Renault Koleos crossover to be launched this weekend – full details and image gallery here!

Local Renault distributor TC Euro Cars held a media preview of its Koleos crossover hours ago, ahead of the 4X4’s public launch this weekend. The Koleos is the French brand’s first true SUV and it sits in the Honda CR-V mid-size category (overall length of 4520 mm is identical to the Honda’s, but 2690 mm wheelbase is 70 mm longer).

The Koleos is a product that draws the best out of the Renault-Nissan Alliance – drivetrain and 4X4 system from Nissan; design, ride, handling and ergonomics from Renault; manufactured by Renault-Samsung in Busan, Korea for its relatively lower cost.

The Koleos is powered by a 2.5-litre four-cylinder engine with 170 bhp and 226 Nm of torque paired to a CVT with six virtual ratios – good for a 0-100 km/h time of 10.3 seconds and a 188 km/h top speed. The decision to source this particular pairing from Nissan is a good move as the Japanese company makes some of the best CVTs in town (we’d prefer it over a French auto ‘box!), not to mention that in general, customers in our market seem to trust Japanese engines better. The official combined fuel consumption figure is 10.5 km/l. Would be better with Renault’s fine 2.0 dCi engine, but that won’t come anytime soon, and you know the reason why.

The chassis of the Koleos is modified from the second-gen Nissan X-Trail (not sold here), which is pretty decent off-road for its kind. This, plus the fact that the Renault also gets the X-Trail’s All-Mode 4X4-i system means that the Koleos should be better off the beaten path than many of its classmates although it doesn’t look the part.

Instead of transferring torque to the rear wheels only when slip is detected, All-Mode 4X4-i “predicts” the moment AWD grip is required by measuring lateral and side acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle and accelerator pedal position among other parameters, and divides torque accordingly even before ESP intervenes. That’s the default Auto mode; you can also choose 2WD (front-wheel drive) or Lock mode, where torque is split 50:50 between axles. Also beneficial is Hill Descent Control and Hill Start Assist – the latter prevents backward movement on inclines of 10% and above.

While much of the hardware is from Nissan, the interior is appointed like a Continental model, with some clever French touches such as the lever in the boot that folds flat the split rear seats when you pull it. Other comfort and convenience features include airplane style fold down “tables”, chilled glovebox, B-pillar air vents for the rear passengers, three rows of flat folding seats, a split tailgate that you can sit on (max load 200 kg) and two 5-litre secret “lockers” under the rear floor. All very thoughtful.

Equipment include an 8-speaker Bose stereo as used in the Infiniti FX, ABS/EBA/ESP, six airbags, cruise control, auto headlights and wipers, auto parking brake, dual-zone climate control and start/stop button, among others. An optional panaromic sunroof is available for RM9,000. The most important safety “feature” is also here – a five-star Euro NCAP rating. For all the above, one needs to pay RM213,149.19 on the road excluding insurance. To touch and feel the Koleos, head down to its public launch this Saturday, March 13 at Bangsar Village, Kuala Lumpur.

Live pictures from the media preview after the jump!

Live images from Renault Koleos media preview
[zenphotopress number=999 album=952]
Renault Koleos official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=954]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• RM213,149.19 ???? better wait for the new X-Trail lah!

• pity Renaulg. not many l think willing to apart with their RM213K and getting this Franco-Japanese Korean suv. I rather go for better suv like Q5@RM299K, LR Freelander 2TD4 HSE@RM271K,CX7 or CX9@RM287K, VW Tiguan@RM251K or second/used Murano 2.5/Harrier 2.5 for fewer substantial grands saving.

• Kevin Lee on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:39 pm

This is a 5 seater , Paul? at 220K, this would fight with the Tiguan and the Mazda CX-7. Sadly the Renault brand is perhaps very less established out of the KL market

• dashboard is ok,

• DUASINGGIT on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:05 pm

lampu belakang…putih di tengah…..mesti tiru persona facelift ni…hehe…saja ja…anyway nampak mantop…ada start and stop botton..semakin banyak kenderaan dah tak pakai kunci…seat pun ok…harga je mahai…so tengok je le..

• xempro on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:50 pm

For price RM200K , i rather buy SUV Mahindra Scorpio 2.0 which also Renault engine.then burn some RM5000 to modify and spend the rest of the fund to buy properties.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Very ugly car. It really looks like Renault just took one of their normal cars, made it higher with bigger wheels

• lowprofile on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:25 pm

i wonder how it will match up to the peugeot 3008 which will also be coming out this year.

• It was first appeared on AXN 'Asia Biggest Loser Finale' last Monday night.

• pulge on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:03 pm

While it does looks slightly dull (to me at least) but the functionality and features really is a win. I could say, a proper SUV?

• I bet a few models will be bought, especially those who like to be the weird one on the road and having it a few years only to be broke down beside the road. Good luck TC. Btw TC is bring in rubbish models what happen to them ah? where is the replacement to Cefiro? They screwed that market by introducing Sylphy…. a 2.0l ugly car. Tida too. Nissan as a whole is ugly.

• lchan on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:39 pm

asian biggest loser?

• klguy on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:46 pm

seriously ugly. 213k now, 21k 5 yrs later.

• 1 Malaysia on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:02 pm

for the price of 220k? believe not many malaysian will go for it. the mid-size SUV market is still belongs to CRV (for 60k less).

• At that price…joking or what??..Fortuner/Santa Fe/Captiva/New Tucson/Pajero Sport/New Sorento….better value

• bLo0d on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:54 pm

dacia sandero~!

• milanista on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:55 pm

better wait for next Sportage.

• intermilan on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:04 pm

For RM213,149.19 ??

The AP cost RM50K each?

Why bother bringing it in!

Hyundai, Kia is also CBU from Korea (as this Koleos) but they didn't being priced so steep. Get in touch with reality lah TC.

• tanasi on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Driven this SUV. I must say it didn't feel continental at all. Steering is light, electrically assisted. Better buy the CRV in my opinion.

• Those who wish to buy this model should think a billion time. Just look at other models in its stable. Bad resale and you have to look high and low for a SC around your area. After they made a blunder on the Frontier for not stocking up spare part, u think Tc will be bothered to do the same for this model. Dream on.

• Black Dog on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:02 pm

I think the TC guys are too over-confident, or just a product to please the French. It's a hopeless loser right from the start!

They saw all the Harriers & Alphards on the road & thought many rich malaysians can buy. The only people who'll buy is some eccentric guys who like to be different (not any of them).

• nabil on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:47 pm

too much grey plastic for a 220k car…who is gonna buy a renault for that price ? stimes u dont have to be a marketing genuis to figure simple things out…

• iskett on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Definitely NOT COOL looking.

How to bawak chicks?

• Loser Renault & TC..stupid price

• niuhje on Mar 11, 2010 at 9:15 pm

David Gurnani got it for FREE!!! Well, it cost him 83kg actually!! hahaha…

• p2poon on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:37 pm

Bloody UGLY!! yet very expensive!! pfffff

• Amiran on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Dump this car. 2.5l with 170hp/226Nm. The hell! Even Hyundai and Kia would be much-much better buy!

• 6 airbags…and all other stuff…the price is right…5 star rating for safety…you can't be cheap to get 5 star right…

• scanzew on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:04 am

King David from Asia's Biggest Loser win this monster…huhu

• helmi on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:20 am

Three things i can describe about this car, no.1 Ugly, no.2 Ugly, no.3 Ugly. Ugly interior and exterior and looks cheap. The pricing is much worst. French design simply does not suit to Mlaysian taste.

• think on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:04 am

i coudn't afford it…very high price..if priced at honda cv's price ,than appropriate…

• ugly…if i get for free…i sell 100k…..who want?

Danny Tan says: KH, are you David Gurnani, Biggest Loser of Asia? :)

• You guys "simply cruel" when claim this French UGLY. Actually, Koleos is super ugly mix parentage. l guess TC Euro too think this suv ugly but have no choice other than sell them.

• c14man on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:15 pm

hahaha… none of the comments above says anything nice bout this car or TC Euro. well, honestly it's not attractive at all, to say the least. hahaha…

i guess anyone who will drive this are those higher class aunty aunty ferrying their kids to scholl, tuition classes, piano classes, etc etc etc… hahaha… good luck to TC. hint to TC: target those aunties..

• dbe916 on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:18 pm

But wif Nissan service centres all over Malaysia which currently service Renault, would not it be a better choice?

• torque (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:01 pm

The only comments that I truly agreed with the rest of you is ACTUALLY the price. While some of you "pretty" people were complaining about this SUV being ugly, open ur eyes…there's twice uglier SUV out there. Don't punish this SUV from one TC mistake…which is the price!!!

You guys can drive all the Korean SUVs or the Indian 4X4 but when SHIT HAPPEN…then only the bunch of you so called genius will know what is exactly 5 star euro NCAP is!

The price of RM213K w/o insurance is pure nonsense non the less…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:15 am

don be con by this korean made product

• ridiculous price..

• ………….ined fuel consumption figure is 10.5 km/l. Would be better with Renault’s fine 2.0 dCi engine, but that won’t come anytime soon, and you know the reason why……..

But the 1.5dCi made it here few years back.

Unless Renault/TC learnt that there's mighty lots of problem with the 1.5dCi NOW, so they decided not to bring in the 2.0dCi.

• suka modi on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Buruk dan Mahal…. prefer CRV

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 14, 2010 at 2:21 am

jg, besides our petrol engine, the Koleos is only available with the 2.0 dCi. Renault won't bother to "custom make" a few of those 2.0 engines to run on Euro 2 for a market as small as ours.