New Shell Ferrari 1:38 model cars with Touch Steering feature!

Shell Cars

The Shell Ferrari model cars are back again! Shell releases these cars with a new feature every year and last year was the engine sounds of course. This year the cars have abit more intelligence in them.

See the thing is these are Ferraris which are supposed to be able to scream through corners like they’re on rails but the previous cars only go straight like American dragsters! So Shell has solved this – this year the 1:38 scale cars can actually turn!

Shell calls this feature “Touch Steering”. There is a directional button underneath which you can press to store up to 15 different directions. A microchip inside reads these commands and stores them, and controls the front wheels to steer.

I think this is quite a good feature, because after all alot of kids are going to play with these cars. A kid can set up his own little race circuit in his living room hall or playroom and then program the car to race through the circuit. This extends the lifespan of the toy before the kid gets bored with it as it opens up a whole new world other than just a toy car going straight into the wall.

Shell also did a TVC featuring Michael Schumacher.

5 cars are offered, which are the 430 Scuderia, FXX Evoluzione, 599 GTB Fiorano, 612 Scaglietti and the 360 GTC. The cars are RM6.90 with a minimum purchase of RM40 of Shell V-Power Racing, or RM8.90 with a minimum purchase of RM40 of Shell Super or Shell Diesel.

The yellow 599 GTB Fiorano and red 430 Scuderia re only available at RM6.90 with the purchase of 4L Shell Helix Ultra or Shell Helix Diesel HX7 or RM8.90 with every purchase of 3L/4L Shell Helix HX5.

There is also a play mat and a display garage set for RM15 and RM60 respectively.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• osh_kosh on Mar 26, 2009 at 8:00 pm

just bought one 360GTC last night for my kids… or was it for me? LOL :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 26, 2009 at 8:04 pm

haha.. i got them all already for my kid. there is also a model of last years F1 car, but no steering controls.

i wish its for me, but i cant even pry it out of my sons hands..hahah.

• clement on Mar 26, 2009 at 8:35 pm

its hard to get the yellow color ferrari…:(

• MisterBenjo on Mar 26, 2009 at 8:47 pm

[quote comment="224423"]just bought one 360GTC last night for my kids… or was it for me? LOL :)[/quote]

Haha, i think its for you…just like the guy in the ads..LOL

• shan0025 on Mar 26, 2009 at 9:09 pm

the first clip is an ad?…more like a home made video…te 2nd one is wat i call an ad…niway, think i'll stop using caltex for a while n use shell just to gt d cars…

• the lady in the advertisement really hv nice b

• azrai on Mar 26, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Too late for the news actually. Now shell try to emulate McD success with its Hello Kitty frenzy few years back. Jual minyak ke jual toys?

• halim on Mar 26, 2009 at 9:35 pm

now dis one,i can afford

• torque (Member) on Mar 26, 2009 at 9:37 pm

Aiya…what la this SHELL?!! Toys,toys,toys…always Ferrari toys! When are you gonna give away the real car?!! Isi minyak minimum RM100 (Combine receipt also can wan) then…WIN!! How? Ada berani ka SHELL? LOL :-)

• osh_kosh on Mar 26, 2009 at 9:51 pm

[quote comment="224437"]the lady in the advertisement really hv nice b[/quote]

LOL.. :) i guess your eyes r more focus on her boobs that the car eh mate? hahaha.. yeah nice but it's B cup only mah…

• mukhri88 on Mar 26, 2009 at 9:56 pm

Offtopic: Paul, did you go to the launching of the 25 Evo X for the Police?

• cecibo on Mar 26, 2009 at 10:06 pm

strange.. how come paul doesn't come up with a review on evo police car

• knight_templar on Mar 26, 2009 at 10:08 pm

I tot i was out sometime oredi? The touch steering is a big fat gimmick. They should just sell proper static display models made of metal. These models are soo light and of course feel cheap coz there made of plastic. Even the touch steering key is so tacky. I think chinese cars are more tactile.

• Until now, i just have 2, FXX and the rare one

• Wilfred on Mar 26, 2009 at 10:16 pm

[quote comment="224448"]strange.. how come paul doesn't come up with a review on evo police car[/quote]

I think Paul can onli get that chance if he drive an S2000, then later caught a chase with tat EVO, then arrest by them and escort by it… :P

• china made cheap pluk car ! pls come out some details car model …

• KungFu kid on Mar 26, 2009 at 10:58 pm

[quote comment="224445"][quote comment="224437"]the lady in the advertisement really hv nice b[/quote]

LOL.. :) i guess your eyes r more focus on her boobs that the car eh mate? hahaha.. yeah nice but it's B cup only mah…[/quote]

Hehe,yeap,i oso do notice that chicks got some nice B…welldone d advertisement producer :p

• newbie on Mar 27, 2009 at 12:02 am

How many ringgits do I have to fill up with Shell Racing to buy this toy for RM6?

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 27, 2009 at 1:09 am

i have bought the 430 scuderia and the f1 …

still a long way to go ..

• Alamak on Mar 27, 2009 at 3:29 am

this is stupid la.

u gotta program in the turns first, then pull the car back and release. The car will turn according to the program… but how do u control when to turn? how much to turn? tried playing it on my long office table to dodge some obstacles… doesn't work. useless gimmick….

• got them all. including last year one nicely displayed in the case.

guess if i cant own the real thing, i'll get the mini scale one. lol.

i've seen people display this on their car too. the entire display case glued to the back of the car, peeking out through the rear windshield.

• harry on Mar 27, 2009 at 10:15 am

lame….. especially the first advertisement.. and having no.1 racer in the world to promote toy ferrari??? -_- hmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• arch808 on Mar 28, 2009 at 5:16 am

the yellow car doesn't have the touch-steering….. I was conned!

• Tezza on Mar 28, 2009 at 10:54 pm

[quote comment="224441"]Aiya…what la this SHELL?!! Toys,toys,toys…always Ferrari toys! When are you gonna give away the real car?!! Isi minyak minimum RM100 (Combine receipt also can wan) then…WIN!! How? Ada berani ka SHELL? LOL :-)[/quote]

Talkling all crap things..lmfao..

• along on Mar 31, 2009 at 8:52 pm

ai have more then one complete sets. does any one who wants those model, let me know. special price hehehe..

• speedrider on Apr 01, 2009 at 7:31 pm

This is my 2009 collections!

• OilyBoyz on Apr 08, 2009 at 7:07 pm

I was wondering who are their supplier.. Probably wanna get different model. Does anybody know the detail of the supplier?

• speedrider on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:25 pm

OilyBoyz

Its from Mattel.

• emanuel on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:42 am

i will love a model car that is remode controled

please make it remode controle

• Shukri on Apr 26, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Yahoo… my collction have been compltd… all 7 car inclusing th yellow plus garage… hahahahahahaha just only with bill RM52.80 Super… hahhaahhahaa

• 360 GTC on Apr 27, 2009 at 8:24 am

Dear all,

Kindly need your help… i can't find the 360 GTC at my near by shell station.. i need 1 more to have a full set for my niece.. anyone can let me know which shell station still have stock?

Thanks in advance .

My email [email protected]

• 360 GTC on Apr 27, 2009 at 8:25 am

Just to add on. i'm staying around klang valley

• Vikesh Mahadeo on Aug 01, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Good day , I’m in South Africa and I’m looking for the 3rd edition of the Shell Ferrari model cars as I already have the 1st and 2nd editions. Could someone please advise as to when this (3rd edition) becomes available in South Africa. Kind regards, Vikesh Mahadeo.

• andre grobler on Sep 18, 2010 at 7:44 pm

can you please let me know how i can get the 2nd and 3rd set of shell ferrari model cars thank you

• andre grobler on Sep 18, 2010 at 7:45 pm

can you please let me know how i can get 2nd and 3rd shell ferrari model cars thank you

• andre grobler on Sep 19, 2010 at 6:03 pm

please let me know where i can get 2nd and 3rd set thank you

• Kristian A. Santos on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:51 am

wow!!!!!……..but i have 2 of them the 599 gtb fiorano and 612 scaglietti…….

• Jon Sanoy on Nov 11, 2010 at 11:50 am

Got six of them….the only one remaining is the one that needs change oil purchase…But I will get it soon….

• edwin m. ramos on Nov 11, 2010 at 4:12 pm

got 4 of them, and i have a complete collection last year…