Audi A7 Sportback images leaked ahead of reveal!

The much anticipated production version of the Audi A7 Sportback will make its debut later today (European time, tomorrow for us) at the home city of its Bavarian rival, specifically at the Pinakothek der Moderne art museum in Munich. But as usual these days, some images of the new car has found its way to the Internet ahead of its debut, and we have them here.

As you can see, this larger version of the A5 Sportback retains much of the Audi Sportback Concept’s looks from the 2009 Detroit Motor Show, down to the distinctive rear end design and five-door format with a rear hatch opening. The interior is also recognisable from the concept’s, although the steering wheel design is different. No leaked pictures of the rear section though, so we can’t confirm whether the production car is a four-seater like the concept.

For a gallery and a video of the Audi Sportback Concept, click here. The leaked images are after the jump. Stay tuned for more updates.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1358]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anti Proton on Jul 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm

sweet

• taboogen on Jul 26, 2010 at 3:41 pm

crapp.. when proton design gen2 with this design said not enough headroom…
      u think this will give you enough head room. clearly u can see the head rest at at the back got few inches from the roof line….. but as awalys typical malaysian… barang local attitude still there…. (barang local masa aku duk kg lagi dah ada attitude nie)
      dah duk bandar pn sama lagi… mana malaysia nak maju

• Waow, nice car… head lamps and rear lamps are amazing, the pillars, very very sporting…

• thumb down if you agree with me on Jul 26, 2010 at 3:20 pm

I don’t like the rear…totaly ugly..

• Jaybond on Jul 26, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Very nice. Now lets wait for the new Merc & BMW Coupe Saloons to come out. For the time being, the A7 will fight wiith Porsche Panamera & Aston Rapide.

• A5 sportback oso belum sampai in Malaysia….

Price of A5 Quattro is killing here…..dunno how much further is A5 Sportback…

VW Passat CC is now more affordable in this case

• shawal on Jul 26, 2010 at 4:01 pm

The 70’s is making a comeback….
    Schweet ride…

• mr_3m on Jul 26, 2010 at 4:24 pm

the A7 overall silhoutte/profile reminds me of the Rover SD1… it looks like an updated version of the SD1…

http://www.freewebs.com/eggy-plop/Brochures%20UK%20other/Rover-014-large.jpg

• MontiCarlo on Jul 26, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Looks like a ugly fish with wheels.

• MontiCarlo on Jul 26, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Looks like a ugly fish with wheels. BORING.

• Autik on Jul 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm

The shape is Fugly. Look like a snail.

• Alpha on Jul 26, 2010 at 5:24 pm

panamera wanna be??i love audi,but if ths is a panamera’s rival,i’ll go for the panamera.panamera is damn beautiful in person.photos dun do justice to it~

• Tiadaid on Jul 27, 2010 at 11:39 am

I beg to differ. I’ve seen the Panamera in person many times, and it looks bad. REAL BAD. Porsche should stick with making 911s.

• hanifhamzah on Jul 26, 2010 at 5:38 pm

the rear lamp looks like the car is very sad…=(

• squawk on Jul 26, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Is this similar to the 5GT?

• Why is the interior BWM-ish?

• Jaybond on Jul 27, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Man, BMW interior doesn’t come close to this one. Audi has been widely regarded to have the best interior among the big German three..

• Silverstone on Jul 27, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Another man who is drunk while commenting. The best interior? Dont make me laugh boy.

• take a look at the mid a/c vents. it’s somewhat like bmw.

• Looks like panamera.

• drMpower on Jul 26, 2010 at 8:25 pm

this is look like very low for a car.

are they gonna redefine again wagon/ car/ or introduce new segment… sportback?

• Yeah, don’t like the rear.

• black on Jul 26, 2010 at 11:15 pm

the rear look awkward……but the interior is nice place to be in……

• Something about the rear sideview, just seems a bit off to me. I love Audi, but this isn’t really doing much for me.

Interior is amazing as always though.

• h4dRi on Jul 27, 2010 at 9:25 am

the car might look ugly but seeing the rear window sloping like that, i bet the car will leave very little wake/turbulence behind compared to it sedan siblings, resulting less power will be use to overcome drag…

• Seriously on Jul 27, 2010 at 9:27 am

it’s a wagon-ish car… how more do you expect the rear to look like?

• sranua on Jul 27, 2010 at 10:05 am

Saw panamera at Paris..what a beauty…

• Mat Tungkah on Jul 27, 2010 at 3:21 pm

The person who drive this car sure got short penis punye….