NAP After-Effects: Suzuki prices up

suzuki_swift_500.jpg

As the result of the new CBU and CKD car tax structure and gazetted CBU pricelist under the new National Automotive Policy, prices for the CBU Suzuki Swift and CBU Suzuki APV have gone up. To make up for the price increase, Suzuki has added bodykits as standard options for both the Swift and APV. The price for the Suzuki Grand Vitara remains the same. Here’s the new prices.

Model Name Old Price New Price
Suzuki Swift 1.5 (A) RM81,779 RM87,279
Suzuki Swift 1.5 (A) Premier RM86,279 RM91,779
Suzuki APV 1.6 (M) RM63,187 RM66,687
Suzuki APV 1.6 (M) Premier RM70,487
Suzuki APV 1.6 (A) RM71,187 RM74,687
Suzuki APV 1.6 (A)) Premier RM79,187
Suzuki Grand Vitara 2.0 (A) RM139,888 RM139,888

The price of the Suzuki Swift 1.5 (A) baseline without leather seats and tinting has actually gone up by quite a bit, but don’t worry as manufacturing of CKD Suzuki Swift cars is expected to begin in 2007. Tax on CKD cars are not as high as CBU cars, so you will be able to enjoy a cheaper but locally assembled Suzuki Swift next year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 10:19 am

Darn it!

Oh well, might as well wait for the turbo version.

• motorhead (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 10:49 am

Now i am confuse.. if i am not mistaken tax for CBU cars reduced recently, but why they increased price instead?.. funny2… but go ahead la increase.. only morons will buy swift at that price.. i believe even without ED tax, they still goin to sell the car at super expensive price… we r used to expensive cars oredi….

• kendo (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 5:05 pm

DRB got own AP, cost average 10k per unit,

still UP PRICE?

not passing saving to RAKYATS!

what a Greedy Assss!

with this price RM90K,

u CAN get 2 UNITS SWIFTs

in china, aussie, UK!

CKD?

only they price it at fair RM50-60K!

• kendo (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 5:07 pm

RM 90K for a little swift?!

that should be the global

price for

2.0L CAMRY, Accord!

• raverus (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 6:04 pm

BS!!!!!!!!! THANKS G!!!!!!!!!!

• h2k (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 6:26 pm

Ya…90k for a swift…that's a rip off….has anyone seen the bodykit…its so badly done it looks like some cheap design paste on type of bodykit….yucks….(saw it in motortrader web)….

For 90k u can get a honda city vtec or a toyota vios :D

• goingberserk (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 2:42 am

Swift is a nice car but unfortunately at 90K . it aint worth it . but guess some will still buy it. Like Honda Jazz.. similiar price but plenty on the road nowadays .

• Jason (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 4:39 am

Premier?

• Paul Tan on May 05, 2006 at 5:20 am

The Premier version has leather seats and tinting. For the APV, it also has aircond for the rear passangers.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 5:21 am

emm…. suppose drop why up…….. hmm.. where are you toyota yaris…

may be see you in kl motorshow….

• cyborgx (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 5:42 am

as usuall.. car price is f**ked up by the gov.

• ckcheong (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 7:22 am

toyota yaris will be launched by 2nd quarter this year according to a car magazine. It will be competing with super mini like Honda Jazz, Mitsubishi Colt. Well expect it to be priced at RM 100K or more.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 7:54 am

This kind of pricing design to deny rakyat to get cars at lowest price with good quality and safety aspect! NAP suck!

• aksMs (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 11:57 am

Two weeks ago a familt friend recieved his Swift. I was there at the showroom when he took the delivery. I was told that, the premier version is 10k more than the standard version. Not only it comes with bodykit, tinted window and leather seats as standard, but you can have the optional 16" sport rims too! It looks damn good!

Paul, I heard today that DRB-HICOM is quite "tenat" financially. Any news on that?

• ar (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 4:10 pm

rm90k?

well we can get 3 suzuki swift based on customs price paul posted here

• kendo (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 4:51 pm

overhead"

drb ceo said: " jazz and yaris is price at 100k,

we sell only 90k, giving RAKYATS

saving of 10K!!!"

axxxxxxxxx"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 5:29 pm

Kendo – DRB CEO said: Jazz and Yaris is price at 100K?

We sell only 90K,

so NAP/G SUCK rakyats of 50K to 60K for these 3 models.

This shall be correct and accurate statement! Really a$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

• kendo (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 6:20 pm

Joe Ooi said,

May 5, 2006 @ 9:29 am

"Kendo – DRB CEO said: Jazz and Yaris is price at 100K?

We sell only 90K,

—-so NAP/G SUCK rakyats of 50K to 60K for these 3 models.

This shall be correct and accurate statement! Really a$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ "

Do u where the money GO?

to pay for overstaffed civil servants (mostly lazy),

corrupted project practices – MAS, MRR2, Johor brigde..

…..sickening fish heads!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 7:15 pm

kendo – Definitely more than that – not all these money go to G, worst is for FIRST ROUND some directly go to "crocs", "AP King", "ular sawa", Datok2 & Datin2, P1, etc.

All cars sold in Malaysia, the retail selling price, we as consumers have to pay is already factor in NAP's "CarTaxLand FIXED COST" and plus all these nonsense "hisap darah VARIABLE COST". For MAS, MRR2, Crook Bridge, etc. It is and will be SECOND, THIRD, FOURTH, …….. ROUNDS of "corruption – hisap darah". At the end, the actual money flow back to RAKYATS might be (if we adopt Pareto Principle, 20:80) AT MOST 20% and flow into G/NAP/crocs/Datok2 & Datin2/AP King, Ular Sawa, etc pockets is AT LEAST 80%.

Definitely it is damn sickening, ………..

Long life Rakyats, short life P1,… closed shop ASAP is best!

• avex (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 7:51 pm

2 funny. Only in Malaysia, economy class cars can reached up to 100k. With that kind of price I can buy a Golf GTI mk-5 with full options in US with money to spare…..

• cavino (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Problem with switching from CBU to CKD is lower local assembly quality. Such has been the case for Honda, etc.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 8:08 pm

cavino

CBU – "Completely Built Up"

CKD – "Completely Knock Down"

The above wording of the above sentences is clearly means what is the quality of end products!

• Tracks (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 1:52 am

Car distributed under the DRB group are generally over-priced IMHO. But I don't think is the government fault rather greedy DRB. Take Chervolet Aveo for example. They want RM80k for lousy engine with poor economy, no airbags or ABS car that just have looks alone.

Anyway, the government needs money for the NM9 as funds had been used up by the previous PM. So they try to drain our blood lah.

• kendo (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 3:46 am

we are paying EXTRA – unqiue" exercise duty",

that never exist in other countries

(salex tax is normal.

Look at UK/ Aussie Gquality with these NORMAL car tax money).

– assuming average minimal RM 10K per car for "exercise duty"

= 500,000 cars/ year x Rm10K E-duty= RM50,000,000,000!!!!

= RM 50 BILLION !!!!! (EXTRA..extra.extra….)

we are overpaying the mediocre HEADS.

BUt what CRAPS are rakyats getting ?!!

dumb…DO make WISE choice in coming time..

for TRUE rakyats car quality.

• nuggyn (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 5:48 am

Malaysians are so miserable!

Paying more than RM80K for a BUDGET CAR??? Hahaha!

no thanks to the G.

• ckcheong (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 7:07 am

Hai….. what to do? This is the government the 'rakyat' elect one mah…Here at 'Boleh Land', want to buy car ah… Average 'rakyat' can only afford low quality overpriced P1 or P2 cars. Want to buy other brand, need to donate a huge and unfair amount of money in terms of excise duty, sales tax and import tax to the G.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 5:40 pm

ckcheong – To be more precise is not "DONATE" but G through NAP and P1 is a "legal license to SUCK" like vacuum cleaner until "rakyats clean2 along it path", no where to hide and can't avoid as they treat consumers as "capture market" like bird in the cage, have to "sing good song to entertain them, yet we still owe them as they feed us in cage, other wise we die of starvation". "Never admit their sin in the first place by putting us inside the cage – protected market".

So, as a matter of pride, we shall not sing good song but make alll kind of noise so that the "world police – AFTA, WTO, etc" know our suffering and come to rescue us. Let" AFTA of G" – "Always F$$k The A$$hole of G"!