Goodyear Duraplus Contest #1: Winners List

Goodyear Logo

Goodyear DuraplusInitially when the Goodyear Duraplus contest was first announced, Goodyear was putting up one set of Duraplus tyres for a lucky and deserving winner to win. The entries poured in like crazy and the Goodyear folks had a tough time picking out a winner.

There was also another issue – there were really too many entries who really really needed a tyre change but could not because they couldn’t afford them. Being the good-hearted folks they are, they decided to increase the amount of sets they were giving out to four!

Here are the four winners:

Goodyear Duraplus Winner 1 Goodyear Duraplus Winner 2 Goodyear Duraplus Winner 3 Goodyear Duraplus Winner 4
Click images for enlarged version

The winners have been contacted and they will be getting their sets from Goodyear directly. I hope you’re happy with your tyres guys. I’m planning to organize more tyre giveaways in the future especially before festive seasons.

Festive seasons are the times when many families will be on the road to ‘balik kampung’ and they should be able to do so safely. Times are very tough for many these days so helping people with a fresh set of tyres for their own safety as well as for the safety for others is never a bad thing. So if you didn’t manage to get selected this time around, do try again! Many thanks to Goodyear for the tyres!

For more information on Goodyear Duraplus, visit the related link: Goodyear Duraplus lasts up to 100,000km?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 03, 2009 at 2:58 am

Gosh. These fellar with tat kinda tyre threads still dare on da road? It's amazing.

• I'm soo happy for the winners. I sincerely think they deserve it.

I think Malaysian still lacking in the awareness of tyres safety.

Then again tyres are not cheap to maintain.

I have been saving this idea to use on my own business but for the

sake of my fellow countrymen… i'll share it here.

What tyre companies need to do is a loyalty program. For example

XYZ tyre companies sell a loyalty card in a affordable bracket like

RM100 – RM250. With this card the customer is guaranteed to

entitled let say 25% discount on their next purchases for the period

of 5 to 7 years.

It's a win-win situation if you ask me. I'll stick to my XYZ tyre company

and guaranteed a discount whenever i want to change my tyres.

The XYZ company will have a cash-flow in advance from the membership

so that they can reduced the spending on advertising to 75% since

they have already secured clients for the next 5 to 7 years.

/tips over.

• oh and p/s…

please give premium gift as well. preferably an F1 type of shirt :)

• Fanz PT on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:18 am

paul,tv3 said proton n lotus will produce new engine.. any post? TQ =)

• wow, these people really needed the tyres, look how botak they are!

• Karipap Panas on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:20 am

This week I went to numerous tyre shops from Old Klang Road up to USJ and not a single one have Duraplus including Goodyear Servicetekar shop. Some of the workers were not aware of this tyres and those who are aware informed me that I need to place an order because it is not available yet. In my opinion, it might be a tactic by the shopowner not to sell this tyre because the frequency to change will be less so rugi a bit laa. End up getting Ducaros.

• off-topic a bit.. paul tan any news on the new proton engine?

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?i…

• ckalex (Member) on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:57 am

Wow this cars should be banned from the roads! Shame on you guys. You said you have families and you try your best to feed them etc. Yet, you neglect their safety and put their lives at risk each time you drive!

To put into perspective, you are moving a 1 tonne metal at speeds of 100kph ++ and the only contact between your car and the road are 4 pieces of postcard-sized surface area. Now imagine the tyres are literally smooth as postcards, without thread.

I shudder to think what would happen in the event of an accident when you're trying to save on tyres. Sometimes, i'm truly amazed that Malaysian cars can run on 17 or 18 inch wheels and yet have slick tyres without any thread.

• Paul, no update on proton's new 1.6l engine?..i just saw the news on the Buletin Utama today..

• kancil_driver on Oct 03, 2009 at 7:30 am

Kim, great idea! I'd change my set every 35,000km if there's such program. Reason? I barely managed to avoid an accident because my hardened rubber (1 year and a half, at 35,000km) could not provide me an adequate braking grip. Mind you, it happened on a dry day.

I believe there are more than thread depth on safety. Even though the tires still have the thread, hardened rubber will not give you enough grip.

My lesson learnt, in hot country like M'sia, if you keep parking your car outside (like me), your tires will not last 2 years!!! I dont think many of us have the luxury of roofed parking at work, right?

So, if you touch your tires and you feel like touching rocks with zero rubbery feel, just change them even if the thread are still there!

Ckalex; Yes, I'm also amazed by those who put 16", 17" (or more), low profile tires on their ride but never consider that (1) low profile tires are expensive because they are made for performance, and performance = soft compound = cepat habis. (2) 16",17" (or more) tires are expensive….

• @Kancil…

How ironic… my gf also spurned her car and doing 360 degrees because of thread-less tyres… the reason not changing it sooner? waiting for year end bonus.

• Kerelbort on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:08 am

Wow… lucky them…

So sad my Savvy can onli fit NCT5… other than that is the really rare to find TOYO tyres and MAXXIS..

175/55/15

• Kerelbort on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:10 am

aiyah… forgot liao… ekcelli wanna ask if they going to come up with savvy tire size as posted in my earlier post… :P…

NCT5 on Savvy on cornered road on clear day and clear road wont last long… :P

• Paul, I guessed you should give the tyres to someone who needs it more than someone who doesn't e.g. the first winner who is driving a Swift. The rest are driving real old cars, least they are less costly to purchase. Just my 2 cents.

• Paul Tan on Oct 04, 2009 at 9:31 pm

The winners were picked by the sponsor Goodyear not me.

• Dear GT,

Some winners won because their story is interesting,

not about how poor they are.

To Paul,

Anyway, there's another possibility of 4 less accident case on the road now.

• Eyesore on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:06 pm

win because of interesting story? Wasn't it supposed to be won by people who really really need to change their tyres but really really can't afford to do so…

hehehe… not saying he does not deserve to win.. but just looking at the situation logically..

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 2:07 am

Seriously, I agree with "Eyesore" that the tyre should go to people who are more deserving. If you can afford a Swift, then you should be prepared for the maintenance as well.

Funny thing is I have the same predicament as "Karipap Panas" when looking for Duraplus tyres. Apparently it is not in-strock at many places.

• LameDuck on Oct 06, 2009 at 10:54 pm

The swift woman winner #1 seems like a family member of someone at paultan.org.Goodyear agree with the choice is interesting.anyway tahniah kepada semua pemenang.

• Paul Tan on Oct 19, 2009 at 7:15 am

LameDuck: I did not choose any of the winners, nor are they any of my friends/family members.

• i need a tyre change as well!

• anj97 on Nov 13, 2009 at 7:49 am

can drive suzuki swift but cant afford new tyres.What a joke!!!

Mr.Paul pls look seriously to whom you give out the tyres.People with posh cars must be able to buy new tyres.

• whether the competition is bias or not is not the point, the point is those jokers(winners) of Duraplus have the guts to drive with bald tyres endangering the lifes of other ppl on the road……SHAME ON The Winners….all the sob story about feeding kids and taking care of them is bollocks…if you follow the 20 cent coin measurement all tyres would have failed the safety thread test which is breaking the law and endangering the lifes of other road users….Goodyear's marketing brings out the ugly side of M'sians.