2011 Scion tC coupe – a rare sporty dish from Toyota

Scion, Toyota youthful North American sub-brand, has introduced the second-generation Scion tC sports coupe. The new car is powered by a new 2.5-litre four-cylinder engine with Dual VVT-i, roller rocker arms and a Variable-induction Intake Manifold System. The result is 180 hp and 235 Nm, 19 bhp and 15 Nm more than the old 2.4.

Choose between new 6-speed transmissions (manual or auto with sequential shift) that increase efficiency over the old 5-speed manual/4-speed auto. The use of an electronic power steering (EPS) system also contributes to the improved fuel economy.

Handling is said to be better than before. The new tC sits on MacPherson strut front-suspension and a double-wishbone rear-suspension tuned for a “sporty ride that is both nimble and confident”. 18-inch aluminum-alloy wheels are wrapped in wider tyres while the disc brakes on all corners are larger than its predecessor’s.

The dashboard is no frills and driver focussed. It comes with a tilt-and-telescopic flat bottom steering wheel, driver “walk-through seat memory” function along with bucket seats. Standard kit also includes a 4.3-inch colour TFT screen Pioneer stereo with speaker components from the Lexus LX 570, ABS/EBD/BA, VSC and 8 airbags.

Toyota doesn’t really do sporty these days, so this Scion tC is rare, and for a small sporty coupe it seems to tick the right boxes on paper. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1398]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Aaron on Aug 12, 2010 at 11:29 am

Wow… I like it

• Seriously on Aug 12, 2010 at 11:33 am

the red version is nice… but the basic is really blend and the interior lack creativity and style of a sports car. It looks like a lazy, half-motivated made sports cars.

• wolfsburg on Aug 12, 2010 at 11:46 am

It looks so uncle-ish beside a Forte Koup… especially the interior so dull

• mitlanevo on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:04 pm

wow! really looks good :-)

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Aiyoo toyota. Quit screwing around and bring out the FT86 already.

The TC is no replacement for the Celica let alone a blue blood RWD’er

• faceless void on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:11 pm

Satria Neo look like from front angle

• This is a brilliant car! This, is the true Celica successor :)

• mujahid on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:19 pm

at first, look like NEO….

• trav_da_man on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm

I disagree with the last statement. Toyota is now moving towards making more sporty cars in the future, starting with FT-86, the possible revival of supra and now recently, they plan to make a sub 10k pound RWD small but fun sporty car based from the new yaris platform.

Unlike Honda where they killing everything that sporty and turned into a tree hugger.

• Jaybond on Aug 12, 2010 at 2:05 pm

That’s because in future earth friendly car means business, but ultimately will make cars boring to live with.

• JonLing on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Design is a bit on safe side. nothing wrong with it, just that i hope it’s more adventurous and bold. Having said that, I think toyota is definitely heading towards the right direction. Small, fun to drive and somewhat sporty 2-door coupe’s are getting rarer these days. Everyone seems to focus the resources more on creating 4-door coupes or metal-top convertibles these days. Good job, Toyota!

• hariHariMao on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm

1)aiyooo, sungguh cantik the red bodykited one!

2)but how come the 4.3in LCD so small one lol…my phone 3.5in bigger lol..

3)the door’s 3-way components speakers is freaking AWESOME !!!

• squawk on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Why does it remind me of a Hyundai from the old days?

• Poovan on Aug 13, 2010 at 9:47 am

Yes, i bet u were referring to Hyundai Accent 2 to 3 gens ago. The reard lights were more rounded and this one is a bit edgy!!

• bobdbilder on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:34 pm

The tC has been around for some time (in the US that is). Scion had that Mitsuoka Cube lookalike thing called the xB. You could find the tC all over Import Tuner mag. Fact is it looks dull and just begs for a makeover. Its a naked canvas. So for this year Toyota has given it a fresh new…. grill.

• shark on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Front look like satria neo

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:28 pm

I would forgive you if you were blind.

• shark on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:34 pm

i just color blind hehe

• Bro,

I also think that front look like satria neo at first sight..but not only me..a few readers here think the same

• farghmee on Aug 12, 2010 at 4:36 pm

for me, current look doesn’t seem like a neo.
        but if,
        1. the hood bulge is turned upside down, it will look like a neo,
        2. together with the light (look closely at how similar the location & color)

hehe

• nonama on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:47 pm

confirm satria neo on the first sight.
      the blinds cant see it.

• abcde12345 on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:36 pm

oh plz
    the design look so out dated
    damn ugly

• kimi_ on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:40 pm

The back looks like old CELICA…..The front looks like SATRIA NEO…..

• pdvilq on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Cubala proton keluarkan semula keta mcm putra, sekurangnya ada medium untuk melepaskan kretiviti pada keta coupe kat malaysia ni bagi mereka yang kurang mampu nak beli sports coupe dari jenama toyota, nissan or etc…bagi saya kehadiran putra suatu masa dulu adalah benchmark bermulanya era sports coupe kereta tempatan…tapi itu je model yang dicoupekan…tak kurang hebat rasanya jika model SAGA yang ada sekarang, dengan mengunakan platform yang sama di coupekan dengan enjin campro 1.6…what say u?

• autojohndoe on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:28 pm

in business, it is number of sales that really matter… so, product for the masses comes first…

it is a big risk to produce car to satisfy some ppl only…

• pdvilq on Aug 12, 2010 at 2:48 pm

yeah ur rite…but the words “to satisfy” is not really works for that terms…think again…longing or lust for…;)

• m4xspeed on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm

dashboard layout seems old… the aircond knob look a bit outdated. Exterior wise quite ok for me…

• mySixth)inch>))) on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Must thank the designer Masayuki Nagai for this sporty creation!

• nazri on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:07 pm

look like satria neo s2000 from front

• farghmee on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:10 pm

1. lampu dpn – :)
    2. abc pillars – :(
    3. lampu blkg – :(
    4. interior – drivercentric :)
    – design :(

• vl by victor on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:17 pm

front part like honda design.. headlamp 95% new accord.. and the rear part so ugly. Toyota designer tak boleh pakai lar… look at the vios and yaris… OMG! how could the CEO approve the design

• 4x4 Lifted Trucks on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:28 pm

I thing this is specially made for young generation.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Front look similar to it’s predecessor AE101/111. Somehow, i felt the buttock doesn’t match the front.

• mohdjiman on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:36 pm

oh…if this one with Rear Wheel Drive….

• ae101rulez on Aug 12, 2010 at 2:19 pm

too bad malaysia won’t see any of this car unless its grey imported..hehehe..

• alpha999 on Aug 12, 2010 at 2:36 pm

personally, i think front design look good…..

toyota !!!!….pls incorporate 2011 scion tc coupe front design look’s into next vios…..

• i hate it when people say front looks like that, rear looks like this. these people surely do not have appreciation for shapes.

its like saying, “the satria neo’s front looks like a platypus and its rear looks like a dog.”

• the scion is made as the ENTRY LEVEL car for generation Y. i literally drooled whenever i see a Scion tC or xD passing by. too bad as a self sponsored student in the US i was always flat broke. i bet the scion would be a rich man’s car if it were to be brought over here.

thank you p1, thank you for nothing.

anyways, selamat berpuase to all

• nazri on Aug 12, 2010 at 3:57 pm

bring here la bro, convert from LHD to RHD.. or use smart tag

• The car is selling at $20K less. It is around a WAJA price.

• shawal on Aug 12, 2010 at 6:06 pm

exterior looks so-so ,interior looks like ass
    dashboard looks like its from a truck

• altimate on Aug 12, 2010 at 6:33 pm

I’m sorry IMO it looks like this scion has design plucked from 10 different cars.. interior & exterior.. rojak..

sporty ?.. hmm.. maybe… maybe not..

sorry

• babiDoll on Aug 12, 2010 at 7:02 pm

The dashboard is very nice with a sporty feel to it, much better than the suzuki swift sport boring dashboard for sure!

• 388900wow on Aug 12, 2010 at 9:26 pm

uncle two door car..

hyundai genesis better

• toyotaguy on Aug 12, 2010 at 10:10 pm

wow so finally come out VIOS 2 door .. hope will come to msia i will booking soon =)

stupid government tax sure this car will cost like fairlady 150k haish when stupid governent wan close down the stupid proton haish stupid those ppl police all keep rasuah rasuah

• haish haish bang haish ckp melayu suda la bang haish haish one for sure one maa

• ejen007 on Aug 12, 2010 at 10:51 pm

mcm toyota SEG kalau tgk dari depan.

• err…i tought was 2 doors corolla altis…so damn uncle feel & ugly….

• Alanore Chong on Aug 13, 2010 at 1:35 pm

exterior is so Kia, interior is so Integra…

• wakaka on Aug 13, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Nice design improvements and on the engine output side as well…but most importantly, is it still in FWD or has it been changed to RWD?
    With all that Scion action in Formula Drift, I think the next Scoin tC should be in RWD platform already.

• Ugly!