PSA and Mitsubishi to work together on electric cars

Mitsubishi i MiEV

We may see Peugeot and Citroen badge engineered versions of the Mitsubishi i MiEV in the European market, much like PSA Peugeot Citroen’s deal with Mitsubishi with the Outlander, resulting in the C-Crosser and the 4007.

PSA Peugeot Citroen and Mitsubishi Motors have started a joint study that will last several months to examine the scope a potential cooperation to produce small electric-powered vehicles designed for city and urban use.

The study will also involve the feasibility of shared production sites for components for electric vehicles. This announcement comes just after the beginning of the construction of a new jointly owned factory in Russia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• knight_templar (Member) on Jun 17, 2008 at 8:39 pm

plug-in? the tech still not as good as ic engine rite. wats the range and charging time?

• azrai (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 6:50 am

Good. More R&D.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 8:16 am

I wonder why Mitsubishi.

PSA already has good relationships with Toyota on small city roundabouts (Aygo, C1, 107). I’m sure toyota’s hybrid system can very easily come out with battery only powered cars. They are already developing a “plug in hybrid” after all.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 8:23 am

KT,

Range wont be an issue if they use lithium batteries.

The Testla roadster for example of the earliest lithium battery powered car, has a published range of 200miles (320kms) per charge up.

If you view this in the context of a city car that rarely goes out of city limits, this is perfectly exceptable. This is not meant to be a long range cruiser…or your balik kampung car.

• rexis (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 10:53 am

Mitsu has all the research about a 4WD electric Evo and i Car. Its more like PSA learning from them..

The whole point is to get away from visiting siham or P regularly and utilized a more robust energy source. Also, as a plus point:
    – no engine oil to change, also means no oil leak, oil spill, eat oil, etc.
    – no carbonated sparkies to change.
    – electric motor, like the one in your fridge and vacume cleaner, last for ages.
    – max torque for 0 rpm.

But there are cons as well:
    – battery pack is expected to be (very)expensive and do not last forever.
    – battery pack usually heavy.
    – long time to recharge(refuel)
    – short range(or long range high price)

• rexis (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 11:10 am

if we got this electric car, we will need to service the air con more often then then engine.

Wonderful.

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 7:46 pm

With current fuel condition like this, electric car is a way to go. It may be inefficient and cumbersome now but in the future who knows.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 10:38 pm

Great! Our future cars are almost here!~
    I wonder when M’sia going to change their mind on electric cars?

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 11:07 am

When it’s affordable. Currently it’s still expensive. Still a lot of research and development to be done.