High fuel prices – a lifesaver?

Fuel-Wallet Gauge140 lives were saved this year in the UK thanks to rocket high fuel prices, claimed a research report by the Automobile Association. The AA suggests that high fuel prices encouraged drivers to slow down, accelerate gently and avoid sharp braking. This was observed over a period of 3 months between April to June 2008. Traffic volume during that period dropped by 1% during that period, but deaths in accidents dropped by a larger margin – 580 during the period compared to 721 during the same period last year. Quite interesting… another reason other than encouraging frugality to keep fuel prices high? Source

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:41 pm

Definitely true.
    During the 2.70/L time, less traffic on the road, hardly jam.

• SelekohBoi (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:59 pm

U wouldnt knw, maybe it’s seasonal. but i’m definate agree that’s hw it work for me. Lets hope all Malaysian get this & be enlighthen by the Adibah Noor ad.

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 1:47 pm

True but hardly the alternative to saving lives.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:10 pm

I noticed this too….drivers seem to changed their attitude of driving that time…more slow…

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:57 pm

fine.. then upcoming Chinese New Year.. please increase the Fuel price..
    let say.. RM 3.50 per litre. :D

Our accident during “Ops sikap” rate will reduce drastically . :D

lol

• ricaza (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:58 pm

ermm..i agree that it saves live..

maybe after this G will also used this as the excuse to not bring down the petrol prices here.. hehe..

• keretakura (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Yes .. DO first … THINK last like our G now … he he JUST KIDDING !!

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 4:06 pm

For me, i felt the pain, and i learn more about drive slow. Doesn’t need to increase price continuously to remind driver to slow down, rite?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 6:12 pm

this is f**king crap by every G !!!! Road accident rate won be the same eveeryday !!! Its seasonal !!! Sometimes the probability of accident is higher and sometimes lower !!! Accident is something that is unpredictable !!! Who knows the accident rate may go up next couple of months !!!! Every G nowadays are very good in giving stupid excuses for raising fuel prices !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 6:15 pm

High Fuel prices = High income for Government + High Burden for People

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 6:16 pm

Why don’t you think like this, lower fuel prices, lesser stress on family, less arguements that could led to psychotic killings of the whole family. Furthermore, people would travel local more thus a stimulus to the country’s tourism. Lower gas prices also mean food is less expensive and the whole list goes on. It doesn’t matter if petrol was RM1.50 or even RM15, I would still need to drive 20km to and from work everyday. This whole thing doesn’t make sense to be honest. Furthermore, please don’t give the government anymore excuses to let the petrol prices remain this high. We are already overpaying a lot of things as of now.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 8:26 pm

nope, will not work in malaysia.Wait balik kampung season and you will see deaths

• nmh (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:19 am

mohd moto still rempit in malaysia…..doesnt make sense

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 8:23 am

Oh I know. Want to reduce traffic fatalities…and by a big margin?

Ban motocyclists.

Ok, i’m just being sacastic.

While I belive that thier justification are valid, people do drive more frugally when fuel is expensive, I think that there are also many other factors to consider.
    Perhaps people travel less (go out less) when fuel prices are high, leading to lower traffic volume.

For what its worth, I also notice more red light runners…..trying to save fuel for not stopping? lol.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:17 am

not true, its the lousy malaysian roads that causes accidents

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:52 am

why is that germany that has no speed limit is low in accident record?

it is more to attitude…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:53 am

i mean, by comparing it to malaysia case…

• ferox (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Don’t know about accidents and saving lives.

Personally, for me it’s true. My awareness and attitude towards driving conservatively with fuel efficiency in mind has improved and I did see noticeable changes in fuel consumption.

Things I do now:
    1. Look ahead. There’s no need to accelerate when traffic lights in front are red or when cars are already slowing down.
    2. Change gear faster at about 2250 revs.
    3. Try to keep within optimum speed esp. on highways @ 80-90 kph

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 6:37 pm

f**king CRAP !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• torque (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Greeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaattt…our G will use this as an excuse to raise petrol price later…

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:19 pm

Save life.
    Save resource.
    Save environment also.
    I supoort the price cannot be too low.
    1.92 is too low.
    Just see how many cars on the road then.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:18 pm

autojohndoe said,

November 10, 2008 @ 11:52 am

why is that germany that has no speed limit is low in accident record?

it is more to attitude…
    —————————
    one word, slow speed and environmentalists kill