Lotus F1 scale model heads to the windtunnel

Lotus F1 Scale Model

The Litespeed-managed Lotus F1 Racing team has released two photos of a scale model of its first Formula 1 racer that’s currently being used for windtunnel testing. There is no name for the new car yet, but more details about the team were revealed in an interview with technical director Mike Gascoyne provided along with the press release.

According to Gascoyne, development has already been on-going for a few months before the team entry was confirmed in mid-September 2009. Gascoyne is currently in Malaysia interviewing potential employees for technical roles. They are also recruiting various other personnel in the fields of admin, marketing and PR. A full list was published as a full page ad in the papers recently.

Lotus F1 Scale Model

The team will be based in the RTN facility in UK initially but as previously mentioned the ultimate goal is to have a full technical facility at the Sepang circuit. However, when that happens a small UK base will still be kept to give the team a logistical advantage when the team is racing in Europe.

Lotus F1 aims to get the car up and running for a roll-out by mid-February 2010 in prepration for the Bahrain race in mid-March. The car is currently being developed with a few technical partners including Fondtech for aerodynamics, Xtrac for transmissions, and Cosworth for engines. Malaysian companies are involved in certain areas including some aspects of engineering as well as composites (very likely to be Composites Technology Research Malaysia).

There are rumours currently afloat about Toyota’s Jarno Trulli joining the new team. Trulli will likely take the senior role and be complemented by a more junior driver, possibly a Malaysian. Everyone seems to be looking at Fairuz Fauzy right now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 15, 2009 at 2:41 pm

so far so good. front wing looks too simple and somehow it resembles current uncompetitive BMW sauber package. Fairuz should be the man. He is very aggresive like F.Massa but must improve his english to avoid repeat of A1GP unschedule pit stop incident.

• katak on Oct 15, 2009 at 3:52 pm

i think train some mat rempit on the track and they do better job

• akupung on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:04 pm

gotta agree with katak…put any mat rempit sure way better then Fairuz

• xavier lert on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:20 pm

hmm….krete dah nak siap…..i wonder how many seat left for our malaysian….."employeeeeee….."

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:01 pm

i bet it'll look much more diff than this scale model…

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:04 pm

akupung said,

October 15, 2009 @ 8:04 am

————————

yeah right… maybe when they get their cannabis fix then they can do a superman stunt on their F1 car too… bloody good for nothing Malaysian! should just let PDRM shoot them on sight! sure can get rid of those rubbish for good!

btw, I don't think Fairuz is that bad… IMO he's the best, among a very short list Malaysian drivers..

• kerang on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Good to hear that some big names have cropped up as our driver.

Windtunnel testing better outsource to 3rd party co's cos the initial startup cost would be extremely high.Money shd be used to pool together experienced and proven personnel. It's just the first step and we hv2 make sure its in the right direction.

Looking at the picture, we still hv loads to do with so little time remaining.

• Tiadaid on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:53 pm

osh_kosh said,

October 15, 2009 @ 9:04 am

akupung said,

————————

yeah right… maybe when they get their cannabis fix then they can do a superman stunt on their F1 car too… bloody good for nothing Malaysian! should just let PDRM shoot them on sight! sure can get rid of those rubbish for good!

btw, I don’t think Fairuz is that bad… IMO he’s the best, among a very short list Malaysian drivers..

——————————————–

Sometimes I feel like wanting to just ram those rempits to kingdom come! Anyways, what about Jazeman wats-his-name? He's made it big in Formula BMW and then all of a sudden his name is no longer mentioned. What's going on with him?

• Mysticmind on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:13 pm

I think Jazeman Jaafar is okay too.

Paul, let me suggest you too.

why not you make interviews with them? Exclusively.

– alex yoong, fairuz fauzy, jazeman jaafar, tony fernandes too..

why not? ;)

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:15 pm

@Tiadaid,

just ram those guys, there'r just rubbish!! anyway, it's Jazeman Firhan Dato' Jaafar… he's still racing in Formula BMW… yup, agree with u, he's good too but at the age of 17y.o (if not mistaken) i'm afraid he's still too young… he need more experience before entering F1 circus… but of coz, this's just my opinion, from a layman point of view :)

• Tiadaid on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:21 pm

osh_kosh said,

October 15, 2009 @ 10:15 am

@Tiadaid,

just ram those guys, there’r just rubbish!! anyway, it’s Jazeman Firhan Dato’ Jaafar… he’s still racing in Formula BMW… yup, agree with u, he’s good too but at the age of 17y.o (if not mistaken) i’m afraid he’s still too young… he need more experience before entering F1 circus… but of coz, this’s just my opinion, from a layman point of view

————————————

So why not Lotus take him as an apprentice driver, fund him through the lower formulas. It worked well for Lewis Hamilton.

• Ferruccio on Oct 15, 2009 at 8:05 pm

First off, the scale model you see is for wind tunnel testing and you CAN"T tell how it will perform just by looking even if it seems to have similarities with BMW Sauber.

Fairuz is a competent driver, He ain't no Schumacher but he is competent enough for F1at least in a supporting role. The pit stop debacle at Sepang A1GP was entirely NOT his fault.

Jazeman is too young and inexperienced. He is currently diriving the 140hp FBMW Europe cars, which is only the entry level single seaters and he is struggling to consistently get good results there. FBMW Asia is nothing. Europe is the real deal for racing and thats why he moved there after winning in Asia.

His performance did not capture the interest of the likes of Ron Dennis etc to spend millions to support him and pull him into F1, like what happened with Hamilton. A small team like LotusF1 certainly can't be expected to groom drivers that way. They only pick the ones that graduate through the racing ladder after proving themselves.

• Black Dog on Oct 15, 2009 at 8:30 pm

Time to buy Lotus?

But befoe that, get the registration number first …coming up Wilayah…WTF!

I'll go for WTF 69…

• This windtunnel model looks dated, like 90's F1.

Compared to the present day F1 these car are full of wings, winglets etc. to enhance the aero-efficiency

Maybe the company purposely "set-up" this photo session (to gain free publicity), knowing that F1 business is highly secretive.

• Mysticmind on Oct 15, 2009 at 8:57 pm

no zain, it's just a new design as FIA want.

just look how ugly F1 car for 2009 season.

the design a better in 2008. curvy, aerodynamic etc..

but i don't know what the H goin on FIA,

they cut down the aerodynamic part too much.

then all the f1 car turn ugly.

*actually the above one look ugly because there's no color and stickers yet.

• Squawk on Oct 15, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Trulli should be good for the team. He has the experience. Jazeman just needs more racing, unless he is naturally talented. Kimi only had 23 single-seat races before Mr Sauber signed him on.

• Ferruccio on Oct 15, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Yeah Kimi was an exception but he had a lot of natural talent. FIA agreed to give him the superlicense after considering the factors.

• ahmad norman on Oct 15, 2009 at 10:04 pm

fairuz fawzy not fluent in english ? WTF then the pit crew must speak kelantanese lah

• kimi_ on Oct 15, 2009 at 10:35 pm

akupung said,

———————————————————

HAHAHA…LOL

Those mat rempit would risk their life to get first place

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Tiadaid said,

October 15, 2009 @ 10:21 am

So why not Lotus take him as an apprentice driver, fund him through the lower formulas. It worked well for Lewis Hamilton.

——————–

that's good idea but currently i don't think Lotus has any such program.. but if 1MF1 want him to be expose with F1 faster then they can take him as a reserve or test driver.. but with current regulations which ban in-season testing then he'll surely can't gain much either… so far he's doing not that bad in Formula BMW Europe… last time i checked he's gaining more points than in his rookie year & bagged 2 podium finishes

• racerx111 on Oct 15, 2009 at 11:13 pm

I feel trulli's past it, he's bringing up the rear most of the time, they should go with someone younger. Someone similar to Vettel. So, the foundation color is going to be black, yay!

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Ferruccio said,

October 15, 2009 @ 12:05 pm

Fairuz is a competent driver, He ain’t no Schumacher but he is competent enough for F1at least in a supporting role. The pit stop debacle at Sepang A1GP was entirely NOT his fault…..

agree with u on this… supporting role based on current experiences & i was at Sepang too that time & he's driving beautifully before that stupid pit stop joke.. so frustrated… he heard a radio transmission ordering him "Box, Box" which mean pitstop so he did what he was asked… turned out it was others radio transmission asking their driver & not him!! funny…

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2009 at 11:43 pm

zain said,

October 15, 2009 @ 12:50 pm

This windtunnel model looks dated, like 90’s F1.

Compared to the present day F1 these car are full of wings, winglets etc. to enhance the aero-efficiency

Maybe the company purposely “set-up” this photo session (to gain free publicity), knowing that F1 business is highly secretive.

———————–

that scale model look like 2009 F1 car… just look at the rear wing… 2009 regulations purposely done to tone-down aerodynamics dependency to 'stick' the car on the ground… now, they need to find more mechanical grip than previously which was depending more on aerodynamics parts to get the job done… not sure about 2010 regulations but i assumed it will not be much different from 2009, that mean you'll not see such as beautiful as 2008 cars when it was full of aerodynamic parts..

• since BMW sauber announce their retirement in formula1 i suggest they consider to appoint Nick Heidfeld join together with fairuz.. awsome huh.

• bobdbilder on Oct 16, 2009 at 12:03 am

Amazing thing this internet. Look what I found rummaging through the web's archives

http://fullthrottle.cranialcavity.net/litespeed-f…

Mike and Litespeed shared the same vision and promised a chasis by mid June 2009. They were looking for a willing associate. They've found that in some Malaysians.

Yeah well the body is very Formula 3.5ish all they needed was front nose, wings and some.

• osh_kosh on Oct 16, 2009 at 12:03 am

Squawk said,

October 15, 2009 @ 1:12 pm

Trulli should be good for the team. He has the experience. Jazeman just needs more racing, unless he is naturally talented. Kimi only had 23 single-seat races before Mr Sauber signed him on.

————————

if not mistaken he has won 18 races out of that 23 races.. Amazingly quick & talented… no wonder ppl call him Kimster… quick as Hamster? or as cute? Hahaha

one of my favourite F1 drivers but I don’t know what happen to him after winning his 2007 World Championship.. he seem to be lost, sometime look like his desire to drive has gone… only lately ,on his current 3-4 races (after Massa accident) that I can see the real Kimi… he is back… & gone (sadly to give his place to Alonso, which i hate but acknowledge his talent)

• subhero on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:02 am

pakai engine turbo proton lah. baru F1 ada bunyik besin2..

• Squawk on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:08 am

Racerx, you can't say Trulli's past it. He's helped Toyota develop the car and they've had some pretty good runs recently although a little inconsistent. The experience of older drivers is also why Red Bull kept Coulthard in the team despite the availability of younger, faster drivers. And Force India has Fisichella.

• Squawk on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:09 am

One of Kimi's nicknames is Raka, which means snot in Finnish. :-)

• pls keep truli if wanna develop stronger force.. somehow he is still one of the fastest when solo qualifying among this few years..

• Chris Chong on Oct 16, 2009 at 2:31 am

NOOOO!!! NOT TRULLI!!!

He's like the kiss of death for any Formula 1 team – great at one-lap qualifying but constantly loses places or fades away quickly during actual races.

Get either Sebastian Bourdais, Christian Klien or even Barichello!

• carbontech (Member) on Oct 16, 2009 at 2:42 am

goooo 1MF1T….made in Malaysian company CTRM…..the greaters composites technolgy in the global..

• mystvearn on Oct 16, 2009 at 3:57 am

Fairuz seems a sensible choice. Hopefully that design is not a final design because it looks too box like. No offence

• rally_fan on Oct 16, 2009 at 4:41 am

cant believe the amount of armchair F1 experts here who seem to know what they're talking about by lookin at a windtunnel model.. everyone seems to forget that Mike Gascoyne, no matter how controversial, is and can design F1 cars.

• munkiie on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:06 am

hmm… strange design for a windtunnel model, but it looks okay… mirrors look like they came straight from the 2007 Spyker F1 car tho…

• hzsan on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:12 am

osh_kosh said,

@Tiadaid,

just ram those guys, there’r just rubbish!! anyway

waa.. so belagak u ni… wanna see o rammed them n then u pucat lesi kena surrounded by other angry motorcyclist

• Micheal on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:05 am

osh_kosh said,

@Tiadaid,

waa.. so belagak u ni… wanna see o rammed them n then u pucat lesi kena surrounded by other angry motorcyclist

————————————————-

y u wanna back up rempits? they are just bunch of stupid youngsters tht doesnt knw how to apreciate a living… haih…

feel sorry for them… but if i cud… i wanna ram them too… but sadly i love my car… hahahaha… my car worth more than those rempits… with their rxz 125 or wutsoever.. they think they ride M1F, R1, 1098, hahahahha CBR1000

hahahahha

so hai la this people

• Leonardo on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:57 am

Mat Rempit? They will think all the buttons on the steering wheel are horns! F1 drivers need to be smart too. Sorry.

• blasting on Oct 16, 2009 at 8:01 am

i think i suggest nick heidfeld must drive in diz car…although he never win the races but he is very consistent driver….just look ahead on his race on BMW until mr.sutil spoil him…nick heidfeld n fairuz fauzy is good combination…both of the drivers are very aggressive…

• paxter on Oct 16, 2009 at 9:09 am

well so far seems so good. if we really really really must put a malaysian driver in the driving seat in the first year there is only fairuz atm jazman is too young he needs more time. For the main driver you need some one that can build the teams technical know how.

This team wont do a brawn. Most people don't realize brawn the team goes further than honda and BAR they were infact Tyrrell (dont believe me? do a google) so their f1 dna and know how goes a long way.

Team lotus f1 has nothing got to do with lotus racing. The team that race in f1 in the golden years. So in other words this team lotus f1 is a freshie. Look at force india it took them 2 seasons to get a 2nd place finish and in their 2008 season they retired more than half of the races they join due to car trouble…

I will be just happy to see this car get into the top 10 in qualifying and scrape a few points from a game of attrition which is what sauber petronas did before they did very well under bmw for 2 season before mati katak like they are nw.

• Micheal said,

October 15, 2009 @ 10:05 pm

osh_kosh said,

@Tiadaid,

————————————————-

y u wanna back up rempits? they are just bunch of stupid youngsters tht doesnt knw how to apreciate a living… haih…

feel sorry for them… but if i cud… i wanna ram them too… but sadly i love my car… hahahaha… my car worth more than those rempits… with their rxz 125 or wutsoever.. they think they ride M1F, R1, 1098, hahahahha CBR1000

hahahahha

so hai la this people

————————————————————

i also wan to ram them to if can get their leg gilis maa……..can reduce tension….if hav sniper gun fuhh shiok…head shot…hehe

• zain said,

October 15, 2009 @ 12:50 pm

This windtunnel model looks dated, like 90’s F1.

Maybe the company purposely “set-up” this photo session (to gain free publicity), knowing that F1 business is highly secretive.

———————————————————-

do u watch F1 this year anyway??..that new regulation requirement la..so f1 car do not so beautiful as 2008

• initial R on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:41 pm

Have 2 driver & 1 back up driver. Mean for 1st 2 driver, 1 have be aggressive & other 1 must be defencive that mean they combine can make the team succesfull. In F1 sport also they must have winning formula to make them on 5 row above not only aerodynamic car. Other backup driver just fill in when main driver stuck in hospital for 2>3 race. Hehehe…. no offence…

• osh_kosh on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:15 pm

hzsan said,

October 15, 2009 @ 9:12 pm

osh_kosh said,

@Tiadaid,

just ram those guys, they’r just rubbish!! anyway

——————-

LOL :) why must you stop after ramming them? that's stupid… just rammmed them & go straight to the nearest police station… those rempits only 'brave' coz they r much more then u, be it one on one & surely they'll chicken out… owh btw, why u r on ther side? u r one of them? SOHAI!!

anyway, i've just heard on the radio yesterday, someone did just that… on FlyFM… they r running this 'what's the most craziest thing u have done out of anger' sort of thing & one of the caller admited that once he had rammed those mat rempits … those rempits do their usual thing on the road & overtake this guy on the fast lane, then they slowed down & that guy got very annoyed & just rammed 2 of them out of anger! cool huh? pity coz those rempits didn't die .. they just "Aduh Mak, Sakit…" hahahaha

• mohgui (Member) on Oct 16, 2009 at 11:36 pm

osh_kosh said,

October 16, 2009 @ 10:15 am

anyway, i’ve just heard on the radio yesterday, someone did just that… on FlyFM… they r running this ‘what’s the most craziest thing u have done out of anger’ sort of thing & one of the caller admited that once he had rammed those mat rempits … those rempits do their usual thing on the road & overtake this guy on the fast lane, then they slowed down & that guy got very annoyed & just rammed 2 of them out of anger! cool huh? pity coz those rempits didn’t die .. they just “Aduh Mak, Sakit…” hahahaha

———————————

this is so hilarious. i had my bad experience with those damn rempit. was traveling on a poorly lit road and this rempit without lights turned on came by and did his thing. i don't know whether i should curse or just pity them.

anyway, back to Lotus F1. their initial design look decent. at least it looked nicer than BMW. well, only time will tell when they actually have a taste of the tarmac. whatever it is, i'm looking forward to the season opener with them on the grid.

• Fairuz Fauzy? Not that they shouldn't use local drivers, but I think at an early stage, they might want someone more experienced to drive the F1 car. Which is what Gascoyne said too, I believe, from what I read in other website.

• Squawk on Oct 17, 2009 at 12:40 am

IMO Trulli, Heidfeld, Barichello would be the potential experienced drivers. The other top drivers won't even consider joining such a new team. Plus Lotus probably can't afford them.

This year's car design takes some getting used to especially the reduced wings but they look much better than the fugly 2008 cars with all those winglets sticking out everywhere. '05/'06 had some of the better looking cars.

• osh_kosh on Oct 17, 2009 at 1:09 am

Barrichello already go to Williams for next year.. Heidfeld sound good but Trulli? Nahh..

• Consultant on Oct 17, 2009 at 8:51 am

Top names might come with a top price too.

We are just starting up and settingup the wind tunnel alone

will cost us $RM195mil. With such a big capital outlay

req i'm unsure if we can afford the best of everything.

• justice (Member) on Oct 17, 2009 at 6:08 pm

osh_kosh said,

October 16, 2009 @ 10:15 am

hzsan said,

October 15, 2009 @ 9:12 pm

osh_kosh said,

@Tiadaid,

just ram those guys, they’r just rubbish!! anyway

——————-

LOL :) why must you stop after ramming them? that’s stupid… just rammmed them & go straight to the nearest police station… those rempits only ‘brave’ coz they r much more then u, be it one on one & surely they’ll chicken out… owh btw, why u r on ther side? u r one of them? SOHAI!!

anyway, i’ve just heard on the radio yesterday, someone did just that… on FlyFM… they r running this ‘what’s the most craziest thing u have done out of anger’ sort of thing & one of the caller admited that once he had rammed those mat rempits … those rempits do their usual thing on the road & overtake this guy on the fast lane, then they slowed down & that guy got very annoyed & just rammed 2 of them out of anger! cool huh? pity coz those rempits didn’t die .. they just “Aduh Mak, Sakit…” hahahaha

Hentam jer Mat Rempit nih.Good for nothing low lifes. Seriously, its this kind of road users that gave their own motorbike society bad reps. Personally, if the PDRM would actually do something abt these low lifes, crime rate would reduce. Visit Malaysia? Amacam nak visit kalo pencuri2 ni maseh lagi roaming around the streets.

In Sarawak, the youngsters here are really getting worthy of the title 'Mat Rempit'. They are getting daring and these insufferable parentless idiots are so damn noisy at nights with their stupid non functional exhausts. At least HKS, Apexi, RSR and other brands are functional. Even their loudness couldn't compare to these stupid motorbike's.

Check out youtube and type out "Lutong-accident". There's one particular video that showed a private old airstrip thats regularly used for car and motor drags. Years back, motorists and car drivers made an agreement where motors may use the airstrip on Sat while car drivers may use on Sun. Somehow, as time passes by, these low lifes just don't understand and occasionally on Sundays, the track is basically a suicide field where cars starts to drag on one end and motors on the other end. Most of the time, while dragging, these dragsters would sometimes have close calls and one day…it happened!A young kid on a friend's friend's (not a typo) RXZ rammed into an oncoming drag car. The car sustained quite a massive damage with one rim being broke in 2. The young kid….well….if you are wondering whats that white stick on the leg of the young kid in the video…..thats his bone. Lucky for him, his leg was reusable. Months later, this bloody kid reappear and still drag on Sundays.

• blasting on Oct 18, 2009 at 6:50 am

listed for line up for lotus f1 team driver 2010…(suke2 aje)

jarno trulli/fairuz fauzy

nick heidfeld/fairuz fauzy

kimi raikkonen/fairuz fauzy

which one is most best line up????

• Ferruccio on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:16 am

Judging on Gascoyne's own comments when he was in KL this week, I don't think he would put Fairuz in the car. Tony as the boss might insist but even he said that he prefers experienced drivers. It doesn't do Fairuz any good either for his image if he is much slower than his team mate. Fairuz is the type of driver that can extract pace out of the car, working with engineers and so he might not be too bad in quali against his team mate but he is inconsistent when it comes to race day.

Trulli is perfect as he has so much experience to help the team grow. Fairuz will have much less to offer but the team will benefit in terms of PR for the Malaysian public. However I think Malaysians will appreciate if the team put performance first before PR. Whatever helps to earn credibility.

If there is a slot for test driver I would wholeheartedly suggest Fairuz. He can positively help the team in that role and when the time is right, switch to main driver. However the problem in F1 these days is that there isn't much for a test driver to do.

• fasgen on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:36 pm

my choose: 1.robert kubica, 2.fairuz fauzi.

alex yoong = buang karan, buat habis minyak kete je.

• hi i just bought WTF 6069.. anybody wants?

• something wrong with the right front tyre, looks weird to me…