Audi A8L with W12 engine to make Beijing debut

The Chinese love everything long, when it comes to cars that is. China’s nouveau riche lust after German premium cars, but find them too constricting, which is why there’s a “L” version of every luxury car, from the Audi A4 to the Volvo S80, designed for China. Now Audi, which is the premium segment leader there, will debut the Audi A8L at the upcoming Beijing Motor Show, with long wheelbase and a 6.3-litre W12 engine.

This VW Group engine is called W12 because of its unusual layout: four rows of three cylinders with a 15-degree included angle between the two offset rows of cylinders in each broad cylinder block. The W12, in its latest 6,299 cc form, is an undersquare design. Engineers have enlarged the cylinder bore and added FSI direct injection; the latter needing considerable mods to the cylinder heads. Fuel is injected at a pressure of up to 130 bar. Compression ratio is a high 11.8:1.

Vital stats are 500 bhp and 625 Nm at 3,250 rpm. It gives the A8L a 0-100 km/h time of 4.9 seconds. Top speed is limited to 250 km/h. Audi says that the engine runs “exceptionally smoothly” and the A8L’s occupants are “unlikely to sense any of this supreme power at work unless it is at high engine speeds and severe loads”.

With an overall length of 5,267 mm, the A8L is 130 mm longer than the regular version. The wheelbase has grown by the same amount to 3,122 mm, and as you can see from the picture below, the extra room has been put to very good use. It shows a multi adjustable reclining seat where the boss is massaged by ten air-filled compartments; four programs can be selected via remote control. Feet can rest on a power-adjustable support at the base of the front passenger seat back. Between the seats is a full-length console that can be specified with things like a folding table or a refrigerator.

Other luxuries include roof-mounted grab handles and rear console in fine wood, Valonea leather tanned exclusively with plant extracts which is especially soft and able to “breathe” actively, panoramic glass roof and a Rear Seat Entertainment system with two 10.2-inch screens.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1053]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• apixz on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:19 am

nice…now we got motoroffice…

• such capitalist decadance! where is the good old fashion proletriat classless society epoused by communism? but wait, it is still a communist country isn’t it ? I am confused…….

• black cat or white cat, as long as it catches mice, it is a cat.

so why bother if it china is communist or not?

• Motorist on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:56 am

When DXP said it’s glorious to be rich, these chinamen has taken to it literary.

It’s now glorious to be seen to be rich. I’m sure you’ve been entertained in a restaurant where they order dishes after dishes of food, so much that at least half will be thrown away. To them it’s not wasteful. It’s to show off that they can afford it. Akin to lighting a cigar with a $100 bill.

Then again, there are ppl like that here too. Arrogant, in your face nouveau riche.

This car would suit them nicely. Strokes the ego nicely. Now if only Audi will throw in a china girl mistress with the car ;-)

• Peter on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:35 am

This is surely for big bosses and officials in china…….

Not for those farmers for sure……

• waklanproton on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:47 am

macam hotel…

• megpan on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:56 am

Audi is a damn good car, too bad Kuching SC had to closed down. y cant kuching ppl accept that there are many better off cars out there.

• perhaps they love hilux too much and every pickups call hilux
      not off topic….i mean such obsession

• Motorist on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Hilux / D-Max / Ranger for the masses

Toyota Land Cruiser ‘Ninja Turtle’ for the middle & upper middle classes

Private jets & heli for the political ruling family

• redxdevil (Member) on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:03 pm

wow

• lkf0512 on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:21 pm

This car is going to re-define your life!

• Tiadaid on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Can anyone tell me the benefit of having high horsepower only to have limited top speed? Is the fuel consumption better compared to smaller horsepower engine?

• Aariz on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:39 pm

It’s not the horsepower, a W12 engine runs very smooth.

A four cylinder fires every 180 crankshaft degrees.

A V10 fires every every 72 crankshaft degrees (which is uneven!)

A W12 engine fires every 60 crankshaft degrees.

W12: One cylinder fires (piston at upper end) while another piston is at lower end.

V10: One cylinder fires at the top, while there’s NO piston at the lower end (72 degree crankshaft).

Thats why i.e. the more powerful Audi RS6 is no real competitor to the A8W12. The RS is for the sportsmen, the W12 for the manager… ;)

• PrideandJoy on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:58 pm

gloating in front of your friends, perhaps? hehe.

• Autik on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:27 pm

A nice luxury car with premium price. The Chinese people are now changing their mind set away from communism, Audi will have a hard time maintaining its domination in this ‘dragon land’. Competition like S, 7 and LS is eating into A8’s ground.

• Rassan on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Boombastic….

• C'mon Proton on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Why China cars all design like dat? Like too luxurious one.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:29 pm

What’s with chinamen and their fixation with long cars? Are they overcompensating for something?..

• Christophe on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:01 pm

one of the most beautiful car rich people who like to be chauffeured can buy!
    LW is too much though…
    anytime in the world, Audi A8 is better looking than the FUGLY new BMW 7-series…
    =)

• nice car..

• The Loner on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Audi has become a brand of vehicle must own for the wealthy people. It’s a status representation in China.

• an improved version of Waja Chancellor…ekekekekekkekekekekke

• Big…Strong…..friendly of course Long………

• chong-kak on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:30 pm

wahlaoeh!! so ungly!! proton sagas interiors nicer.. hidup proton!!

• shawal on Apr 16, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Understated elegance, its for the gazillionaire who wouldn’t want to shout bout it.
    Interior is a very special place to be in…

• rhoma on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:00 pm

if i’m rich i will go for luxury MPV

• Kaki kereta on Apr 16, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Not nice. Our Proton NEO F1 better…hidup Proton heheheh

• tikus on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:26 pm

Yeah lor…W12 engine no good leh.Should put CamtakPro then best. ha ha

• Kampoi on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:53 pm

So audi is putting this car against BMW 7 and Merc S? Is that all they can do? The 7 and S eat this thing for breakfast ANYTIME!

• fuyiopo on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:54 pm

Interior not bad, have to give a credit for that. But still, Merc S, BMW 7, Lexus LS eat this thing anytime.

• raybrig on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:34 pm

how do u know?any prove?

• Tiadaid on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Lexus not even in the same category! Mercedes S-Class is more of a technology showcase. BMW’s more of a performance car.

• BoringMOOMOO on Apr 17, 2010 at 2:08 am

Lexus eat this?? are you sure brother? compare to the 1A2B, Lexus is the follower only…

1A2B each lead with their new design time by time making ppl follow….

e.g. the signal light at the side mirror – by Benz..
        … the triangle tail lamp appear in the early C-class..

…angel eyes by BMW…

…the latest should be the LED daytime running light by Audi which make every new cars follow..i’m sure u might get that too in your new waja lancer~~

• BoringMOOMOO on Apr 17, 2010 at 2:09 am

I was reply to your comment above

• Autik on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:16 am

Agree with you 100%. Audi is for old minded communist. New generation Chinese prefer Merc, BMW and Lexus. I predict Audi’s market share in China will shrink significantly in next few years to come.

• Aariz on Apr 17, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Audi’s market share in China will sink significantly? In the next few years?

“Audi March Car Sales Soar 22% On China Demand 08.04.10

FRANKFURT -(Dow Jones)- German luxury automaker Audi AG (NSU.XE) said Thursday that global sales soared 22% on the year in March to 110,400 cars, fueled by strong demand for its A5, Q5 and A4 models, notably in China.”

http://www.dowjones.de/site/2010/04/audi-march-car-sales-soar-22-on-china-demand.html

• Autik on Apr 18, 2010 at 11:37 am

Hayoi!! Please read and undertand the statement correctly!!! I said percent market share!!! not against their own sales number!!! Don’t just argue base on nothinglah!!!

• raybrig on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:29 am

where do u live bro..pls do research before u talk…only in malaysia u could see less audi car..but in other part of the world -europe,aussie u could see alot of audis…

• JasJos on Apr 17, 2010 at 9:02 am

Don’t think it’s for China only. Seen it in Russia.

• lol. what does audi cars have to do with communist country? It is just a car model meant for China. Just a longer wheelbase car.

Since we have a special bmw 730Li just for Asean market while 740i is the basic model elsewhere, does this imply Asean are damn poor and we need a lower spec car? yes?

Audi is just as popular in European countries these days. You guys need to wake up from the benz+bmw ownz mentality just because you don’t spot audi easily in malaysia.

• paultan fan on Apr 18, 2010 at 3:35 pm

audi now is no2 premium brand behind bmw. merc is no3. please google if not believe

• venven81 on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:38 am

still don understand y there’s some1 still adamant about bm, merc & lexus being ‘the’ brands but not audi. those who appreciate good engineering technology will certainly accept the fact that all these brands are good cars except those who don’t own any of these cars will always condemn this or that brand. pathetic nincompoop.

• Autik on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:37 am

Everyone has the right of their opinion, so who ever has a different opinion from you, you will call them nincompoop. Looks like you are really one of the pathetic imbecile nincompoop.

• venven81 on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:49 am

something to share with all you car lovers… enjoyz…

http://www.autospies.com/news/The-BIG-Luxury-Three-Audi-BMW-Mercedes-Who-will-be-no-1-in-sales-in-2020-and-who-s-in-trouble-40094/