BMW STW 2.0 Race Car putting out 280 horsepower

Have you ever wondered what it feels like to be a race car driver? This video will allow you to have a glimpse of what it’s like in the cockpit of a racecar during a race. This is a BMW STW race car driven by Rolf Van Os in the Dutch Supercar Series. It was built by BMW Motorsports and it’s normally aspirated engine puts out 280 horsepower.

You might be wondering what the high pitch whining noise is. According to the driver of the car (correspondence via e-mail) Rolf Van Os, that is the sound of the straight cut “dog box” gearbox spinning. Normal gears are curved so they do not make alot of noise. There is also some noise from the differential that is mounted without rubbers.

BTW, It’s pretty neat that Rolf’s surname Van Os sound so similiar to BMW’s Vanos. :P Thanks to Geert Pick for the pointer to the video. The video is about 7 minutes long.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kimberlycun (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:57 pm

best!

• kody (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 10:03 pm

wahlaueh…

sound like boiling hot water… the sharp tone creating ears iritating noise. The driver's helmet is help for safety & sound prove. If left long period of time until such high tone sure will get hearing problem.

He was the only one overtake others…. so fast…. but wonder why still line up at almost last position when starup???!! never go thru qualifing round…???

• dsaint (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 10:04 pm

hmm… not loading. 10 mins dy.

• dsaint (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 10:10 pm

oh, can dy… fscking shrill man.

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 10:13 pm

wwoooh… got this from racingflix quite quite long ago. aaah… the goold old memories…

few years back, i remember reading some US based forum arguing that the F1 loud V10 exhaust note isnt from the exhaust, but from the gearbox itself, just like in this video! but rest assured, f1 noise is from the exhaust, not gearbox whine.

• takpandaibawakkete (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:12 pm

huyyoo..

like the sound of that engine..like menjerit.. :))

the most 'bingit' engine sound lor..but nvm..

that sound i like…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:26 pm

Just like Ric Flair in WWE: There are "woo……." factor!

• lance (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:50 pm

This is a really good recording… my heart is still beating pretty fast!

• blazerSST (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 12:46 am

He cuts through the field as though the other were stationary.

• kenfresh (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 1:43 am

Strangely, I feel damn high listening to that.

That's my boy racer alter ego speaking.

K

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 2:36 am

The audience is now deaf! :D

I cannot stand that sound.

• neurra (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 2:46 am

gosh.. the tranny sure do have an irritating sound.. the engine sound is completely sunken

• izudeen (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 2:55 am

Gosh…

how many cars did it overtake??

looks like the car has both acceleration as well as top speed

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:32 am

like my driving when i was younger.. but less horsepower.. hehehe.. my friend used to call me Karamjit Singh.. i like to push anycar to the limit.. iswaran160kmp.. accord 2.2 210kmp… wira auto 110kmp.. hahaha.. poor those wira auto owners… car for popo…

• Jason (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:52 am

Wira 1.8 Auto can go up to 220KM/h. Btw, this car as if got nitro, overtake all those other cars so easy.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 4:03 am

i meant wira auto 1.5…

• stwmechanic (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 8:56 am

for starters don`t begin to talk about nitro it isn`t worth anything for a race car second of al the engine sound is louder dan the gearbox but you have to be ouside the car jou can hear the in take. and also we were we back there because of we messt op the qual race so we have to start back there but the care isn`t pertecialy fast on straights but has to have it from its cornering speed and for the one`s that can`t understand mij name i am a mechanica form the race team that races with this car also checkout www.supercarchallenge.nl to see rolf van os race in a bmw compact 2.8.

• antaras (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 10:23 am

oh my!!! the sound!!! this reminds me of the Japan Super GT. There's this Porsche… well, it was a good few years back then… ahahha… anyway, the sound is really deafening!!! Similar to this… but this is, as mentioned here, the sound of the straight cut "dog box" gearbox! man… how i wish to have one in my car! hahaha…

Anyway, just look at the way he cuts trough the field! Damn! He's like driving the Escudo in Gran Turismo!!! Well, later on the video you can see that the car lack top speed but i must say the cornering speed of this monster is really quite something!!! Thumbs up for the video!

• KA sitiawan (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 1:56 pm

european cars have always been outstanding on track/cornering.

their handling capability are second to none.

cars like the M5,911 carrera and exige were unbeatable in their corner entry/exit speed.

er….about that whining sound,dont assume that if it sounds great,it must be powerfull..!!!

( im not saying that this BMW isnt powerfull eh… )

• Jason (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 4:53 pm

Hehe, about the nitro i was just kidding. It was so similar to NFS Underground when drag race. Fast!

• waimak (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 4:56 pm

I like his driving style.. although ada off circuit a bit..

• superman (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 5:27 pm

Kody,

Race drivers are advised and in certain regs it's compulsory to use ear plugs. and the balaclava + helmet does muffle the noise from reaching the ear drums.

The "whining" sound is due to the straight-cut nature of the gears as opposed to Helical-cut gears of Road cars.

KA sitiawan,

When it come to Race Cars, set up (suspension, tyres) make the car corner the way it does. Nothing to do with being Japanese or European.

• terenceloh (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 7:13 pm

Paul let us enjoy a nice video. Just enjoy lar. Why want to debate???

• El Goodoo (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 7:22 pm

Paul, any review of the new york auto show? saw they launched the new hyundai elantra…. the shape looks like an altis to me….. wat is it with hyundai?? first, the old sonata they copy jaguar, then new sonata looks like accord, now new elantra looks like an altis… no originality , just cut n paste.

• kody (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 7:52 pm

wahlaueh…

El Goodoo, atleast Hyundai is aggressiely changing their products outlooks to attract potential customers & follow current trend. Even it looks like copy others but if really has the quality & look. i think consumers are not mind to support them.

• Paul Tan on Apr 14, 2006 at 8:29 pm

Please don't talk about Hyundai here. lol.

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 15, 2006 at 1:26 am

I especially love video taken from onboard camera! Plus the sounds it made my heart pumping like mad! Lol! That's one hell of a ride. I must say that this BMW is powerful as you can see the driver 'signalling' with his hand eveytime he passes cars that's in his way. He must be a good driver too!

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Apr 15, 2006 at 10:42 pm

What on earth is that super high pitch sound?? U can hear the engine at the back, but that high pitch thingy?? wats that?

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Apr 15, 2006 at 11:15 pm

Ooopz.. obviously, i didnt see the dogbox part.. sowee.. wonder how it works though.. =)

• justin_vspec (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 5:45 am

Oh straight cut gearboxes..The sound..The experience..The price..Hahaha..Sat in a friend's EK3 with 1st,2nd and 3rd straight cut gears..Simply amazing!! Very cool video btw paul..=D

• Paul Tan on Apr 20, 2006 at 9:43 pm

BTW, if you guys want to experience straight cut gear sounds, just shift your manual gearbox car into reverse gear. You'll hear the same whine! :P

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 6:57 pm

how come this guy is like racing with baby boys? almost passing all in less than 7 minutes?

• Dirty South TV on Mar 15, 2009 at 1:00 am

We would like to buy this car, and this is not a joke. If anyone knows any of the current owners or race team, please have them contact us. This car is perfect.

GMC

President and CEO

Dirty South TV