Toyota Noah with Valvematic engine!

One of the first few cars to feature Toyota’s new Valvematic engine has been unveiled – the new generation Toyota Noah (and it’s more aggressively-styled cousin the Toyota Voxy). The Toyota Noah is a 7 seater compact MPV positioned as a C-segment MPV, similiar to the Toyota Wish. It’s competitors include the Honda StepWGN and the Nissan Serena.

We now have some official output numbers for the first Valvematic engine. The 3ZR-FAE 2.0 litre Valvematic engine puts out 158 PS at 6200rpm, 196Nm at 4,400rpm, and goes 14.2km per litre of fuel used. A non-Valvematic engine is also available – the 3ZR-FE that outputs 143 PS at 5,600rpm and 194Nm of torque at 3,900rpm and goes 13.4km per litre of fuel. CO2 emissions for the Valvematic engine is also lower at 164k/gm compared to the 173g/km figure of the non-Valvematic engine.

Compared to Toyota’s previous flagship 2.0 litre, the new 3ZR engine without Valvematic makes less power – 143 PS versus 147 PS, but the Valvematic 3ZR makes more power – 158 PS vs 147 PS. More details on the new 3ZR-FAE and 3ZR-FE: it is a 1,986cc inline-4 DOHC engine, has a bore and stroke of 80.5mm x 97.6mm, and it’s compression ratio is 10.0:1.

More photos after the jump.

Toyota reveals Valvematic technology

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rugaxp (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:17 am

is valvematic taken/buy from other car manufacture? because it just doesn't sounds right for Toyota to use this type of naming for their technology except is influence or directly brought in from other company.

like Honda they uses the name like VTEC->i-VTEC->A-VTEC

so for Toyota they also using something like VVT-i,VVTL-i ..and now Valvematic?

sounds like something from Mercedes

• armandd (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:29 am

wish i could get the torque/power vs rpm graph of the engine. hmm, i wonder why they couldn't think of another name for an MPV..

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:43 am

just give us another celica engine to rival honda's four bangers. esp the 166kw (2.0 litre or 2.4 litre?) in the jdm civic type r minus some for japan's fuel advantage.

• rugaxp (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:12 am

to simplified it,Valvematic means putting VVT-i on both intake and exhaust valve.which naming maybe to be DVVT-i(Dual) but DVVT naming is used by Daihatsu.

Valvematic is using Continuous Variable Valve Timing and Lift on both ex. and in. valve which now can control the lift timing and duration of the valve opening and closing and perfect overlapping of the valve can be fully control in a radius of angle by advancing or retarding the exhaust and intake valve.

thats why it doesn't need a throttle valve because everything has be control fully by the valve system itself,this technology is similar to CVT gearbox where theres infinite sets of gear ratios that is perfectly varies for the engine speed and load,for this it means it has infinite sets of camshaft that varies on engine load and speed on intake and exhaust that matches in a way to boost the efficiency of the engine power,consumption and emission.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 11:10 am

i think an increase of just 15hp between valvematic and non-valvematic is not enough for a mpv. but i didnt say useless.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 11:32 am

i tink this engine is made for upcoming EU tough CO2 emmisions rather than outright power…..torque figures are almost same…only horsepower thrs a significant increase….bt that only shows in high speed driving…which in a car like the Noah,is useless !…..btw strange name for a car….

• transformer (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 12:13 pm

quite confusing, nowadays there are so many technological things inside car…

things appeared in engine are getting more and more complex…

from mecha till electronics..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 3:34 pm

nice job, now when will this reach here…

• Auto Fans (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 5:07 pm

This car new facelifted? Will this car coming soon 2 malaysia? Nice car design better than nissan n honda…

• mmcwei (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 5:46 pm

valvematic…new technology…it should be something like VVTL-i right? 2ZZ-GE in celica also got valvematic…the valves lift when it reaches about 6700rpm…from there, you will stick on the chair!

• kucau (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 5:56 pm

erkk the engine is good BUT the MPV is fugly. i wonder what happen when u put proton batch on this MPV. :)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 6:09 pm

Agree that the design is suck, look like locomotive engine! Anyway, no way the tiger head have a chance to put on this car. Perodua, likely but still remote!

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 6:14 pm

this engine still use the same system as other car manufacturer,nothing to suprise.hmm..sighs..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 6:23 pm

I prefer the new serena compare to this.. The new serena highway star of Japan look like mini algrand, while this look likes mini alphard.. I hate alphard.. The valvematic is more to the BMW vanos… While Nissan still using CVTC, which is VVT cam on each intake and ekzos cam… So if compare technology, Toyota valvematic is sure better, but the torque not improve a lot.. for a MPV or SUV, torque must be higher for better..

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 6:41 pm

nice look and engine creation! ermm… the first shot makes me feel the face of the van is like a transformers face… hehe, very cool indeed… unfortunately, does every toyota MPV (xcept wish) should have centre metre display??? and the beige interior turns me down… too bad for the interior…

• J (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:34 pm

Looks good lah.

Is it coming or just showing the new engine only :)

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:51 pm

dun have an idea on this engine……..

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:29 pm

ugly but good engine i suppose

• szw (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 10:23 am

so boxy

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 4:23 pm

guest this front design samiley like the suzuki soliod it is ??? the front part only …. erm valvamatic ~ make ppl confuse only … NOAH ….. can ride when is flood ~ ? but it can bring many passengers ….

• gepochai (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 4:56 pm

noah is a character from the holy bible, who built a huge ark that carried his family and a whole lot of animals during the great flood. the ark was better known as noah's ark. i guess they used the name because the spaciousness of the car. :)

• jamsbong (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 7:16 pm

I think valvematic is the chosen name rather than some name related to vvt-i is because toyota wants to tell us they have gotten a completely new technology. Which is true. Although, a name like Valvemate VVT-I will be better I think.

I donno about you guys, I find this car is ugly. the car looks like a huge hippo on skateboard wheels. The inside of the car should be very comfortable, I've been in mitsubishi Delica before and it was very comfortable. So I expect that level of creature comfort if not more.

• cssFan (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 9:48 pm

plain ugly..

the first pic looks cool because it only shows the front part of the mpv.. once you see the whole pic of the mpv.. you will go aiyoh!!! so boxxy like a shoe box.. toyota wish was a beauty.. i hope they are not replacing wish with this noah! :(

• drM (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:06 am

toyota noah?

but this is huge.

noah ark?

LOL

• kanazai2001 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:59 am

ironic… isn't it?!

new engine tech but apply in a VAN… XP

• raptorclans (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:35 am

pretty cool looking van… very aggressive, a lil like a bigger bB…

when are we seeing valvematics on our shores? :D

• cssFan (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:29 pm

i agree with kanazai and raptorclan..

if noah is marketed as a van.. it looks great! but as n MPV.. it looks like a moving shoe box! =P

• One3rd_guy (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 12:36 pm

Pity Toyota, i guess they are running short of ideas.

I guess their new designers are from Toys"R"Us. :P

• rasta on May 07, 2010 at 6:59 am

they say that the d4 machines aren’t good
    coulth any one explaine voor me???

• kabenge Richard on Sep 01, 2010 at 5:56 pm

i want to know how murch is a toyota noah 2007 it looks good and i want it for my family i live in uganda

• taazkir on Apr 28, 2011 at 6:32 pm

I’ve bought this car and it is very good….the engine’s got good power and its totally soundproof….riding this car is very comfortable….and its better from the nissan serena

• taazkir, how much did you buy for your Noah? who can sell it in Malaysia?

• kashyap on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:46 pm

anyone to tell me if i can put the new valvematic engine in my toyota noah because my engine is dead and its 2ltre engine causing alot of expenses… any1 to help me out

• I have one in Barbados very good, I love it, Toyota anytime

• Makeover on Dec 17, 2012 at 7:12 pm

It’s going to be finish of mine day, however before end I am reading this fantastic article to increase my know-how.

• anthony on Apr 02, 2017 at 4:14 am

my car boar has a problem of not increasing the speed over 60 km per hour.I changed the engine from none valvamatic to valvamatic aftrr it knocked but didn’t change the computer .what could be the problem.

• matiya on Aug 28, 2022 at 4:20 pm

i love my Toyota vozy with 3ZR FAE engine , how power and fast pick up ,in highways roads am about to reach 160km/h ,with smooth ride ,