New Volkswagen Polo is a pretty good looking car!

New Volkswagen Polo

Just look at what Volkswagen did with the new Volkswagen Polo. While the previous one wasn’t really inspiring in terms of looks even in Polo GTI form, the new Polo so much better. It looks lower and wider, with body panels that play around with lighting in a much nicer way than the outgoing Polo’s bodywork. Being able to stretch your wallet only as far as a B-segment hatch never looked so good.

Volkswagen claims the Polo will be able to score a 5-star raring in the new Euro NCAP crash test system, which will mean it will equal the score of a much larger car, the Mazda 6, mostly thanks to its new more rigid chassis. This same chassis first made its debut on the new SEAT Ibiza. Despite a new stiffer chassis, the new Polo is also lighter by 7.5%.

New Volkswagen Polo

ESP stability control is also now standard on all European models, though it probably won’t be in development countries where the Polo is sold. The ESP system also has Hill Hold Control which helps prevent the car from sliding down while you slowly get the clutch and accelerator pedal on terms when taking off from a slope. There are plenty of airbags including head-thorax airbags integrated in the front seatbacks.

Transmission choices consist of a manual transmission or a 7-speed DSG dual clutch gearbox. These will be mated to 7 different engines – 4 petrol and 3 TDI (no more Pump Duse) oil burners, which VW says 5 are all-new or used for the first time in a Polo. The new Polo 1.6 TDI BlueMotion does 90 PS with 3.8 litres of diesel per 100km fuel consumpion and 96g/km of CO2. There is a new inline-4 1.2 litre turbocharged TSI engine that also debuted on the SEAT Ibiza, producing 105 PS, equivalent to a 1.5 litre engine but with a much nicer and usable torque band.

Look after the jump for a hi-res gallery and a video.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=134]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MicroKiller (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 12:19 pm

Wht a beauty.. wonder if it will come to Msia?? Will look ard here in germany for it…

• red7 (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 12:20 pm

1st!

agree…. better than the outgoing model

• red7 (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 12:20 pm

oh no!

late by a minute….

hahahaha

• melvin.foong (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 1:52 pm

I think if they make the lights bigger, it would be nicer. Now it looks like > . <

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 2:44 pm

Sweet!!! =D

• hmmmm….much2 more better!!

• Thanks to the tax system here, we, the middle income group won't be able to drive a Polo, whatmore Scriroco (did I spell it right??) The most we can do is go to the showroom and bring back our saliva home. Thrash the system and price it @ < 100k?? But, seriously nice. Looks meaner BTW.

• the stik (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 3:55 pm

better.. looks bigger than the old one.. ilusi optik?

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:14 pm

cantik la kereta ni…kalau Proton Satria NEO buat macam ni kan cantik. Patut pihak PROTON jadikan Satria NEO 5 pintu…jadikan NEO 5….Lawa siot…

• michaelooi on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:30 pm

the interior rawks!

• farghmee on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:30 pm

POLO is indeed the younger sibling of Scirocco & Golf :)

exterior look: simple, masculine line.

interior look: practical.

• Kevin Lee on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:31 pm

paul, lets book one , haha, this one will be for the bini, hehe

• Charger (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Sweet! Finally, Polo got the good looks!

If the 1.2 TFSI is going for around RM110k, that would be really sweeeeet!

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:58 pm

I see they fixed the ugly taillights. Now it all looks so much better.

• pjeul on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:00 pm

nice looking polo..!much-much better from current model.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:45 pm

hmmm…no one commented that the new Polo somehow ended up looking like the old MkIII Golf. Maybe not quite, but when I first saw this, the first thing that pop in was the MkIII

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 7:33 pm

sell 70K it will sell like hot cake.

• nice one.. plus the 7 speed DSG.. ahhhh

• mohsin on Mar 03, 2009 at 8:56 pm

strange!

even new polo looks nice than Golf!

How come?

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Polo for 70K? hahaha dream on.

thanks to our tax.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 10:41 pm

WOW swriously looks way more awesome than the current.

Kudos

• mokkf82 on Mar 04, 2009 at 2:28 am

70k? no la…. but it really is little hot hatch

• munky on Mar 04, 2009 at 3:49 am

i wish i could afford one. And yeah it does look better than the new golf.

• A mini scirocco XD

• pjeul on Mar 04, 2009 at 4:38 am

it is more cun if the headlamp is projector instead of reflector headlamp…

• veelzedub on Mar 04, 2009 at 4:44 am

Looks good..anyone wanna buy my 3-mth old Polo GTI :D hehe Just kidding..am loving my Polo GTI to death now…still..

• droll on Mar 04, 2009 at 5:47 am

eh, it's not a hot hatch. this is the regular Polo. wait for the GTI version.

there will always be newer improved models. the important thing is to know what you want and once you find it, enjoy it. :) if you like to have the latest all the time then be prepared to spend $$$ lor.

i think this new Polo is very nice and the GTI version should be a real looker. i hope the GTI version is more powerful than the current one and more tuneable (which is one thing the current 1.8T 20V VAG engine has – lotsa aftermarket parts and tuning potential).

• YennaDey on Mar 04, 2009 at 6:21 am

Damn nooooiceee!! If only our master did not clamp us with those ridiculous tax….

• nice! i like it! will it be here?

• Zaff1984 on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:48 am

wow… miles nicer than the old one. exterior look good, interior excellent, interior quality as good as Audi.

• What if somebody rebadged it and price it slightly over 100k? Any takers?

• Sweet and sleek…Better than the current model.Wonder when will it land to malaysian shore..

• Edward on Mar 10, 2009 at 5:52 am

With the current Polo 1.8GTI priced just slightly above 130k, the newly facelifted baby should be around 100k, maybe they will maintain the same pricing for it, but i am very eager to try out the 1.2 turbo engine. if it price around 100k, definately i will grab it

• Ian CHEONG on Mar 11, 2009 at 2:15 am

Our tax regime is cc based!

So if the outgoing 1.6 litre Polo is at RM 99k (promo price), no reason why the 1.2 litre cannot be less, say RM 60-70k?

So far nothing mentioned for smaller capacity cars in today's mini budget, just paltry rebates of 5k for Pero2 and Proton!

What is 5k?

If in US / UK, 5k can buy a new car, but here?

• Xolani on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:22 am

Beautiful

• chengappa on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:57 pm

we are clueless about the launch of polo at Bangalore

• Williard on Dec 24, 2009 at 2:20 am

Wat a beutiful car, when is going to available in S.A?

• alie1978 on May 09, 2011 at 5:11 am

saw a POLO 1.6 at lebuhraya mahameru today.sorry for not providing the snap shot,do you think VW is going to produce the car here?(ckd)it would be intresting tho,looking forward for your reply…