Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Volkswagen Golf GTI Un-pimp Your Ride

small_golf_gti.jpgThese are hilarious. A statement against riced-up “ah beng” pimped rides, and promoting the new Volkswagen Golf GTI in the USA at the same time. Thanks to cbljkkj for the pointer.

I’m trying out hosting the Flash videos myself instead of using Google Video or Youtube this time, so hopefully you can play these videos without any lag. Please leave some feedback on the streaming speed if possible. Videos are after the jump. There are 3 videos. Enjoy!

Volkswagen Golf GTI Test Drive Report

28 Comments »

1. marmitecrab said,

February 23, 2006 @ 3:06 pm

Video speed much better but the resolution is a little poor. Could be a smaller file but faster speed trade-off?

The videos are hilarious. Wonder if they used real cars or just outer shells? Looks like big budget ads.

The guy also looks like Peter Stormare who has done many movies (mainly as Russian). Last I can remember, he played that Russian cosmonaut in Armageddon, starring Bruce Willis. Latest movie was in Brothers Grimm.

Can’t make out the woman though. Looks a bit like Kelly Lynch of Charlie’s Angels (villian)

2. lance said,

February 23, 2006 @ 3:34 pm

Fast video loads! Thanx paul.

3. chuamike said,

February 23, 2006 @ 4:06 pm

Cool and funny ads :)

4. chuamike said,

February 23, 2006 @ 4:07 pm

These videos which u have uploaded are definitely much smoother flowing from those youtube ones :)

5. pycazu said,

February 23, 2006 @ 4:34 pm

These video definitely much faster than any others… but resolution have been sacrified though.
    yup, it’s hilarious, just like a soup opera. But, not to my taste i shall say, quite childish seem like. Honda - always the best…

6. cbljkkj said,

February 23, 2006 @ 4:58 pm

I live for this stuff!

7. bummerboy said,

February 23, 2006 @ 5:04 pm

no seeking? smooth thought the streaming

8. Wai said,

February 23, 2006 @ 5:04 pm

very fast loading, luvin it!

9. dominic said,

February 23, 2006 @ 5:07 pm

the streaming is good…no longer need to wait…

the ad was totally stupid, why dun try to do the same things to the VW Golf…see how good is the German Eng’rg….

10. cbljkkj said,

February 23, 2006 @ 5:46 pm

Why would they want to destroy the car that they are advertising?? At least it makes a point, would rather have a Golf GTI than one of those rice mobiles anyday.

11. OvaBoost said,

February 23, 2006 @ 8:23 pm

Glad the streaming is better….. the video kinda funny… we want mo plz!!

12. Ah-Ba said,

February 23, 2006 @ 8:52 pm

Oh ya……excellent speed.

13. gowin said,

February 23, 2006 @ 9:38 pm

cool……

14. city basher said,

February 23, 2006 @ 10:28 pm

Cool!. Definitely faster feed and absolutely hillarious. Good one Paul

15. Zongtwi a.k.a Speed Junkie said,

February 23, 2006 @ 10:59 pm

VW always make cool adverts. I recommend checking out the ‘Dancing in the rain’ and the ‘Small but tough Polo’ adverts.

16. aesthari said,

February 23, 2006 @ 11:55 pm

LOL! I like the ads, especially the last one when they fling the car around, omg that was so hilarious! Thanks Paul, and btw, the streaming speed has improved a lot!

17. HatukNgkau said,

February 23, 2006 @ 11:57 pm

wat the…!? that guy in white is seriously annoying!!!

18. Initial D said,

February 24, 2006 @ 12:22 am

i wish they could do this to malaysian cars too. advertise proton wira while destroying other ah beng wira. lol

19. Paul Tan said,

February 24, 2006 @ 1:55 am

I’m still working on the seeking.

20. paradoxx said,

February 24, 2006 @ 2:09 pm

ah..! finally stress free videos.. :)

german engineering in the house baby…!

21. rexis said,

February 24, 2006 @ 2:59 pm

Now thats some really kooool ads~iahh.

Love the catapult part… german engineering in the house~iahh! Baby..

22. Volkswagen Golf GTI “Fast” Documentary » said,

February 25, 2006 @ 9:03 am

[...] A 16 minute 17 seconds video of Volkswagen’s Fast campaign for the new Mk5 Volkswagen Golf GTI. Volkswagen says there is a “Fast” in all of us, which explains the adrenaline rush and excitement we get when we’re in rapid acceleration and speed. The GTI is positioned as a fast car for the fast in you, that requires no more modifications or pimping to provide the best sporty ride. [...]

23. ingolstadt said,

February 28, 2006 @ 2:13 pm

dominic said,
    February 23, 2006 @ 5:07 pm

the streaming is good…no longer need to wait…

the ad was totally stupid, why dun try to do the same things to the VW Golf…see how good is the German Eng’rg….

YOU ARE STUPID. THE ADS ARE WAY TOO COOL FOR YOU.

HERE’S AN AD FOR YOU :” Savvy …. BUILT TOUGH.” Now go! go stick this poster in your room … Vrrooomm Vrroomm ! ….

24. Ram Rash Advertisement » said,

March 4, 2006 @ 1:24 am

[...] An “interesting” video from Dodge’s new series of advertisements for the Dodge Ram. The campaign is known as “Ram Rash”. It really has NOTHING to do with the car it is advertising, but a whole lot different from Volkswagen’s Fast and Un-pimp Your Ride ads. Have a good weekend guys. [...]

25. NAP After-Effects: Volkswagen puts on hold Malaysia plans » said,

May 8, 2006 @ 10:48 pm

[...] Volkswagen AG has put a hold on it’s plans to introduce Volkswagen cars here through official channels in the Malaysian market. Back in February 2006, Volkswagen said it planned to introduce a total of 9 models here in Malaysia, beginning with low-end models like the Volkswagen Fox and the Volkswagen Polo. Down the pipeline will be more premium models like the Volkswagen New Beetle, the Volkswagen Golf GTI, the Volkswagen Jetta, the Volkswagen Passat and the Volkswagen Sharan MPV. These models are CBU models. [...]

26. Akazamabamaboo said,

August 10, 2006 @ 10:00 am

The “Rice Car” sub-culture in our country is an inevitable by-product of “The Fast and The Furious” and “Need For Speed Underground”.

27. YellowMellow said,

June 4, 2007 @ 2:00 am

Will go to Naza.. Want to see the ABT spec Rabbit tmwr..

28. YellowMellow said,

June 5, 2007 @ 1:28 am

Haiyoo.. The sales rep quoted me RM306K.. mmm.. I did check around, to mode the rabbit to ABT spec only cost about 20k plus re-map.. hehehe

previous post: Audi A8 4.0 V8 TDI excellent fuel economy
next post: Honda to develop Honda Fit Hybrid?

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!