smart roadster Test Drive Report

roadster_small.jpgJust last month contributor Dr. S.P. Long tested the Brabus K4, somewhat of an uncle-car which just so happens to have the ability to go faster than the average E200K.

Since the tuned Mercedes-Benz E200K report drew so much of flak of still being an old mans car, Dr. S.P. Long has decided to visit this ‘old chaps garage and check out his other boring and conservative ride.

Enter the smart roadster, a small two-seater, rear engined, rear wheel drive roadster by the same people who brought you the E200K. Let’s have a look at how the smart roadster performs in an uncle’s hands.

Report by Dr. S.P. Long.

roadster_front.jpg
See this in your rear-view mirror and it wont be for long!

To say that his next car is boring: gosh! Its another DaimlerChrysler AG product. Owned by the uncle himself – what else? It is by Mercedes-Benz, so likely conservative too. Blue colour: possibly looking drab. Small cc engine with turbo: pointless. Handling: BMW will surely beat the heck out of this. Non-AMG version: not an M5 worthy opponent, a “poor mans” Mercedes.

Well to be specific, I had a taxi-ride in this roadster of Mr. Peter Lee. This little smart flies and yet hugs tarmac. Paradoxical? You bet. The uncle you guys mentioned was so maniacal on the road; he was weaving in and out of traffic at 140plus km/h! I was hanging for my dear life because it felt like 200km/h. Exhilarating yet feeling safe. The roadster felt ever so tightly screwed together and planted on the road. And oh so agile and nimble! Ride was firm, a little choppy at times but not uncomfortable. I am not at liberty to mention where we did the ‘Bad Boys run but it was atop and across a very famous landmark up north.

roadster_angle.jpg
Tridion cage in metallic silver.

This was after I took a leisurely drive in his RM145k smart roadster. The wind in your hair feeling was just so: Priceless. Mind you, he didnt purchase this car using a popular brand of credit card. Admittedly, with the fabric roof retracted back, we had let in a lot of noise and the occasional diesel fumes too. All are however forgiven since it was just lovely hearing the roar of the turbocharged engine – mounted in the rear. ICE upgrades? Dont bother. This car has a soundtrack of its own!

Handling is just so go-kart like. You can just point and shoot this little baby. Cornering lines are ever so faithfully taken. Steering is really sharp and incisive. Nicely weighted and fairly communicative – or was it just lesser rack feedback sensed since there were so many other distractions to saviour? Yes, NVH becomes nicely receptive and sensational in this rag-top. I must have gone mad saying this about noise in your ears, vibration felt through the canvas top and certain road harshness rippling through your butt & spine. It may be drums for the rear wheels, but stopping power is never found to be wanting, likely because of the low kerb weight of 790kg.

The small engine (698cc to be exact) is ever so willing and watching the boost gauge swing in the car reminds you of how responsive the turbine is to your right foot. I will not detail the innards of the car because its just spartan, functional and fun! The manual selections of gears by paddles have to be done ‘lift and shift pattern because it would get jerky if you are relentless on the throttle. This is no DSG but it works fine, much like the smart forfour. Leaving the automated manual to its own devices, I found it to be quicker on the go. Well, maybe youd need to hold a gear or two for B-roads drive, so the manual shifters are not all gimmicky.

roadster_wheel.jpg
Simple alloys but sporty.

I was just wondering if all these Road Runner (remember that famous cartoon?) zipping actions could be just a deception. The smarts diminutive size and open-top feeling may have contributed to the rocketing pick-up of speed. Getting back into my ‘uncle standard E200 Kompressor the next day, I found myself trailing the roadster ever so distantly during a drive over to Ferringhi Beach. Must be the advantageous power-to-weight ratio, I reckoned.

Well, so much for two old guys day out in one of the uncles other car. Until my next contribution (hint: review of another conservative make), keep an open mind guys!

roadster_back.jpg
Chunky rear-end misleading of its actual size. Owner ran off: camera shy!

roadster_boot.jpg
Sorry! No golf bags allowed. Just some snorkeling gears maybe. Tridion cell (in silver) surrounds front bonnet.

roadster_enginebay.jpg
Little blown ‘monster sits at the back.

roadster_interir.jpg
Simplicistic interior. Note turbo boost gauge almost hidden behind wheel rim.

roadster_interior.jpg
Engine idles high when cold. Paddle shifters lurking behind steering wheel.

roadster_catchup.jpg
The Mercedes played catch-up with the roadster.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blerkz (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 3:57 am

1st!!!

Nice car…..and very fast too…but interior looks a bit like cheap plastic to me.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:06 am

Was in one during KLIMS. Love it. Got a mitsu engine ainnit? Too bad its going to be (eventually) a discontinued product. If you had to pay this much, would you mind paying a bit extra for a 2nd Elise? Which is a true go karter than this gay machine.

• BlueChaos (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:07 am

Hmm, maybe a real competitor to MINI? The dash looks a bit similar…

• DtG (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:07 am

it's like an extremely expensive go-kart which has a proper interior, lights and is road-legal……

• armandd (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:14 am

this car is would really attract the chicks!

• siacw (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:27 am

only 3 wheel nuts like our Tiara rim?

• viceice (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:30 am

Two Words: Lotus Elise

• AMG (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 5:01 am

Very cool small cabrio car….

• drifting4eva (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 6:15 am

Would luv to mod this car to make it driftable. Rear wheel drive layout is good but wonder how having the engine in the back would affect oversteer

• accordmania (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 7:39 am

it is like a millionair's 4 wheels motorcycle

• KY (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 6:02 pm

why no pictures of YOU in the car, man I would pay to see that. :P

• midship (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 9:56 pm

RM145k is not a millionaires motorcycle?!?!?

for that price would settle for an MRS spyder instead… which is what I have :)

• armandd (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 3:07 am

paul, what are the power & torque output for this car?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 3:12 am

i dunnola…i hate smart…and still remember the stig drove the mart fortwo….cant corner in high speed…gosh…

• armandd (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 3:14 am

paul, what are the power and torque output for this car?

• armandd (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 3:18 am

ray, that fortwo is completely different from this roadster laa…

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 3:27 am

omg, it is only 698cc ??

i think it should be over 1000cc..

the whole car looks very plastic to me..

But i like the taillight, like RX8..

• szw (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 4:27 am

its a nice little which i hope to own 1 day.

i like it, hehe !

cool car lar.

• pirate (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 5:42 am

armandd,

If I am not mistaken…

82bhp at 5,250rpm; 110Nm torque at 2,250 – 4,500rpm.

• dawgHause (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 5:50 am

IMHO

the world's most pointless car in the world.

buy one of these and you won't be telling people that your cool (that would be an Audi TT), nor driver (that would be a Lotus), but just being abit of an idiot.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 9:06 am

at least this is safer than that other short smart car.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 5:42 pm

What a TOY car on town?

This is to show that Adults still like TOYS very much!

Ada siapa nak sokong?

TOYs R US CEO sokong……

• pirate (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 6:52 pm

Audi TT? Lotus?

Different league lah…

IMHO also, pointless is what aptly describes the fortwo.

Definitely not this roadster baby!

If that guy has got the moolah to pamper himself with roadster as a 2nd car (or even 3rd car), I wonder if such name calling is justifiable here.

Toys? Yeah, cars are indeed boys' toys apart from the other pricey 'hobby' fo some men…

;-)

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 6:58 pm

Have you guys noticed the drivers of Smart cars around KL have got some kind of serious attitude especially when driving? I've encountered a few who think they own the bloody road!

Guess the inferior complex gets the better of you when you acutally own a Smart car!

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:43 am

well..in malaysia..its a somethin freakin rich people who dont know at to do wit the cash buy…its suppose to be an entry level car in europe..so i dun think u guys should be comparing it wit AUDI TT'S OR RX8'S…my college student cousin in germany owns 2 of this!…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:59 am

its a poor choice for money. but then again, its his money. i guess its also exclusive coz not many people gonna pay for this car even if they had the choice.