Listen to the Lexus LFA’s V10 do its stuff!

lexus-lfa-engine-bay

Lexus has released an awesome video which features the Lexus LFA‘s V10 engine in various “stages of symphony”, whether its a low rev growl or a high rev shriek, it’s all there! Lexus calls the engine’s soundtrack “F1-inspired”, and details some of the methods they used to make the engine sound the way it does.

The LFA’s acoustic team studied the noise made by a Formula 1 car at maximum revs, then applied certain design features to create an F1-inspired exhaust note for the LFA. The main exhaust silencer is made from titanium and has a valve-actuated dual-stage structure that channels the exhaust gases differently according to engine speed.

From idle up to 3,000rpm, the valve stays closed, routing the exhaust flow through multiple chambers, creating an unobtrusive note. From 3,000rpm onwards the valve opens, allowing the exhaust  to flow into a single resonance chamber instead. The gases finally exit at a stacked trio of tailpipes.

There was work done to the induction system as well. A horizontally split resin surge tank mimics the acoustic chamber of wind and string instruments. Up to 4,000rpm it emits the engine’s primary firing frequency of 300Hz. This increases to 400Hz from 4,000rpm up to 6,000rpm, and goes up to a peak of 600Hz at the engine’s 9,000rpm redline. The air intake is constructed from a porous duct material to generate bass to mid-range tones. Lexus gives all of this stuff a buzzword – Resonated Complex Harmony.

Both the induction and exhaust sounds are channelled into the LFA’s interior so the passengers can enjoy the sounds as much as those on the outside. There are just too many cars out there that sound good on the outside but are just too silent on the inside. The sound mostly flows in through a sound channel that runs from the surge tank into the cabin below the main dashboard panel. Two additional sound channels un to an opening in the upper cowl on top of the dashboard structure and a reflector panel low down at the front of the cabin.

But enough of text – watch the video and listen to the LFA after the jump! To me, it isn’t exactly like an F1 car, they’re way more high pitched! It does sound very good though, I guess the term F1-“inspired” could mean anything eh?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• steven on Dec 12, 2009 at 7:42 am

really like F1 sound ?! …

• Tomandjerry on Dec 12, 2009 at 7:53 am

F430 sounds better…

• Lovely ! This definitely will give me a goodnight sleep …

• Only Toyota can make a v10 that performs at the same HP/L ratio of the M5/M6 engine, at much lower volumes, advertise features like individual throttle butterflies like it was somehow rare, and charge such a massive price. Clued. Out. Get an M5 and bore it out (Dinan, RDS), change the final drive ratio, you eat this ugly lexus and can take your kids to the mall, and maybe buy an elegant Ferrari with the money you've saved.

• Charger on Dec 12, 2009 at 8:03 am

Ah Beng-ness straight from factory. lol.

• the only problem with the car is the looks. it doesn't look as powerful like it's Supra nor uniformed theme design. it looks like too ordinary. in fact the nissan GTR do looks much better than it.

• shawal.ali on Dec 12, 2009 at 8:42 am

Listen to that symphony!, uuuuuuUUUU, they should do a tunnel acoustic test just fro phun

This lexus vs. the Aston Martin 1-77

Actually compare this to a the horrendously horrible Noble M600 , the price tag of this ultimate lexus makes more sense…, the interior is just breathtaking

On another note , Autocar UK sez that the Audi A8 V10's cabin doesnt feel like a 100k pound car , and the noble M600 is? its 200k pounds and it looks like crap

Is there any german car website that do proper road tests cuz ….ya know the brits are very biased….

• Only slow poke car needs fancy thing like this. The japanese.

• Yamaha help on the engine and sound… just browse this link.. also got the engine sound recorded by Yamaha themselves..

http://www.global.yamaha.com/news/2009/20091021.h…

• Gajen on Dec 12, 2009 at 9:04 am

omg what a sound…it sounds a bit like F1…but i still feel that carrera gt is the best,it sounds even more like a F1…

• just love the engine blips sound.. nice….

• Charger said,

December 12, 2009 @ 12:03 am

—————————————————————-

wah…ur taste veli hai ho….

• i thought the sound of the engine is one of a kind. a twist of F-1 juice in a boxer engine. very very very distinct.

• I agree with Shawal. British automags are very biased. One should read the comparos at Autobild and Automotor und Sport to balance things out. Their writeups seem more objective, though somewhat drier.

• shawal.ali on Dec 12, 2009 at 9:32 am

Chun,

thanx!

• mystvearn on Dec 12, 2009 at 9:53 am

Interesting stuff, but the Aston Martin V8 vantage has a same butterfly exhaust system if I am not mistaken.

One problem which I can foresee is that the exhaust being rosak because malayisan roads or stones or whatever, then the tune will sound utterly different. Maybe will sound like kapcai then; LOL

• shawal.ali on Dec 12, 2009 at 11:01 am

I feel that toyota shouldnt include its other cheap cars the same kind of interior design language to make the LF-A more special, …like…say… the aircond vents…

• Muhammad on Dec 12, 2009 at 3:29 pm

ILuvLexus….

• i hope someone will pitch this car against gtr…will be an awesome fight..

• Alamak, got R8 design cues at the back!

• fairsyah on Dec 12, 2009 at 6:18 pm

if the meter panel come standard in every proton

• Fangalica on Dec 12, 2009 at 7:07 pm

Charger said,

Ah Beng-ness straight from factory.

—————————-

dude before u say lfa sound like ah beng car, u think about it, toyota never doing any sportscar more 10 years and then lfa engine sound and performance is more better than any euro sportscar so far…….

• another clip… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6D7S2rcyIQ

• This has a bad ass rear! But its an eye sore to look at…

• Charger said,

Ah Beng-ness straight from factory.

Please define yr ah beng definition…

• I hope the car performs as good as it sounds. if not, it's just a gimmick.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 12, 2009 at 9:55 pm

nice sound…but nobody wants this car

• Ferruccio on Dec 12, 2009 at 10:37 pm

I think Toyota seriously need to get their priorities right. I get the impression that they're now resorting to hype to publicise the car.

• Wow. I love the sound. Seriously

• bmpower on Dec 13, 2009 at 1:15 am

people don't buy a car because of the sound.

even more, it's too expensive for a rubbish car.

you can get 3 ferrari with that tagged price btw.

• skiborne on Dec 13, 2009 at 2:40 am

it sounds quite similar to carrera GT!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 13, 2009 at 4:33 am

skiborne said,

December 12, 2009 @ 6:40 pm

it sounds quite similar to carrera GT!!

——————————

lol….i still rather have a carrera gt than this

• initial R on Dec 13, 2009 at 5:42 am

Singing car…. huhuhu…..

aggre with bmpower…… i will not waste my money for this… much batter buy 5 series….

• why will ppl buy 3 more ferraris if they already have dozens of ferraris in their garage already…

• person on Dec 13, 2009 at 11:43 am

even have a research team for the sound produced?

now thats what i call PERFECTIONIST !!

• torque (Member) on Dec 13, 2009 at 8:36 pm

Well built car and deserve all the praises but Toyota Corp shouldn't slap such hefty price just b'coz it wears a Lexus badge!! Still, a supercar in my book.

• Car looks incredibly comfortable at the corners. Looks like Toyota really learnt from involvement in F1.

• S.Roma on Dec 14, 2009 at 7:45 am

OMG its nice !

Even i didnt heard it before !

Lolx !

Am i the 1st?

• Ferruccio on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:17 am

Would be nice to be able to judge how it corners based on the videos but thats just not possible. It didn't do too well at all at the Nurburgring 24 hour race. Too afraid to even ask how it performs against the Nissan GTR at a track like the Nordschleife

• Boink on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:55 am

the Godzilla, Nissan GTR is still the all time winner here to me…

• winteringtourer on Dec 14, 2009 at 1:34 pm

@shawal.ali

hi, lol yea i do find some brits truly biased, like the jokers of top gear…but some are ok like the autocar guys (steve sutcliffe's the man!!)

germans tho..not to sure, last time i checked they erm, stil didnt seem to want to admit the gtr is better then thier porsche..

but who am i to judge and criticise, perhaps i been looking at to shallow a scope.

anyway this video;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qTPgHJO_y6U

(automotor and sport) states the gtr 0-100 time as 4.1sec…hmmm wats that all about? a little to far off dont you think??

• winteringtourer on Dec 14, 2009 at 1:46 pm

neeway.. bac to topic, yeah this car looks like shit but i so absolutely LOVE IT!

• Boink on Dec 14, 2009 at 5:58 pm

have to give high credit to the awesome speedo meter clusters though

• If this had a ferrari badge ppl here will be singing a different song.

Dont look at the badge….. appreciate the engineering. Only true car enthusiast will appreciate this car…..

When GTR come out the bashing started with out considering the engineering..

Once it put so called supercar to shame all shut up….

Dont discount the Japs that easily….. NSX may also show up for the fight.

• mynuszero on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Charger said,

charger must be from Jinjang driving a wira areoback with 6" straight flow stainless steel exhaust pipes and blue LED strips all over the car for christmas decoration….ah dont forget that tom's sticker gallery around the car with tiger skin inside :P

• Jaybond on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:05 am

To weakest factor of this car, is the price. Looks tends to be a subjective issue, but the performance and chassis construction is definitely among the best in the mainstream supercar territory. The price tag is the biggest mistake made by Toyota, because at that price people are expecting the performance & exclusivity of the same pedigree as e.g Ferrari Enzo, Koenigsegg or even Bugatti Veyron. It would be more logical if the LF-A would be in the same price bracket as Ferrari 458 Italia or Merc SLS.

• Yeah have to agree…..the price is a bit steep.