Toyota Hilux 3.0G to be launched soon – RM106k

UMW Toyota Motor has put up some information on the latest variant of Toyota Hilux due to hit our shores – the Toyota Hilux 3.0G Double Cab automatic. There’s an estimated price at the moment – RM106,000, which is a rough RM9k+ premium over the more expensive Hilux 2.5G Double Cab automatic model.

Under the hood is the 1KD-FTV, a 2,982cc turbocharged common rail direct injection engine producing 163 PS at 3,400rpm and 343Nm of torque from as low as 1,400rpm all the way to 3,200rpm. It’s not the king of the hill in terms of horsepower but it’s still over 50% more power compared to the 2.5G model. This is thanks not only to its larger displacement, but also a variable geometry turbocharger and an intercooler. This new variant is slightly heavier than the 2.5G, tipping the scales at 1,920kg compared to 1,865kg.

Other than the more powerful engine, the rest of the specs look quite similar to the 2.5G, except it has some additional features – auto door locking, and USB support for the head unit. The website says price and specs are estimated for the moment and are subject to change, though from past history usually the actual launched car shouldn’t run too far away from the preliminary specs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vincent choong on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Another 4 speed auto rubbish from Toyota?

• The Loner on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Yes. Toyota already facing tough pickup challenge from Boleh Land and around the world.

• theanswer on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:38 am

tough challenge but hilux still one of the biggest name in pickup territory. it’s the first name that came into a person’s mind when talking about pickup. and if u look at june car sales..hilux sales number is 2nd in the list after vios..even above honda city!

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:46 am

i think toyota just want to steal some market from isuzu d-max 3.0. and provide alternative to the 2.5 spec. he he he..

• west meets east on Jan 11, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Toyota Hilux is more expensive in Singapore, how expensive (it is priced SGD79,488 (RM188,251.38).).

• first!

• it will still sell, its a toyota.

• I still love my Triton

• milo tin on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Hilux is used to run on different road condition, and also the power it needs. The gear ratio is important as well. Compare to some other having 5 gear, giving problem in rough condition. I am no Toyota sales man, but I got those info from Toyota related people who made Hilux one of the Top10 sales in Malaysia.

• jasper on Aug 21, 2010 at 12:14 am

100% rubbish!! 5 speed gear ratio always better then 4 speed. American auto are KING of Pick-ups, using 5 speed & even 6 to 7 speed auto!! European like BMW are using 7 speed DSG.

• theanswer on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:43 am

seems that u do not really know about pickup..dont compare bmw with toyota..in fact bmw dont have any pickup. plus i dont see bmw x5,x3 or x6 going into jungle for hardcore off road. n ppl in rural area in south america being using hilux since long time ago..they did not use american big thirsty pickup.

• Yes.. But... on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:33 pm

True, but how many percent is toyota hilux buyers now using it for extreme off-road?
            With toyota’s capability, they should just make 1 Work horse with manual GB that is bomb proof, and the rest of the range to compete with time…
            I’ve seen 440K range rovers in oil palm estates, with autobox and no problems.
            Those who insist that Toyota is keeping the old 4-spd ECT gearbox for “reliability” reason need to stick their head of of the well. there are plenty of 500Nm monsters out there running on autobox. in the event that you do a lot of off-roading, then by all means get the manual version.

The reason that Pickups are popular in malaysia is very obvious, you buy it because it is a lot of car, for relatively little money. 90K for triton? or 90K for Kia Forte? your money, you choose.

• nevermore on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:28 pm

i work in palm oil state n i spend my offroad time more than u can imagine. We usually use hilux(a.k.a vigo) in off road. Its tough,willing to run around without any problem and the service can be done pretty much in everywhere…dont talk like u know 4×4 like u seen on tv or magazine. ranger rover are good in spec. But the service cost and part are pain in the ass. 4×4 like these type aren’t mean for fast anyway.if u wan to go fast,y dont juz buy a sedan. 4 speed auto is a problem???

• humble on Aug 29, 2010 at 6:32 am

HILuX compared with range rover =.= akai lu mana letak bro…dh sah2 range rover the best offroader tgk rage lah…ive been using my hilux for 1year now 2.5(A) and its fine onroad and offroad..please guys dont talk llike u known 4×4…well yea ofcourse hilux cant beat the range rover..but within its range i wont say hilux the best but still it can do offroad..trust me..even if its in 4-speed auto..u go buy one lah then u talk..dont compare it to something yg mmg mustahil arh nk lawan…ibarat ko naik basikal compare ngan ferrari tau tak?? hampeh~ use ur brain before talk..or ppl will bash u…peace out bro

• GTR34 on Aug 21, 2010 at 8:56 pm

I don’t agree with tat as to why do u need a 5 to 7 speed gear box in a jungle/ offroad.

Hilux is a workhorse for use in offroad conditions for real MAN.

BMW X series is for “Paris Hilton” guy pretending or dreaming drivin in jungle on highway….

U actually need to drive a M series with 7 gear DSG to really appreciate the design of the gear box, not a pretend to be “hilux” X series with high center of gravity to cruise at 260km/h in a jungle, tat is if you can ..hahaha

What the!!! why are we compairing X with hilux….X series cannot carry a boat at the back and it cost more….actually it’s no comparison…..at all …Hilux win in all aspects over X series.

• A Bear on Aug 25, 2010 at 3:29 pm

In the jungle maybe lucky to use the first 2 gears. Even then, the differential is not always locked unless in muddy conditions.

Darn, try travelling down 50km/hr down the hilly slope on a good day.

The 5th gear n more for the highway where we get to see most of the pick-ups.

4 speed = cheaper, that’s all.

Salesman can convince people, it is more reliable which sounds logical.

• theanswer on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:39 am

top 10 sales! u gotta be kindding..hilux sales even better than (for imported cars) than honda city.

• sham_azlan on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:46 pm

U got money buy? i think u only can kutip sampah di jalan….

• mr vigo on Aug 21, 2010 at 11:56 am

if u guys think hilux is rubbish,c tis: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXFqKQIvTG0
      does ur triton,navara,dmax,ranger,fighter can do better than tis??ops….they’re not selling well in uk or MAS…pity! ><

• texas navara on Aug 21, 2010 at 4:13 pm

dude,, navara still no 1 sell in europe and australia.. do a research.

• littlefire on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:18 am

Hello, that hilux is heavily modifed! Is not original like that! If u drive a original hilux to the volcano, i think u will burnt to death by just under it…

• nevermore on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm

tats prove even top gear consider hilux as toughest car in the planet…

• NAVARA on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:14 pm

woooo.. Navara Challenger… Haha…

• urm…no

• The Loner on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:50 pm

I don’t think so. Both pickup use VN turbo charger but power-wise Navara’s 2.5L diesel has 174ps whereas Hilux’ 3.0L diesel has 163ps; torque-wise Navara has 401Nm whereas Hilux has 343Nm as mentioned above.

• littlefire on Aug 20, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Somemore Navara is paying 2.5L road tax, while the Hilux is paying 3.0L road tax!!!

Why Toyota haven update the 2.5L version into VN turbocharger & intercooler like those already in Thailand?

• The Loner on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Your know UMW always want to gain maximum profit margin by selling lower spec of the vehicle at unbelievable price.

• That’s true, UMW is not 100% toyota owned! But at least Nissan Navara by Tan Chong Nissan is much better, esp. higher specs. and after sales service. Buy Toyota, think of after sales service, you may disappointed.

• GTR34 on Aug 21, 2010 at 9:04 pm

U guys can stop complaining and just buy other brandslah….go buy Navara and Tritonloh and Rangerlah.

• casey-c on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Toyota had done their studies well and that why they take their time to bring in latest model.
          Toyota is for those think Toyota is the best, so no need to upgrade. Just like those new car owner who think Perodua is better than the other national car.

• GTR34 on Aug 21, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Hilux engine can also be tune to even higher spec, but fortunately UMW engineers understand that :

“Highly tune engine are more prone to damage.”

Imagine getting a small engine to push out BIG torque or get an ant to push an egg…..

Highly tune engines push up sales momentarily but soon end user will know….bcoz they ain’t stupid and when they pay to maintain at higher price….BUT if you are rich..then don’t read this..hahaha…

• durability on Sep 01, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Yeah, Navara is having better HP & Torque, but five years down we ll see if Navara still has the same HP & Torque. Toyota has proven to last for a long time. I have seen so many Hilux and Landcruiser with 10, 20 years of age and still driving good. Nissan with 10-20 years of age? I haven’t really seen too many… not in Australia, not in NZ and definitely not in Msia.

Another thing, just look at US Market, Nissan ain’t selling many and it has always been rated at the 2nd worst car manufacturer in US. (Bottom has been honorable Mitsubishi, sorry there Storms’ owners). Brand new vehicles, definitely will not have too many problems (all except our beloved PROTON!), but what about 5-10 years down?

We might not be driving it anymore, but our kids or even selling it to someone else, it needs a good second-hand value? So why ain’t Nissan having a better used-car value than Toyota? New car they can have better this better that, but after a good amount of rain, sun & time, it’s completely a different story, my friend.

BTW, pls don’t compare a Toyota with Land Rover. The price is different, the package is different too. And pls only compare a TRUCK with a TRUCK. No BMW X1, 2, 3 here, okay? My opinion, in the same class of quality and price, Toyota Hilux, Mitsubishi Triton, Isuzu D-Max, Ford Ranger, Nissan Frontier & Navara are about the same class. They are all trucks anyway. (just forget about Mazda…)

I mean, look at the line up again,
        Mitsubishi Triton, pls la go back and work on Lancer more then we talk – OUT
        Isuzu D-max simply cannot last – OUT,
        Ford Ranger, I heard Ford built some of the best truck in the world, need to look into this, but might struggle with smaller engine with a better output & torque – TBD,
        Nissan Frontier, replaced by a newer Navara, outclassed and outwitted, OUT,
        Nissan Navara, it looks good now, it drives good now, it sounds good now, but unfortunately, I just happens to owned one of the old Nissan vehicle in the states and I sold it after 17 years for USD200. It almost failed me on the day of selling!!! Phew… So OUT!!!

Anyway, I’m just sticking with the reputable ones. Hey, Nissan might make a good Navara to compete with Toyota Hilux, and if you would like to give it a try, by all means, go ahead. Just remember this, have you seen any 20 years old Nissan Truck around? I don’t, really.

• Texas Navara on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:27 pm

this 3.0 hilux still cannot beat the mother trucker 2.5 Navara dude…. NAVARA RULES..

• GTR34 on Aug 21, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Don’t know yet…..1st batch in my area all sold out….and Navara sellsman keep calling me up telling me plenty of stock…..we’ll c.. then….sure hope UMW don’t bring in the 2.5VN or else my friend’s Navara resell will drop like hell…

• ENEL: on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:19 pm

yea..on the road navara still powerful..but not off road…when offroad good power 1000rpm to 3000rpm…

• Lewis on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:29 am

Well, I don’t believe navara is not good for offroad. If you look into chassis, the features is almost the same. Coil spring. Power, is more. Torque is higher. So it is good for offroad too. Just that people not drive it to offroad. And the design is sporty for onroad. I believe it done well on offroad too.

• casey-c on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Nissan Proven their NAVARA is Mother Trucker

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:52 am

yes, all the mothers go ride in Navara. All men ride in the rest of the pick-ups.

Tata Telcoline, anyone?

• 4x4 Fan on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:46 pm

A much more promising package. Hilux is definitely in need of more power and acceleration. Now it can do alot more as a pickup.

Sure to be a much more practical choice over the other pickups. Hey Toyota, do the extra mile and add in ARB accessories and we got a really really rugged and muscular pickup! Not to mention added safety and it can add more mods like winching tools!

Nice.

• Lancermania on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:54 pm

stil prefer Dmax thn tis…

• sham_azlan on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:48 pm

u masalah kau…..

• Lewis on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:40 am

True bro.

Why Dmax engine is durable? A 3.0l engine, uses 3rd generation common rail 180mpa, in face more that 150hp, they tuned down the horsepower and torque to makes the engine face less engine ‘stress’. Redline 4250rpm which is low for longer engine lifespan. Maybe less comfort due to torsion bar suspension but it is much stable. Better grip.

Hilux is still using 1st generation 135mpa common rail.

• tsuprasonic on Aug 20, 2010 at 6:07 pm

great news. must check it out. when can we get a test drive?

• Already seen in our neighbour, Brunei sometime back. Nothing interesting for this version except those buy it need to pay more roadtax…, good for G…lalalala…,
    Malaysian still not lucky to pay more on non P1 & P2 car. Why not toyota introduce FJ new version

• nabill on Aug 20, 2010 at 6:58 pm

no info about gearbox? hopeully its 5speed and not 4speed…bt knowing toyota , thy r usually amoung the last to introduce new technical spec…if im in a market for this kind of vehicle , id choose triton anytime….its jus too cool! navara way tooooo big….

• Paul Tan on Aug 20, 2010 at 7:03 pm

It’s 4-speed.

• T.ALPHARD is P.JUARA on Aug 20, 2010 at 7:29 pm

wow many years late & i think new model of HILUX or VIGO in Thailand will be launch soon.

• Borneoapeman on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:53 am

I think the VNT 3.0 launched in Thailand not so long ago…last time the 3.0 is not with the VNT…better late then never..

• 4×4 3.0G 4 A/T
    1KD-FTV(I/C)
    4 cyl 16 valve DOHC VN turbo Intercooler
    96.0×103.0
    17.9:1
    120 (163) / 3,400
    343/1,400-3,200
    Direct Injection Common-rail
    EURO3
    Gear Ratio 1 2.804
    Gear Ratio 2 1.531
    Gear Ratio 3 1.000
    Gear Ratio 4 0.705
    Gear Ratio 5 –
    Reverse Gear Ratio 2.393
    Center differential 3.909
    Min. Turning Radius (m.) 6.2
    Tires 265 / 65 R17
    Alloy wheel 265 / 65 R17
    Optitron Meter Y
    Distance Meter Digital
    Multi Information Display Y
    Fuel Gauge Y
    Fuel Filter Indicator Y
    Door Status Warning Lights Y
    Seat Belt Indicator Driver and front passenger
    Audio 2 DIN 1 CD/ MP3 and WMA
    Speakers 6
    Cruise Control Y
    Seat Type Split Type
    Seat’s Material Leathered and Synthetic Leathered
    Seat Color Sand Beige
    Adjustable Front Seat With electric adjust (driver only)
    Leanable Front Seat With electric adjust (driver only)
    Height Adjustable Front Seat (Driver) With electric adjust (driver only)
    Seat Pillow Y
    Passenger Seat Foldable
    Passenger Seat Pillow Y

• You have missed one, please check the ABS brake pipe, 2 or 4 channels.

• Jackkris on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Should roll out back to 2 years ago as many Hilux-ians will hate the UMW marketing nowadays. The car brands is absolutely gorgeous only the Malaysians based dealer is doing the reverse for the Hilux enthusiast.

• Texas Navara on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Hope Tan Chong will bring in the new European Navara 2.5L with 190hp and 3.0L with 230hp soon,, yioaww…

• The Loner on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:35 am

2.5L YD25DDTi engine with 190ps surely makes Navara king of pickup truck in Boleh Land if being introduced.

For 3.0L V9X engine, if Thailand has Navara faclifted with this engine, there may have a chance for it, as UK spec’s Navara seems do not have DPF and NOx trap installed.

• yeah!! on Aug 21, 2010 at 11:24 am

they will and they should bring it now… and toyota will be out of top 10 charts… have you all seen the numbers of navara out there now… furthermore, driving a hilux is highly rated as car theft model… insurance companies are charging higher on this model… so take ur chances…

• milo tin on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:05 pm

Do you all realized Hilux is the Top10 selling car in Malaysia? :)

• Toyott on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:26 pm

that is becoz a ‘TOYOTA’ emblem, if P1 Juara or Arena used toyota emblem oso can top10 sell in Malaysia

• GTR34 on Aug 21, 2010 at 9:24 pm

P1 Juara / Arena , these are bad car design and bad manufacturing standard car. I think wise end user will not buy it if it got T emblem…

Nowadays car buyer are wiser.. they buy car of their choice and not based on brand only.

• toyott on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:41 am

you can see at Toyota Avanza.. is it good manufacturer? for me avanza only aell its T emblem,, sucks.

• A Bear on Aug 25, 2010 at 3:19 pm

Avanza quite ok, just put in rubber spacers at the rear to reduce the floatiness.

• The Loner on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:38 am

Agree. It is because Toyota has built a reputation so good in the past that people treat Toyota as God for its reliability and good second hand value.

But now, for me, not much to say.

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:57 am

and also top 5 in car theft! but ppl keep buying them. and what happened to the ford ranger these days? they were the best pick-ups at the beginning of the new millenium.

• Gajen on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:13 pm

australia has hilux trd….we always get the lousy spec

• The Loner on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:39 am

U should know how UMW does business nowadays. Try to gain as much profit margin as possible.

• edward on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:56 am

wat for need the TRD….. what for change the formula if the ‘lousy’ spec still is top 10…..

• Jimmy on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:20 pm

Cheating money again. Still a 4-speed dinosaur. Any leather seats and telescopic steering, Toyota?

• Naz@AE111 on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:56 pm

a good news for sabahan who love hilux only…

• The Loner on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:42 am

I do think so. I heard Sabahans who own Hilux auto are complaining the gear unable to shift to 4th gear unless the vehicle travels more than 90km/h (speed limit in Sabah).

That is why Hilux owners have to drive so fast just make sure the vehicle do not consume more fuel if the gear is not stick on third gear with higher rpm.

• kraft on Aug 21, 2010 at 12:45 am

wish umw would bring the TRD hilux.
    want some v6 supercharged powerrr

• 3.0L turbodiesel only 163ps and 343nm ?

the navara will smoke this piece of ancient junk.

• rossi46 on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:22 am

Totally agreed, why the very low torque for such a big engine?…the hyundai/Kia 2.0 r series diesel produce almost 400nm of torque. beemer 2.0 320D produce 350nm & focus tdci 2.0 320nm wt overboost to 340nm……why soo low Toyota??

• Kepalo hotak engkau on Aug 21, 2010 at 11:38 am

Wait till you try the power. Spec sheets doesn’t mean outright power. Torque/ hp band says alot. 5/6/7/8 speeder? Those are cvts! Conventional slushboxes can go to 5 or 6 speed max. Or the gearbox would be big and heavy. Why you need more gears when the engine is already frugal, and it is powerful to move at 1500rpm. You buggers with 3 speeder protons never complain? 4 speed with campros? You need more gears or more engine torque? I’m driving a turbocharged European auto with 5 speeds. It is a good combo. So stop talking about gearbox type.

• nabill on Aug 21, 2010 at 8:56 pm

more gears u get more frugal engine and better refinement….

• casey-c on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:00 pm

I’m not interested in the test drive, why waste time on this low tech spec engine??

• GTR34 on Aug 28, 2010 at 12:06 am

Test drove Navara and the steering is VERY HEAVY (maybe for 190km/h ride in jungle), drive is not nimble compare to Mitsui, Toyota , Ford. Also have to step real hard to get the car moving…feel heavy than other brand. (must be the gear ratio or maybe it’s a mother truck so it’s heavy )

Why Navara still using the manual disarm immobilizer that others used 8 years ago for a 105k car??

Car seat at the back so steep that will hurt the back of all ppl seating on it. Totally BAD DESIGN….and the dash board…it’s like Prehistoric time…all square, nothing but square….I don’t know about USA trend mother trucker design…but here, it’s Asia.

• kraft on Aug 21, 2010 at 3:26 pm

take it offroad. see if navara can smoke the hilux

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:02 am

yeah, at the time when 190ps is useless. top speed? a mere 20kph in the mud.

• orgbiasa on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:21 am

dude, car is like human. answer a question for me, can u boost ur energy, stay hyperactive at all day?? Toyota understands tis theory. Do u know ML Evo 7 can boost to 320ps without modify a part? From wat i heard, Nissan pickups (frontier, navara) meet engine prob after 3 yrs, especially the turbo turbine n fuel injector. this gonna cost u plenty of money n time to take k of.

• GTR34 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:50 am

You mean a lot of BLACK smoke come out of NAVARA engine….seen a lot here…don’t know why?

If u mean for racing I’ve seen a lot of Navara, Triton also smoke by Kancil turbo or NA..haha

• aging model…..

• Borneoapeman on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Actually, Hilux 3.0 with VNT only been launch in Thailand since August last year.

http://paultan.org/2009/08/24/toyota-hilux-vn-turbo-uses-vgt-turbocharger/

So it’s quite new I think.

• Ride n handling better than Nissan

• GTR34 on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:08 am

yup….tried Navara and the steering is VERY HEAVY (maybe for 190km/h ride in jungle), drive is not nimble compare to Mitsui, Toyota , Ford. Also have to step real hard to get the car moving…feel heavy than other brand.

Why Navara still using the manual disarm immobilizer that others used 8 years ago for a 105k car?? Car seat at the back so steep that will hurt the back of all ppl seating on it. Totally BAD DESIGN….and the dash board…it’s like Prehistoric time…all square, nothing but square….I don’t know about USA trend mother trucker design…but here, it’s Asia.

• brutus on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:59 am

343Nm @ 1400-3200rpm!!
    smoking!!

• It is not smoking.WIth vnt,turbo and intercooler, torque should be in the range of 400. Hyundai grand starex with VNT is more or less reaching 400nm.Toyota must have detune the engine because of our lower spec diesel.

• Malaysian love Hilux, underpower, expensive, worst suspension, cheap and bad quality of interior desk material, especially in sabah & sarawak, most of them is TOYOTA supporter, really dont understand. Seldom get Ford, Mitsubishi, Mazda, Nissan, especially Ford & Mazda, is almost zero overthere.

• Borneoapeman on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:04 pm

I think most ( I mean most bcoz some just buy a car bcoz it does not have a T emblem on it ) buyer now are wiser and they choice their car more on :
      1. reliability
      2. after sell service
      3. spare parts
      4. resell values

over 5 – 7 speed DSG gear box, most powerful engine output in the market.

The truth is that, double cabin are all with high center of gravity and are all workhorse car and not to be driven to 150km/h on highway. For those don’t understand this, you better of buying a sedan over a double cabin then crashing it later while doin this on a highway.

We in Borneo here LOVE our Hilux bcoz of it’s reliability and power over all terrain..nothing more..

Imagine you r in a jungle with no hp signals, no hotels, with headhunters(haha) around you…the best way to get out of there is with a one kick start vehicle…a Toyota Hilux.

Trust us, we’ve been there done that over you semenajung guy over ALL Terrain….so next time when you are in Borneo for a tour in the Jungle or Cave trail….you’ll wish for a Hilux to carry you through the offroad trails. It’s a necessity here, not a privilege.

I respect all other driving other brand double cabin such as Navara, Triton and Ranger.
      and I know they are all great cars

But
      I JUST LOVE MY HILUX!! Even after 10 years driving it….

The hilux 3.0 is only about Rm10k higher then the price in Thailand ( Ex Thailand, no insurance, no road tax, no warranty) which I IMHO is not expensive…so I booked one without a test drive..

• My friend also drive Hilux, passenger seat quite bumby, is good to hear from u, thank you, we can exchange our experince, u like your hilux, i love my triton, other will love there Navara, Focus & Mazda.
        Good Day.

• Ha Gnih on Aug 21, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Hi Ryan,

We have alot of Mitsubishis on the road here, in Sarawak. We also have a lot of Fords too and Nissans and all the other auto brands that you just said we don’t have. I don’t know which part of Sarawak you’ve been to, but seriously, you might have been to the wrong part of the state.

• Sabah – Kota Kinabalu, Tawau & Sandakan, Sarawak – Miri, Kuching, Semenanjung – Kuala Lumpur (Mitsubishi a lots here, Ford & Mazda also few).

• hahahaha on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Miri, where you can see a lot of exotic cars in sarawak. Either from brunei or rich ppl’s car :)

• Bario Stones on May 17, 2011 at 8:17 am

Agreed with Ryan. I’m from Shah Alam, Selangor, but I believe I travelled in most part in Sabah & Sarawak more than some local there.

Sabah: KK, Sipitang, Keningau, Pensiangan, Pagalungan, Beaufort, Kudat, Kota Maruu, Pitas, Paitan, Beluran, Sandakan, Kinabatangan, Tongod, Semporna and Tawau.

Sarawak: Kuching, Samarahan, Serian, Sebuyau, Sri Aman, Batang Lupar, Beting Maro, Maludam, Sibu, Kapit, Song, Sungai Asap, Bintulu, Miri(especially Baram), Beluru, Lapok, Skyview, Kilo 10, Long San, Long Liam, Pa’ Mada, Remudu, all the way to Bario, also been to Limbang & Lawas.

But the people over there mostly drive Hilux. Most of them said Hilux is more reliable. They said Triton is ok, but D-Max tak tahan lasak. I’ve never seen D-Max in Bario. Hilux is the most. Saw a Triton(& actually rode on it’s back on our fishing trip). Our group consists of 2 Toyota Hilux & one 7 yrs old Mitsubishi Storm(still ok even not using offroad tyres..only needed to be pulled out of mud by a Hilux which was equipped with the right offroad tyres..thanks to Jackson the skillfull Kayan driver). On our journey from Miri to Bario (accumulated time is 16 hours – spent 2 nights at 2 logging camps at Kilo 10 & Merawa), 3 Hilux were able to pull a 10 tonne truck which was stuck in the mud. Its all ‘jalan balak’…

• rageaccel2 on Aug 21, 2010 at 3:08 pm

agreed with lancermania…. me too will prefer d-max over this anytime.. hilux rear seat too bumpy.. and not so stable when taking high speed corners such as at karak. d-max is more stable and planted.

my 1 cent.

• Sam Kitaro on Aug 21, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Love my 2.5 Hilux twincab no matter what!!!!

• simpz on Aug 21, 2010 at 3:37 pm

it came to out kch branch workshop last 2weeks… tested, just slightly faster boost output burst & basically the handling & the rest is the same… brighter interior colour, which is beige… doesnt match hilux at all… wad is most disappointing is the there’s no difference wif the 2.5L model… Dull looking interior… uncomfortable seat…

• simpz on Aug 21, 2010 at 3:41 pm

it came to our kch branch workshop last 2weeks… tested, just slightly faster boost output burst & basically the handling & the rest is the same… brighter interior colour, which is beige… doesnt match hilux at all… wad is most disappointing is the there’s no difference wif the 2.5L model… Dull looking interior… uncomfortable seat…

• pickup on Aug 21, 2010 at 5:07 pm

I will get NAVARA over this..

• littleboy on Aug 21, 2010 at 6:00 pm

previous,y Toyota used as the only 4WD in the logging camp…..n its has proven its reliability in the tough condition…..esp muddy swampy condition……tats y we still believed in TOYOTA…….in SARAWAK n SABAH

• outdoor geng on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:21 pm

easy to be stolen

• Hi Paul,
    From Toyota website, it appear that Hiace is in for some upgrades. Can you check if the upgrade is for the engine part since the Hilux and Hiace share the same engine.

• ihmatrix on Aug 21, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Proton is better than this piece of expensive junk. But wait, got Proton DOuble Cab? Wakaka.

• GTR34 on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:18 am

Sure, if proton can fit in a 265 / 65 R17 tires, strap in a 4×4 gear box, do a one kick start after 5 years…..but I guess not…..

• Ha Gnih on Aug 21, 2010 at 11:55 pm

If I’m not mistaken, the 3.0 model comes with cruise control as well. Something nice to use whenever going outstation, ROAD TRIP !!!

• anoymous on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:27 am

in Sabah Sarawak…this car rule the road…move aside other lousy brands please…hilux history is proven…people who buy this car is not for style n joytalkers…those who perform pedalaman jobs,this is one of the best mod of transport…

• mitlanevo on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:02 am

Navara and Ranger, anytime……

• jonny blaze on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:00 pm

bet a 3.0L engine has better torque spread than a 2.5L engine :)

need to look at the dynograph.. the 3.0L should have a broader, flatter torque plateau than a smaller engine.. peak power is not so important per say

when there’s so much torque.. there’s no need for a 6-speed gearbox.. the engine can twist those big gears effortlessly..

dragsters have only one to two gears at most.. why? massive torque of course :)

• flizzardosohigh on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:23 pm

i dont understand how such abomination to be priced at over 100k

i guess no wonder umw toyota are cashing alot of bucks , still too many people willing to pay so much for so less

with just another extra 10k you could have gotten Proton Satria R3 Lotus Racing

packed up

with ohlin suspensions (used on our very own supercar marque lotus and ferrari of the superbike Ducati)

and high perfomance AP racing brake both costing in 5 digits each

and not to forget record breaking perfomance of 0-100 time at 9.2 seconds faster than world fastest man Usain Bolt (9.58seconds)

• Borneoapeman on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:46 pm

For all those out there driving other brands, be it Navara, Triton, Dmax, Ranger…congratulate on your ride and I hope you all love your ride.

Everyone have there own thinking and choice…that’s is diversity all about….cheers to all…

I love my Hilux….even after 10 years driving the same model…

Really looking forward for my 3.0 VNT to arrived…..

• Hilux Owner on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Can we expect to see Fortuner 3.0G with 1KD-FTV here in Malaysia anytime soon?

• Hilux Owner on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Can we expect to see Fortuner 3.0G with 1KD here in Malaysia anytime soon??

• uchak on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:41 am

all you guys are just pathetic…everyone has their own consideration and things to take into account on comparing a car…be it offroad, onroad, fuel consumption,maintenance, reliability etc….your money, your choice…Why make all these fiasco?
    I dont think any of you will make profit by condemn each others here….But one for sure is the dealers and manufaturer will…

• toyott on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:41 am

Look at this youtube,, Hilux fails the moose test!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZF8N9NItHI&feature=related

• We have to admit that Toyota has made good pickup/off road vehicle in the past and they are still making good vehicle until now and they will be making modern and better vehicle in the future.

They put the price and specification that fit the market they are in the business to justify the market expectation such as design, functional, safety, environment and etc.

One that we feel Toyota ahead of other brands is their image that carries “good will” value. You may pay less with higher spec. but you do not have the “good will” value such as the logo that public feel confident of, the resale value that always higher than others, the good service and spare part network that make people peace of mind, the image of driving “T” brand and etc. Toyota has more of these recipes where others have less.

I am driving Honda, Mitsubishi and Continental car now, and I guest Honda is the closest rival to Toyota. However Honda can not compete in how solid the Toyota car feels. Therefore, I believe this feeling is so important for off road vehicle owner.

I love the first model of Toyota Landcruiser.

• Drust on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:27 pm

I still love my D-Max 3.0L!!!

Flat torque babe!

• A Bear on Aug 25, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Cool….3 litre engine.

More relaxed tuning….engine last longer : )

Either love it or don’t love it, or just play it safe, follow the herd!

For a commercial user, a bit higher price tag would not be a deterrent.

There are things to be done that u will still need a Hilux….example, occasionally ferrying something like a wheel barrow, cangkuls and a few bags of cement…yeah.

• Cool …….But could the engine run or ‘tahan lama’ with our mal;aysian diesel quality ?

Lots of ppl been commenting and compare Hilux with other diesel engine , if Toyota come out high powered engine(500Nm) or super duper transmission(5,6,7,8,9- speed G/BOX) What is the point !!! does our Diesel compatible with highly tunes engine.

Our Diesel Quality is far behind than our neighbors (Sing N Thai).

• Lewis on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Hi. As long as we maintain properly. Especially the water diesel separater filter. After few months drive, sometimes I can get more than 30ml of water.

And yet diesel fuel pump are very sensitive with water..

• dinmoner on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:52 am

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen,
    I have been driving all Types and Model of 4×4 you people trying to project their superiority in this webpages.
    My comments;
    Off-roads;Toyota is more capable and comfortable eventhough a bit sluggish in power but better than the rest.
    On-roads;Mitubushi Triton rides like a saloon car with higher centre of gravity and more comfortable than other makes.
    Ford Ranger with somewhat lower centre of gravity is a better competetor to Triton but loss out in speed unless Ford do somethings with the engine performance.
    Toyota owner normally sleep better as even after 5 years,the trade-in value is good enough for him to use as good down payment for a new vehicle if he wanted to buy a new one.
    I for one will go for Toyota not because I like the T emblem only but due to good resale value.5 years is defenitely enough duration for one to own any kind of vehicles….None of you people should agree with me……Saya mahu makan sahor ini ba….besok puasa….

• jumpstat on Sep 05, 2010 at 10:56 pm

i have tried many trucks, ford, navara, d-max, triton……hilux not so powerful nor it is fast. not also the best looking. but what Toyota has done is designed a truck that have components that compliments each other to provide a very capable truck. I have yet to hear toyota having gear box problem not like other makes. Of course the hilux has its cons also like no rear windscreen wiper, noisy interior, etc but it does the job I want it to do. I have the 2.5G Manual version and for those hilux owners try using the mobile xt engine oil, more power than the toyota branded engine oil. For the tyres, I find that the yokohama geolander at-s best for wet and dry.

• Thailand 3.0 is full spec, malaysia 3.0 is basic spec?

• I participated in last year’s 2009 Borneo Safari 19th International OffRoad Challenge and i’ve seen a Hilux 2.5G taking on the jungle of Deramakot, no obvious extreme modification made, just the front bumper so the winch could be fitted in and offroad tyres and it’s ready to hit the extreme offroad, side by side with heavily-modified-souped-up offroads vehicles with 13 – 15BT engines. This 3.0G version should have no problem on highways and offroads. (Hoping to see a hilux 3.0G in this year’s Borneo Safari!)

• Borneoapeman on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Hilux definitely DNA for off-road…it’s within their heritage….they don’t have to pretend…they are the REAL thing….that cannot be imitate in any form…..no matter how hard other brand try!!!!

• yea, another Hilux Vigo with engine upgrade only. me still love my 1986 BJ60 3B…. the only thing ‘miss’ is…. 5th speed as the H45 trans still on use…. many, many, many RM need to replace with H55 trans…. by now , just keep dreaming for it. yea, Hilux Vigo already comes with 3.0cc in Thailand, why Vigo’s drivers in Malaysia need to revs with 2.5cc only….cmon man, there are still lots of road terrrain here need up-power engine :-)

• Hrk engineering on Dec 21, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Anyone know how much need to fix a turbo timer?

• I’d like to buy a new 4×4 with good speed on straight road and excellent climbing power on hilly and winding terrain. So far I found none, not even this new hilux with 3.0 lit. engine. I still prefer to drive my old LN106 with 3.0 1KZ engine. It is strong and rugged. I will not trade it for any other later 4×4 models. Besides the leather seats on some premium version of the later models/make are not suitable for off road driving, especially in the hot and humid tropical climate.

• kamarudin on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Hai guys, I’m driving triton 3.2… so far ok bah, no problem to overtake and back seat is spacious enough for my kids – the main reason I opt for triton instead of Navara. Not Toyota 3.0 because…..not good enough for a spirited long distance driving….

• Triumore on May 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm

At first I like it. But after doing research, hilux only using 1St and 2nd generation commonrail. Facing a lot injector problem and Ecu. Well, that makes me think twice. Yet I’m using on town and highway. Hilux is the highest accident rates compare to others. So maybe no… I don’t need 2nd hand value as safety is more important.