Sabah government dumps Perdana for Volvos!

Volvo S80

Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Haji Aman says his government has switched from the Proton Perdana V6 Executive to new “black Volvo 2.5” cars as the state’s new official cars. Once again as with Perak (Camry) and Terengganu (Mercedes-Benz E200K), the reason given was the high maintenance cars for the Perdanas.

He says the arrangement for the purchase is through a company called Angkatan Hebat Sdn Bhd (a company which the state government holds 70% of through its Warisan Harta Sabah Sdn Bhd investment arm), which will then lease the cars to the state.

The Perdana V6 is still in use as official cars for some senior officers including permanent secretaries and heads of departments. The new imported Volvos are for the 12 Sabah Ministers only. A 2.5 litre Volvo sedan would most likely point to the Volvo S80, the 2.5T model in particular, which offers an effortless drive thanks to its torquey 2.5 litre inline-5 turbocharged engine. The Volvo S80 2.5T has also been spotted being used by the PDRM as part of its police car fleet. But if it is not a sedan (New Sabah Times sources only revealed it was a “car”, did not specify any bodyshape), an XC90 would make sense.

The only question right now is, how will the S80s be maintained well when according to the Volvo Cars Malaysia “Find A Dealer” page, there are no authorised dealers or service centers in Sabah? I hope Volvo Cars Malaysia will be able to provide training to Angkatan Hebat technicians or some other kind of arrangement, otherwise it might end up being “high maintenance” all over again. A quick check with Angkatan Hebat’s company profile (page 14) shows it already maintains a fleet of 38 Volvos and 14 service centers around Sabah so hopefully it should be sufficiently equipped.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:10 am

where is kegawatan ekonomi?

are they really happen?

• chee89 (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:18 am

i think Sarawak should also change too..

since we contribute so much to the country's economy, i should say maybe… MAYBACHS?!?!

what the hell is this country into?!

• HMMaster (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:19 am

even the local government is not supporting the buatan malaysia campaign. >_>

• delos3nos (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:55 am

Minister who know how to enjoy and blame on others

Tukar gaya hidup this is what they say and at the end they do something else

Minister great job and great bull too

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:58 am

In Sabah, we don't experience any kegawatan. We don't experience it here. I'm Sabahan and live in KK, and saw black and gorgeous Volvo for a quite sometime now. It's a norm here seeing that kind of car. And don't forget most politician in Sabah used the Toyota Land Cruiser either Cygnus or the Lexus one.

Its not the local government not supporting the local product, but Sabah terrain is to rough and not suitable for the Perdana's or the Waja's. Its a joke to use Perdana into the rural area here. I'm not saying national car is not good , but its useless here in Sabah. Remember we don's have highways as peninsular have. Don't compare Sabah or Sarawak with the peninsular Malaysia.

• db8 (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:02 am

In these modern days..ministers are the rich people and rakyat the one suffers..

Ministers should be the one who live hard to make rakyat life easier..

Its ok..just jawab later in akhirat..

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:06 am

Paul, Angkatan Hebat have any kind of car models you wouldn't ever imagine. Trust me, they maintain so many types of luxury cars here in Sabah, and this Volvo will get the most care any cars can get in this country. And this Volvo will only be use in the city area, for rural area most of this ministers have their special vehicles, either the Toyota Land Cruise (that we here called Ninja King) , the Cygnus and also the Lexus version of the Toyota Land Cruiser. And there's also a lot of Toyota Land Cruiser with dual fuel tank for extra mileage.

• Paul Tan on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:14 am

[quote comment="211976"]

Paul, Angkatan Hebat have any kind of car models you wouldn't ever imagine. Trust me, they maintain so many types of luxury cars here in Sabah, and this Volvo will get the most care any cars can get in this country. And this Volvo will only be use in the city area, for rural area most of this ministers have their special vehicles, either the Toyota Land Cruise (that we here called Ninja King) , the Cygnus and also the Lexus version of the Toyota Land Cruiser. And there's also a lot of Toyota Land Cruiser with dual fuel tank for extra mileage.[/quote]

I notice they are also Bosch-accredited and have ISO certifications, impressive.

BTW try using the Quote button for replying.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:20 am

[quote comment="211977"][quote comment="211976"]

Paul, Angkatan Hebat have any kind of car models you wouldn't ever imagine. Trust me, they maintain so many types of luxury cars here in Sabah, and this Volvo will get the most care any cars can get in this country. And this Volvo will only be use in the city area, for rural area most of this ministers have their special vehicles, either the Toyota Land Cruise (that we here called Ninja King) , the Cygnus and also the Lexus version of the Toyota Land Cruiser. And there's also a lot of Toyota Land Cruiser with dual fuel tank for extra mileage.[/quote]

I notice they are also Bosch-accredited and have ISO certifications, impressive.

BTW try using the Quote button for replying.[/quote]

Oic, I missed this new features, but then thanks for mentioning it. For us in Sabah, we don't care what kind of cars the politician here used, what we care is, they must be able to reach any remote area in this state to serve the people. So, its not a problem either they want to use the most expensive car available here in this country. So, in my opinion its a reasonable choice by the state government.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:24 am

[quote comment="211978"][quote comment="211977"][quote comment="211976"]

BTW try using the Quote button for replying.[/quote]

Oic, I missed this new features, but then thanks for mentioning it. For us in Sabah, we don't care what kind of cars the politician here used, what we care is, they must be able to reach any remote area in this state to serve the people. So, its not a problem either they want to use the most expensive car available here in this country. So, in my opinion its a reasonable choice by the state government.[/quote]

and I forgot to mention that the Angkatan Hebat also once's maintain a fleet of Rolls Royce (for the TYT's) and some Ferrari's and a number of Porsche SUV's, Aston Martin and Lambo's here.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:26 am

Where is Annuar?? We need a hero to save our country!!!

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:38 am

[quote comment="211981"]Where is Annuar?? We need a hero to save our country!!![/quote]

Its look like you comparing Sabah with the states in peninsular again, we are not same ok! our political structures and demographics are way too different with peninsular. We don't need people like him here, he is useless and rubbish if he come here. Only local people may know what we want here. So, please stop assuming that Sabahan has a same problem like yours. Learn history first ok! and learn some laws also.

• 8lways (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:02 am

[quote comment="211971"]In Sabah, we don't experience any kegawatan. We don't experience it here. I'm Sabahan and live in KK, and saw black and gorgeous Volvo for a quite sometime now. It's a norm here seeing that kind of car. And don't forget most politician in Sabah used the Toyota Land Cruiser either Cygnus or the Lexus one.

Its not the local government not supporting the local product, but Sabah terrain is to rough and not suitable for the Perdana's or the Waja's. Its a joke to use Perdana into the rural area here. I'm not saying national car is not good , but its useless here in Sabah. Remember we don's have highways as peninsular have. Don't compare Sabah or Sarawak with the peninsular Malaysia.[/quote]

"In Sabah, we don't experience any kegawatan. We don't experience it here"???…any Sabahan agree with this? Look around please, they are so many poor people in Sabah.

They are ditching Perdana for Volvo…in which Volvo is also a non-4 wheel drive car. So, why are they switching to Volvo if you say that "Sabah terrain is too rough and not suitable for the Perdana's or the Waja's", are you saying that Volvo can go through the rough terrain of Sabah??? and since they are using Toyota Land Cruiser, why should they buy Volvo in the first place?Toyota Land Cruiser can also be used on flat road. At this time, where the government is coming up with the Stimulus Package to help boost the economy, is it the right time to buy Volvo? Why not buy after the economy is better?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:24 am

i want to change my perdana to volvo as well !

please no politics here, im sick n tired , thy all killing each other slowly , destrying everyting with their own bare hands bcos of incredible amount of greed…the human race is at its lowest point now trust me….

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:47 am

The poor one is the illegal immigrant, I don't see any local people poor enough in Sabah. If there is local that really poor, it happen due to their laziness and ignorant to change. If you work hard enough you will never end up become poor and got no money. Read carefully, Volvo is for the official use and only use in the city area. The Toyota Land Cruiser used only for the rural area, yes off course this Toyota is comfortable for city use, but its better to have different car for different purpose. Why I said Perdana not suitable? first the road we have in Sabah even in the city center is not suitable for cars like Perdana, especially the front bumpers in Perdana, it's too low and ridiculously very fragile, the road surface is too bumpy, the bumper can easily get smashed. The bumper? well to replace it you must have a very deep pocket to do it, it is soo mahal.

The state government leased the vehicles from Angkatan Hebat, did you get it? Not buying it….

About the Sabahan very poor, please get your fact right. only lazy people got no money. Of course some of them don't have a bunch of money in their account bank, but they have some sort of their own properties.

• 9166 (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:47 am

At tax free prices, it is a safer car than Perdana. Good move.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:48 am

[quote comment="212038"][quote comment="211971"]In Sabah, we don't experience any kegawatan. We don't experience it here. I'm Sabahan and live in KK, and saw black and gorgeous Volvo for a quite sometime now. It's a norm here seeing that kind of car. And don't forget most politician in Sabah used the Toyota Land Cruiser either Cygnus or the Lexus one.

Its not the local government not supporting the local product, but Sabah terrain is to rough and not suitable for the Perdana's or the Waja's. Its a joke to use Perdana into the rural area here. I'm not saying national car is not good , but its useless here in Sabah. Remember we don's have highways as peninsular have. Don't compare Sabah or Sarawak with the peninsular Malaysia.[/quote]

"In Sabah, we don't experience any kegawatan. We don't experience it here"???…any Sabahan agree with this? Look around please, they are so many poor people in Sabah.

They are ditching Perdana for Volvo…in which Volvo is also a non-4 wheel drive car. So, why are they switching to Volvo if you say that "Sabah terrain is too rough and not suitable for the Perdana's or the Waja's", are you saying that Volvo can go through the rough terrain of Sabah??? and since they are using Toyota Land Cruiser, why should they buy Volvo in the first place?Toyota Land Cruiser can also be used on flat road. At this time, where the government is coming up with the Stimulus Package to help boost the economy, is it the right time to buy Volvo? Why not buy after the economy is better?[/quote]

The poor one is the illegal immigrant, I don’t see any local people poor enough in Sabah. If there is local that really poor, it happen due to their laziness and ignorant to change. If you work hard enough you will never end up become poor and got no money. Read carefully, Volvo is for the official use and only use in the city area. The Toyota Land Cruiser used only for the rural area, yes off course this Toyota is comfortable for city use, but its better to have different car for different purpose. Why I said Perdana not suitable? first the road we have in Sabah even in the city center is not suitable for cars like Perdana, especially the front bumpers in Perdana, it’s too low and ridiculously very fragile, the road surface is too bumpy, the bumper can easily get smashed. The bumper? well to replace it you must have a very deep pocket to do it, it is soo mahal.

The state government leased the vehicles from Angkatan Hebat, did you get it? Not buying it….

About the Sabahan very poor, please get your fact right. only lazy people got no money. Of course some of them don’t have a bunch of money in their account bank, but they have some sort of their own properties.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:53 am

[quote comment="212053"][quote comment="212038"][quote comment="211971"]In Sabah, we don't experience any kegawatan. We don't experience it here. I'm Sabahan and live in KK, and saw black and gorgeous Volvo for a quite sometime now. It's a norm here seeing that kind of car. And don't forget most politician in Sabah used the Toyota Land Cruiser either Cygnus or the Lexus one.

They are ditching Perdana for Volvo…in which Volvo is also a non-4 wheel drive car. So, why are they switching to Volvo if you say that "Sabah terrain is too rough and not suitable for the Perdana's or the Waja's", are you saying that Volvo can go through the rough terrain of Sabah??? and since they are using Toyota Land Cruiser, why should they buy Volvo in the first place?Toyota Land Cruiser can also be used on flat road. At this time, where the government is coming up with the Stimulus Package to help boost the economy, is it the right time to buy Volvo? Why not buy after the economy is better?[/quote]

The poor one is the illegal immigrant, I don’t see any local people poor enough in Sabah. If there is local that really poor, it happen due to their laziness and ignorant to change. If you work hard enough you will never end up become poor and got no money. Read carefully, Volvo is for the official use and only use in the city area. The Toyota Land Cruiser used only for the rural area, yes off course this Toyota is comfortable for city use, but its better to have different car for different purpose. Why I said Perdana not suitable? first the road we have in Sabah even in the city center is not suitable for cars like Perdana, especially the front bumpers in Perdana, it’s too low and ridiculously very fragile, the road surface is too bumpy, the bumper can easily get smashed. The bumper? well to replace it you must have a very deep pocket to do it, it is soo mahal.

About the Sabahan very poor, please get your fact right. only lazy people got no money. Of course some of them don’t have a bunch of money in their account bank, but they have some sort of their own properties.[/quote]

And if you happen to come close enough with this black monster for Sabah minister, you will see a small green badge at the back which clearly says its belong to Angkatan Hebat.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:58 am

[quote comment="212055"][quote comment="212053"][quote comment="212038"][quote comment="211971"]In Sabah, we don't experience any kegawatan. We don't experience it here. I'm Sabahan and live in KK, and saw black and gorgeous Volvo for a quite sometime now. It's a norm here seeing that kind of car. And don't forget most politician in Sabah used the Toyota Land Cruiser either Cygnus or the Lexus one.

About the Sabahan very poor, please get your fact right. only lazy people got no money. Of course some of them don’t have a bunch of money in their account bank, but they have some sort of their own properties.[/quote]

And if you happen to come close enough with this black monster for Sabah minister, you will see a small green badge at the back which clearly says its belong to Angkatan Hebat.[/quote]

And maybe some of you will reply, its also belong to State Government due to its GLC's status.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:07 pm

For me, its a good move by the Sabah State Government. The Perdana's still in used by the government, that's mean the Perdana's still got place here. Nothing wrong getting Volvo as an official car, the Perdana's is too old.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 1:37 pm

I have been travelling to Sabah and Sarawak for the past 10 years. I know my way around Kuching, KK, Labuan, Miri and Bintulu. I always rent a car when I am there. Some people try to mislead the conditions of the roads in these cities and towns and try to potray that it is undeveloped. If you can survive JB roads in a Perdana, you can survive any roads in Malaysia! Many Johoreans will attest to this. JB guys will find driving in Kuching as total bliss.

Yet you deny that there are many poor people in Sabah which I find disturbing. Even to the extent of labeling them 'lazy'. From my experience, it shows your true colors. Not all race are 'performance oriented' as yours. A lot of ethnic people feels comfortable the way they are while some pay more homage to culture than just money.

I drove the new Saga from Miri to Bintulu and back many times in the same day. Yes Jomo, there is something really wrong about all this. It is brash. It is disconcerting. It is irresponsible to the economy. It is very apparent that they will get away with this. No problem. Coz they are very 'performance oriented'. They'll come up with an excuse saying Proton people are lazy.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 1:54 pm

Jomo,

Angktan Hebat buys the Volvo. Leases to Sabah Govt. Has to maintain the Volvo. Sabah Govt owns 70% of Angkatan Hebat.

That's the real reason. Do not give me this reasoning of 'a better car' pure unadulterated bs. Your performance oriented comments didn't work.

• haroldz (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 3:53 pm

i think Sarawak should also change too..

since we contribute so much to the country’s economy, i should say maybe… MAYBACHS?!?!

what the hell is this country into?!

——————————————————————

we have one and only CM in msia to own n use ROLL ROYCE as his official car..

jgn main2 wor…!

sarawak kaya

• haroldz (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 3:58 pm

aiya, dun turn this into state-based race "thing"

all sabahan n sarawakian knew they r richer than west msia.

but all the money go west msia.

federal G using divide n rule to control the mentality n intelect of ppl here.

the smarter u r, d more demanding u r about ur right.

dat y east msia not developed..

merdeka day pun west msia ppl xtau…

it is 1963 la!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 4:07 pm

[quote comment="211971"]

Its not the local government not supporting the local product, but Sabah terrain is to rough and not suitable for the Perdana's or the Waja's. Its a joke to use Perdana into the rural area here.[/quote]

so how does one then explain the volvos? are they very good on rough terrain?

• biggie (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 4:29 pm

I have to agree with Jomo on this one as someone who has close connections with Sabah and Sabahans I tend to agree. Any Malaysians staying there can get rich if they want to, unless they opt not to (various reasons – cultural persevations etc). Hardcore poor are mainly Filipinos who change their identity every month or so.

Anyway unlike Perak and Selangor, Sabah DO NOT HAVE a Proton plant where about 100,000 of their own rakyat depends on it.

• tanasi (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 4:37 pm

Bull. Sabah is very well connected by good road nowadays. Personally the ministers should be using the Saga, it should be more than enough.

• Gun (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:14 pm

Take it easy guys, most of us probably don't have all the available information to make assumptions. In my opinion, the Volvos are most likely the XC90s or XC70s, as that would solve the terrain-crossing problems. As for the justification on the prices of these Volvos, they are getting these cars without taxes and import duty, and not to mention discounts for fleet price, so they might not be all that expensive as you would believe it would be. Moreover, Angkatan Hebat is 70% owned by the state government, so I don't see a problem with them helping out the state's own economy in someway. On the other hand, we don't have any Proton manufactured here, and most dealers as well as service centers are West M'sian owned. They are just giving business to their own state's people. Wouldn't you?

As for state poverty, you'll be surprised how rich these locals actually are. They might live with just enough cash from hand to mouth, but if you factor in land ownership, these fellas are millionaires! Just that it is hard to make some money out of these lands, due to the terrain. Forget oil palm, rubber or padi, they can't grow these on tough terrains like those that we have in Sabah. Think more bananas and padi bukit, and you'll understand why it's hard to make a living with these lands.

• raverus (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:24 pm

It's because ppl like Jomo that makes Sabah a joke.

Due to the economy situation just compare Camry vs. Volvo price.

The answer is obvious!

And yes, he think Sabah might not need Anwar but look around Sabah, it's isn't any better now. LOL

• lembagatanah (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:27 pm

[quote comment="212143"]…Anyway unlike Perak and Selangor, Sabah DO NOT HAVE a Proton plant where about 100,000 of their own rakyat depends on it…[/quote]

though i don't really like mixing politic and the topic, i really like ur point hahaha.

to all those sabahan, that's a great car ur ministers have. but IMHO, it doesn't really make sense to me.

• p1basher (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:38 pm

If they dont like perdana, they should try new saga, persona, or the new proton exora with customization. I am sure most people will be happy to support the particular state G if they do so.

Pak Lah, should do one good thing for malaysia before he retired, forced all state G official vehicle to be proton to show confident and support for proton under new management.

• lambov12 (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:43 pm

i think this shows again that proton is quite useless again ..

l8r you will c our minister driving rolls royce or bentley to dewan rakyat ..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:48 pm

[quote comment="212143"]

Anyway unlike Perak and Selangor, Sabah DO NOT HAVE a Proton plant where about 100,000 of their own rakyat depends on it.[/quote]

this is not about states, this is about malaysia as a whole. the govt was only recently calling for a "buy malaysian" campaign to boost the local economy.. but obviously, this only apply to us normal citizens.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:50 pm

[quote comment="212189"]i think this shows again that proton is quite useless again ..

..[/quote]

you are absolutely wrong. it just shows us there is something seriously wrong with the govt and their policies.

• sudha (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:58 pm

This is absolutely ridiculous…

There has been a lot of talk about Perdana's being very expensive to maintain…is it really that expensinve?…

Figures quoted in the past seem very unrealistic and I belive nothing was done to investigate by any parties involved including Proton.

And then we have the state govts switching to other makes. Trengganu started with a Mercedes Benz fleet, then came the Pakatan govt in Perak and Selangor with Camry's and now Sabah with the Volvo's.

Has anyone ever bothered to compare or study the pricing of these cars?

With the economy in bad shape, wouldn't it be prudent to cut spending?

The Camry's cost probably ard 150k a unit… that's already high on the list.

But why Mercedes and Volvo's ? Both marrques cost more than 200k, This is outrageous…

Total waste of taxpayer's money…much of the funds could be put to better use..

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:13 pm

I support bobdbilder comments.

This is outrageous. I don't understand why some people support the Sabah government move. Its maybe the supporter is just ignorant to realize that the remaining 30% of Angkatan Hebat Sdn Bhd is owned by proxies to some big names in the statement government. Come on, while the rakyat's economy is sinking into recession, certain powerful quarters find its better to spent on luxuries and niceties. How brilliant!

Angkatan Hebat Sdn Bhd

Directors:

HING CHI CHIANG @ HING YEE CHANG (YBHG DATUK)

CHAN SUI LOONG

AJAZ AHMAD BIN NABIJAN (DR)

MOHAMAD YUSOF BIN AMAT JAMLEE

YAP KWEE MING

BAHRUL RAZHA HAJI CHUPRAT

Shareholders

30.0% ->(0200780-P) INTERSUCCESS SDN BHD

70.0% ->(0339139-V) WARISAN HARTA SABAH SDN BHD

• raverus (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:29 pm

Latest news, test drive volvo on ROUGH TERRAIN as reckon by Mr.Jomo, which volvo sales office?

I can't wait.

Yes sudha, you got the calculation right, they spend like the whole world is not watching but we are.

• rexis (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:32 pm

[quote comment="212058"]For me, its a good move by the Sabah State Government. The Perdana's still in used by the government, that's mean the Perdana's still got place here. Nothing wrong getting Volvo as an official car, the Perdana's is too old.[/quote]

But the truth is, it is really unwise to play fool with the rakyat where even a 3 year old kid know that Volvo is much much more prestige car then a perdana.

If you think perdana is old then just bloody say it is old, dont blame the maintenence fee or whatever bullshit.

Volve maintenance fee low? I hardly see any BMW or Volvo there! There is no service center there! So if any fancy electronic board broken, what to do? 1 free MAS ticket for the technician to come and fix?

Sabah very rich u know, the state gov taxed palm oil like crazy, plus all other tax like toto, magnum all taxed lol.

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:37 pm

In such trying time the government is enjoying the taxpayers' monies buying luxury cars to spoil their butts. What kinda of government is this? Why not using such outlay to help out those who got "retrenched" but with a family to feed? What bout those poor ppl who's suffering from the ever increasing commodities price? This is a very lame excuse and definitely unacceptable. Government are to serve the ppl not the other way round!!

• BB (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:40 pm

from the begining, i dont object perak/penang exco to use camry. becoz to provide a state exco a car cost RM100k+ is reasonable. volvo s80??? may be a little to much.

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:50 pm

The government keeps using taxpayers' monies to support Proton because they said Proton is a must for Malaysia yet the government themselves are switching away from Proton because of of high maintenance? No matter how high it's, paying the maintenance is only a left to right pocket which ultimately goes back to the government and help to sustain Proton. This is a example of "walking the talk" but now it seems like sustaining Proton is for the more unfortunate Malaysians who cant afford a highly taxed foreign cars and suffering from the "high maintenance" with their already low income. This is just a fantastic government who contradict with whatever they said. What sort of credibility do they still hold now? Millions to buy seats, millions to payoff excessive Proton distritbutors, millions to buy luxury cars for their posh asses, millions to run the Proton where they themselves are not supporting…it's getting ridiculously ridiculous.

• painsama (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:03 pm

Lagi gawat lagi banyak bazir duit.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:33 pm

[quote comment="212233"][quote comment="212058"]For me, its a good move by the Sabah State Government. The Perdana's still in used by the government, that's mean the Perdana's still got place here. Nothing wrong getting Volvo as an official car, the Perdana's is too old.[/quote]

But the truth is, it is really unwise to play fool with the rakyat where even a 3 year old kid know that Volvo is much much more prestige car then a perdana.

If you think perdana is old then just bloody say it is old, dont blame the maintenence fee or whatever bullshit.

This is a main example of ignorant people, there's too many BMW's here (and KK area have BMW centre you know!) , yes of course there's not much Volvo around. For your information again, this car will be maintain by the Angkatan Hebat, they have enough expertise to maintain all kind of Sabah government fleets of car.

Volve maintenance fee low? I hardly see any BMW or Volvo there! There is no service center there! So if any fancy electronic board broken, what to do? 1 free MAS ticket for the technician to come and fix?

Sabah very rich u know, the state gov taxed palm oil like crazy, plus all other tax like toto, magnum all taxed lol.[/quote]

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:44 pm

[quote comment="212131"][quote comment="211971"]

Its not the local government not supporting the local product, but Sabah terrain is to rough and not suitable for the Perdana's or the Waja's. Its a joke to use Perdana into the rural area here.[/quote]

so how does one then explain the volvos? are they very good on rough terrain?[/quote]

Why I said Perdana is not suitable here? if you come here, try rent a Perdana V6 and drive it a long the road connecting the East coast and the West coast of Sabah, then you will know what the real problem is. Why I'm saying this? because I'm experiencing it twice during the night, the Perdana bumpers are badly severed by the bumpy road and some hidden potholes. can you imagine this things happen to you at the middle of the night and also surrounded by vast jungle and endless palm oil estate. Yes of course Perdana is a good car, but lets the ministers having this Volvo's, unless they wont worry about the front bumper of Perdana which broke easily.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:47 pm

[quote comment="212066"]I have been travelling to Sabah and Sarawak for the past 10 years. I know my way around Kuching, KK, Labuan, Miri and Bintulu. I always rent a car when I am there. Some people try to mislead the conditions of the roads in these cities and towns and try to potray that it is undeveloped. If you can survive JB roads in a Perdana, you can survive any roads in Malaysia! Many Johoreans will attest to this. JB guys will find driving in Kuching as total bliss.

Yet you deny that there are many poor people in Sabah which I find disturbing. Even to the extent of labeling them 'lazy'. From my experience, it shows your true colors. Not all race are 'performance oriented' as yours. A lot of ethnic people feels comfortable the way they are while some pay more homage to culture than just money.

I drove the new Saga from Miri to Bintulu and back many times in the same day. Yes Jomo, there is something really wrong about all this. It is brash. It is disconcerting. It is irresponsible to the economy. It is very apparent that they will get away with this. No problem. Coz they are very 'performance oriented'. They'll come up with an excuse saying Proton people are lazy.[/quote]

For your information, I'm not racist or performance oriented. I'm bumiputra and for me I believe if you work hard and think smart you can get what ever you want.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:53 pm

[quote comment="212128"]aiya, dun turn this into state-based race "thing"

it is 1963 la![/quote]

That's true. I hope some people will learn a bit of history.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:55 pm

[quote comment="212128"]aiya, dun turn this into state-based race "thing"

it is 1963 la![/quote]

I'm not trying to turn this to a state-based issues. I'm trying to explain this move is only applicable to the state of Sabah, I don't know for other states.

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:56 pm

Once again it show's how suck's is our local car hahahaha

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:02 pm

[quote comment="212151"]Bull. Sabah is very well connected by good road nowadays. Personally the ministers should be using the Saga, it should be more than enough.[/quote]

It's look like you have never been to the rural area the east coast area in Sabah, and also northern part of Sabah.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:09 pm

[quote comment="212240"]from the begining, i dont object perak/penang exco to use camry. becoz to provide a state exco a car cost RM100k+ is reasonable. volvo s80??? may be a little to much.[/quote]

It's not too much, Sabah State Government can afford it. Believe me on this.

• theanswer (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:17 pm

wake up proton! it's time for u to roll out new model to replace perdana. perdana is already become unsuitable to be a luxury car. lack of spaces..no airbag…but the price? still expensive compared to nissan sylphy.

• tanasi (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:20 pm

[quote comment="212303"][quote comment="212151"]Bull. Sabah is very well connected by good road nowadays. Personally the ministers should be using the Saga, it should be more than enough.[/quote]

It's look like you have never been to the rural area the east coast area in Sabah, and also northern part of Sabah.[/quote]

Come on, impassable routes on rural areas do exist even here in Klang valley, so does it mean every bloody Umno ministers must use the Hummer to move around? I did drive around Sabah quite extensively. True I did not traverse every single mile that exists. But having rented a Saga from the KK airport and driven through three Crocker mountain roads ie Kimanis, Penampang and Ranau-Tuaran, driven the KK-Sandakan-Lahad Datu-Semporna-Tawau I can say a normal sedan should suffice for majority of the terrain in Sabah. In fact, Sabah is miles better in terms of road condition compared to Sarawak, except for a few big dips around the Ranau road, which I don't think a standard S80 would fare any better, unless if you are talking about the XC90 with its extra high ground clearance.

Even a thelocals conceded that Tawau is connected to KK via Keningau-Sipitang (gravel log tracks) that can be passed by Kancils.

That's my opinion bro, and no, I don't talk about this from the comforts of my armchair.

• shamel (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Bro:

I'm West Malaysian. Sabah and Sarawak were different than ours. They EXCO=Ministers. Perhaps, explain why they 'deserved' a Volvo. I personally believe XC90 2.5turbodiesel will serve them better.

Hopefully poverty eradication among Sabahans as well as education for Filipinos also actively anticipate by Sabahans or Sarawakian cabinets on top of issue of official ride instead.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:29 pm

[quote comment="212314"][quote comment="212303"][quote comment="212151"]Bull. Sabah is very well connected by good road nowadays. Personally the ministers should be using the Saga, it should be more than enough.[/quote]

It's look like you have never been to the rural area the east coast area in Sabah, and also northern part of Sabah.[/quote]

Come on, impassable routes on rural areas do exist even here in Klang valley, so does it mean every bloody Umno ministers must use the Hummer to move around? I did drive around Sabah quite extensively. True I did not traverse every single mile that exists. But having rented a Saga from the KK airport and driven through three Crocker mountain roads ie Kimanis, Penampang and Ranau-Tuaran, driven the KK-Sandakan-Lahad Datu-Semporna-Tawau I can say a normal sedan should suffice for majority of the terrain in Sabah. In fact, Sabah is miles better in terms of road condition compared to Sarawak, except for a few big dips around the Ranau road, which I don't think a standard S80 would fare any better, unless if you are talking about the XC90 with its extra high ground clearance.

Even a thelocals conceded that Tawau is connected to KK via Keningau-Sipitang (gravel log tracks) that can be passed by Kancils.

That's my opinion bro, and no, I don't talk about this from the comforts of my armchair.[/quote]

Well, for the rural area, all of this YB's and ministers have a fleet of SUV's, but is it appropriate to use it in a city center? There's too much large vehicles in the vicinity of KK, its better for the minister's use this smaller Volvo's, even its not too small, but not too extravagant. Like I said before its better to have a different car for a different use.

(Even a thelocals conceded that Tawau is connected to KK via Keningau-Sipitang (gravel log tracks) that can be passed by Kancils.)

If its dry enough bro, if it soggy and muddy even the Toyota Land Cruiser and all sort of 4WD's may get stranded on this road.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:01 pm

Hmmm……….dunno who to condemn here.

On one hand, this is pure wasting of money by Sabah govt. If they don't want perdana at least get some cheaper car like Accord or Camry. Or Nissan Navara if you wan to complain about bumpy roads.

On the other hand, is another slap in the face for Proton. Hehe.

• protonundertaker (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:21 pm

then u hav to ask the malaysia proton production to think bout their mistakes…why ppl dump proton to non malaysian made product?

for an example…u call a president tat sit cadillac or maybach or even rolls royce change to tat proton perdana n waja….u guess wat is their response?the straightly get out and take a cab for sure…

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:21 pm

[quote comment="212317"]Bro:

I'm West Malaysian. Sabah and Sarawak were different than ours. They EXCO=Ministers. Perhaps, explain why they 'deserved' a Volvo. I personally believe XC90 2.5turbodiesel will serve them better.

Hopefully poverty eradication among Sabahans as well as education for Filipinos also actively anticipate by Sabahans or Sarawakian cabinets on top of issue of official ride instead.[/quote]

Why we have to educate this illegal immigrant? they caused too much problem to this state. We must send them back to their own countries, that's the main priority, why we have to spend money to educate them?

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:32 pm

[quote comment="212343"]Hmmm……….dunno who to condemn here.

On one hand, this is pure wasting of money by Sabah govt. If they don't want perdana at least get some cheaper car like Accord or Camry. Or Nissan Navara if you wan to complain about bumpy roads.

On the other hand, is another slap in the face for Proton. Hehe.[/quote]

They are not saying that our state government totally dumped the Perdana's. Instead this Perdana's is still in use by state government. Just the MINISTER'S get this Volvo for the use in the city area. The Perdana's were passed down to the head of department and other use. I don't think the Nissan Navara, the Camry or the Accord suitable for the status of this Minister's. This Navara's, Camry and this Accord were already used by the public in Sabah. It's nothing wrong for the Ministers use this Volvo.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:48 pm

[quote comment="212167"]Take it easy guys, most of us probably don't have all the available information to make assumptions. In my opinion, the Volvos are most likely the XC90s or XC70s, as that would solve the terrain-crossing problems. As for the justification on the prices of these Volvos, they are getting these cars without taxes and import duty, and not to mention discounts for fleet price, so they might not be all that expensive as you would believe it would be. Moreover, Angkatan Hebat is 70% owned by the state government, so I don't see a problem with them helping out the state's own economy in someway. On the other hand, we don't have any Proton manufactured here, and most dealers as well as service centers are West M'sian owned. They are just giving business to their own state's people. Wouldn't you?

As for state poverty, you'll be surprised how rich these locals actually are. They might live with just enough cash from hand to mouth, but if you factor in land ownership, these fellas are millionaires! Just that it is hard to make some money out of these lands, due to the terrain. Forget oil palm, rubber or padi, they can't grow these on tough terrains like those that we have in Sabah. Think more bananas and padi bukit, and you'll understand why it's hard to make a living with these lands.[/quote]

I really agree with you, I have some friends in the East Coast of Sabah, they own hundred of acres or land, some of this land worth a billion dollars(not RM). The local just need a right technology and right time to convert this piece of land into something that can generate money from it. Majority of Sabahan infact is a land owner.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:50 pm

[quote comment="212167"]Take it easy guys, most of us probably don't have all the available information to make assumptions. In my opinion, the Volvos are most likely the XC90s or XC70s, as that would solve the terrain-crossing problems. As for the justification on the prices of these Volvos, they are getting these cars without taxes and import duty, and not to mention discounts for fleet price, so they might not be all that expensive as you would believe it would be. Moreover, Angkatan Hebat is 70% owned by the state government, so I don't see a problem with them helping out the state's own economy in someway. On the other hand, we don't have any Proton manufactured here, and most dealers as well as service centers are West M'sian owned. They are just giving business to their own state's people. Wouldn't you?

As for state poverty, you'll be surprised how rich these locals actually are. They might live with just enough cash from hand to mouth, but if you factor in land ownership, these fellas are millionaires! Just that it is hard to make some money out of these lands, due to the terrain. Forget oil palm, rubber or padi, they can't grow these on tough terrains like those that we have in Sabah. Think more bananas and padi bukit, and you'll understand why it's hard to make a living with these lands.[/quote]

I forgot to mention to you, it was confirm the car is Volvo S80. I saw it yesterday and last night.

• nikanasz (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Jomo:

i quote some of your comment ok.

"I don’t think the Nissan Navara, the Camry or the Accord suitable for the status of this Minister’s"

so it's about status now?? the ministers care more about their status than the rakyat's welfare?

are you saying, since that Navara, Camry, and Accord (which are luxury enough, and being Japanese, the maintenance cost would be lower than a Volvo) are already used by the public, so the ministers must use a more luxury brand because their status are higher than the public.

your comment is back firing.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:00 pm

[quote comment="212365"]Jomo:

"I don’t think the Nissan Navara, the Camry or the Accord suitable for the status of this Minister’s"

so it's about status now?? the ministers care more about their status than the rakyat's welfare?

are you saying, since that Navara, Camry, and Accord (which are luxury enough, and being Japanese, the maintenance cost would be lower than a Volvo) are already used by the public, so the ministers must use a more luxury brand because their status are higher than the public.

your comment is back firing.[/quote]

Like I mention before, don't comparing the situation in Sabah with those in peninsular. We are too different

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:12 pm

[quote comment="212365"]Jomo:

why they don't want to use Navara? It's just a simple 4WD's which we locally called "pickup" means to bring a heavy load at the back or hauling around your workers. Furthermore the state government have enough Toyota Land Cruiser that we called "Ninja King", the Cygnus and some Lexus version of Toyota Land Cruiser the LX 470 which are way too luxurious compared to some Japanese brand or even the Continental one.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:14 pm

[quote comment="212231"]Latest news, test drive volvo on ROUGH TERRAIN as reckon by Mr.Jomo, which volvo sales office?

I can't wait.

Yes sudha, you got the calculation right, they spend like the whole world is not watching but we are.[/quote]

I'm not selling Volvo ok!. Get your fact right first.

• nikanasz (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:14 pm

[quote comment="212366"][quote comment="212365"]Jomo:

Like I mention before, don't comparing the situation in Sabah with those in peninsular. We are too different[/quote]

you're missing my point. read again, i was commenting about your point about Navara/Camry/Accord NOT SUITABLE for the STATUS of the ministers.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:15 pm

[quote comment="212356"][quote comment="212343"]Hmmm……….dunno who to condemn here.

They are not saying that our state government totally dumped the Perdana's. Instead this Perdana's is still in use by state government. Just the MINISTER'S get this Volvo for the use in the city area. The Perdana's were passed down to the head of department and other use. I don't think the Nissan Navara, the Camry or the Accord suitable for the status of this Minister's. This Navara's, Camry and this Accord were already used by the public in Sabah. It's nothing wrong for the Ministers use this Volvo.[/quote]

Even PM Badawi is using a lousy Perdana.

Could you please explain to me why these Sabah "MINISTERS" need a status higher than the PM of our country?

• nikanasz (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:22 pm

[quote comment="212372"][quote comment="212356"][quote comment="212343"]Hmmm……….dunno who to condemn here.

They are not saying that our state government totally dumped the Perdana's. Instead this Perdana's is still in use by state government. Just the MINISTER'S get this Volvo for the use in the city area. The Perdana's were passed down to the head of department and other use. I don't think the Nissan Navara, the Camry or the Accord suitable for the status of this Minister's. This Navara's, Camry and this Accord were already used by the public in Sabah. It's nothing wrong for the Ministers use this Volvo.[/quote]

Could you please explain to me why these Sabah "MINISTERS" need a status higher than the PM of our country?[/quote]

finally, someone who understood my point. :)

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:24 pm

[quote comment="212372"][quote comment="212356"][quote comment="212343"]Hmmm……….dunno who to condemn here.

Could you please explain to me why these Sabah "MINISTERS" need a status higher than the PM of our country?[/quote]

Before I answer it please learn what kind of agreement signed during the formation of Malaysia, and go figure out where is the money of oil, timber and palm oil revenue from this state goes to? to the West right?

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:36 pm

[quote comment="212371"][quote comment="212366"][quote comment="212365"]Jomo:

Like I mention before, don't comparing the situation in Sabah with those in peninsular. We are too different[/quote]

you're missing my point. read again, i was commenting about your point about Navara/Camry/Accord NOT SUITABLE for the STATUS of the ministers.[/quote]

Ok, I admit I'm wrong for using the words of STATUS (there's too many comment here). Volvo never considered as a luxury brand here in Sabah.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:50 pm

[quote comment="212378"]

Before I answer it please learn what kind of agreement signed during the formation of Malaysia, and go figure out where is the money of oil, timber and palm oil revenue from this state goes to? to the West right?[/quote]

Why bring oil revenue into this?

According to facts, Sabah is one of the poorest states in whole Msia (population wise). So do you think its smart for the govt to "bergaya" with some Volvos?

Whats more Sabah govt recently said its govt "cannot afford" to compensate the people who got flooded in Kota Marudu. BUT can afford new volvo?

Another symptom of idiots get elected into state assembly….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:54 pm

[quote comment="212396"][quote comment="212378"]

Before I answer it please learn what kind of agreement signed during the formation of Malaysia, and go figure out where is the money of oil, timber and palm oil revenue from this state goes to? to the West right?[/quote]

Why bring oil revenue into this?

According to facts, Sabah is one of the poorest states in whole Msia (population wise). So do you think its smart for the govt to "bergaya" with some Volvos?

Whats more Sabah govt recently said its govt "cannot afford" to compensate the people who got flooded in Kota Marudu. BUT can afford new volvo?

Another symptom of idiots get elected into state assembly….[/quote]

very good point.

also what jomo said is true also.. lots of money earned by eastmy does go to the federal govts. coffers.. but thats the govt people voted for.

• Encik Ali (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 12:40 am

I wonder what does the state government looks at buying a foreign car.

yes the perdana may have higher maintainence cost. but why not dump the perdana and opt for the proton chansellor?

where has the chansellor gone anyway?

it was supposed to replace perdanas isnt it?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 1:11 am

Different cars for different purposes. Car for city, car for pedalaman. Pedalaman cars too big for city. Use Volvo for city. Midsize SUV cannot use for both purpose ah? Too cheap? Low class for ministers to use?

It's not the issue of how much money you have or whether Volvo is not considered luxury. What would the people in Peninsula think. On the Peninsula, S80 is luxury. And Sabah is part of Malaysia. No autonomy. If we think it's expensive, then it's expensive. No excuses.

• shianghorng (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 1:18 am

Support local goods?

Aren't they slapping themselves??

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 1:24 am

The XC90 makes a better choice than a S80. If I were to choose la. Sarawak CM dirving bullet proof white car. Was it maybach or RR? That car alone is RM2.5mil I think.

Proton wake up! Perdana long overdue. Don't wait until all states change car than only come out with Perdana version 2.0. You cannot blame state governments to change their car. Can only blame proton for what they offer. Which is internally bigger? Current Honda civic, Altis or Perdana? People want to buy, but then no executive car to buy than V6 which internally looks the same as non-V6 available since 1994.

Next in line to change cars:Ministries in malaysia and Public Universities

• s60t (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 2:48 am

as a double volvo owner(S40 and S60),I can vouch that it is NOT cheap to maintain.I was quouted >30K for a gearbox in an 8 year old S60 which has only done 101000km and is used as a 3rd car.

as for Sabah roads,I worked in Kota Belud for 3 years in the 90's and used a proton saga aeroback 1987 model.you can get to most of the towns w/o a 4WD but if you need to go to inland areas than a landcruiser would be needed.I don't see the need to the S80 except to spend taxpayers money.Even the XC90 is more of a luxury item.An Xtrail or fortuner probably has better off road capabilities than the XC90.

it's always fun to spend money that's not your own but enjoy the fruits

• 7213209 (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 3:09 am

If this is true then lets wait what our government comment's on this news. Pi mai pi mai tang tu gak la…Opps paul, later might be political debates pulak. Anyway, at least good 'pressure' to Proton to improve further.

• kickurs (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 5:23 am

greed with s60t, normal car should work well for travel between towns in Sabah nowadays. road condition has improved. Now most major roads are tarmac, no more gravel road. Few new alternative roads are available now. However, to travel in the interior area will definitely need a 4WD.

if someone really live at outskirt of KK, he will sure agree with me there are a lot of hardcore poor people. but at the same times there are a lot of rich people/landowner in Sabah.

Come to sabah to experience the living here. there are a lot of difference compare to peninsular. Having adequate basic facilities/infrastructures is really a blessed in Sabah.

• mervynv (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:34 am

Jomo, what is your profession?

• RX-ate (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:38 am

To solve the G' problem, I think they should get two cars for the ministers. First, they should get our proudly Malaysian made Perodua Kembara to tackle the rough terrain.

Second, they should get a Proton Savvy for city use, since the traffic is quite congested these days, it might come handy in traffic jams. And moreover, it saves fuel.

Govn servants are there to serve the ppl, and not the other way round.

• RX-ate (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:41 am

Jomo, are you a Volvo salesman at Angkatan hebat?

• RX-ate (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:51 am

Prime Minister of Australia only rides on a Holden, their national car. If there's no need for him to ride on European luxury cars, I dont see any reason why there's a need for local YB's to ride o Euro luxury cars istead of our locally made Protons and Peroduas.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 9:00 am

[quote comment="212690"]Jomo, are you a Volvo salesman at Angkatan hebat?[/quote]

I'm not a salesman or working with Angkatan Hebat. Nothing can relate me with Angkatan Hebat, but I really know the situation in this state, because I really care about this state. I'm just a very concern Sabahan.

• Jomo (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 9:05 am

[quote comment="212417"]Different cars for different purposes. Car for city, car for pedalaman. Pedalaman cars too big for city. Use Volvo for city. Midsize SUV cannot use for both purpose ah? Too cheap? Low class for ministers to use?

It's not the issue of how much money you have or whether Volvo is not considered luxury. What would the people in Peninsula think. On the Peninsula, S80 is luxury. And Sabah is part of Malaysia. No autonomy. If we think it's expensive, then it's expensive. No excuses.[/quote]

what a joke, you are saying that if the people in peninsular got problems, then we also must get the exact same problems? only because we are in the same country? What a joke you are.

• Ralliace (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 10:07 am

We have crappy roads, hence we buy luxury cars! Hahahahaha. Same la! All for their own interest.

Hey Jomo (you naive SOB), I have so many questions to ask you BUT I'll leave you with this one for now "if Sabah people are so rich then why is the state still poor like you said it??" Please explain as you think none of us here have ever been to Sabah, let alone to school!

Please come to West Malaysia, get out of Sabah for once in your life and see things for yourself. You guys in Sabah are not too bad in life. Perhaps travelling will help you from being a katak di bawah tempurung.

• YennaDey on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:32 pm

I hate to say this but the way Jomo put his words is like no one is better than him. Sabah, Malacca, Kelantan, we are all Malaysian mate! 'I'm Sabahan I knew better than most of you'. C'mon.. have some humility if you really want to emphasis your view. So eccentric selfish SOB

Back to Volvo, yeah right… Another joke, another drama minggu ini…

• cicak (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 5:39 am

The poorest state in Malaysia, with a bloodsucking CM, I'm not surprised. Yes, Sabah is should be the richest state (looking at its resources) but it is not right now. (I wonder where the money is going to?) Heck, many people here at my area (the so called Pedalaman) are still dining on 'ubi kayu'.

So why our ministers are spending the rakyat's money to buy luxury cars when they can travel with that already luxury Ninja Kings? Are those Ninja Kings sissies in the KK area?

Those ppl are not interested of serving their rakyats anyway. Baru mau ada election di Pensiangan, baru mau datang 'turun padang'. Shame on you!

Ahh, I wonder what will happen tomorrow. BolehLand politics always amuse me

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 7:00 am

very good move

• fickybabe (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 3:36 am

dump perdana for volvo? what the…..? dump perdana for waja la.. that one is better =P low maintenance and at least no toooooo show off. haiyoo… who spend most of the government money if not the government itself for their own sake. not for the people. no need to have official car la. use their own mercs and blablablabla. or take a cab la. that is what we call pemimpin berjiwa rakyat =)

• When my power windows switch went kaput to my 6months old Waja, the supervisor at the Proton Center of Excellence told me "Proton-lah bang… biasalah… kalau nak quality belilah Honda atau Toyota"…

Proton does not treat Customer Claims seriously. We have heard millions of complains and not once have I heard Proton making a product recall.

Proton must be protected at all cost… Proton=Malaysia=Bolehland!!!

• jomo is certainly a snobb. he said, the cruisers are big and thus not suitable to be used in KK, get a volvo. Have u ever thought of the overall dimension of these vehicles. Mind you s80 is longer than a cruiser. In a tight city, all you need is a short wheel based car, for easy maneuvering.

he agreed that there are many pot holes in sabah, and if a perdana take a plunge in it, it will break its front bumper and it will be very costly to change one. What if a volvo plunge in a pothole too? Will it be much cheaper to change a volvo front bumper, since both these cars are sedans with almost identical ride height?

Why do u need a 2.5 litre turbo engine for in a city? It's not that you're going to speed your way around congestion? mind you, petrol are not cheap, and bigger engine=bigger thirst for fuel, if you spend most of your time crawling in city, like in KK. might as well, use their diesel 4×4 in the city as well. Fuel is cheap, not polluting. Hence, you don't need 2 cars for different purposes.

From my point of view, might as well use the money, to build proper roads. They can start by covering the pot holes. Instead of getting a volvo just to get around town, when they can just use their 4×4, since its a luxury 4×4. 4X4 also show status right? Look at the rapper in US for example, They prefer their SUVs more dont they?

• Man with dreams on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:25 am

Sabah is rich, yes, but gov people misuse it so the state is poor…
    Sabah can form its own government without any interruption from the west but we need leaders that we can trust. Try US, their states is independent.

Volvo in Sabah is just a gimmick. They want to show that they are capable. they are proud with their Pride. Even if you(the gov) want to gain respect from others, this isn’t the way. Rich people may respect you but the common people will despises you. You’ve got the money, but didn’t committed to make life better here…

Volvo is known for its safety, but it cannot control other people mistakes. And because of its safety, people drive it with carelessness…and this attitude will follow when they drive other cars…

Cost wise,
    you buy a Volvo that is RM nearly half a million plus low maintenance (so they say)…
    you use Perdana with a lifetime maintenance of roughly RM a tenth of a million…
    so which one is more costly???

we, common people cannot understand you(the gov)…