Shahrir suggests minimum RM1.92 price for fuel

Fuel-Wallet GaugeWe may not see our fuel prices ever dropping below RM1.92 per litre, if the current Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister gets his way. Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs is of the opinion that the government should scrap the RM0.30 per litre fuel subsidy if the cost of fuel minus the subsidy ended up being less than RM1.92 per litre.

This is because he feels RM1.92 per litre is a reasonable price to pay for fuel in Malaysia. In fact, since a floor price of RM1.92 per litre is being suggested, we could also see sales tax for petroleum introduced if unsubsidised fuel ends up being priced under RM1.92 per litre!

“I believe that we should try as best as possible to reduce or even stop forking out money for fuel subsidy and use it for development and economic purposes. Despite a decline in global fuel price, the amount of subsidy the government has to fork out is still substantial. I also believe that if the price is any lower than what I have mentioned, the public will not practice wise spending because an essential item is cheap,” said Datuk Shahrir.

The new higher fuel prices has forced me to be more frugal with my accelerator pedal. My driving is alot smoother and I managed to stretch my mileage from about 450 to 500km per tank to 620km per tank thanks to a new driving pattern. But at the same time, you have to acknowledge that those from the really poor income bracket need all the help they can get and would definitely benefit from having a fuel price lower than RM1.92 per litre without increasing their consumption unreasonably!

Government fuel subsidy expenditure for the months of June, July and August 2008 was RM1.97 billion, RM1.95 billion and RM1.42 billion respectively. In addition to that, the government also paid out an additional RM2.5 billion between April to September 2008 for the RM625 per vehicle subsidy.

“The government has spent up to RM16.8 billion just on fuel subsidy and RM2.5 billion on rebates for motorists and motorcyclists. All that means from January to December, we’ll be spending about RM19 to RM20 billion. If we can save some money on subsidy, that savings will be spent to tackle the issue of economic growth,” the Minister added.

The RM625 subsidy will be gone next year. In its place will be a new system that has yet to be decided by the government.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:27 am

No more cash rebates???
    SOB…

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 4:02 am

Don’t bs to us la G. You think we that stupid? We can do basic maths and know that we’re overpaying for petrol. In certain parts of US even with taxes they’re paying less than what we’re paying now. Don’t believe? Visit http://www.texasgasprices.com/ and see it for yourself.

• jen (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 7:52 am

BS!
    What floor price?
    How about setting a ceiling at RM2.00/litre?
    The government surely knows to take profit!!!
    At the first place, there is no subsidy is we are a NET exporter i.e. sell more than buy
    BTW, many valid drivers don’t get the rebates.

My sister’s car is apparently not in the system despite being valid.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 8:51 am

since petrol now hav floor price, how bout telling us the maximum price in case of huge inflation of petrol price?

• droll (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:03 am

minimum price to prevent wasteful usage? sounds like another excuse for corporations and cronies to make money.

i’m sure there are many more ways to prevent waste usage. sheesh.

• p1basher (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:28 am

droll said,

November 2, 2008 @ 9:03 am

minimum price to prevent wasteful usage? sounds like another excuse for corporations and cronies to make money.

i’m sure there are many more ways to prevent waste usage. sheesh.

Agree, prevent wasteful usage? I tot the G know how to waste money better than us… I am so poor and I was forced to eat 2 meals a day budget within RM10 when the fuel price at RM2.70. When I attended G courses, guess what? they eat 6 meals a day to prevent wasteful meal i guess.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:02 am

Not able to reduce to 1.92 immediately=To save petrol dealers from losses

To stop subsidizing fuel=To use the cash for development purposes.

Aren’t they earning more now as we are paying more than the actual price? There’s nothing to subsidize at the current price.

this minister is another flip flop. A bit off topic, read today’s star. Apparently aviation fuel for planes in malaysia has shot up higher at rm9 per litre and its more expensive than singapore at rm6 per litre. This same minister said nothing he can do as it is controlled by petronas.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:28 am

What the f**k with you G….. Damn go to he*l la Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs……… you dont want to reduce the price just because want to earn money in term of tax…. yet, its another stupid reason by saying about the accelerator pedal !!!! STOP IT !!!!!

GUYS …….. LETZ VOTE FOR ANWAR AND PAKATAN RAKYAT !!!!!!
    …… Chase those ministers out !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Makeitright (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:46 am

well of course it is waste of petrol!
    i mean my brother went to get some petrol and what?
    the petrol is empty in the station!
    well if just one station i don’t mind but
    my brother have to looks over 3 petrol station.

do you all remember that went there is a message state that petrol price will going up
    people race to petrol station to get some petrol.
    you know what this story tells us?
    people will buy petrol without limits when the petrol price drops!

• Makeitright (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:56 am

what!?
    vote for anuar?
    that g*y!

what are you doing here?
    ‘kempen’ ka?
    do you what their mouth promise
    will their hand do it?

well you can try
    i’m also wants to see what they can change.
    if they rules and Malaysia going havoc
    there is a person we can blame
    thats is YOU!

• delos3nos (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:44 pm

well where is your words last time they say petrol is acooding to market and now back to square one bull shit MINISTER TIPU Price must go down and then pertrol also have to come down stop cheating the rakyat.

kATA SAtu bUAT sATU TIPU PUNYA MINISTER

• sonicsim (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Anybody know what is bullshit? How about maximum corruption money? Why the minumum worker wages never been introduce? I said all these is “BULLSHIT”

• ricaza (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:12 pm

hahaha..
    i think that is not bcoz of people buying to much petrol maa…
    it becoz the petrol station had already know that petrol price will go down..
    they juz buying a little stock before the price go down in order to cover the losses…it’s simple maa.. and then kerajaan still say that the price juz go down 15 cents becoz to cover the losses..kerajaan n petrol station is good friends maa..

3 petrol station ‘habis minyak’..i don’t think it bcoz of malaysian buying it too much..it’s bullshit maa..malaysian have learning to use the petrol wisely during the pricey petrol.. anyone agree with me??

about anwar..ermm..i dun want to comment..but i agree i would like to see something change in our corrupted govrnment..it is very2 good if the our government is better than now..by the way..i dun think that malaysia is going havoc if the kerajaan changing..the kerajaan nowadays already created the starting of the havoc..people can see that..figth with themself in party..cannot control the PTI, i think the crimes cases is higher and higher, lot’s of thing happening rite now…

think it back..think wisely..then we can see it….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:28 pm

ricaza said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 1:12 pm

hahaha..
    they juz buying a little stock before the price go down in order to cover the losses…it’s simple maa.. and then kerajaan still say that the price juz go down 15 cents becoz to cover the losses..kerajaan n petrol station is good friends maa..

3 petrol station ‘habis minyak’..i don’t think it bcoz of malaysian buying it too much..it’s bullshit maa..malaysian have learning to use the petrol wisely during the pricey petrol.. anyone agree with me??

about anwar..ermm..i dun want to comment..but i agree i would like to see something change in our corrupted govrnment..it is very2 good if the our government is better than now..by the way..i dun think that malaysia is going havoc if the kerajaan changing..the kerajaan nowadays already created the starting of the havoc..people can see that..figth with themself in party..cannot control the PTI, i think the crimes cases is higher and higher, lot’s of thing happening rite now…

think it back..think wisely..then we can see it….

exactly……….. i agree with your points…………

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:30 pm

delos3nos said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 12:44 pm

well where is your words last time they say petrol is acooding to market and now back to square one bull shit MINISTER TIPU Price must go down and then pertrol also have to come down stop cheating the rakyat.

kATA SAtu bUAT sATU TIPU PUNYA MINISTER

———————————————–

yeah… must chase them out !!!!!!!! full of corruption !!!!!!!!!

• God.of.War (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:34 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 11:28 am

What the f**k with you G….. Damn go to he*l la Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs……… you dont want to reduce the price just because want to earn money in term of tax…. yet, its another stupid reason by saying about the accelerator pedal !!!! STOP IT !!!!!

—————————————————————

I hope the ISA wont catch u !

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:42 pm

“…the public will not practice wise spending because an essential item is cheap,”…

I’m from selangor (subang jaya, to be exact), I forgot when was the last time my dad paid the water bill, cuz since we get free 20m3 water, my whole family (just me n both my parents stay at home) hv been more careful with our water usage. As a result, we’ve consistently managed to keep our monthly usage below 20m3 ie absolutely free. There u have it, u stupid minister, I CAN practise wise spending even when I get something for FREE.

• keretakura (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Nothing can be done now …. BN run our beloved country like their sh*t
    so just wait for next GENERAL ELECTION …. Hope that time BN will go down

NO MORE VOTE FOR BN

• pippen (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 4:09 pm

1. The international oil price going up so government cannot subsidize or else will bankrupt (less than 6 months ago) – from RM1.92->RM2.70, and cost of living all going up like crazy. Dont forget TNB said they raise price due to high oil price, so does the MAS, AirAsia! and almost every kopi-tiam, uses the same excuses.
    2. G will impose oil float based on international price in monthly review, but will still subsidize minimum RM0.30 (huge competition with PKR that time)
    3. Then internation oil price dropped more than 50% in the past 6 weeks
    4. G said we cannot dropped price because it will harm the petrol station! (this is the most lame excuses i have ever heard), and until now our best price offer is RM2.15 (and that is 20cents more than RM1.92 where the international oil price is higher than RM1.92).
    5. TNB dont drop price, MAS no drop price, AirAsia think they wanted to drop price, and the kopi-tiam sure wont drop price.
    6. So now we are subsidizing Petronas! selling oil to Msia public is better than exporting to the outside world!
    7. It is another story to tell the current G even not able to compete with the outside work in doing business even in the oil business. How many maybank deal has wasted our money, how many holichopter deal has wasted our money, how many undisclose deal has wasted our money.
    8. Those minister has totally no intelligent in handling the situation. They are just there to take the money for their good. What is their education background to handle our countries business?
    9. Can income-tax department go check thise AP holder’s company putting huge advertisement in the motor-trading magazine how much tax they are paying? Those asset (cars) value anytime more than Rm10million, and how many local companies doing legitimate business can match that? and how much they are contributing to our country, and how much tax they are paying if talking about pay tax by the minister.
    10. You want to continue lead by these people? Its your choice.

• BW (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 5:09 pm

I’m starting to hate those ministers more and more for giving unreasonable excuses

• BW (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 5:12 pm

anyway i already hate them

• pippen (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 5:49 pm

regarding the implementation tax system, why do we deserve such situation:

Malaysia BMW new coupe 320CI: RM 289K

US BMW coupe 328: MSRP $36,300 (x 3.6 = RM130,000)
    http://www.bmwusa.com/Standard/Content/Vehicles/2009/3/328iCoupe/default.aspx

Malaysian are richer? If such car with higher spec can sell at RM130K, we sure support Proton with a lower price with quality comparison, says…RM20-30K for Persona? I think the Rayat will sure elect for BN if such system is implemented (I will for sure vote for BN if they do this to banise all those unfair tax to show they are changing) horray to the BN, NJB, SHHRIR if they dare to do that! BN forever then!! No more unfair import car tax, fair oil price systems! btw, how about those AP holders?…mmh…i forgotten those are the people connecting to the other people..opps..day dream too early.

• keretakura (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 7:00 pm

To all new generation people lets vote for PR for NEXT GENERAL ELECTION. We are moving to the next step of MERDEKA. BN not relevant anymore.
    Please don’t BAN OR ISA me …. he he he

• Makeitright (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 7:51 pm

I see that all of you hates BN.
    Maybe i’m in PR territory or anti BN which is also a PR.
    Wrong place for me.

But i’m really, really(10 times) wants to see the so call ‘New Government’ will ‘Change Everything’.
    Let us sit back, votes our party in the election day and see.
    Let us bet.
    If the new Government success in change everything well i’m will amaze and well good for us.
    IF DON’T, in the end you will know which party you prefer.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 7:57 pm

God.of.War said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 1:34 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 11:28 am

—————————————————————

I hope the ISA wont catch u !

——————————————–

Catch me for what ????? ISA is meant for those people creating racial havoc in country only !!!! But i dun get the point why the h*ll our G used it to catch those of people against BN !!!!! Actually they are misusing the power !!!!

• Makeitright (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 8:04 pm

There goes another topic.
    Man, if BN being hates so much why they can still ruling right now.

The ISA is used
    When somebody disturb our races harmony.
    When somebody make other people fights.
    In yours case, of course ISA wont catch you!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:19 pm

Makeitright said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 8:04 pm

There goes another topic.
    Man, if BN being hates so much why they can still ruling right now.

The ISA is used
    When somebody disturb our races harmony.
    When somebody make other people fights.
    In yours case, of course ISA wont catch you!

———————————————

actually the use of ISA that u mentioned above is the actual purpose if ISA in our country … actually u got it correct there …. but do BN menteri implementing it as u said above ????? Wad is the purpose of detaining a press reporter in which our G said they detained her to protect her !!!! Does ISA meant to protect people in that manner also ah !!! i thought ISA is only for the above problems as u said only….doesnt make sense rite wid waht our G said…

• nasiklemak (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:04 pm

BrakeFader said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 11:02 am

Not able to reduce to 1.92 immediately=To save petrol dealers from losses

To stop subsidizing fuel=To use the cash for development purposes.

Aren’t they earning more now as we are paying more than the actual price?
    ——————————————-
    Ricaza said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 1:12 pm

hahaha..
    ——————————————-

actually, many of us got it wrong here. petrol station owners aren’t not aware of the price up or down. price are controlled remotely by shell, petronas, etc.

in fact, here’s what happened :
    1. when price gonna go up
    petrol station owners are unaware of this and ANY petrol that they order before the price hike are ‘cut/delayed’ by the distribution center. The distributors are the one stocking up the petrol for themselves. (READ: it is these ppl that REALLY make the money)
    >> that’s why petrol finish early when price hike happen and NO FUEL RELOAD happen soon after, bcoz, dsitributors stock pile their stocks.

2. when price go down
    again, they are unaware of this news and they can’t finish off their ‘higher priced’ fuel stocks on the day before price drop bcoz ppl will ‘delay’ their purchase for cheaper priced petrol on the next day.
    >> they actually suffer big losses each time price go down WITHOUT any compensation from G until today. Thats why there are mad. (yeah i know, they’re rich ppl anyways ..who cares right?)

3. Station owners DOES NOT have the chance to take advantage of the price hike at all. Distribution centers never mention to them when the price gonna go up or down. Prices are controlled by the satellite dish on top of the stations. (go see it urself if u dont trust me).
    >> See who makes the profit here ? Not the station owners. But the big companies themselves which are mostly owned by datuk/menteri and the sorts.

i’m not a part of this kind of business in any way, but we should all realize the actual ‘advantage-takers’ … my point is, clearly, it is not these station owners.

• nasiklemak (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:09 pm

whatever it is … i really hope the price will down further.
    in fact i would love petrol price to be lower than RM1.92.

and still, i dont agree with our G’s reasoning to save the petrol station owners. bcoz from what i know, until now G havent give any type of compensation to the owners.
    also, G should have lowered the price quickly like the market price drop… delaying by one or two day will just make G richer … :(

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 3:00 am

Sure fire way to loose more votes.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:16 am

OMG, prevent petrol wastage.

Nvm, so where are we reducing to RM1.92?

• xavier_lert (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:35 am

now what they doin..takin profit huh?!!…we not asking u how to jimat fuel….we jus wanna know the workaround that not gonna beban the rakyat…..dont u have any solution? dont u have any expert that gonna say “dato’ september ni minyak turun balik so maybe we can suntik little bit from our money …..” ??? whose the advisor? dont u have any EXPERT that know the price gonna reduce start from September?…….u can see the impact now…price goin sky hi….n u think they gonna reduce it? yae u bet the “WILL”….. how how how……????

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:04 am

nasiklemak said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 11:04 pm
    actually, many of us got it wrong here. petrol station owners aren’t not aware of the price up or down. price are controlled remotely by shell, petronas, etc.

—————-

Not sure why you quote me but I never put the blame on petrol station owners. What I meant was the Government and the petrol suppliers. The suppliers could sell at the cheaper rate with ample time to the petrol dealers before it takes effect on consumers.

The main point here is why is the Government delaying the price reduction? Somebody is making money each time we are denied lower price with the lower global oil prices.

• ckengyo (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:08 am

please b fair 2 us. don’t just arguing how much u subsidies have spends. show us as well, how much the money come in, where the money channel 2. we r not six year old. we r the 1 with voting power in our hand. some fill guilty after bn loss lots of seat, i think now they feel glad what they did & think they r going 2 vote out bn again in next election. wont even shock if pakatan take over in the future.

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:20 am

haiyaa…this minister talking like all the rakyat were stupid like him….agree with many of you guys!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:51 am

rm 1.00 petrol!!!!

• rexis (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 3:55 pm

Sharir, you also know how to say driving style can save you 10% of fuel, now you hike the fuel for 60%… we can start pushing our car.

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 10:19 pm

…Wad is the purpose of detaining a press reporter in which our G said they detained her to protect her !!!!…

Well, TK did insult the Malay and Muslims by [1] Commenting on Azan, [2] Jawi signboard [3] Asking JAIS to employ non-muslims to work with them… if you ask me, that’s 3 strikes in a row. Yes, she’s a champion only among the Christians and Chinese. And that reporter was indirectly saved by ISA, if no action were taken against her, I’m sure the Malays/Muslims will not keep quiet and you know the rest. TK’s house has been thrown with molotov cocktail, there’s an old Malay saying; “hanya kerana mulut badan binasa”. A cheap way for political gain if you ask me.

Just my 2 Ringgit and 15 Cents.

• nasiklemak (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 7:00 pm

BrakeFader said,
    November 3, 2008 @ 10:04 am

Not sure why you quote me but I never put the blame on petrol station owners. What I meant was the Government and the petrol suppliers. The suppliers could sell at the cheaper rate with ample time to the petrol dealers before it takes effect on consumers.

The main point here is why is the Government delaying the price reduction? Somebody is making money each time we are denied lower price with the lower global oil prices.
    ———————————-
    ahh, sorry, i shouldn’t have quoted u in the first place. my apologies to u.
    u’re right , we’re on the same boat then.

• nasiklemak (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 7:15 pm

govt & the petrol companies are actually making use of the petrol station owners to cover up their loss. Be it when there is price hike or price down! Either way, these ppl (G and petrol companies) still make money.

if u’re doing ur own biznes, wouldnt u be mad? you’re just the middle man and u’re stuck with less profit due to G and ur top mgmt (shell, petronas, esso, etc)

* same thing that happen to chicken/sugar/cooking oil sellers. middle man suffer a lot where as ur commission is still at the same rate.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:28 pm

oil will go up, don’t worry about it. This economy downturn is temporary. Will not last that long…

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:08 pm

dodgeviper88 said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 4:02 am

Don’t bs to us la G. You think we that stupid? We can do basic maths and know that we’re overpaying for petrol. In certain parts of US even with taxes they’re paying less than what we’re paying now. Don’t believe? Visit http://www.texasgasprices.com/ and see it for yourself.

Thanks for the information. It is priced at US$1.81/gallon, hence if convert
    to RM, it is actually only RM1.58/liter (based on exc. rate 3.5, and 4 liter/gallon). So, country which imports oil actually sell less than that in Malaysia.
    Pandai sungguh gomen berniaga ya….cit

• torque (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 12:34 pm

What?! Wanna floor the oil price to RM1.92 and wanna take away the subsidies if it’s any lower? Oooooh…takpe, saya tak KISAH laa. Saya terima apa-apa cadangan ‘bernas’ dari Tuan Mulia Shahrir kita ni. Bagus, bagus! Err…tapi Tuan Mulia Shahrir, how about you scrap the RIDICULOUS import car taxes like your genius suggestion to scrap the subsidies? Apa macam? Ada berani ka? Ceh! Cakap tak serupa bikin…

p/s: WE MALAYSIAN DESERVE BETTER!!!!

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 1:42 am

syoh don’t spread misinformation. The azan issue was a TOTAL FABRICATION by khir toyo and utusan malaysia. The imam of the mosque even has stated publicly that Kok never questioned the azan at all. if you dont know the facts or are blinded by hate, then don’t spread false rumours and encourage violence. (on a car blog of all places…)

Why does a reporter need to be “saved” for simply doing her job reporting racist comments made by that idiot ahmad? Why wasn’t the ISA used against the speechmaker or those threatening her but instead used against the victim of the threats?

The fact that you speak so casually and dismissively about violence against non-muslims only reflects poorly on your own character. better stick to talking about Proton because in this case, your 2 ringgit 15 sen are worthless.

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:58 am

hey, we need the RM0.30 per liter fuel subsidy… we want RM1.62 per litre in the fututre, that was our right and we deserve that price because global oil price already drop at US$60 per barrel. (if i’m not mistaken)

• kemosabe (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 5:11 pm

As the end of the day it is the people who decide what to do with their lives. We are a bunch of dis-united lot coz we were made that way for obvious reasons – divide and conquer.
    Look at our neighbour Thailand, its the people’s power that control the country. They could kick out their own prime minister. Same goes for Indonesia. Malaysia on the other hand could not do so coz there is no unity.
    If we complain car prices are high simple because of the protection accorded to Proton, then can we just don’t buy a Proton(of hold the purchase a few months) or buy a used one instead as a sign of protest.
    We can voice our discontent by not doing business(as much as possible) with the GLCs.
    The government can do whatever they want coz they know the people will not protest in huge numbers.