New Toyota Corolla debuts in Europe

neweurocorolla1.jpg

Toyota’s mini Camry – the new Toyota Corolla has made it’s European debut at the Helsinki Motor Show 2006 in Finland. While we’ve already seen this Corolla when it made it’s world debut at the Beijing Motor Show not too long ago, these photos are probably the first that show clearly the interior of the new car. As previously mentioned, the sedan Corolla will continue to keep it’s name, while the hatchback has been reincarnated as the Toyota Auris.

Toyota seems to have taken a leaf out of Volvo’s design book with the new Corolla’s silver floating center console panel. It’s a good thing the car has a drastically new interior as that’s where you’ll be spending most of your time in, because the exterior looks like a mere evolution of the old Corolla Altis we have running around our streets.

More photos after the jump.

2007 Toyota Corolla Axio launched in Japan
New Toyota Corolla Altis preview at Beijing 2006
Toyota Auris announced

neweurocorolla2.jpg

neweurocorolla3.jpg

neweurocorolla4.jpg

neweurocorolla5.jpg

neweurocorolla6.jpg

neweurocorolla7.jpg

neweurocorolla8.jpg

neweurocorolla9.jpg

neweurocorolla10.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 9:32 pm

I'm sick of this!!! When it comes to Malaysia, the Manual version is always not available!!!

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 9:32 pm

oh its damn good to be european…

• Charger (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 9:33 pm

Funny! There's actually a handle for the driver's side.

I wished my car has one too.

• drM (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 9:41 pm

good looking Camry..opss..Corolla..hehehehe

Europe market dont have Sat-Nav? I thought they love that thing?

head on is Camry but they retain the bottom, which is good. hehehehe

• Paul Tan on Dec 05, 2006 at 9:50 pm

there's a hint of peugeot in the rear bumper too.

• chrymnd (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 9:59 pm

wau..very nice this car……dunno come to Malaysia will how much…..swt…haha…

• Igloo (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 10:11 pm

It looks like Camry that has just launched! Interior design is clean and neat. This is another mini Camry. But it rocks…

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 10:21 pm

This is an elegant looking sedan, and I'm so glad they left the wood out of the interior. Are those holes in the rear bumper for reflectors or dual exhaust tips?

• Paul Tan on Dec 05, 2006 at 10:23 pm

reflectors

• xg9 (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 10:36 pm

damn nice!! always been a fan of toyota…. too bad, can only buy it after 2010..

• demio121 (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 10:44 pm

seems like Toyota now have design language. Lexus and Toyota all have the same bend and curve. This is like a miniature Camry. Anyway, glad that the new launches is better looking (inside out) then the outgoing model.

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 11:12 pm

It looks better than the old Corolla Altis… though it looks like a mini Camry. Agree with Igloo: The interior looks neat and clean too. Again, it's all about one's preferences. Design cues-wise, it got lovely curves here and there. Not the old plain-look Toyotas.

I like this one. Wonder how much is the price if it comes to our shore.

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 11:32 pm

oh it doesn't have that signals on the side mirrors too, bet to differ from the current trend I guess.

• derrickchai (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 11:46 pm

I love this car!!!!! Hopefully by the time Toyota brings in this new Altis to Malaysia, i have saved enough money to place my booking strait away..

• kuntakinte (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 12:28 am

toyota always playing it safe, design-wise. For this gen, the Civic wins hands-down

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 12:56 am

yup. the corolla is clearly looking at an older target segment compared to the civic which is younger in looks.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 1:20 am

interior looks alot like the mazda 6….with the big fat knob domination center dash….it wil probably be a good car bt seriously thrs noting wow abt it…horribly boring to look at…i dont like the new front nose design…farm pigs with buldging nose comes to mind!

• bpkid (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 1:23 am

i think the manual version of this european corolla uses diesel engine, right?

• RM (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 1:45 am

Don't like the the nose and front which looks like its bolted on.

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 1:58 am

is it just me or does the back look a lil 'kemek'?

hee hee….

• Initial D (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 2:56 am

agree………….the front looks kinda ………..low like the old honda iron city. or maybe the front back height balance design nt so gd ………….anyway, still sum fresh look though.

• J (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 3:22 am

OK guys… let shout to UMW Toyota Malaysia to bring this in immediately. We want one !! (each)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 3:46 am

Yet another the best Corrola from Toyota. Any indicative price, Paul?

• demio121 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 3:49 am

the more i look at the new corolla the more i think its not entirely new. The design show some clue of the outgoing Corolla. the C-Pillar looks almost the same and also the high door/window line on the door.

• kakimotor (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 4:01 am

Toyota should take Lexus IS and rebadge it as Corolla like what they did with Lexus RX to Harrier. Guarantee can beat Civic down to earth. This new Corolla only can attract uncle to buy..

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 4:02 am

Dull…

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 7:31 am

The front and rear bumper reminds me of IS200 / IS350, and the whole design looks like a current but mini version camry, woo, I always like IS200…

I like this toyota altis, can we get it a 2008, cannot wait ?

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 8:02 am

rear bump looks bigger.. good la… may be can stand minor impact… the front grile look like Belta… yeah, always no manual trans. in msia… dunno why.. maybe play safe for sales strategy.. thx to NAP.. but VVTI and super ECT work best together… they r set for efficient drive.. no need to worry about FC, just drive and press the pedal gently, sure will safe petrol… price?? ermm.. they r still worth to buy, eventhough u have to make patriotic contribution, again….

ps: Toyota mmg best, they really understand drivers…..

• armandd (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:21 am

the new civic looks much better..

• sloth (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:23 am

raptorclans said,

December 5, 2006 @ 5:58 pm

is it just me or does the back look a lil ‘kemek’?

hee hee….

————————————–

hehehhe.. yer laa.. kinda weird.

I think this is the Flame Surfacing (ala BMW) toyota style hehhehe…

So almost 'everyone' is here already – Civic, Corolla, 3

just waiting for the new Lancer and Sentra (tho I think Latio is good enough).

Paul, why we didnt get Latio here?

• ingolstadt (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 10:04 am

The rear is hideous, what are they trying to do? just leave it clean, wats up with the two wide apart red nostrils??!?

The interior is spot on, try compare to a IS250's interior…. i think this looks more upmarket, appropriate for a sports sedan. :)

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 2:47 pm

Too bad the same price we pay for corolla in malaysia, can get IS250 invoice price USD 27k + 8.25 tax, suck man….

No wonder, it is called taxland…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 4:53 pm

kakimotor…

lexus IS is called altezza for toyota…

dis car okla..but not hv a great looks…if compare with euro civic…d civic hd a lot better looking than dis one…in term of driving dynamic and tech…toyota ma…alwiz good…

• shaun (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:06 pm

This corrolla has hints of Lexus IS everywhere which is sort of a good thing.

kakimotor, i don't think that will happen because that was the problem Lexus is still trying to get rid of. They don't want the perception of a Lexus being an upmarket Toyota sticking to their brand anymore.

• cyber (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:58 pm

What happened to Lexus in Malaysia? I thougth they are launching a 3S center here this month – selling Lexus?

• Igloo (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 6:41 pm

cyber, you just got to be patient. It's only beginning of Dec right now, i bet every dollar that UMW is gearing up their launch as soon as possible. Wonder how they would position Lexus vs Toyota. a class higher of course. but imagine lexus IS and camry… just a different badge. i've heard you could go Naza & buy a harrier, just top up another 500 bucks and you get it named lexus. I wonder how… i wonder why?

Is this the first country to have both brands together? As i understand the reason for Lexus badge is to launch it in euro or US so that the people could easily accept it. Just like honda is called acura. looking at honda malaysia's line up… it will definitely take a long time for honda to consider bringing in acura… maybe 10 to 15 years later?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 6:47 pm

sloth said,

December 6, 2006 @ 1:23 am

"So almost ‘everyone’ is here already – Civic, Corolla, 3

just waiting for the new Lancer and Sentra (tho I think Latio is good enough).

Paul, why we didnt get Latio here?

….."

THe Canadian market already has the New Sentra for the past half year. Paul, if you dont mind, you can go to the canadian site www.canadiandriver.com and see if you can use thier source of pictures of the 2007 Sentra. Nissan is however a small player in M'sia, as we are still missing thier best cars, like the Maxima, Altima, and Versa/Note as well as 'properly' imported Murano which are only available here as grey imports.

THe only one missing from the play ground is the new Lancer, which we should be seeing soon anyway.

However, it is still uncertain how the North American Corolla (Altis) will look like or will it be the same as the Euro Corolla, which historically have been significanly different.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 6:58 pm

"Igloo said,

December 6, 2006 @ 10:41 am

Is this the first country to have both brands together? As i understand the reason for Lexus badge is to launch it in euro or US so that the people could easily accept it. Just like honda is called acura. looking at honda malaysia’s line up… it will definitely take a long time for honda to consider bringing in acura… maybe 10 to 15 years later? "

————

Its not as simple as that. I used to live in a country that has both Honda/Acura and Toyota/Lexus in the market, many times even sharing the same dealership and showroom floor.

Customers are attracted to the content of the cars, in which those with luxury brands may have options of higher content/options than thier cousins. Luxury brands usually have better after sales support (ie, better service, loaner cars when your car is in service, better warranty, 24hr breakdown support..etc). Think about flying Business class instead of Economy and you pretty much get the idea. Its still the same plane.

Lexus and Acura has been trying very hard to differenciate thier cars from the regular brands with Lexus being the more successfull of the 2.

This kind of format will not work well with the kiasu attitude of Malaysians. Will you buy a Toyota (lexus) if you can buy a BMW for the same money? Case in point would you buy a VW Pheaton for Benz S-class money when the VW is a better car? How would they sell luxury brands when even a regular Accord or Camry is considerd "Luxury" by many folks, where the same car everywhere else is just a regular economy family sedan.

• cyber (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 7:24 pm

I have seen the Lexus IS250 at the Bangkok Exhibition earlier and it is definitely much better than Camry – a different class of its own. Singapore has been selling this likes hot cakes – outselling BMW and Merc. Based on Singapore price range – the IS250 should be price similar to our BMW 320 series i.e. around RM230K range, but you are gettting a V6 with the similar functions and features of a BMW 325 model.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:23 pm

This looked like a face lift of the current Altis. I think the current looks better. Is Toyota trying to do a "Bangle"???

Igloo,

Lexus was created as a Luxury brand to diffentiate it from the "regular" Toyota and was marketed in USA. As an up market product, they started sales and service centers that provided the best customer service, which earned them 1st placing for many years. This helped them sell so many cars that they decided to expand the Lexus brand back to Japan and then to selected countries in Europe and Asia.

Acura was created after seeing the runaway success of Lexus. They are still pretty much confined to the US but I know some models have been "exported" to Japan coz I've seen some right hand drive MDX here. So, no chance of seeing Acura setup shop here.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 10:09 pm

of course ma IS is much better…i rather choose IS than d org tue 3 er n c class…saw it at naza…really good n damn nice…btw…everybody…go to naza showroom…u can see d maserati mc12…damn nice…n d enzo too…

• renyeo (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 10:17 pm

Just read about a road review on Honda's FCX in this week UK Autocar and this fuel cell powered production-ready car looks very promising.

I have a good feeling Honda is going in the right direction in terms of design and technology. Looking at the FCX, you can identify with Honda's new styling theme seen in recent Honda models such as the Odyessy, Civic and the New CR-V. New Hondas are so avant-garde and futuristic-looking that makes Toyota's New Corolla somewhat looks like a 90s carried forward model :)

Honda's fuel-cell engine makes you think whether did Toyota make a wrong move on its hybrid program after all these years.

• renyeo (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 10:20 pm

Honda started its fuel cell program in 1999 simultaneously with its hybrid program but decided not to go full speed ahead with hybrid and instead focused its effort on fuel of the future: fuel cell. Now they are one step ahead of Toyota to roll out a mass-produced fuel cell powered car.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 11:08 pm

looks like a 20% melted Altis(current)…

front plain… (camry + vios)

side ok… but i don't know how to discribe its rear…

interior, sama saje, toyota aje

tapi jgn datang dulu, tunggu aku cukup $ aje datang lah…

masa tu, ku akan beli 8th Civic(facelift) atau Lancer '08…

• J (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 2:59 am

Can anyone tell why Toyota is regarded as most sellable and most reliable Japanese brandname in car industry ? (as you see reports from magazine, newspaper..etc)

Is it proven ? Do you have bad experience with Toyota ?

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 10:15 pm

J,

so far i have no bad exp. with my toyota (vios).. after i own it, i am amazed how VVTI work, along with it's super ECT auto trans… the rpm always set low, but pick up won't dissappoint u, eventhough 4 speed, u can't feel it, no jerk & still can accelerate at high speed (but u need to know how to do it) & its only 1.5… i can't imagine how smooth it'll be for 2.0 & above VVTI's engine wud perform, but sure mesti best punya.. i am not so rich, but wudn't mind to buy one if can afford one… just 1 thing la.. too many toyotas out there, still a few service centre.. but their post purchase service is very good, selalu send letters to me.. i feel gud la.. eventhough i know, vios is only a budget car in other countries.. (accept BodXXXland)… conclusion, VVTI is not the best tech nowadays.. but it really work, toyota has enhance their engine capabily with VVTI…. of coz, honda has it own story….

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:03 am

Damn fugly, old dated design….i think they really playing it safe with the styling of the cars so that it will beloved by an older age segment ( or old at heart ) …..Civic is way much better in terms of styling ( but purchase decision is not based on design/styling alone….)

just to share an experience from my uncle who just bought a new Camry:

– Ride n Handling………macam taik, just like Kia Spectra, i tried to langgar a few uneven paveway- result very dissapointing

– Power window noise ( driver side )…..sometimes stuck if it rains…

– Acceleration……….so so…..

– aircond – thumbs up……instant chill, plasmacluster system ( if im not mistaken )

– sound system – average ( need extra cabin insulation )

– interior cabin design:

= some of it is really outdated, our own jinjangjoe accessories designer can do better, espcially the center console ( damn jinjang i told u……..)

= some of the plastics part is of Iswara quality……..but the way the installation is done really makes it look mahal…..

= 1 thing really caught my eye is the meter combi……….damn teknologi world war 2, but they manage to make it looks like it is a 3d new design….

– my credit goes to the exterior design – the first Camry that praise my sight…

Thats the strength of Toyota, minimalist in every way, capturing the heart and mind of normal ppl/driver. For a more serious driving enthusiast, Civic, 3 series, A class, Mazda 3, Subaru Legacy are a better bet……

Afterall, its just another Toyota, people will still buy it no matter what it is. ( eg. Avanza )

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:05 am

aramak, forgot one thing, their service centre is damn good one…….should be set as benchmark to other makes/brands…………really customer friendly……….

if angry customer come, most sure he will go back smiling……….

• pinoybeho (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:07 am

Dear Mr. Tan,

I presently own a 2003 Toyota Altis 1.8G and a 2005 Camry 3.0G. Last Dec.2, a friend of mine met an accident along a highway near my home at about 1:00am. He was driving a 2005 Camry too and was about to descend to make an exit when he saw a construction site with a flagman hailing him down. He hit and killed the poor flagman and his car careened to the guardrail and back and crashed to a stop. He was brought to the nearest hospital and transferred to a better hospital but expired six hours after because of skull fracture, collapsed lungs and broken ribs. There were six airbags but none helped him survived. The Camry was all leather padded interior and yet he was killed by the accident. He was negative on drugs and alcohol and yet the car was uncontrollable and unsafe. Are these safety crash tests an advertising gimmick or is it just a Transportation Department requirement? I am selling my cars after the holidays and change to something safer perhaps.

• triplesaber (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:03 am

designwise, not sure to like it or not, specially if viewed sideways, seems like it's forever shadowed by civic..

pinoybeho= sorry about what happend to your friend. Accidents r unpredictable, u can put all money-can-buy safety gadgets in there, but still Princess Diana and Dodi Al Fayed were killed in a millionaire's Merc. It happens in a way that no one could stage..

..but at least, its better to have six airbags than none. Perhaps it wasnt his day..

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 3:47 am

"I am selling my cars after the holidays and change to something safer perhaps…"

Ohh… and what is that??. may i suggest Adnan tanks??

Come on lah.. don't talk about death la… very subjective… when time is up, in anyway still can die one.. change ur car to avoid death??… ok, u can give a shoot.. but for ur info, there's no car built with no-death warranty, yet. Even the superior Abraham tanks… did u watched Final Destination?

ps: Best warranty, is the driver himself… bcoz a man can live till the end of his life, died bcoz of natural sickness, & he drove only a kancil….. but up to u la want to sell ur car… u can call me oso….

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 8:22 am

Btw, pinoybeho, u sound like very rich la, can change cars like change shirt one, it is very funny for someone who dislike toyota, but own 2 toyotas? & want to sell ur camry 2005? let me repeat what u say "I am selling my cars after the holidays…" r u sane man?? or u r just insane & making up story.. or u r a honda salesman?? heheh just kidding….

ps: if it true, u mmg kayalah…. but i own 3 cars actually a vios, a city & a civic 2004, my frens told me ori set of auto gear (honda city) wud cost me near RM20k, so like u, i too want to sell my hondas after the holidays…..ooopps, i just made up a story…..

• J (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 2:24 am

Hello "Motherhead", thanks for sharing your experience in your VIOS la. It is indeed a very nice car. Best seller almost everywhere in this region. Choice cannot be wrong :)

I heard that City CVT not so robust ? If true, then I am not sure about the new Toyota Corolla. Bec it says the new gearbox is the CVT type.

• altis_fan (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 8:55 pm

I wanna buy this new corolla. Who wanna buy my old car, pls inform….

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:41 am

J,

no prob man… I think that's why vios can stay in the market quite some time without so many changes… don't know much about city… gear mmg canggih.. 7 speed, like tiptronic… but watch out the gear repair cost.. my fren told me, it'll cost u ur legs….

the most important thing go test drive & study the system.. if u ve bought a toyota let me know, ok?

• ozone (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 2:32 am

ugly design…especially rear veiw….prefer the old altis tho..