Audi starts assembly of the Q5 at their Indian plant

Audi have announced that they have started assembly of the Q5 subcompact SUV at their Aurangabad plant in the Indian state of Maharashtra. They eventually plan to pump out over 1,500 units from their assembly line each year.

The SUV will be the third model Audi are producing in India after the A4 and the A6, increasing vehicle production capacity this year to 2,400 units compared to the 732 vehicles they sold the year before. As it stands Audi have produced a total of 2,000 vehicles since they first started in September 2007 and are planning to reach a production level of 6,000 units by 2015.

“The production of the Q5 is part of our long-term growth strategy in India. The Indian market for automobiles will grow very rapidly, and the Q5 is the right automobile at the right time,” says Frank Dreves, Audi Board Member for Production. Apart from the standard locally built models, Audi also offers its Indian customers the Audi A8, Q7, TT along with the R8.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Anti Proton on Jul 08, 2010 at 7:03 pm

baddddd

• Anti Proton on Jul 08, 2010 at 7:03 pm

will we still be gettin german made models?

• galaxy explorer on Jul 08, 2010 at 7:41 pm

Bolehland again, an ultimate loser, AP is the ruler of the day.

• malaysia memang boleh on Jul 08, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Well,then the citizen of Bolehland should be consider as ultimate super loser too.Isn’t that right?
      If we have AP,then our closest neighbour have COE.
      Wow,see more alphabet right,hahah.
      don’t take it so serious.

• COE is an open tender, any registered company can bid for the number of cars they want to bring in. You don’t have to be connected or previlaged like our AP.

• The Loner on Jul 08, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Maybe it is a way to reduce waiting time for the Q5. All people over the world who order Q5 have to wait a year for the vehicle ready to be delivered.

• Seriously on Jul 09, 2010 at 9:11 am

agreed. Wondering if the Q5s would be coming from India now.

• squawk on Jul 08, 2010 at 10:34 pm

No loss to this T&H market. Let the Indians gain.

• Alwin on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:00 am

OMG! AUDI from INDIA? I can’t imagine how it’ll be then….look at our PROTON SAGA, also JAPANESE CAR manufactured in BOLEHLAND! 20+cents/km for 1.3L P. SAGA! OMG!

Now even worst…from INDIA?! I was considering an A5/A6 soon…awaiting long for the NEW A6 2011 or A5….but if from INDIA, I’ll go for BMW 5 series…

• Mohan Nair on Jul 09, 2010 at 12:58 pm

Alwin,
      Don’t worry about the quality of cars made in India. In the financial year 2009-2010 about 441,710 cars were exported from India.

May be this article in WSJ will enlighten you. If not now in next 5 years you will have to buy an Indian made car. BTW about the BMW 5 series,it is also being assembled in Chennai, India.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704111704575354853980451636.html?mod=googlenews_wsj#articleTabs%3Darticle

Are you thinking that folks in India will be eager to buyup Malaysian made Protons?

• nishant on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:49 am

dont u know that BMW has already started assembling the 5-series in India.

Wait till TATA launches the Indica-Vista in India

because unlike for Proton the Indian government did not forced people to buy Tata vehicles like in case of the taxi operators in malaysia Tata is no.3 in the Indian market after suzuki and hyundai.