Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Volkswagen Golf GT wins Barcelona award

Golf GT Sport Blue

The Volkswagen Golf GT is quickly becoming a favourite with the automotive world, heck, even I wish I could lay my hands on one, and the little boost meter on the top right of this blog is actually from the Golf GT’s dashboard meter panel.

The engine requires no introduction - the highest end of the TSI engine family that makes 170 horsepower and a peak torque of 240Nm thanks to the use of a supercharger and turbocharger for the low and top ends of the rev range.

The latest award to be received by Volkswagen for the Golf GT is the Barcelona International Motor Show Awards, of which more than 100 automotive projects compete for to win the honour of the “best technological innovation of the year.”

14 Comments »

1. ingolstadt said,

June 16, 2007 @ 8:15 pm

They should then scrap that boring looking, lousy performing 1.6 101hp Golf.

2. Paul Tan said,

June 16, 2007 @ 8:22 pm

It is being scrapped. The 1.6 Golf will be replaced by the 1.4 Turbo Golf, the new engine without supercharger.

3. kei9 said,

June 16, 2007 @ 8:55 pm

and the look is new too……

4. LittleFire85 said,

June 16, 2007 @ 11:26 pm

Yeah new lights and new grill.. the grill look like our P1 new waja facelift… Hmm… coincident?

5. Capt Shopalot said,

June 16, 2007 @ 11:42 pm

Way to go

6. waja_fr3ak said,

June 17, 2007 @ 12:26 am

yeahz tatz it my dream car…simply luv it GTi..hope i cpould own 1 in future :)

7. transformer said,

June 17, 2007 @ 9:05 am

SUPER COOL !

with Super+Turbo, fuel are burned more effeciently…. lesser fuel going to exhaust and just lesser fuel for the same amount af torque!

8. PTAllTheBest said,

June 17, 2007 @ 9:15 am

r u sure?

9. kei9 said,

June 17, 2007 @ 12:26 pm

get a secondhand GTi…and redo it like thins…sweet!

10. mmcwei said,

June 17, 2007 @ 1:02 pm

hope this model will come to malaysia with proton badge…haha…1.6 FSi enough liao…dun expect too much…

11. kei9 said,

June 17, 2007 @ 4:50 pm

mmcwei…sound so excited……..

12. topgunthang said,

June 17, 2007 @ 10:21 pm

need to test drive one first. its too close in price to the gti

the gti delivers much more torque at about 1800 upwards. and a better steering wheel. very tough choice for buyers.

13. raybrig85 said,

June 17, 2007 @ 11:18 pm

uuurrrggghh….im getting boring wit dis golf…

14. chrisbangle said,

June 19, 2007 @ 6:53 am

Errr..that’s a GT, not the GTi.

previous post: New Toyota-Isuzu turbodiesel engine plant
next post: Volkswagen Touareg 3.6 V6 FSI Facelift in Malaysia

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!