McLaren SLR Stirling Moss: More images!

Stuttgart-based Mercedes Benz has revealed more images of the McLaren SLR Stirling Moss which was the last vehicle produced from the partnership between McLaren and Mercedes. Named after the great racing legend, the SLR Stirling Moss is powered by a supercharged 5.5 litre V8 which is good for a total of 650HP.

With a 5 speed automatic transmission from the SLR 722, it can hit the 100 km/h mark in just 3.5 seconds and can deliver a top speed of 349 km/h despite not having a wind screen. It comes with a two-piece cover that can cover the entire cockpit. Continue reading to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=179]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:28 pm

nice but they should have front window screen… thats why it luks so awkward…

• mohdjiman on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:54 pm

Look awkward is one thing…with supercharged 5.5 liter V8 worth 650 hp and top speed 349kmh…just cruising at 100kmh and the wind straight to your face…what it will be looked like. mata berair la…haha. handsome car…but when the car moves, not so handsome driver la…

• tanasi on Mar 11, 2009 at 10:21 pm

wear a helmet la, not so hard to figure out.

• hakim_radzuan on Mar 11, 2009 at 10:23 pm

Err i wonder where to go without front windscreen?

• awesome! twin cockpit bat-mobile…

• newbie on Mar 11, 2009 at 10:54 pm

not having a windshield is what makes it special..

• This car is make for eyes to see, cant tough with hands T_T

• the stik on Mar 11, 2009 at 11:13 pm

if dun wear helmet bukan saja the wind hentam muka, the bugs also will enter your mulut and lobang hidung.. hnsss hnsss.. pahit beb rasa dia..

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 11:31 pm

it is really mad ..

looks like veritas

still prefer the ariel atom ..

• Analyzer on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:29 am

Is it street legal since it does not have a wind screen? at first glance, it reminds me of the monoque F1 cars of the 1950's, Juan Fangio's time, the Mercedes Benz W196. Like a modern reincarnation

• bmpower on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:42 am

damn hot!

• menawan on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:12 am

If hujan sure the worst car ever.. Muahahahaha…

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:15 am

i like the current slr better…

it looks odd…

with enzo front look alike bumper…

but still…

its nice…

if i have the money…i will buy bat mobile than this car…

hahaha

• wear helmet? then it will spoil the driver hair!

hahaha

• Impressive? Still can reach 349km/h without the present of the windshield!

I wonder what is the value of the coefficient drag? [Cd]

Any info about that Paul?

• aliBaPa on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:17 am

[quote comment="219767"]Impressive? Still can reach 349km/h without the present of the windshield!

I wonder what is the value of the coefficient drag? [Cd]

Any info about that Paul?[/quote]

depends on driver's figure/shape.

• droll on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:25 am

hey there sexy thing! afaik, this vehicle can only be purchased *IF* you own or have previously owned a SLR!!

• Is the air-cond purely cosmetic or what? I mean what's the purpose?

• CocoBear on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:50 am

[quote comment="219774"]Is the air-cond purely cosmetic or what? I mean what's the purpose?[/quote]

Actually, u dun need air-con vents. U have enjoy/endure the outside breeze.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:40 pm

[quote comment="219798"][quote comment="219774"]Is the air-cond purely cosmetic or what? I mean what's the purpose?[/quote]

Actually, u dun need air-con vents. U have enjoy/endure the outside breeze.[/quote]

not sure about this car, but the new convertible bmw E92's, the aircon will still come on when the top is down, depending on the outside temperature.

• I read 2 full pages about this on TopGear Malaysia mag. Awesome. :)

For me it doesn't look awkward at all. Since it's have plenty of old 350 SLR styling cues.