Toyota Hilux 3.0G launched – 163 PS, 343 Nm, RM106K

We’re in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, for the launch of the Toyota Hilux 3.0G, the new range topper of the best selling pick-up in Malaysia. The 3.0G can only be had with an automatic transmission (4-speed) and 4WD. While the 2.5L model is locally assembled, this 3.0G is imported CBU from Thailand. The OTR price with insurance is RM106,000 (individual private, Pen. Malaysia).

This 3.0-litre D-4D engine is the 1KD-FTV engine with commonrail injection and intercooler. Unlike the 2.5, the turbo here is a variable nozzle unit (VNT), which vanes are adjustable for optimum exhaust pressure and flow speed into the turbine. It pumps out 163 PS and 343 Nm, a huge jump from the Hilux 2.5’s 102 PS and 260 Nm.

The higher torque is also produced lower in the rev range and sustained for longer – 1,400-3,200 rpm compared to 1,600-2,400 rpm in the 2.5. Toyota doesn’t provide performance figures, but since weight is only up by 55 kg over the 2.5G auto, acceleration should be much better. For comparison, the RM101,980 Mitsubishi Triton 3.2 has 160 PS/343 Nm while the RM105,800 Nissan Navara 2.5 LE has 174 PS/403 Nm.

From the exterior, there’s little to tell the 3.0G apart from lesser models except for the stickers and air scoop on the bonnet, which is functional. As you can see from the gallery, it feeds air to the top mounted intercooler. The chrome wing mirrors aren’t new, but they are now power retractable. The signal lamps have clear lenses. A bedliner and sport bar are optional.

Inside, the 3.0G adds on some exclusive kit, such as the Optitron meter panel and multi-information display, which sits on top of the centre stack next to the clock. The MID can read out ambient temperature, compass direction and all regular trip computer info. Another obvious upgrade is the 2-DIN audio system, which has USB and AUX jacks, besides being MP3 compatible. It’s linked to six speakers. Also, there are now seatbelt reminders for both driver and passenger, who also get an airbag each.

It was revealed that the Hilux commands a staggering 44% market share in the double cab pick-up market, and the 3.0G will no doubt widen the margin between the Toyota and its rivals as the Hilux is already the leader in East Malaysia despite just having a 2.5 all this while. A big gallery awaits you after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1603]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kaminski on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:03 pm

I actually had one of these on Trial for 4 days at a mine I worked at in Colombia and was surprised how well it did in the main pits. The low end torque is massively good and the four wheel drive more than adequate, it actually out performed the Chevrolet’s we used when it was extremely wet and in the bottom of the pit. We also had an Isuzu on trial at the same time and this won hands down. The management were pretty impressed and ended up ordering 42 units.

• Armeng on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Finally, Hilux now is joining the “big brother” club after so long being smoked out by other road monsters. For me, reasonably priced eventhough not much facelift observed.

• jlooi on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Finally came the 3.0 Hilux. dun know when UMW going to import 2.5G Innova used in Indonesia.

• The Loner on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Better ask when Fortuner 3.0 will be bringing in to Boleh Land. Surely UMW will charge Innova 2.5L diesel higher than the 2.0L pertrol engine.

• as an overall package, it still doesn’t beat the Navara 2.5LE.

• vertigo on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:55 am

it does, in term of resale value

• Compare the car with which much comfort, powerful, performance, handling. Like navara, its value for money…

• but i heard navara’s turbo got problem.

• littlefire on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:40 pm

I heard also that Toyota hilux new diesel injector also got problem also!

Please laa.. Each manufacturer also got their own defects, Toyota can sell becoz of it’s name! If compare the spec, it already loss to a lot of competitors. I have a friend both own Frontier & also Navara, he had no issue for both pick-ups. The main thing is to service your car regulary and dont save on those low quality fuel filter and use at least semi-syn lubricant for diesel engines!

• hhhhhhhh on Oct 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm

hilux mahal tp spec kurang.bagus lagi ranger

• zanggief on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:43 am

agree too. overall the mother trucker still provide highest spec plus smaller engine displacement.

• GTR34 on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:33 pm

I think every car has it pros and cons, it’s your money, choose the one you like…it’s a Hilux forum but alot of ENVY mothers keep talkin big , so here we go..

Mother drive truck have cons as well:
        – Back seat too steep…it’s like sitting on a 70’s trishaw. Rear bottom cushion is toooo short as well….no $$$ to buy cushion??

– why still using 90’s manual disarming alarm….?? Wisely spend $$$? for a 105k car??? I pity all mothers wake up every morning and have to pick up their alarm STICK to disarm their alarm…HAHAHAA…what a GREAT feeling drivin my Lux every morning.

– mothers out day bcareful coz your car only one star rating…so speed up and step on and try to hit something for a testloh…
        http://www.euroncap.com/tests/nissan_navara/317.aspx

– Leather? Good? For Malaysia weather? Too hard to maintain…..after some years peal off…..HOT after some time under the tropical sun is for sure….so if u c red bottom mother running around…u know wat car they drivin…

– mother truck try to hard and over boost their engine, a lot of complaints comin from end usersss already…I have a few friends have Mother”s truck with injectors problemsss which Nissan still don’t know how to fix….and the deny/delay on the replacement…..Lucky I check around friends 1st b4 comiting..THIS IS A FACT…u can’t stop it spreading….

– Fuel economy for 2.5 liters?? I’m not sure about tat…if you r really pro and I don’t mean mother pro, u would know tat not all small cc cars more fuel save and efficient…imagine using an ant to carry a rock…is kembara 1.3 more fuel save? U want fuel save go Isuzu…want reliability go Hilux, want mother go mother trucklah…it’s your choice.

– Mother truck is heavy….so heavy tat when I test drove it it’s like Hilux with 10 bag (maybe 15 )cements at the back??? It’s something to do with the gear ratio??…and the car just NOT as nimble light driving feeling as the others father truckerss..STEERING is heavy…bad for city driving..this one really deters me from buying it aside all the above..so much for a 5 speeder…

– no resale value…..tat’s y u don’t need to lock your car up if park bside a Hilux or Triton…hell this is more of a pro..save $$ on lock again..so pick ugly ones so no one will stole your girlloh…coz no one want mah…no wonder the mother salesman keep calling me that they have ready stock for any color….

Hilux is a workhorse, not a car for speeding due to it’s high CG. If you mothers out there don’t understand…then drive fast fast and pray that you won’t crush loo….

TEST DRIVE and you’ll know what it’s call a mother truck..go go test drive…then buy Hilux!!

• 4x4Fan on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Hahahahahaha…What a nice explanation Dude.. Yup, it depends on everyone’s perspective la….And also how you use the vehicle..If nak laju2, konon pakai Mother Trucker,So, klu ada duit beli la..Klu yg nak pakai Hilux, ada duit, beli la Hilux…Kan..kan..kan.. But the important thing is….DIFFERENT PEOPLE, DIFFERENT PERCEPTION…

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:25 am

and yet, navara (and d-max) is nowhere in top 10 non-national new vehicle sales. cannot even beat triton. sighh…

Top 10 non-national vehicles (Aug ’10)

1. Toyota Vios 3,192
      2. Honda City 1,901
      3. Toyota Hilux 1,480
      4. Nissan Grand Livina 1,193
      5. Honda Civic 1,016
      6. Toyota Avanza 924
      7. Toyota Camry 901
      8. Mitsubishi Triton 786
      9. Honda Accord 728
      10.Honda CR-V 580

• Off road user on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:51 pm

perhaps Navara n Dmax are only popular in Sabah n Sarawak,that’s why both Mother n Father trucker are not in the list…..

• toyoot on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:08 am

that is T & H mentality in malaysia,, boring market..

• mitlanevo on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:39 pm

ntg weird… typical malaysian mentality…

navara, ranger and dmax are still much better than sissy girly tigaton and silly underpowered hailat….

• GTR34 on Oct 16, 2010 at 8:53 pm

“navara, ranger and dmax are still much better than sissy girly tigaton and silly underpowered hailat….”

I CAN’T BE MORE AGREE THAN YOU

BUT HILUX AND TRITON ARE THE BEST OF THE BEST OF COURSE!!!!

by the way what model is tigaton and hailat??? is it new car model Nissan to try to copy Mitsubishi Triton and Toyota Hilux? Hope Nissan’s engineer really put their brain to use this time and create a better car with better and no need to stick a d**k to turn on ignition car.

• Safety on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:04 am

Personally, for me Dmax is the best. I tried hilux and triton,not satisfy me. Both of them including ranger has very light tail. at first I want get hilux and triton, I change my mind because the chassis are actually ‘twist’. Dmax is the most solid. Not enough with that, I went to spray shop and found hilux and triton chassis frame are smaller, worst is ranger which don’t even have wheel stopper.
            What you said on navara was right. Injector problem cause high stress. When do research, hilux also have injector problem especially the 3.0. It is because the injector was not piezo. More likely black smoke too.
            2.5 hilux is quite durable cause less engine stress so I prefer 2.5 over 3.0.
            For me, 2nd hand value is not important. More important is safety. Lastly I got Dmax. The best for me.

• leong on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:19 am

yes u are right .i am the 1st virgo change to navara until now iam so happy .3.0 vn turbo i pun tak takut.navara is hight comform trucker.hilux still want change timing bilt lo
      abs no ebd system,no leather seat,sound improve bad.no xenon .no 5 speed.vn turbo navara sudah pakai lama brother.4wd turn peten lama ,suspentions n conering more better hilux, 3000cc road tex lebih 1000 rm
      only 3000 big cc low hp engin tahan lama.jaga paking mana mana the alam system is bbest of the best oh.
      navara turbo problem ,must compouseri used 15-40w black oil only .tong drum sorry la
      desel use shell only .

• No big deal? only see “Expensive” than others, that all.

• Hilux Best ke on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:21 pm

1st…

at last,they use top mount intercooler…yeah!!!!cool!

• subhero on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:35 pm

only nose can diffrent between 2.5G and 3.0G. (from outside look)

not much diffrent. better goes to 2.5G

• Hilux 3.0 – 163PS/343Nm
    Navara 2.5 – 174PS/403Nm

Navara FTW!!

• rossi46 on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:37 am

What a weak engine for a 3.0 turbodiesel…..the Navara 2.5 diesel got more shove than this…come to think of it, the Starex 2.5 turbodiesel also have 390nm of torque

Very2 weak engine

• Derck on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Consumer like toyota, toyota like money, Toyota : why I need to sell cheap? isn’t it.

Toyota got a lots of supporter, they dont bother spec, that why toyota can make a huge profit from the supporter mah, ORANG JALAN TAK GUNA MATA.

• long live the king (King Bhumibol Adulyadej) on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:35 am

It doen’t really matter what the spec sheet says, because in the end of the day, an actual dyno chart says a different story. I have actual dyno charts for Thai made trucks, and you’d be surprised to see the actual output.
      The fact that Navara produces high output as compared to 3.0 engines are because of the state of tune. Higher commonrail pressure..etc. That is why you hear cases of engine oil leak, blown turbo, faulty injectors…

Try out the engine and feel the powerband for yourself, you’d be impressed. Dont’ make any judgement/s before test driving any of those vehicles.

The only thing is, they’re short changing malaysians with downgraded safety features, and also other goodies. I can list some:
      1) No traction control system
      2) where are the leather seats?
      3) Puny 15″ causes wheel spin and poor handling
      4) Engineers are stupid! You need bigger brakes to stop a 3.0 truck.
      The Thai prerunners come with 17″ and massive 4-pot calipers.
      Yeah, you get 4-pots also, but marginall enough for the 2.5 truck.
      5) Electronic sliding seats, where are you?
      6) Stop wasting money on those idiotic decals. Are the owners in their 20-s?
      7) THB950,000 for a fully equipped one, you need RM106,000 for a stripped out version?
      8) errr… can’t think of anything right now.

In the end, you can say whatever you want, some like Nissan, some like Toyota. I myself love my spare car. Datsun 120Y.

• Why are people quarrelling over which pick-up are better? Just like you choose your girl lah, up to the eye of the beholder.Yes I drive Isuzu D’max, its a slow starter, BUT really its comfortable for a pick-up truck plus a comfort on fuel economy. To me no use very fast car, you are not allowed over 90 km over here. Besides the road condition don’t permit speeding otherwise bang!!!!

• leong on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:24 am

yes navara is the best
      interior /handering xenon every thing is prefect back mirrow pun tak paya adjust
      i love navara

• Haha,see later lah, Once Nissan launches the new Navara ST-X 550 with its all new class leading 3.0 V6 Turbo Diesel producing with a massive 170KW (approx. 230PS) of power and 550NM of torque and match with 7 speed automatic transmission with manual mode, then the Hilux 3.0 engine really need to work hard. By the way, i cannot understand one thing, if UMW can import 3.0 turbo Intercooled model from Thailand, why don’t they replace the existing 2.5 model with the 2.5 turbo intercooled (120ps and 320Nm) model?

• And the funny thing is why can’t they put 3.0 engine in the Hiace also since it is the same and the Hiace is known to be underpowered base on the 2.5

• HirumaKecil on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Navara still the best… in term of power….

• HirumaKecil on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Navara 2.5 is powerfull than 3.2 Triton and 3.0 Hilux.. So better buy Navara coz cheaper roadtax and smaller engine should have better consumption but with more power.. The interior of Navara also confortable… Bigger space… And many more reason why the Navara should be the first choice..

• small engine with big output… definitely need to work extreme hard the turbo.. the navara is the perfect formula for fuel guzzling pickup..

• The Loner on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Proper explaination is heavily tuned but fuel consumption still maintained well.

• heavily tuned engine thaz high on consumption… if thaz how u wan to phrase it.. itz the worst fuel consumption pickup in Malaysia.. one of my fren showed me the comparison of the “official” figure posted in Nissan website (either it is UK or Australia, can’t remember).. and checking other brand cars also.. and the end result is this navara has one of the worst fuel consumption by far..

• Borneoapeman on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:34 am

True, Hilux 3.0 fuel consumption is better then Navara.

• 4x4Fan on Oct 11, 2010 at 4:00 pm

kAMU ORG BINCANG LA APA2 KETA YG KAMU NAK…TP INGAT….HARGA MINYAK TETAP NAIK….HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH……………..

• rossi46 on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:44 am

bro…nowadays tech…you don’t need big cc for huge torque, pls refer to VW various 1.2/1.4 award winning TSI engine….huge torque/power (2.0cc equivalent ) but very2 good fuel consumption

• Borneoapeman on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:36 am

Why r we comparing diesel to petrol engine?

• The Loner on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:39 am

Agree with rossi46. Europeans are good in vehicle designing and tuning. Able to maintain low fuel consumption without losing engine’s performance.

• For me I feel the Navara has a nice front facade but the shorter backdoors is a put off… I liken it to a handsome man with short legs.

Like myself, the Hilux on the other hand has a strong masculine really handsome look (Female toll operator once said… “eh lawa lah u punye kreta”) & the scoop on the 3.0 model gives it the extra macho factor…. in white it reminds me of a spiritual figure with a mean streak – overtaking slow coaches on the trunk roads.. hehehe

Good to mention that with an addition to my top up, my hilux reaches 190km/hour. zipped passed many Navara’s.

I suppose if I wasn’t good looking myself, I’d buy a navara… but then again that’s just my opinion… albeit vain. Lol (Jgn marah)

• JonLing on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:54 am

Navara is a good pickup, but i don’t see Navara as the definite first choice, especially in East Malaysia. Compare Navara with Hilux, I can only say that the power output and handling are more superior (tried both cars before). Space and ride comfort wise, both similar to me, with Hilux being more comfortable of the two due to longer cushion at the back (Navara rear seats design is really strange, the cushion somehow cut short, hence it’s not as comfortable as it appears to be.). Looks are subjective to me, and Hilux is not that bad looking in this department. Height, I should say Hilux is higher than Navara, which is good for the construction and oil palm taukes.

And the one part that I really don’t like about Navara is the beige interior, it is not only making the whole cabin looks cheap, it can get dirty pretty easy too.

Having said that, Navara is no bad pickup either, just that I don’t see it as the one that can beat Hilux hands down. Sorry.

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:42 am

this comment makes sense, without bias on a certain brand only.

• Geecy on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:36 pm

But surely he is comparing to a 2.5 Hilux and not the latest 3.0 Hilux. to Navara. All I heard from engineers in Western Australia mines is that Navara is nothing compare to Hilux. Perhaps the Hilux DNA is simply superior.

• JonLing on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:47 am

thanks, alldisc and geecy. yes, geecy, im comparing Navara with 2.5G model of Hilux. But even with the latest 3.0G Hilux, on paper at least, I don’t think it can beat the power output of Navara.

I don’t compare them in the engineering level, because I have no knowledge on that, but I won’t be surprised if engineers told you that Navara is nothing compare to Hilux. It is because:

1) from what i heard from one of my frens who works in car industry, previously a lot of Frontier’s owners complaining about the car being problematic, especially the engine part. To me, it serves as the fact that Nissan didn’t have enough experience in making at least reliable pickup. But I hope they improve a lot in Navara.

2) Toyota definitely knows how to come up with reliable pickup, with decent power output. Even if someone might say people bought Toyota cars for the brand name only, I don’t think all the owners of previous and current Hilux are all super dumb and super easy to be persuaded to buy Hilux. Hilux has to be durable and reliable enough to dominate the market, especially in East Malaysia market where most of the previous Hilux were used in some very tough environment. And after driving the current Hilux, I was impressed by the smoothness of its power output and immediate response, even if the power is only 102ps. So I think this 3.0G variant has to be much better.

Again, I am not saying that Navara sucks. It blew me away with the way it accelerates and drives. It’s really easy and comfortable. And it has the best look in the class, for me at least. But to beat Hilux, Nissan and all the other rivals have to work harder still.

• Geecy on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:29 pm

I totally agree with you mate. Here in East Malaysia since the early days almost all the workhorses in the timber camp are Toyotas, be it pick-up or 4wd like landcruisers. Nothing survives in that God forsaken place except Toyota.

Good engine is one that is designed to produce optimal horse power to match the usage of the vehicle and most importantly it should be reliable. It’s no good to have an engine that produce very high horsepower and stress the engine. Generally high output engine just don’t last. Loook at the Formula 1 engines, they only last for few races.

Just do’nt understand these people who wants nothing but highest horsepower. Perhaps a sports car would thrill or satisfy them.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:40 am

BMW’s 2.0D engine makes just the same power as the Toyota 3.0 D engine. BMW engine must be working really hard. lol. In seriousness, I wonder what ancient technology we’re using as the power outputs are really low when compared to continental engines.

• JonLing on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:00 am

pickup is not all about performance lah, if not i think mitsubishi would have fit Evo engine into Triton already.

• Borneoapeman on Oct 11, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Then Toyota will be selling at BMW price then and I believe they have that capacity to produce!!!

• leong on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:27 am

yes brother more comform n friendly is navara a u join nissan jurassry park in trengganu.navara is not disopoitet with i selama ini

• As usual…more expensive than the competitors without extra goodies.. Overpriced as usual

• Hi bro! in real world anything come with quality & reliability always cost high price…harga murah short lasting lah!

• JonLing on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:05 pm

like it o not, toyota is gonna dominate the double cab pickup market…..AGAIN! There’s nothing to fault with Hilux, despite the significantly lower power figure on 2.5 liter engine, and perhaps not as rugged as other pickup. And with the 3.0 engine, i think more people will be swayed to buy it, especially in east malaysia where the road tax is soooooo much cheaper than west malaysia. sorry, it’s the fact that we all have to face.

• Jimmy on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:13 pm

2nd (from left, shortest one) is the most cantiq, not the vehicle.
    BTW, looks kedekut a bit.
    Improved suspension?
    Most people will still prefer this over Navara or Triton.

• Love the girls.

• Dun think these girls are lovely, you should look at those here :

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=mitsubishi-pajero-malaysian-launch&image=dsc_0697b.jpg

These aunty models and the car are sooooooo OUTDATED !

• mirror mirror on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:48 pm

The Hilux has a good ground clearance, the Navara is a bit too low for my purpose.

• Prashnan on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Taukeh Taukeh!!…this is a good news for contruction work! big cc…big…price…big road tax…..and no value….

• Off road user on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Satu jak vigo ni aku xsuka..(yg lain2 okay la)…klu duduk seat belakang,,,sure muntah mabuk punyalah…

• aiyor… u off road user ma.. apa kereta pakai pun muntah duduk belakang la.. hahaha..

• Almig on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:38 pm

still using a 4-speed auto???

• Lady Gaga on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:39 pm

It sucks, i rather ride on my disco stick.

• High power, but is low spec!

• Marcus on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Engine output figures so far short of the Mother Trucker (Navara)

• Sad, only auto box, like the Mother Trucker. Why wont they make it manuel?

• The Loner on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:23 pm

That’s typical UMW, wanna people to pay overpriced vehicles. If manual transmission was available, the price should RM2000~RM5000 cheaper than the automatic transmission.

• GTR34 on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:54 pm

If Manual, then Nissan will be out of buisiness…but then again it can’t be worst cos there r not even top 10..haha

• the*Z*man on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:41 pm

dear daddy tan, any video of the stunt to share here?

• nonce on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:36 am

youtube it.you’ll notice that the hilux has a bad handling through the moose test.

• Leseid Obrut on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:57 pm

easily outclassed by the navara… =P

• Leseid Obrut on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:58 pm

i meant to say “outperformed”…

• GTR34 on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Mother, you got it in reverse lah….I’m smoking a lot of Navara now using my 3.0 Lux now..haha…so it’s the Toyota that outperform the Navara..you got it wrong…although the spec says Navara is more powerful, but in reality the Hilux 3.0 accelerates faster then the Navara, offroad wise the Navara also kalah tiam tiam….HAHAHA…Navara sells sure drop sharply in East Malaysia…

• Crazily expensive Pick up !!
    -old 4 speed
    -high consumption 3.0
    -low hp and torque compare to other same class European and Korean engine
    -no VSC and TC
    -no auto 4wd
    -no electric assisted steering or variable ratio steering
    -interior no leather
    -steering wheel no audio mounted
    -and the list just continues

• subhero on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:00 am

i really like your comment. UMW toyota should read this.

• Thanks ,but I guess UMW would still take it easy, unless Toyota sales would go badly in the coming years, overtaken by Korean and other Japanese automaker

• GTR34 on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:51 pm

I don’t agree!!

-old 4 speed – Ok mother have 5 speed, but Hilux 3.0 fuel consumption is better then mother.

-high consumption 3.0 – nope, it’s fuel consumption is lower then the 2.5 variant

-low hp and torque compare to other same class European and Korean engine NOPE for same PRICE (Euro) and REALIABILITY (KOREAN)?

-no VSC and TC – no equip in others as well

-no auto 4wd ?not equipped in same price competitor. why u need this? for ppl who don’t know what terrain and conditions they r driving?

-no electric assisted steering or variable ratio steering – not equipped in same price competitor

-interior no leather – harder to maintain…

-steering wheel no audio mounted – not equipped in same price range competitor

• Safety on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:33 am

They use 4 speed because from the graph, 3.0 dmax, 3.0 hilux and triton has ‘wide mid-torque’ range. It usually on 1500rpm to 3400rpm having constant maximum torque. Yhere is no need 5th gear because the range of torque is enough to cover the velocity and rev of engine. Anyway, less gear is more durable.

• I rather use a nissan navara instead of this… 4 sp auto… so outdated…

• GTR34 on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Hilux, Triton, Dmax all using 4 sp Auto and their fuel consumption is better then NAVARA..

NAVARA HAS THE WORST FUEL CONSUMPTION OF ALL THE TRUCKS….IT’S A FACT ALTHOUGH USING 5 SP….

• Mini Fanatic FREAK~ on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:25 pm

I still prefer the Nissan Navara…. in terms of looks.

• The Loner on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:59 pm

UMW Toyota is pulling all the stops to compete in pickup truck market in Malaysia. But still unable to beat Nissan Navara’s 2.5L YD25DDTi engine.

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:16 am

Top 10 non-national vehicles
      TOP 10 NON-NATIONAL new vehicle sales in August 2010

1. Toyota Vios 3,192
      2. Honda City 1,901
      3. Toyota Hilux 1,480
      4. Nissan Grand Livina 1,193
      5. Honda Civic 1,016
      6. Toyota Avanza 924
      7. Toyota Camry 901
      8. Mitsubishi Triton 786
      9. Honda Accord 728
      10.Honda CR-V 580

where is navara and d-max? cannot even beat Triton? no wonder UMW has little worries.

• The Loner on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Better UMW prays sweet days can be extended longer. Because outside Boleh Land, Hilux is being beaten by other pickup trucks severely.

• New Mazda BT50 will be better suit if owner do not really into offroad/jungle. Otherwise, most will opt for Toyota badge even though this latest incarnation is least Hilux dna than ever; a cost-cutting exercise meant for non-Americans as they got real Hilux known as Tacoma.

• toyoot on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:20 am

its malaysian market mahh,, T & H only,, see european n Australian which model was top sell in pickup category? America… i cant find 1 hilux.. LoL LoL

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Err, I think the Hilux is the best selling ute in Australia

• toyoot on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:00 pm

yes,, and the second most popular workhorse ute in Australia after the HiLux is Navara.

• Someone on Oct 11, 2010 at 2:17 am

“America… i cant find 1 hilux”

Obviously u haven’t done research. Of course there are no Hiluxes in the US because there Hilux is NOT SOLD in the US! LOL back to you!

On the other hand, the Toyota Tacoma, which is essentially the Hilux(albeit slightly different, of course) is no.1 compact pickup in the US. Note: I mean the compact pickup cass. For trucks in general, it is the Ford F-150. Tacoma is fourth.

http://editorial.autos.msn.com/article.aspx?cp-documentid=434562

http://news.pickuptrucks.com/2010/04/march-2010-top-10-yeartodate-pickup-truck-sales.html

• mother truckers still reign supreme. better looks, lower road tax, better power and space. cheaper somemore.

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 07, 2010 at 10:34 pm

4 speed is ok for a truck…you don’t use it to race you don’t need that 7,8,9 bla bla gear la…

• The Loner on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:12 pm

I don’t think so. Nowadays fuel cosumption is very important for every vehicle.

Automatic gearbox has more gears in order to improve fuel consumption while maintaining good acceleration of the vehicle. Pickup truck is no exception, see those pickup trucks sold in European countries where 5-speed automatic gearbox is the minimum requirement.

• As usual, UMW likes to give us the lousier specs for higher profit. Like with the sedans, oledi got the Valvematic engine for some time, but only now are they willing to give us the “new” double VVT-i. Or omitting the fender indicator lights on the 1st gen Vios.

More gear doesn’t necessarily mean racing, it can also improve fuel economy by having better-spaced out ratios so that a higher gear can be used without having to rev as hi before shifting up.

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:47 am

err…they have 5 speed because they’ve got higher output than ours….?
        you won’t be using the 5th gear much offroad la…
        that’s what I mean….
        lower gear ratio has better torque…

• The Loner on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:50 am

The torque is the same for each gear, varying how much you rev the engine.The only thing needs to consider is the gear ratio. The more gear the gearbox has, the higher the first 3 gears’ ratio (used frequntly on offroad), result better acceleration feel.

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:40 pm

you guys know how an engine work or not?haih….
        diff type of vehicle needs diff setting la…
        go buy a engineering book to study pls….
        too many gear and you will suffer from the engine for a truck….

• But at least a pick up truck does not spend most of it times on off road or jungle areas…Especially no one would rather used a premium price for off road either.. Would you pay RM 100k ++ just for off road ?.. a 4 speed at 110kmh will clock almost 2500rpm, while a 5 speeder will clock at just above 2000rpm… I guess even if you go off road you still need to travel a further distance, unless you are generous enough to leave your RM100K++ at jungle area … Even if you are generous enough ,driving a 5 years lifespan truck at 110km/h at 2500rpm compare it to a 5 speeder clocking 110kmh at just above 2000rpm, think for your self which engine would last longer ! Anyhow to conclude if a 4 speeder is more suitable for a pick up truck or 4 speeder would be more viable for pick up truck, why other country wouldn’t use 4 speeder instead of 5 speed ..

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:03 pm

coz they using higher output engine la bro…

• Borneoapeman on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Navara have 5 gear but still have poorer fuel consumption then Hilux 3.0.

• subhero on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:02 am

bro.~!. u still at 90’s minded bro.

even bad korean car sorento have 5 gears auto.

• don’t fool yourself…4 speed auto is ancient gearbox for cost cutting reasons.

• Only Protong fanboys stick up to the 4th gear mentality. Worship camtakpro engine. Only dare to race against a smaller vehicle (such as the likes of sang kancil).

PS: Protong auto gear box maximum 4 only (minus reverse gear)! Hehehe.

• mitlanevo on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:01 pm

super lame…

Navara and Ranger still FTW…

• The Loner on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Ford Ranger and Mazda BT-50 better pray frequently. If UMW’s CKD Hilux is losing out in competition for 2.5L diesel engine class, UMW may pull out another trigger, Hilux 2.5 with VN turbo. This one has 144ps horsepower and 343Nm of torque.

• mitlanevo on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:37 am

so what? Ranger still 1 of the toughest out there……

it may lose out HP and Nm, but u cant deny the built quality of Ranger since the 1st gen 1999 batch….

• Ranger quality? what a joke.. u hav fren driving ford ranger or not? check out with them how many engine overhaul or engine change done on its ranger.. my uncle ranger engine blow up in smoke twice driving on PLUS highway..

• mitlanevo on Oct 09, 2010 at 6:54 pm

i got a ranger at home, the very 1st production batch…

the suspension nvr change b4 even after so many offroad trips!

engine overhaul? only silly storm and frontier always got problems….

do some research or ask some ranger owners before talking craps…

• vidran on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:06 pm

engine problems are more towards the old frontier, every pickup enthusiasts know that very well :-)

mr.kucing must be newbie in pickup trucks..

i got plenty of friends driving ranger, i will say ranger is truely built for the toughest conditions, even though most drivers dont take it to the extreme :-)

• mitlanevo on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:44 pm

try sharp cornering @ 90kmh with ur beloved hailat, then try the same on a ranger…

oh wait, later u will shoot me back: “pickup truck is for jungle offroad usage, who needs sharp cornering??”

go cry to ur mama, big baby….

• navara 2.5 still smoke this fat n overpriced “hailat”.

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:11 am

ahh! agaiin… somone who use pick-up trucks to accelerate each other out at traffic lights.

• mitlanevo on Oct 08, 2010 at 1:35 pm

thats why real man dont drive silly Hailat or sissy TigaTon…

• Wow… since so real man show… try driving a navara in off road condition.. ur tyre will be spinning like crazy but yet still stuck in a pod of mud with the botton chasis banging onto stones.. hahaha..

• r2d2 nitro on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:00 pm

driving skill sucks but want to blame the car, childish!

for now, Ranger and D-max are still the toughest, fingers crossed for Navara as the previous Frontier is so problematic, especially the engine.

only pondans will buy Triton.

• mitlanevo on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:37 pm

oic…. i bet ur garage got a fleet of Hummer H1, dont you?

• GTR34 on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:12 pm

“thats why real man dont drive silly Hailat or sissy TigaTon…”

CAN’T AGREE MORE WITH YOU… REAL MAN DRIVE HILUX AND TRITON,
          SILLY SISSY MOTHER MAN DRIVE NAVARA AND GO TO OTHER CAR FORUM TO TALK BIG THAT THEIR CAR SMOKE OTHER PEOPLE WHILE IN REALITY THEY ARE NOW BEING SMOKE BY 3.0 LUX HAHHAAA…SILLY SISSY MOTHER MAN DRIVE HEAVY HIGH FUEL CONSUMPTION CAR AND STILL SO HAPPY ….SO MUCH FOR OTHER BRAND HATTER ..PITY YOU HAVE TO STICK YOUR ALARM DIC* EVERYTIME YOU HAVE TO START YOUR CAR….

I LOVE MY HILUX AND I NOW SMOKE NAVARA EVERYWHERE I GO…THEY LOST EVEN AT IGNITION….

• Borneoapeman on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Don’t know yet…..Navara so fat and heavy…..will c will c…maybe after my 1st service…

• nabill on Oct 08, 2010 at 1:16 am

thy should provide a 4×2 variant to lower the price…

• JonLing on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:41 am

they have already provided a basic spec version of the 2.5G variant (4got what did they call it), with black front bumper and non-alloy wheels, ever since the facelifted version came out. So I don’t think they need to do that, especially when they have had 44% market share to themselves already.

What they lack is a more powerful pickup truck, and perhaps better equipped too. i think that’s why they came up with the new 3.0G variant.

• The Loner on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:50 am

To compete against D-Max 3.0L single cab?

• sukasuki on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:04 am

same engine used by landcruiser prado 120, but do this also have fulltime 4wd or part time 4wd?prado is full time 4wd with HH, HL, and LL settings

• Haidir on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:30 am

for sure, no truck has full time 4wd, i think……. suv yes

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:37 am

haidir, i think he doesnt know what is the difference between full time 4WD and part time 4WD. thee hee he :D

• The Loner on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:55 am

Hilux is part time 4WD whereby switching betwenen 2WD and 4WD through a lever or switch whereas full time 4WD basically the system detects and distributes the load according to the wheels (driver still can lock or unlock the central differential).

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:11 am

example of full time 4WD, just sharing

1. perodua kembara
        2. toyota fortuner
        3. toyota RAV4 (for 4WD models)
        4. kia sorento

• Darius on Oct 11, 2010 at 1:02 am

No clue about 4wd system want to talk.

Usual la, most comment from ppl who never own or drove a 4×4, just drive some dumb kancil or saga. Go comment on those cars, stay out of thing u dont understand.

• Gajen on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:19 am

malaysia doesnt get the best…after so long hilux 3.0 is here…in australia,they had hilux TRD years ago…which is way more powerful than this..

• azrai on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:43 am

Using Toyota still ok because no recall ma. Yesterday, Proton Recalls Gen2 & Satria Neo Manufactured Between 2004 And 2008 due to a clock spring malfunction that raises potential safety concerns.

The voluntary recall, which is part of its Global Quality Assurance programme, affects 15,911 (two per cent) of 660,000 cars produced and sold over the four-year period.

http://auto.bernama.com/newsDetail.php?id=533488

• The Loner on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:59 am

Only in Boleh Land it has good reputation.

In Australia, nearly 117K units of Hilux were recalled involved current model available since year 2004.

• Borneoapeman on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:25 am

Have it ever cross your mind Why CARS company ( Even Mercedes and BMW recently) make recalls? These company make sure their buyer are safe. They make end users safety their priority over their profit and dignity.

Actually, to do a recall really puts more confident in buyers with brains….we live in a imperfect world…hence recalls is unavoidable….sabotage from competitors is also a factor bcoz, hey it’s business..

• Clock spring only?

How about…
      1) Squeaking front axle? (water collecting inside the cross-arm bolts holes)
      2) Problematic centralized lock?
      3) The famous power window?
      4) Shitty quality of plastic materials? (inside and outside)
      5) Engine Overheating? (such as thermostat sensor failure)
      6) Burn out wiring, which causes car can’t start? (very famous with older Gene2)
      7) Rainwater/water from external flooding the cabin? (from aircond host etc)
      8) … (previously I’ve listed 25 problems, look for previous postings)

The list just goes on and on for the next 25 years.

The need to recall all car models if you ask me, not just limited makes of Gene2 and Neo.

• mufasa on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:56 pm

…welcome to real world….
        almost all recall happen when it might related safety and life… which that your enemy did now…
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Product_recall
        all your above point is more related to bad QC and low quality item , no auto going to recall for that,,believe me

• Ball n Nut on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:23 am

i knew u are very-very Anti-Proton. sorry …this forum not about proton. OK.. we talk about Lux or 4wd pickup. Sorry…. syhoohhh… syhooohhh….. (macam halau anjing daa)

• samutera on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:24 am

RM106K for a 3.0 which is less powerful than a 2.5 is not the worst part!

Worst is still 4 speed auto which belongs to Protons and other cheapo cars with no money to R&D better cars!

And there’s still no gear indicator on the meter display.. -.-” Even the Kancils have them!

• Haidir on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:30 am

“And there’s still no gear indicator on the meter display.. -.-” Even the Kancils have them!”

can’t u see. maybe u need new spectacles

• long live the king (King Bhumibol Adulyadej) on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:48 am

Look at the picture closely, the right meter cluster.
      You don’t need 4-5-6 gears. It is how you match the acceleration with the gearing.
      Ford rangers have 5 speed auto, and the gearbox struggles to match the engine output. Changes gear below the torque curve.
      It is still a truck, a workhorse.
      Power is subjective. You’re looking at published output. The actual reading+on road performance+ acceleration is different.

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:35 pm

yea…this is it…
        a truck don’t really need that many gear…
        they just don’t study a car well…

• takut pakai yang lain, so far hilux have no problem even though going up and down an 8 hours journey through the logging track every month. ranger, yes my friend got problems with his ranger tdci, triton, yes, few peoples burned their clutch, navara, under carriage bunyi, even though baru 2 3 months.
    umw still kill us with the price because they know that people still buy hilux for its reliability and other just lower their price because want to get people buying their products.
    but anyway, auto box not so appropriate for off roading purpose and toyota should redesign hilux’s rear leaf spring for a better ride quality.

• The Loner on Oct 08, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Agree with the auto gearbox. My father once a government servant, said that the drivers there too rely on convenience of the auto gearbox. Even going outstation, passing through mountain roads using D range only (the whole trip, back and forth is near 700km). After just one outstation trip the Hilux auto gearbox KO.

• bugger on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:41 pm

fyi, hilux has the highest load capacity compared to the others comfy pickup…

• Guys,

whatever is the feed back, the Hilux never let down their owners ,u can ask those hilux owners “how reliable and efficient is the truck.

• But one thing the Hilux really let me down !! The heavy steering and its cornering ability at highway speed

• trollbait on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:20 pm

omg where did they get these aunties from? Car ‘babe’ FAIL

• can the driver of this car reach out to the manual stickshift? cause it looks way below and far to reach…toyota malaysia is getting sloppy..

• WahPiang on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:17 pm

hmmm, should i get this instead of pajero as originally intended? and save 299k-106k??

Feedback pls!

• u could get 2 of watever other car u thinking off with the price of 1 Pajero… but u can’t be driving two car at one time.. haha.. buy a car that feeds to your need lar..

• dragster on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:21 pm

hilux still the popular machine in Borneo….other brand cannot beat hilux interm of durability n also resale value also spareparts….easily found here….

• GTR34 on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:35 pm

I think every car has it pros and cons, it’s your money, choose the one you like…it’s a Hilux forum but alot of ENVY mothers keep talkin big , so here we go..

Mother drive truck have cons as well:
    – Back seat too steep…it’s like sitting on a 70?s trishaw. Rear bottom cushion is toooo short as well….no $$$ to buy cushion??

– why still using 90?s manual disarming alarm….?? Wisely spend $$$? for a 105k car??? I pity all mothers wake up every morning and have to pick up their alarm STICK to disarm their alarm…HAHAHAA…what a GREAT feeling drivin my Lux every morning.

– mothers out day bcareful coz your car only one star rating…so speed up and step on and try to hit something for a testloh…
    http://www.euroncap.com/tests/nissan_navara/317.aspx

– Leather? Good? For Malaysia weather? Too hard to maintain…..after some years peal off…..HOT after some time under the tropical sun is for sure….so if u c red bottom mother running around…u know wat car they drivin…

– mother truck try to hard and over boost their engine, a lot of complaints comin from end usersss already…I have a few friends have Mother”s truck with injectors problemsss which Nissan still don’t know how to fix….and the deny/delay on the replacement…..Lucky I check around friends 1st b4 comiting..THIS IS A FACT…u can’t stop it spreading….

– Fuel economy for 2.5 liters?? I’m not sure about tat…if you r really pro and I don’t mean mother pro, u would know tat not all small cc cars more fuel save and efficient…imagine using an ant to carry a rock…is kembara 1.3 more fuel save? U want fuel save go Isuzu…want reliability go Hilux, want mother go mother trucklah…it’s your choice.

– Mother truck is heavy….so heavy tat when I test drove it it’s like Hilux with 10 bag (maybe 15 )cements at the back??? It’s something to do with the gear ratio??…and the car just NOT as nimble light driving feeling as the others father truckerss..STEERING is heavy…bad for city driving..this one really deters me from buying it aside all the above..so much for a 5 speeder…

– no resale value…..tat’s y u don’t need to lock your car up if park bside a Hilux or Triton…hell this is more of a pro..save $$ on lock again..so pick ugly ones so no one will stole your girlloh…coz no one want mah…no wonder the mother salesman keep calling me that they have ready stock for any color….

Hilux is a workhorse, not a car for speeding due to it’s high CG. If you mothers out there don’t understand…then drive fast fast and pray that you won’t crush loo….

TEST DRIVE and you’ll know what it’s call a mother truck..go go test drive…then buy Hilux!!

• toyoot on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:41 am

dude, that one old rating,, this is modified version.. http://www.euroncap.com/tests/nissan_navara_2008_2/319.aspx

• tacoma big foot on Oct 09, 2010 at 6:38 am

I want it in TRD variant with 200PS/ 400N-m

• Tanpanama on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:26 am

So disappointed with auto gearbox..In Sarawak, there’s only one 4wd pickup truck that is widely used that is the hilux..Why?durability..In northern interior of Sarawak, where its only accessible by logging road, 6 out 10 4wd pickup are the hilux..The 4wd pickup in these part of the region is a necessity and not for the fun..The hilux is so popular that its the generic terms for any 4wd pickup truck in Sarawak..

• Boleh Lah Proton on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:46 am

And the towkey hilux owner proudly say:

“Look at my nose! Turbo! Turbo! LOL!”

• rizan on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:31 pm

much prefer d.max 3.0l……

• LikePickUp on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:05 pm

if toyota still keep the old style (i already have alot of supporter, low-end tech still have alot poeple buy, still having a big market share.. why i need to keep up for high-end tech/ or offen update). one day toyota will loss out the their “supporter”. u all can compare the spec which in western countries with asia countries. western countries have high spec with high-end tech but low prise. in asia countries just get low spec with low-end tech but high prise.. huh… people who live here dun know technology or our money no valuable??

• Nieto on Oct 09, 2010 at 6:11 pm

aiya diesel so advance and up to date also useless lah, malaysia diesel quality so poor, caused diesel engine reliability problem. a normal diesel pump, doesnt care in-line or rotary type can use more than 10 years without service, in malaysia… can tahan 3 years u can smile till jaw drop.

• toyoot on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Its Your Money, Your Choice..

Toyota HiLux
    Engine: 3.0-litre 4-cylinder turbo diesel
    Power: 126 kW at 3600 rpm
    Torque: 343Nm at 1400-3400rpm
    Transmission: 4-speed auto, part-time 4WD
    Weight: 1900kg
    0-100km/h (tested): 12.4 seconds
    Fuel consumption (claimed): 9.3L/100km
    (CO2) Emissions: 245g/km
    Safety: Two airbags, ABS
    Tow rating (Braked): 2250kg
    Payload: 940kg

Nissan Navara
    Engine: 2.5-litre 4-cylinder turbo diesel
    Power: 126kW at 4000rpm
    Torque: 403Nm at 2000rpm
    Transmission: 5-speed auto, part-time 4WD
    Weight: 1995kg
    0-100km/h (tested): 13.8 seconds
    Fuel consumption (claimed): 10.5L/100km
    (CO2) Emissions: 283g/km
    Safety: Two front airbags, ABS
    Tow rating (Braked): 3000kg
    Payload: 810kg

Mitsubishi Triton
    Engine: 3.2-litre 4-cylinder turbo diesel
    Power:118kW at 3800rpm
    Torque: 343Nm at 2000rpm
    Transmission: 4-speed auto, selectable rear-wheel-drive/full-time 4WD with dual range
    Weight: 2020kg
    0-100km/h (tested): 13.7 seconds
    Fuel consumption (claimed): 9.9L/100km
    (CO2) Emissions: 261g/km (manual)
    Safety: Two front airbags, full-time 4WD for any speed or surface,ABS, optional side and curtain airbags $850
    Tow rating (Braked): 2500kg
    Payload: 944kg

Isuzu D-Max
    Power:120kW at 3600rpm
    Torque: 333Nm at 1600-3200rpm
    Transmission: 4-speed auto, part-time 4WD with dual range
    Weight:1920kg
    0-100km/h (tested):12.5 seconds
    Fuel consumption (claimed):9.0L/100km
    (CO2) Emissions: 237g/km
    Payload: n/a

• toyoot on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:05 pm

Your Money Your Choice

Toyota HiLux
    Power: 126 kW at 3600 rpm
    Safety: Two airbags, ABS

Nissan Navara
    Payload: 810kg
    Tow rating (Braked): 2250kg
    Payload: 940kg

Mitsubishi Triton
    Engine: 3.2-litre 4-cylinder turbo diesel
    Power:118kW at 3800rpm
    Torque: 343Nm at 2000rpm
    Transmission: 4-speed auto, selectable rear-wheel-drive/full-time 4WD with dual range
    Weight: 2020kg
    0-100km/h (tested): 13.7 seconds
    Fuel consumption (claimed): 9.9L/100km
    (CO2) Emissions: 261g/km (manual)
    Safety: Two front airbags, full-time 4WD for any speed or surface,ABS, optional side and curtain airbags $850
    Tow rating (Braked): 2500kg
    Payload: 944kg

Isuzu D-Max
    Power:120kW at 3600rpm
    Torque: 333Nm at 1600-3200rpm
    Transmission: 4-speed auto, part-time 4WD with dual range
    Weight:1920kg
    0-100km/h (tested):12.5 seconds
    Fuel consumption (claimed):9.0L/100km
    (CO2) Emissions: 237g/km
    Payload: n/a

• Great info provided! Unlike those hardcore Hilux fans or Toyota salesman that trying to fool consumer by talking how good Hilux is and cant proove anything.

• Borneoapeman on Oct 11, 2010 at 10:59 am

Cool!!!

Toyota Hilux

Nissan Navara

Hilux wide spread of high torque through wide rpm range really make a lot of difference when driving. I know for a fact bcos I’m driving it daily.
        Fuel consumption also better although 3.0!
        Acceleration also better!!!
        Best part of it is it’s all been done with lower CO2 emissions, lower fuel consumption and without heavily push the engine. ( so much for an OLD RELIABLE engine compared to other NEW engine with 5 gears? hahaha ) We have to really thank the Toyota engineers who really achieve a balance in that!! GREAT JOB.

Facts shows all…and I think buyers now are wiser and can think for them self. READ the facts and test drive the car, don’t just listen to others..

I LOVE MY HILUX. It’s my money.. I think I spend it wisely.
        I just love driving my New 3.0 Lux for almost one week now.
        I’m also still keeping my 2003 2.8 NA Lux for severe off road.

BTW road tax in Sarawak for 3.0 is 430 only.

• aminlife on Jan 07, 2011 at 2:35 pm

The not so cool about hilux is.. Seat buat driver sakit pinggang. dem true.

• Borneoapeman on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:03 am

Hilux fans and salesman ofcoz say Hilux good lah…

So do

Nissan fans and salesman for Navara

and

Isuzu fans and salesman for Dmax..

There’s nothin wrong with that….It’s their money and their freedom of speech….
        but fact says it all and talking big won’t help and disguise pro & cons of each cars.

• its still 4-speeder because it is reliable…toyota not dare to give electronic 4wd transfer case nor newer auto box..because they know,their car is for real off-road..real life application and for real-life usage, not mother power that blows their engine away, not electronice knob to lock 4wd and not oversized their bed for bigger load capacity..its all because of proven reliability. maybe they save a better 5 speeder or 6-speeder for their Hilux repalcement model few more years, because their present Hilux is still rock hard…
    oo…by the waym Hilux still the choice of real 4wd driver in the interior part of Sarawak, i am one of them..go to Ulu Baram and the real evidence will tell you….peace people…envy the power of Navara, envy the comfort of Triton, but dont dare too take the risk of getting those, because Hilux is proven to be more reliable in this part of the world…peace again people…

• Ball n Nut on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:44 am

actually people in ulu baram more prefere the hilux SR or even older model not this crap so call hilux commonrail vigo. Don’t fool people around with reliability of hilux la… most transporter use hilux because of its resale value. After some period using it for offroad the will sell it of because its already ‘barai’ due of hard core offroad. Only hilux can delivery high resale value.. so ‘mau tak mau’ people will buy hilux. Ford Ranger also proven of their durability, power, reliability and toughness here but because of it’s bad resale value people don’t want take the risk. Get it. FYI i’m from Long Aton, Ulu Tinjar, Baram.

• Some transporter in Baram said ” Angkat Hilux ma… senang jual balik… kita orang transporter mana ada pakai itu kereta sampai buruk… cukup tahun jual ma. Lain brand bagus jugak tapi tidak ada harga… hilux manyak laku bila jual… jadi apa mau susah-susah”.

• pickupfan on Oct 10, 2010 at 8:10 am

somehow disagree with tat sentence,just for sure most likely become a follower rather than make research which pick up is the best for off roading. here comes D-max with the D means durable a lot more to prove than this silly hilux mindset..camon people u got to explore the better way than just listen to through your ears,same like someone ask to eat shit just follow…dont even know what is the best lies hidden in others pick truck as well..hilux owner just rely on their mindset that they easily get parts & cheap compare to others..resale value..but what u know at the end it means a lost also to trade in yopur car..extra money earn by bank..where the relibility & durability counts hilux can’t even beat d-max..camon open your mind,d-max still a lot more to show,nowadays they have all the branchs services & dealers almost every town in sarawak & sabah(i guess becoz lot sabahan i noe buy d-max..why u think that d-max got lower power with 3.0 cc engine?ever wonder that..means that the engine bear under severe & harsh condition exspecially for off road ..then did u notice the wide range torque available from lower 1,200 – 3,800rpm..with tat more hill can be climb with ease & stuck in a mud really handy with that torque..economical is for sure none of others pick up can beat d-max rules..in the end it the most people need for a workhorse or transportation..anymore concerns..but it up to individual to buy which car they want but u got to know the real durable & reliable pick up for now..

• dunno about pickup but tried suv fortuner 3.7 few times
    the seats and suspension hard on second row
    even on common highway road

pajero or trooper are much better , eventhough much older

• Teo2442 on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:10 pm

I am totally agreed with Mr. “Ball n Nut “. People who really do hard core offroad prefer to use the Hilux Sr or the older model. Not just people from Ulu Baram. Tauke -tauke who own the Kelapa sawit estate also looking for the older model. Some are willing to spend RM 60k in order to get the 15 years old old toyota pick up. Why i know?Because i am a Sarawakian and my uncle is an mechanic who specific in fixing/overhaul this old toyota pick up . And do you want to know about what he comment about the Hilux Vigo.”That is a piece of Sxxx! Good looking but that all this junk got.”

• 4x4Fan on Oct 11, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Boss…anything you said sometimes it is true…TU LA TAK BLAJAR MARKETING….The point is…..DIFFERENT PEOPLE, DIFFERENT PERCEPTION….

• GTR34 on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Can’t blame your uncle that he is still a mechanic fixing Good looking Sxxx!

• 4x4Fan on Oct 11, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Hey, you all guys….If you see all the posted comments….Everyone said, keta Navara bagus, Hilux tak bagus…Hilux bagus , Triton tak bagus and apa2 lah semua kamu org ckp…What can I Say…..DIFFERENT PEOPLE, DIFFERENT PERCEPTION….Siapa yg bantah ckp Aku ni……btl2 la org tu kena study and baca buku banyak….Hahahaha….

• Stupid argument all of you.. e.g leather seats..bullS*** this is not x5 why need leather seat?, its a truck, as long as you can place your butt, you dont need leather. this machine meant for offroad not on highway. you want some luxury, just buy land rover also can go offroad.

• my company navara temp needle went up to the max while traveling KIMANIS hill.

• GTR34 on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Go complain to your mother, it’s a mother trucker…not here bcoz we only talk about real father truck here!

• i have problem with my Toyota Hilux Vigo clutch, the machanic said that i need to change “clutch lining set”, what he mean by clutch lining set?.if that is the problem, did i need to change all the clutch set?. the whole Clutch Lining set @ Clutch kit for Hilux vigo include what???

E mail me plzz

TQ

• arctic hilux on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Nissan cars are powerful and comfortable but NOT tough enough. Hilux is a real man’s workhorse. Although engine might not be as powerful as Nevara, driving in Hilux cockpit gives you a sense of security and toughness. You cannot find that in a Nevara. I bet Hilux can get you in and out safely from a oil palm estate during rainy season, but i cannot say the same for Nevara. Look wise, Be it interior or exterior, Hilux is way better looking. Giving it a set of good looking offset rims, you get the aggressive look instantly. Motor show Top Gear rate Hilux to be the toughest machine ever built. Go search for their Arctic Hilux exploration videos and you will know why.

• azhartaat on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Hi! Good day to all.
    I suggest to whom that already bought one, please spare a little money to add a turbo timer in it.
    thank you & safe drive to all…. cheers.

• azhartaat on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:31 pm

just to remind the buyer to spare a little more money to install a turbo timer in their New Hilux 3.0 Intercoller Diesel Turbo.
    Drive safely & Good day to all.

• azhartaat on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Just my personal comment to the new Hilux 3.0 owners to spare a little more money to install a turbo timer in their car.
    Good day & drive safely to all.

• mother trucker or father trucker. everybody buy what they want to buy. got no problem happy got problem settle ourselves. no matter what brand if bad luck something will broke. sometimes big sometimes small failure. people running around with their father truck or mother truck looking quite happy coz got no problem. some people say this brand or that brand problem. if want to save fuel n cheap price i suggest go for motorcycle or want to save even more go for bicycle. your choice your money.think think think before buy n ask around fren who already own 4WD n then see what suite your purpose n pocket…

• i used to own double cab. new sure save fuel. enter the third year more fuel needed to go the same distance. the engine also make more noise. mechanical fuel injection only not computer manage. dont need to mention the brand….

• Doreamon on Jan 02, 2011 at 12:17 am

korang bincang banyak2 pasal hilux ni …semua ni ada hilux ke…atau hanya banyak cakap jerk…..

nak cakap pasal hilux (aku tau lah …sebab aku pakai benda ni dah bertahun2)… kalau nak bawak laju lebih dari 100km/j…baik korang pakai kereta…paling bodoh pun kancil 850…kalau lux ni bawak laju2…korang ingat sempat brek ke..kalau ada keta kat depan….ingat ABS tu bagus sangat ker….

..satu lagi pasal power…nak wat aper power2…korang ingat boleh ker nak lumba bila bawak 10 beg simen….atau batu bata ….

• aminlife on Jan 07, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Yeap…jgn igt 3.0G boleh pecut mcm kereta 3.0 CC, Terutama waktu hujan, boleh melayang. BTW, seat hilux mmg buat driver dan penumpang sakit pinggang.
      – Baru beli 3.0 Hilux. Power Ok. Tidak dinasihat bawa jalan jauh…. sakit pinggang.. dem! Cuba la toyota ni RnD seat hilux ni. dem.

• bbb123 on Jan 11, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Paul and Danny, the Mitsubishi Triton sold in Singapore will be priced from SGD63,988 to SGD90,988 (Approximately RM153,354.92 to RM218,063.66), this is more expensive than in Malaysia. Why compared to Mitsubishi Lancer, the Triton is cheaper in Malaysia but more expensive in Singapore? Toyota Hilux is also expensive there as it is priced SGD79,488 (approximately RM188251.38).

• lifesun on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:24 pm

and… hilux 3.0 virgo is cheaper in thailand but expensive in Malaysia :)

• benvigo on Jan 30, 2011 at 11:42 pm

No need to argue, it is all because of the government and some big boys up there that making vigo in m’sia being nerved. If u look at specs and features of vigo in Thai u will know. If Malaysia release 3.0 same spec and same time as Thai. U think ppl will still buy other brand of trucks? If u guys think Nissan make better trucks, go Google and search for Toyota tundra, u will see 5.7L engine 381hp truck. And see is there any jap brand making truck that is close to it.

• benvigo on Jan 30, 2011 at 11:44 pm

No need to argue, vigo in m’sia being nerved. If u look at specs and features of vigo in Thai u will know. If Malaysia release 3.0 same spec and same time as Thai. U think ppl will still buy other brand of trucks? If u guys think Nissan make better trucks, go Google and search for Toyota tundra, u will see 5.7L engine 381hp truck. And see is there any jap brand making truck that is close to it.

• pe2 kreta pn smua nyer ok….yg pntig tngok dri drver nyer jer lah,klu drver nyer jnis bntai je krta kebal pn hncur..btl x..?hehehehe pe2 pn sya mmg pminat hilux….so skrg ni sya tngh tnggu hilux trd 4.0sl v6 sya from australia….cming soon in malysia….hehehe