Peugeot 5008 7-seater MPV spotted on trailer in Malaysia!

This Peugeot 5008 was snapped last week while traveling on the LDP via a trailer together with what looks like a 308CC by reader CL Chin. Given that there are only one model of each car on this trailer I think they could be in Malaysia for display at Nasim’s KLIMS 2010 stand. Nasim has already revealed their intentions to bring in the 5008 MPV into Malaysia in the past so this is no surprise, the only question being when, what specs and for how much?

The 5008 is essentially Peugeot’s take on the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso MPV, and the more quirky sibling is already available in Malaysia for RM138,000 non-OTR, equipped with the Prince 1.6 litre turbo engine mated to a 6-speed EGS automated manual transmission. Peugeot’s 5008 will likely have the same 156 horsepower 1.6 litre Prince turbo engine but will use conventional torque converter automatic instead, with 6 cogs as well.

It’s basically the similar powertrain as the one found in the 3008 crossover, and the vehicle’s chassis, like the 3008, is derived from the 308’s C-segment platform. It can seat up to 7 passengers in a three row 2-3-2 configuration. It’s Eastern competitors would be vehicles like the Toyota Wish and the Honda Stream.

You can look after the jump for a full gallery of the 5008 from our previous post covering the 5008’s world unveil.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=313]
[zenphotopress number=99 album=314]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nice car…
    i heard they will launch this car end of this year

• shawal on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:26 pm

Hope it comes with the Infotainment system showed in the studio pictures shown here…

• Spelling error check: ‘Last’ Week

• freeman on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Finally it’s here…. I hold back my signature on 3008 ordering form for this one. Hopefully it’s same engine+gearbox combo like 3008 with price tag of RM150K +/-.

• TakSabor on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:37 pm

hope it less than that,, sure can beat stream n wish anytime!

• Firdaus Abdullah on Nov 09, 2010 at 8:55 am

Stream and wish are no match for my Gd lavina Impul. I smoked both stream and wish a few days ago. I wonder how this one perform?

• osh_kosh on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:35 pm

owh? good for you… coz have money to buy GL Impul but not enuff to get a Wish/Stream.. u sound just like a WIRALUTION XIIVXX driver who just smoked a Civic… (i.e no one care!)

• SwiftMatrix on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Poor people like me.. drive T.Wish just to carry my family safely from point A to B only..Never thinking about to smoke other…

Since u think that your g.Livina is so damn powerful which can easily smoked Stream & Wish…
          Just go ahead and enjoy your made in Rawang car….
          But.. please bare in mind that ..Yours & mine is not Supercar… both of us just driving MPV a.k.a people carrier….
          ano heart feeling bro… :)

• anti-first on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:13 am

since when people carriers are bulit for racing?

loser.

• You obviously have not gone against a Kia Rondo :)

• rossi46 on Nov 11, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Esp a 2.0 CRDi diesel Rondo…driven one in Brunei…Phew, soo strong engine

• Few months back, I saw Grand C4 selling at 158k, and a few days back, I say an advert in the newspaper for the C4 – 138k. Is that an adjustment due to 5008 arrival? And is 5008 gonna be priced similarly? Really hoping for a report of shoot-out between the French and the Japs. Very rare shoot-out indeed.

• callenish on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:56 am

if i’m not mistaken, the 158k is the Grand C4 with 2.0L NA engine. the price revised to 138k after the new stock arrive with 1.6L Turbo.

• I just checked just now at mudah.my. Advert dated August 2010. priced at 158k. Clearly written 1.6 Turbo in the spec list. And I cross-checked at this website, 26 Aug 2008, the price for 2.0 NA Grand C4 was 168k. So it was true – 20k reduction for the 1.6 Turbo Grand C4

• Anti Proton on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:48 pm

WOWWW

• Anti Peugeot on Nov 09, 2010 at 7:08 am

BOOOOO

nah, just kidding. i like both Proton and Peugeot.

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:56 pm

what can i say.. that’s a really nice mpv. i hope the malaysia ‘version’ will get all the goodies pictured above. i love 407 & 308.. can’t wait to try this 5008 :)

• Jason on Nov 09, 2010 at 1:24 am

Yes, great car………….but if they expect customers to wait 12-15 mths for the car like the 3008, then forget about launching it in the first place !!! I was very keen on the 3008 until the salesmen told me about the waiting period. If APs was an issue, then don’t launch the product till Nasim could cope with the demand. It’s really silly to believe that customers will actually wait for 12-15 mths for the car. Anyway, when i enquired about the 5008, they told me it will be price close to RM200k since it’s fully imported. I said, if that’s going to be the pricing, forget about bringing in. It will not sell coz an Estima although recond is only about RM160-RM180k. I speculated then that if Nasim brings the 5008, the price should be about RM150-160k, more expensive than the 3008 but slightly cheaper than the Grandis. Then only it’s competitive.

• feisal on Nov 09, 2010 at 8:13 am

Agree with you on the pricing. If priced close to 200k then there’s always Grandis and Mazda 8.

• Tiadaid on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:05 am

Why are you comparing a reconditioned, 2nd hand Estima with a new 3008?

• intermilan on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:46 am

Its insulting to the French products but ‘sadly’ (if its a sad thing lah), that the reality of Malaysian market mentality.

They will buy a used Toyota Estima over a new Peugeot 5008 if the price is similar.

Why? Simple. Because of the perceived service and maintenance cost and the resale value.

The continental offering have to have an attractive price advantage, to either nullify or subdue the disadvantages mentioned above.

Furthermore, bear in mind that most of these used (recond) Toyota Estima etc, condition are almost like new. Therefore, many buyers don’t mind that its a recond car because it don’t look and feel like a normal used car. People at Naza should have good idea about this, as they are the king of recond car.

• Wow, if that is the wait list then they’re in trouble. I recall the Swift having a problem as well, but now they’re locally assembled. The sniff back then was the local car companies were upset that the Swift was selling well so their kakis at the authorities kind of delayed their approval rate…

Amyway, Jason’s view is descriptive of the Malaysian malaise. Most would rather but a reconditioned car with limited or no warranty, but averse to am inherently good car because of badge snobbery.

Resale value is relative. To me – who owns a Japanese car imported because they don’t bring the model here – resale value is worth nothing. My priority is placed on the pleasure I derive from owning and driving a marque. I offset that against the lower resale value of my car. Plus, its a car I don’t intend to sell anyway.

The 5008 is obviously a good looking car, and if the quality of recent day Peugeots are anything to go by, quality should be sterling as well. The hope for us is that Naza secures regional production rights… drool.

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:30 am

well well well

previously, the MO is heavy and uncheck discounts. but now, a new MO comes.

nice, low, intial prices altogether! haha.

good. i like low prices. people like low priced vehicles.

goodluck really to naza and peugeot. they are really going gung ho this last a year or two.

however, only the RCZ is worth my monies if the resale value and completely complicated engines are to be taken into consideration…

• tishaban on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:30 am

Have had the opportunity to check the 5008 out in France, very handsome looking MPV and certainly more spacious in the middle row than the 3008. The AC vents in the middle row is a huge improvement over my Toyota Wish and the safety features handily beat any of the Toyota/Honda versions out there.

• The 3 seats in the middle row is not versatile. What if you have 4 Adults? A 60:40 split wud make more sense. That’s why I did not go for the 307 or 807

• It is the individual 3 seats in the middle row that families with children love. You can slide the centre one forward independently from the rest which will then allow you to strap in 3 child seats in the 2nd row.

You are not meant to have 4 adults in the 2nd row anyway since there are only 3 seat belts. The 4 adult has to take the 3rd row or another car.

• JohnDeep on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Although you have 2 split seats like Grandis, how to sit 4 adults? 4 adults are possible in the Range Rover, provided asian size.

• GTI lover on Nov 09, 2010 at 8:56 am

Actually the long waiting period for 3008 is because in france PSA also don’t have stock to export to Malaysia. Whoever got this car really satisfied! Awesome car!

• I totally agree with you! Everytime I drive my 3008.. I’m falling in love all over again.. the speed, the handling, the smell… heavenly :)

• mujahid on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:28 am

I’m waiting for this, hopefully price below 140k…. more than that, I’ll change to Exora hybrid….

• must get one for the weekend. have to sell the alphard ASAP

• laluan sehala on Nov 09, 2010 at 4:07 pm

er, what’s wrong with your alphard? it is a pretty decent mpv too. no need to sell. maybe get this to complement it. use the big boy for really long trips and this for short and fast trips.

• osh_kosh on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:39 pm

he just want us to know that he own a Toyota Alphard… we should say “wow! he is rich” or whatever… (not impressed at all i.e childish)

• angel on Mar 23, 2011 at 3:38 pm

i plan to buy peugeot car but any second hand car value for peugeot? worry….

• ayamterbang on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:44 am

what’s with the great dane ?

• nolan on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:20 am

WOW……nice touch…..nice interior and posh dashboard……
    it would be a hit if price below 150k….

• Firza on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:27 am

wow…looking forward for this………time to replace my old 307….

• Will they offer the 6-speed manual?

• Great car if they can sell around Citroen Picasso C4 mpv price. This type of vehicle Naza should assemble not 207(6) sedan. Cool interior.

• antihypocrite on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Exora use 1.6 engine so many people bash. But this mpv use use also 1.6 where are all these proton bashers??

• tikus on Nov 09, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Dear Antihypocrite..Please read properly lar..IT IS 1.6 TURBO ENGINE!!

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2010 at 3:56 pm

i think the bigger problem lies within the capability of the engine. not whether it is 1.5 or 1.6 or whatever cubic capacity

i am no proton basher but it is good if we differentiate between sentiments and technical ability. as long as proton is there, these bashers who bash for no reason (infact some of them just bash for the sake of bashing) will be here.

proton themselves admit about the lack of grunt/power of its own engine to empower such bulky size of vehicle. the only way they are compensating it (already done) is by introducing a manual tranny, and in the future power boosting practices (induced – turbocharging or whatever)

the prince engine on the other hand is widely approved and used in many range of vehicles. the ability of it to be detune or overtune is well documented and very impressive. i strongly believe in internal combustion sector, proton should follow suit.

although i am not using malaysian made cars, i strongly believe in the project and i do hope it will be a success. we have gone halfway and by doing u turn and abolish proton, we will only lose so much.

• 1.6 with twin scroll turbo. that’s different than n/a. but in fairness, the exora does nothing wrong and is great for the intended target market at its price segment. can carry lots of people and at a relatively affordable price to buy and run. i think that’s all that the target market for the exora expects.

• That is because the 1.6 used in the 5008 is turbo-charged so the lack of power is not an issue.

• osh_kosh on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:37 pm

wakeup mate.. it’s 1.6 TURBO… not NA!!!

• antihypocrite on Nov 10, 2010 at 2:55 pm

soon exora also will get turbo. yeah!

• heard they are currently testing the turbo version. still looking whether campro possess the reliability and strength to cope with the charger-ed.

• guanerrr on Nov 09, 2010 at 3:01 pm

another variant of C4 Grand Picasso

• 908HY4 on Nov 12, 2010 at 4:52 pm

yup. interesting to know how it will fare in specification and price vs the 5008.

• the rear look’s like exora…haha

• acerman on Nov 09, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Me second that. At first sight.

• No problem with that.. I think Exora is a good looking car… similarly 5008 is one handsome dude!

• Protong Owner on Nov 09, 2010 at 3:56 pm

will all internal accessories strip off and selling cheaper?

• anti-first on Nov 09, 2010 at 4:04 pm

a deliciously good-looking car with spec that blows away its competitors – if there’s any.

heck, i sound like an ad.

• JohnDeep on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:39 pm

This car with 1.6lit Prince turbo, 6 speed autobox and priced arround 150K is worth buying than old Wish and current Stream. I agree with the above reader said that it should be priced below Grandis.

• toyoott on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:28 am

The new Toyota Wish now become taxi in Singapore.. hahaha,, yarghh!

• skoda superb, chrysler 300c and lots of w211 e-class are taxis over there.

• Jason on Nov 09, 2010 at 6:55 pm

I’m in love with the Peugeot 308 cc. confirm to get this car! Hope they launch it ASAP!

• I think the last issue with the 5008 is lack of grunt. This baby will go. Not only will it go but the roadholding I think will be most impressive….can’t wait to check it out.

• keretaburuk on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:57 pm

how about Mazda 5 ( 2010 ) vs 5008………..

• thedaoaks on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:36 pm

hmmm I should buy 5008 or Grandis?

• almost the same la. but look at the spec, i thin 5008 is better. conti feel some more

• tripr on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:50 pm

third row seats cannot seat adults comfortably, the legs will bang up to the back of second row seats, worse if the adults are tall

better go for exora for comfortable 3rd row seats, or just wait for its turbo charged version for more hp and torque

• 3rd row aircond vents available ? or just for first and second row?

• 3rd row seats are for children , if adults , their legs will bang up the 2nd row seats, exora has better 3rd row seats, even tall adults can sit comfortably

bso better go for exora if 3rd row seats space are important, can wait for the exora turbo for more hp and torque

• jojoba on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:40 am

3008 or 5008?? since the price is 13k different! :)

• Leewirefly on Apr 09, 2011 at 10:17 am

How about Mazda 8 vs. Peugeot 5008?

• ALICE.HKS on Apr 22, 2011 at 10:39 am

SAME AS YOU. HAVE TO MAKE DECISION QUICK TO REPLACE MY 9 YEARS OLD TOYOTA IPSUM. ALSO IN DILEMMA COS SERVICING FOR PEUGEOT NOT EASY AVAILABLE.