Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 makes it to production for Paris!

You’ve probably though that with all the hype diesel engines are getting, wouldn’t a diesel hybrid be the ultimate fuel-efficient vehicle? Peugeot seemed to have thought the exact same thing. First in concept form as the Prologue HYmotion4, and now finally in production.

The 3008 Hybrid4 has a combined power output of 200hp and an amazing 500Nm of torque. Power sources are a 163hp, 2.0 litre HDi FAP diesel engine powering the front wheels, while a 37hp electric motor drives the rear axle. This makes it a four wheel drive vehicle. Performance is decen, with a 0-100 figure in 8.8 seconds and a top speed of 209km/h.

Adding to its fuel efficiency technology is the second generation Stop and Start system connected to the electronically controlled manual six-speed sequential gearbox. A 7 inch LCD screen displays the operating status of the hybrid powertrain in real time.

Along with that, an energy recovery system harnesses the kinetic energy that is created through slowing down and sends it to the Ni-MH (Nickel Metal Hydride) battery. This is stored under the boot floor next to the electric motor. Conversion to a diesel-electric hybrid has added almost 120kg to the 3008.

Getting the best from the crossover will be the use of 4 driving modes. The ZEV (Zero Emission Vehicle) mode runs on pure electricity, suitable for things like getting out of a car park, while the 4WD mode uses both engines to operate together as far as possible. The Auto mode is optimized to make the best switch between the diesel and electric engine to maximize economy. Sport mode on the other hand, gives you all 200 horses from both engines with quicker gear changes at higher speeds.

The exterior will feature LED daytime running light bars, a SUV-like large front grille, chrome accents, and 17 inch Oltis alloy wheels along with the black and chrome protective trims on the lower sections. This is also the first 3008 to receive the company’s new badge.

The interior is pretty much standard 3008 fare with a few differences such as the Hybrid4 emblem on the gear lever and the the 7 inch colour display.

The company’s Multiflex interior provides room for the batteries and also offers a load capacity of 420 litres with 66 litres under the boot floor. This can be extended to 1501 litres with the second row seats folded up.

Thanks to the hybrid powertrain, the Peugeot 3008 Hybrid4 only sips 3.8 litres of fuel for every 100km traveled, and has a CO2 emission figure of just 99g/km. Peugeot plan to stick this powertrain in other models and the closest would be the 508 models out next year. European sales of the car will start in the second quarter of next year.

Look after the jump for high resolution pictures of the 3008 Hybrid4.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1440]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Just saw one using petrol on the road today… gosh it just doesn’t seem to blend, i dunno maybe it’s just my point of view…

• IMHO, diesel-hybrid should be the future for automobiles.Like what petrol did in the early stages. As for EV, as long as new battery tech could not being delivered might just shelved it until later.

• creator mind on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:12 pm

great tech here, totally impressed with the 3.9l / 100km. that’s what i want, this is great for the Earth too… wonder when we get this here. certainly good savings as i use abt 5000km per month. hopefully the new G will give good tax exemption for this green engine

• tikus on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:36 am

Great Car but we still using Euro 2 diesel leh…

• intermilan on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:38 am

hehehehe..

but remember that Najib promise to give Malaysia Euro4 diesel by 2011..

and since this car only roll only in europe in 2Q 2011… the timing is just perfect!

Nasim… place your booking for this with PSA straight away!

• Wow!!!! 3.8l/100km = alor setar to kl just RM 30.

alor setar to kl 437km
    1km = 0.038l
    437 x 0.038l = 16.606l

16.606l x RM1.80 diesel = RM29.89!!!!!

• bro, by the time euro4/5 diesel is introduced in the country, it wont be sold at $1.80 lah….$1.80 is for euro2M….

• likahsing on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:07 pm

can you be my math teacher

• handsome*Dude on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:39 pm

nice engine ~

• BeemerFreak on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:50 pm

i heard there is a 7 month waiting list for this car… Hmm isnt it supposed to be CKD? Naza could easily handle our country’s peugeot demand of 10,000 a year with a 50,000 capacity plant rite?

• stephen on Aug 25, 2010 at 1:29 pm

when I get my 308…sales man told me 3008 is 8months waiting and then another friend told me last week…latest waiting list is 12months due to the hot demand. crazy….but understandable once you test drive it :)

• think on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:46 pm

malaysians can only see the car…can’t enjoy it..really thanks for our goverment’s iniative to have higher taxes in order to help the rakyat…and lack of clean diesel..the goverment should bring in the most latest diesel such as the euro5 and sell it as a premium oil with the euro2 grade…

• 3.8l/100km is similar to the prius i think. but this 3008 gives much better in performance.

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:57 pm

wow… similar to spyder 918… which consume 3l/100km…

• botak on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:03 am

p1 n p2 should produce ths type of fuel save.. not only perfomance..

• agreed, they really should. but, i think proton will stick to their current program and improve the ‘already have’ campro first before dive in into diesel business. maybe after successful introduction of campro turbo (w possibly combined with direct injection), then comes campro diesel. it’s better take a slow but steady step. it’s a lot of investment involve in developing new engine from the scratch.

• Mur7hy on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:02 pm

kindly referring to Z’s comment… Watever Proton’s current and future plan.. they will never reach this level for at least 10 more years.. it involves alot of investment and brain. i guess they should start improving their power window before even get into the engine improvements..

• Gavin on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:08 am

Like a locomotive

• appetite4d... on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:09 am

Adding to its fuel efficiency technology is the second generation Stop and Start system connected to the electronically controlled MANUAL six-speed sequential gearbox….
    sound exciting !!
    ;-)

• littlefire on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:22 am

P1 & P2 should note this. Diesel engine already proven to be more efficient compare to petrol engine. If add the hybrid in it, it even more better!!!

• JonLing on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:48 am

still not my favorite car in terms of look, but what a cool technology it has! And i think the front looks way better with horizontal bar grille, instead of the “boxy” design of the version sold here in Malaysia.

• rossi46 on Aug 25, 2010 at 10:37 am

Yeap…Pug got it right, diesel hybrid is the way to go…just imagine the Ford Fiesta ECOnetic 1.6 diesel which is more frugal than a prius wt this hybrid system…2l/100km a possibility?

• Simon on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:10 am

Good investment for FF cars like P1 and P2. Front trans-axle combine with rear wheel drive electric motor, boost both fuel efficiency and performance greatly.

• GREAT Car, GREAT Look, Great Fuel Consumption! However, bear in mind that who’s the one carrying Peugeot in Malaysia. No doubt, the car price is cheap, but when it comes to service and maintenance, THEY will rip you apart alive! I am the owner of Peugeot 308, I just could not believe how expensive the spare parts are and how “unlasting” there are. Can you imagine when you Peugeot 308 spare parts cost more than BMW 3 series!!!!! I would rather pay premium for other car with great dealer and service!
    GREAT Car + Great Look + Great Fuel Consumption + BAD Dealer + BAD Maintenance + BAD customer Service = No Buy + Regret + Hopeless + Frustrated!

• squawk on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:12 pm

CK, have you ever had the battery die like some other owners’?

• DIE once! i took them 2 days to check. Suspected electronic fault BUT after 2 days finding they said just battery die and I change it under warranty. BTW you only can change once, if you have this “bad luck”again you need to pay your own for the 2nd replacement!

• VicTor on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Are you driving a THP or VTi? btw, what parts do you mean that do not last long? so far only one part that I know of which is the brake disc. The disc, not the pad.

BTW, I am driving a VTi

• In fact is my wife car and she is driving a 308 Turbo. I had to paid about RM900 for the disc rotor and RM480 for the disc pad! The best part is, the mileage on my the car is only 19000km! and it is 1 yr 3 mths old!!!
        Just becareful with the so call 3 yrs warranty issue. Brake is not covered!
        FYI, BMW 3 series disc pad is around RM390, Volvo S40 RM380 (rotor RM780), Audi A4 RM450 and this class of cars cost more the RM200k! For a car that is RM110k and the pad is RM480, this is what I known as insanely expensive! And it only last you for 20,000km (lady driver) I guess with my driving style the pad will be gone by 10,000km!!!!
        I wrote it to complaint no respond, call in do not entertain….. :(
        God bless peugeot malaysia owner!!!!!

• handsome*Dude on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:03 pm

hey bro, i get my disc rotor change too, but its FOC.

when my mileage at 19k plus, my complain at my 308 THP.

1) disc rotor change
          2) water pump change
          3) battery die, change
          4) my gear box jerk..while running about 60-70km, not always, once in a while..then they said its program setting issue, so after tune in, feel better..

above all FOC

bro, i was told If my mileage more than 20k then all have to paid d..so ur case should have been FOC. now my most worry case is the gearbox, but the cover period is longer, fall within 3 years period..

pls look for a good service consultant while u do your service. i do it at glenmarie…

bro, u pls take note at this!!

• i guess you were lucky… looking at the list of thing you change, i think you save 5k plus!!! btw i did it in Glenmarie too! Bad luck for me… hope this problem wont come every 20,000km…….. good luck to all peugoet owner!!!!

• handsome*Dude on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:51 pm

look for the only chinese guy in the service centre. he is good and friendly.~

• lililala on Sep 05, 2010 at 3:45 pm

omg!!! i oreadi book for the comming 3008, how???

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Bro,

Maybe best you sell of the car and buy a Japanese. Can’t have your cake and eat it this time. Face facts, while the 308 may be more affordable to buy, it is still an European car. I don’t think there are any European cars with cheap parts. From the lowest priced brands to the highest. They are almost par regardless of the selling price.

• Thanks CK for the input. Now I understand why my mum said Peugeot car is not “lasting”. She told me my auntie’s Pug engine “mengigil2 n very noisy” even when the car is new. I thot that was the old Pug. The new ones tech shd be better..

19k need to change disc pad and it lasts only for another 20k? Geez, my existing Nissan already clocked 46k (5.5 years) and so far I only change the battery and spark plug (once).

Hemm.. need to do some soul searching.. shd I continue with my 3008 purchase or take back my deposit and buy other car.. I keep only one car.. so it has to be extremely reliable. Can’t afford to have “drama’ of engine or battery mati on me

• handsome*Dude on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:56 pm

308 turbo engine is quite noisy… especially when the blower turn on.. something to cool off the turbo engine i guess.. i was shock when i first heard it…but then its dun always turn on~~

dun worry~

seriously saying, when you have just only enuf budget to buy a PUG, better think twice~

i bought this, cos its suit my planning, a handsome , good quality car with affordable price, since i can spare the cash for spare parts down the road in few years time.. so i bought it~~

if not.. better dun.. !~

in fact, its same thing when u get a 2nd conti car.. like the BMW 5 series. the previous verison 520, for 170K u can get it, but at least 5 years old car..
            but be prepare for the high cost of maintenance lah~~ rite??

• kursk on Sep 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

i already cancel to buy peugeot 3008. what the hell is’t.. spare parts cut all the neck owner. some more if u look the price in uk this car only cos 18k same with 308 but here 308 cost only RM110k and 3008 cut ur neck at RM146k. and if u notice some of the accesories like GPS and othes button was not include. u can compare the pic on the internet with ours local 1. Bravo to Naza!!!

• A Bear on Aug 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

…..probably meant some other part which was not of the constant wear type.

sometimes, see luck whether u get a lemon or a jinx free one.

Peugeot here need more time to build up numbers n hopefully, service improves.

• based on the forum, i believe battery and disc rotor are the known problem!!! all peugeot owner get your parts change before 1 yr or below 20,000km!!!!!! trust me!

• This is scary. I ordered 3008 a few months before. Should be getting it in Sep. I hate high maintenance car. Can you provide more details when you said the parts cost more than the 3 series?

• Oh…crap..
        3008 is high maintenance??

• Mona, if you have ordered and love the car, then, leave it in God’s hand! At times, Buying a car depends on luck. Every car has problems, not only Peugeot. Even a Ferrari caught fire in Singapore.
        http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/this_urban_jungle/362604/ferrari_bursts_into_flames_along_stamford_rd.html

Follow your heart, life is short.

• KLX, I’ve been very lucky before. All my previous 5 cars love me. No problem at all :)

This is my first time buying Conti car. I’ve already accepted the fact that the 2nd hand value is going to be terrible so I’ve psych myself to use the car for at least 7 years.. but if the maintenance is going to cost me a bomb too.. then it is like a double whack!

Maybe I shd just keep my existing car for another 1.5 years until Pug-Nassim sorted themselves up..

• Mona – I have owned CBU Japs, locally assembled Japs, our national makes and conti from Germany…. in a nutshell, I would say the parts for conti are slightly more expensive than Asian cars, because many of these parts are imported from Europe, whereas Asian parts come mostly from Asia, and if you are lucky, the parts can be sourced from Malaysia itself. For example, the oil filter of my German ride was at least RM50, whereas my CBU Japs oil filter = RM25; the labour to service the German ride at its authorised Svc Ctr was a few hundred RM (sometimes up to RM300-400!), while the CBU Japs Svc Ctr charges RM60+ for the first 5k, and RM100+ for the second 5k. See the diff? BUT Conti ride does have the cool gadgets and safety features that may not be inherent in the Asian rides. As a matter of fact, there is difference in quality ride when comparing my CBU Japs and locally assembled Japs. FYI, the maintenance costs of a Conti can be reduce if you opt to service, repair or replace parts at independent workshops, tho I am not sure if there are a lot of workshops out there who knows the Peugeot well. For BMW, Merc, VW, no prob, plenty out there. I know of a friend who does his VW service at independent workshop and forget about the warranty. Afterall, his car is not a lemon, and even if he has to replace certain parts, he felt the savings he got from servicing at independent workshop is more than enough to cover the replacement parts which he could have got it for Free at authorised Svc Ctr. Car investment is probably the second largest we have to fork out in this Bolehland, so, make sure you choose a ride which you love (i.e follow your heart). If the car turns out to be lemon, well, you got a choice to either send back to the Svc Ctr to troubleshoot or pay $$ to independent workshop to get it rectified. Most important is not to get too frustrated over the situation. Life is short, enjoy it while you can. Personally, I have no regret owning my German ride….and if not because of the long waiting period, I would have got the 3008 too.

• Mona – like CK said, why not you go check out the forums at Autoworld.com.my – you will see a group of people who have no complaints at all, another group who complained about their Peugeots and wanted the readers to hold their brakes not to place order yet, and another group who despite complaining about their Peugeots, the Svc Ctr etc, still love their ride!

• Just came back from Pug show room. Sit in the car.. play around with the gadget.. smell the leather.. berangan a bit…compare it in my mind with my basic Jap car.. and decided to go ahead with the purchase. After all it is suppose to be my 2010 birthday present..

You’re right. Life is short. Let’s not worry too much about maintenance and 2nd hand value. Pray to God and hope for the best.. that my new 3008 will be perfect in everyway ;p

I should be getting my car after Hari Raya.. let’s hope no more VIPs potong queue. The waiting list now is 12-14 months and the price already increased by RM3k. Thank God I ordered in June :)

• i would think the best is surf around the web or forum to seek for more opinion… this is my personal experience only… may be other is not as bad luck as i am! one thing for sure CKD does give a lot of problm.. i think they cant even fix thedisc rotor right…. or may be they wan us to change every 20,000km!!!

• Brother, 20K km to change brake pad is normal for high performance part.

I am driving accord that cost me around RM450 a pair for original brake pads (front), but don’t like the feel and experienced low melting point when braking hard at high speed. So, I changed to high performance pads and last for 20 – 25K km. When you see a lot of dust stick onto your rims, means the pads work well. But when you see sticky dirt on the rotor and your rim always clean although after a week driving, you better watch out don’t drive above 140km/h.

• sacofa on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:41 pm

i think he is referring to Disc Rotor not Pad… anyway changing Pad every 20,000km is on hard driving! I change my disc pad for my Honda Civic every 15,000km LOL!! try the thailand pad RM180 tak boleh pakai! Original Japan PAd still better!!! RM360!!!

Disc Rotor change 20,000km!!! GILA betul!!! BTW i gila gila Civic 60,000km pad tukar 3 kali Rotor masih boleh pakai!!!!!

• fendi75 on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:26 pm

buy proton or perodua if u simply dont have money to maintain the conti car

haiya….other people also using peugeot, bmw, volvo and audi but no one have a bad luck just like you.

did u want to say that peugeot a bad brand?

• VicTor on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:41 am

It does not make sense for a road car to require a disc rotor change every year (20,000 km). That is even faster than changing brake pads on most cars.

Peugeot is not a bad brand, but it’s quality and reliability is really not up to par, with so many cases of premature failure of parts, like the disc rotor, water pumps, high pressure pumps, etc.

• handsome*Dude on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:06 pm

OK.. guess i have to be fair on the Disc Rotor issue..

I have consult by the workshop outside. Dics Rotor problem is usual, in fact, its not a very big problem. my problem was that when my step on the brake on my 308 while it running at speed above 130km.. the steering will jerk.. if below that speed, braking is normal… so the foreman told me, its the Disc Rotor not smooth enuf, then he said its quite common, bcos sometims when the dics is at high temperature, and if it kena water, it will affect it, make it bend a bit of how, in fact, no need to change the whole disc, just send it to polish it back will do…

but when u send back to PUG, and you have to send it back, as still under warranty, for them to solve that problem, the only way is to change it only.. my case is, since its free, then let them change lah~~~

u can ask around, other car also get the same problem…maybe its the way we drive… so just be careful… when u have run for quite sometime, dun straight splash water… but then…how to avoid,? when u send to car wash,,, or suddenly its rain???
        rite??

• sacofa on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:49 pm

handsome dude made some good points there… some conti car whereby you can get independent service or maintenance shop you get cheap price. as for peugeot, as far as i am concern, not much of independent shop wanted to do it. mainly because
          1. cheap car price (initial) cost – how much are people willing to pay for service and maintenance for a 100k car??
          2. limited parts and control price – all peugeot parts price are controlled by NAZA, meaning if you get my car, you got to stick with me!!!!! hell no! for rotor RM900! i would rather get some other performance part! if you can find any!
          3. void of warranty – this is common among the the big guys, anyway i might take the risk of doing it if i owe a peugeot, which i don think i will in any near future if there is only ONE dealer or importer!
          4. high technology – peugeot is a good car with good tech, you must have at least a certain a lvl of knowledge in order to maintain 1! BTW peugeot is only present in Malaysia for minimum year, how well can their knowledge get?????

• i guess i am not the only one having bad luck, just that a lot of them face a problem before the warranty expired! BTW peugeot manufacture their own suspension! i would say their handling is perfect! esprecially at high speed! BUT i am just worried about the level of service knowledge our fellow peugeot specialist in Malaysia… as for the hybrid .. i would said.. forget about it.. they cant even maintain a NA or Turbo version here…….

• Anti Proton on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:27 am

this car feels great. but ckd version. no idea.

• loollool on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:38 am

do u guys see the LED light in the head lamp?? cool~

i wonder how will the 308 be put for the LED light in the face lift model~~

as I’m eagerly to add or to change (when it available) the LED light on my 308T

• CK,

Sad to read your bad luck peug. I bought a brand new Citroen 15 year a go and still driving it now with coverage of 390K km. The angine is the same as peug 405 sri. So far I reconditioned the gearbox once and cost me RM2,5K. Engine, still perfact until now, occasionally drive at speed of 180km/h without any problem. But not often, ” maklumlah kereta dan tua takut screw tanggal” Plastick part is the biggest issue, keep on breaking after 10yrs or so. If I were to park my car under the shade most of the time, I think the plastic parts will last longer.

Mona, don’t regret with your pick. nowadays few manufacturers share common parts. If it serves well in Mini, no reason for not serving well in peug.

• loollool on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Yes, conti car still conti car. the quality is there. no worry~

T & H will have problem too.. but when problem occur, ppl will easily absorbed it.

but when buying underdog car like PUG, when problem happen, sure feel panic a bit :)

but remember, PUG is higher level then japs car.. for sure.

• rexis on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:27 pm

The beauty of this thing is that you can have the best of fuel efficiency, performance, technology, and style.

Perfect!

• intermilan on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:05 am

As usual.. a Peugeot ‘new product news’ thread will not escape from being hijack/side-track for discussing/expressing/sharing.. worry/concerns/experience/accusation/dislike/phobia/ about poor/expensive/unpredictable maintenance and reliability of Peugeot vehicles.

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 29, 2010 at 1:15 am

it happens all the time isn’t it? almost like there is a conspiracy against peugeot owners… strangely BY peugeot owners! well, if they want to ruin the reputation of their own rides or even downplay the potential future resale value of their own brand, it is up to them too.

maybe they would be better off with other brands?

• Dont get me wrong on rotor issue. Vibration when braking is due to fibre dust from brake pads that melt and sticked on the disc as a result of hard braking. So clean the disc and change higher grade pads. This issue was common to accord owners 2 years ago.

• that 500Nm… fabu-licious. And surely not going to be CKD version of this variant.