whole RM100K of cash. on top of that after 5 years, the G20 320i will be about the same price as the 5 years civic turbo. Civic is still a better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 73
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 17, 2020 at 11:42 pm

Mate, I don’t get why you keep harping on about your damn Civic. Let’s get real here. A 2015 Civic is typically around RM50k in the used market. A 2015 320i? Around RM100k.

Even IF what you say is true (spoiler alert, it’s not), in the five years a 320i owner will be driving a BMW rather than a Honda. That itself is worth a fair bit, no?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 6
      • seancorr (Member) on Jul 18, 2020 at 12:29 am

Lol the man finally said something about this Honda salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Norlia on Jul 18, 2020 at 5:24 pm

That Civic turbo and G20 320i got same 184hp, but Civic got more space and boot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
          • Tun F on Jul 18, 2020 at 9:17 pm

Correction my dear. Civic turbo only 173hp and 220nm. How can that similar to this 320i.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Ben Yap on Jul 19, 2020 at 12:10 am

a 2017 F30 320i advertised in mudah about RM113K. a civic tcp from the same year is about RM94K. the difference is only RM20K. A 2015 civic 2.0 Navi is going for RM65K and a BMW 320i is going for as low as RM80K. that’s only RM15K difference. so isn’t the difference is so marginal? typically if a civic owner wants to buy a BMW 320i, he just have to top up a mere RM20K. Now u tell me, isn’t it worth it for the civic owner?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
        • autodriver (Member) on Jul 19, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Civic can’t produce the prestigious given by the BMW badge. If I were driving BMW why should I care about the resales value. Rest assure 90% of BMW owners are not giving a damn on resales value. If they care why should they buy beemer. Wake up man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • mr1031 on Jul 20, 2020 at 1:02 am

BMW owner buy beemer becoz free servis.

• TimeMachine on Jul 20, 2020 at 8:02 am

baru taw, BMW no resale value.
            but BMW owner havent wake up

• Badak on Jul 19, 2020 at 11:14 pm

If you can afford to buy and maintain, Then you can say all you want. Heck with your money, if you buy a Saga, is your money: but when you compare civic and bm, Is stupid to have that idea. Civic and BMW, when you’re at jockey’s spot, petrol station, 5 star hotel, who is getting more attention and service? Not saying civic type R. Is a great race car with brilliant tech. Btw I hate bmw cause I’m driving a merc. Hahahaha

• chiangth on Jul 20, 2020 at 9:41 am

Dude… you do know what cars doesn’t just come with an engine right? It comes with comfort, refinement and prestige.

If I can pay for a BMW for its comfort, refinement and prestige, what the heck is a Civic?

If you want to talk about resale value here, then I’m sure you’re barking up a very wrong tree here.

• Normally those that like to compare to the much cheaper jap cars and play down the Mercs and BMWs are those who can’t afford a Merc or a BMW. Just trying to justify their sorry bank account so that they can sleep better at night.

• BNR32 on Jul 20, 2020 at 11:52 pm

Don’t stress yourself over this nutjob, man. He’s clearly a mentally disturbed chimp that forgot his banana at lunch. That’s why he’s screaming all these incredible nonsense to rile up the audience. But, it also makes me kinda sad that you guys are giving him exactly what he wants: responses to his trolling.

Truth: As much as he champions the Civic’s virtues, he doesn’t own one, nor a Honda in general. I’d be surprised if he even knows what a BMW is, because next thing you know, he’d be comparing an Accord to a Mercedes-Maybach and say the Accord is a better buy in 5 years.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 18, 2020 at 12:32 am

Don’t forget to mention your Civic turbo is plagued with issues from that tiny 1500cc engine. Go read all the owner complaints on FB coming from the Civic and CR-V owners and soon to be the new Accord with that crap engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Ben Yap on Jul 19, 2020 at 12:14 am

You go to BMW Malaysia facebook page, there are complaints about BMW cars too. don’t be bias, BMW has problems too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
        • autodriver (Member) on Jul 19, 2020 at 4:30 pm

Are you serious comparing your Civic with 320i? Civic is not a bad car but it absolutely no way to compare with 320i. Which car you drive out got more face? I doubt leng lui will choose Civic over 320i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Ah beng ricer chooses civic. Leng lui choose 320i

• Ben yap ah loy on Jul 20, 2020 at 11:24 am

Why buy bmw where there are lots of quality issues? Rich does not need to get a german anyway. Just compare saving at bank account will do

• Vincent on Jul 20, 2020 at 12:25 am

I am not sure whats has gone wrong with your mind…you are comparing a Honda with BMW? Those can afford BMW will not even think of a Honda. Only those can afford civic will comparing withBMW. Thats alone explains your mind-set.

• Bmw best quality on Jul 20, 2020 at 11:20 am

Try ask X5 owner who are suffering with adaptive suspension. Dont believe, ask outside workshop you know.

• Kicak on Jul 18, 2020 at 2:42 am

Dude, there must something wrong why the heck honda price your civic 100k lesser than bmw. Your civic should be par with 320i imho. Anyway, you are the brightest here since you choose the right car with your budget. Those who purchased with additional 100k is really no brainer and wasted their additional 100k which you dont have in the 1st place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Jamus on Jul 18, 2020 at 11:39 am

A sunset orange g20 3 series will always catch more attention than a ketam civic.

• https://paultan.org/2017/11/09/fk8-honda-civic-type-r-launched-in-malaysia-rm320k/

Honda Civic Type R RM 320k.
        maybe malu2 bawa this RM100k badge…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Typical B40/M40 who can’t afford comments. Wait till you reach T20 then your mindset Along with the cars you own will change.

• Jessica L on Jul 18, 2020 at 12:25 pm

Spot on.
      USA selling more Japanese C segment than BMW 3

Despite Price difference only USD10k, not RM 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • Thrash civic on Jul 18, 2020 at 1:48 pm

1 second slower? You just did not count in the Lag time. With those lag time, you will eat dust from the beemer or merc. Nice try mate.

• Civic? Might as well save 80k and get the 1.5L myvi, same 1.5L engine capacity, get you from A to B point as well. on top of that, after 5 years, Myvi has a better resale value than Civic. Myvi is still a better buy according to your logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Tun F on Jul 18, 2020 at 9:19 pm

Oh boy.. Bmw is bmw.. Honda is still Honda. Hot chicks will surely look at dude in Beemer rather in that turbo problem in civic

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 18, 2020 at 12:40 am

BMW Malaysia nearly nailed this G20. I would rather have blind spot assist to warm me of any vehicles in my blindspot than the lane departure alert….but of course it would be best to have those two working together.

• Mr. there is blind spot assist, just not called a blind spot assist by BMW. Go do some research.

• 320i Owner on Jul 23, 2020 at 5:01 pm

I can confirm that the 320i not only have lane departure alert (steering vibrates), it also has active lane keep intervention (steering intervention). There is also blindspot warning where a small triangle on your side mirror flashes if there is an approaching object on your blindspot. For BMW it is called Lane Change Warning (LCW).

• tonghong on Jul 18, 2020 at 8:48 am

It’s good to know that BMW finally increased the legroom for the 3 series. For the previous versions, it felt rather crammed. This 320i balances the rather harsh suspension of the 330i. I think we have a winner here. Still thinking whether to get a japanese D-segment which is inherently more spacious and high on the specs compared this beemer which is a bit costlier to maintain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Free service dude on Jul 18, 2020 at 1:52 pm

5 years free service and warranty dude. Not notice? Service no need pay 5 year where is the maintain cost?

• Tun F on Jul 18, 2020 at 9:24 pm

Then the answer is obvious for you if the budget is your concern.

• Datuk on Jul 18, 2020 at 9:58 am

Is the push start button waterproof beside the gear?

That area prone for water pouring accidents.
    When drive thru tapau some Hot Starbucks… hmmm

• Tun F on Jul 18, 2020 at 6:57 pm

Good review dude hafriz. Can I ask? Didn’t you drive a class coupe right?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 18, 2020 at 7:01 pm

Yup a C200 Coupe.

• Tjbhuler75 on Jul 18, 2020 at 8:35 pm

Just out of curiosity how does the C200 coupe drives in terms of power delivery, pick up, steering feel and comfort?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 18, 2020 at 11:36 pm

As described in the video above. Overall not as dynamically able as the BMW G20.

• Tun F on Jul 18, 2020 at 9:09 pm

The exterior design of C class coupe still looks handsome than this G20.as for me, I would love to have both worlds which are design and superior driving dynamics. BTW, do bmw credit offered “agility financing” something like Mercedes credit?

• Pak Toh on Jul 18, 2020 at 6:59 pm

I feel that it’s either a 218i M or 330i M.
    320i S like a poor man BMW – doesnt have much to offer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jul 19, 2020 at 11:01 am

Although the 320i only has 6 speakers, the Burmester in the C300 W205 (which is a rung up on the 320i) is underwhelming, lacking in lows/bass. It’s OK if the music you listen to has no bass, ie vocals only. While I’ve not tried the 320i, I’ve listened to an older BMW with similar 6 speaker setup (4 full range speakers and 2 subwoofer), and it had way better sound quality than the W205’s Burmester. All in all, I agree with Hafriz on the fact that the 320i completely trounces the C200. If BMW Malaysia brought a Touring version (G21), it would be the perfect sporty family and cargo hauler.

• Curious on Jul 19, 2020 at 11:59 am

Any news when the 330e CKD might (if) hit our shores?

The f30 330e was amazing on paper and if they could translate it to the current g20 it would sell instantly

• Adrie on Jul 19, 2020 at 6:38 pm

Doesnt hold water to the stunning Volvo S60

• Contifan on Jul 20, 2020 at 8:57 pm

I wonder how the G20 compare to the newly launched 2020 C200 AMG Line with 2.0 engine?. Surely G20 is better….cause new model vs 6 year outgoing old model. But I wonder how much better?

• matjava on Jul 21, 2020 at 6:30 pm

I think owned a BMW is good, i.e. Banyak Masuk Wang..vs Merc. I owned a merc for 8 years , sometime the repair bill is no Mercy for uncle car.

• Edwin.C on Sep 06, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Just a shoutout guys, BMW Malaysia no longer offers 2 years Tyre Warranty.

Also if you didn’t know, the 5 years of Free Services = 5 Years or 100k KM, whichever comes first.